Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A case of double standards

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them , sure its grand anyway, instead of slapping a woman just keep calling her fat and ugly , does far worse damage than any slap
    Look at all the thanks this bitter, hate-filled comment got...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Dudess wrote: »
    because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them , sure its grand anyway, instead of slapping a woman just keep calling her fat and ugly , does far worse damage than any slap
    Bet it works too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Says more about the thankers. I know I had a good look through the list anyway.

You're screwed now boys. No more chatting to the lovely internet ladies.

SV wrote: »
    Wouldn't be surprised if it was the closest some of them actually got to ladies - not gonna be that angry for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

SV wrote: »

Lot of guys prob hitting 'Remove Thanks' now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Hatred of inequality - yes, bitter - no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Hatred of inequality - yes, bitter - no
    Sorry Eric, but it really doesn't come across as a hatrid of inequality. I've noticed similar posts from you in the past, but never picked you up on it. Bitter through past experience is what comes across, and women are all basically cnuts to you because if it.

I'd have put your response down as a typical AH reply in jest, but like I said, you posted this stuff before. You come across as a very angry peron, sorry to have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Kasabian wrote: »
    A man who resorts to physical abuse of a woman is not a man in my book.

Even a slap.

Just to be a pedantic boardsie, does the opposite of this hold true?

A woman who resorts to physical abuse of a man is not a woman in my book.

People shouldn't be running around assaulting each other, end of.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub, her name doesn't get tarnished and people generally forget about it.

I have never once in all my days seen a woman administer a slap to a man in public, and I'm fairly sure her name WOULD be tarnished, she'd generally be considered a bit of a scrubber, let's be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

It's better to walk away and phone the guards to be honest.

If however she was beating you rather viciously then you have a right to defend yourself. I know I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I have never once in all my days seen a woman administer a slap to a man in public, and I'm fairly sure her name WOULD be tarnished, she'd generally be considered a bit of a scrubber, let's be honest.

you should get out more

I have never once in all my days seen a woman administer a slap to a man in public
    Yep. Bit of mixing up Eastenders with real life methinks.

BBDBB wrote: »
    you should get out more

Because I've not seen a woman attack a man in public? In the interests of equality, I think I've only seen it happen once the other way. My point still stands, she'd be considered rough.

yes or do you think it only happens in soap operas?

I think how she gets considered is dependent upon several factors, so I think your point whilst not incorrect is somewhat narrow

yes or do you think it only happens in soap operas?

I'm not really following you. I said I've never seen it, I never said it didn't happen. I genuinely have never seen it happen. I'm not sure what else to say? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

My experience of this is that women generally don't just slap for no reason. I've had a few in my time and probably deserved them. In general I believe fair is fair, an eye for an eye and all that but I still never have and couldn't ever see myself hit a woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

I have never slapped a man nor seen any woman slap a man before, this thread is another paranoid attempt an initiating a gender war in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I have never slapped a man nor seen any woman slap a man before

What's the point of you saying that exactly Lola?

BBDBB, it's not that people are saying it doesn't happen, but the OP's claim is unsubstantiated - of course her name would be tarnished and people would not forget about it.
    Galtee wrote: »
    My experience of this is that women generally don't just slap for no reason. I've had a few in my time and probably deserved them. In general I believe fair is fair, an eye for an eye and all that but I still never have and couldn't ever see myself hit a woman.
    Nah, nothing bar self defence justifies violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I was attacked by two girls before. I say girls.. They got a few slaps in on me before i got angry and threw a punch. I didnt realise but police seen the whole incident and arrested the two drunk idiots :)

BBDBB, it's not that people are saying it doesn't happen, but the OP's claim is unsubstantiated - of course her name would be tarnished and people would not forget about it.

I just see a slap by a woman as a little bit of passion and it doesn't really do any harm. As long as it's not Katie Taylor that is. I counted myself lucky anyway, I did see a girl attack a guy with a high heel before, that was a fairly wild night. :pac:

so why attempt to diminish the view by claiming its mixed up with a soap opera? ie that it is fictional.

It happens, why are you so convinced it didnt happen to the OP

I happen to agree that violence is rarely justifiable or a solution to a problem, but Im realistic enough to see circumstances where that is tested

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭chessman

a real man would NEVER NEVER raise his hand to a women
    as for getting bitch slapped ,life aint fair so get used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

chessman wrote: »

An intelligent person would never hit anybody, unless in self defense. It really takes a severe lack of intelligence to resort to violence, no matter your gender, it is no worse to hit a woman than it is to hit a man , infact it may be even worse to hit a man because society offers him no comeback as domestic abuse against men is still a joke

so why attempt to diminish the view by claiming its mixed up with a soap opera? ie that it is fictional.

It happens, why are you so convinced it didnt happen to the OP

I happen to agree that violence is rarely justifiable or a solution to a problem, but Im realistic enough to see circumstances where that is tested
    I'm saying claims of it being commonplace in pubs are likely to be influenced by soap operas. It isn't commonplace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It should be treated 100% equally before the law. And this doesn't just apply to gender, it should apply to everything other than mental capacity (including differentiating between children and adults).

Interestingly, if you suggest that women should be let off or that when a woman commits a crime it's a man's fault (cough cough Ivana Bacik) then you're also subtly implying that women aren't intelligent enough to take responsibility for their own actions.

In MY eyes, that's actually a subtle insult of the female gender, and far from taking solace in their supposed 'perks', women should find that offensive and disgusting.
    Just my opinion...

a real man would NEVER NEVER raise hinis hand to a women

Hope some beast of a woman beats the shíte out of you.

Stick to your bullshít ideals then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

a real woman would NEVER NEVER raise his hand to a man
    as for getting dude slapped ,life aint fair so get used to it

FYP, but all of a sudden now everyone will (RIGHTLY) call me an absolute pig. :mad:

Either men and women are equal, or they're not. I don't see why anyone should be given equality where it benefits them, but also allowed to keep their perks when it doesn't benefit them to give them up. Hypocrisy has no place in the 21st century.

Can you define these real men for me please? Are they similar to real women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'm saying claims of it being commonplace in pubs are likely to be influenced by soap operas. It isn't commonplace.

I don't recall anyone saying it is commonplace Dudess. Just that it happens. I really don't think the "well I've never seen it happen, so..." comments are that helpful, when discussing something like this, do you?

Men hitting women a smack in a pub isn't commonplace either. But if someone was to make similar comments in a thread on that topic, some of the people here who seem happy to be flippant would be shitting all over themselves in their rush to express their outrage at the dismissive attitude...

strobe just said it for me Dudess

FYP, but all of a sudden now everyone will (RIGHTLY) call me an absolute pig. :mad:

Either men and women are equal, or they're not. I don't see why anyone should be given equality where it benefits them, but also allowed to keep their perks when it doesn't benefit them to give them up. Hypocrisy has no place in the 21st century.

Assuming that you are a man, if a 10yr old child for whatever reason slapped you on the face would you see it right to slap them back?

Well it happened to me, my GF at the time slapped me across the face in Abrakebabra.

Slapped in Abrakebabra. Seriously not classy.

To be fair to her she was an absolute lady but I had an awful ability to bring the worst/best out in her.

strobe wrote: »
    I really don't think the "well I've never seen it happen, so..." comments are that helpful, when discussing something like this, do you?

If that was directed at me, I also said I seriously doubt that a woman wouldn't be judged for it. IMO, she'd be considered a bit rough by most. I said I had never seen it happen just to acknowledge that I am not entirely sure what the reaction would be. I just can't imagine it being hugely favourable towards the woman. I think a lot of people just think a woman wouldn't be judged for it without actually having a clue because likely they've never been the vicinity of it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Assuming that you are a man, if a 10yr old child for whatever reason slapped you on the face would you see it right to slap them back?
    A 10 year old child is immature, so it is not a fair comparison, not on a similar mental level, like a mentally disabled person shouting abuse at you or hitting you.

A better example to ask everybody would be -if you saw an obviously very strong woman being slapped in the face by a obviously weak man should she slap him back, and do you think it is OK for that man to slap her in the first place?

Most people who agree with the double standard are claiming it is OK simply because of a difference in physical strength (but I don't believe them I think they are being sexist too). If a guy with a broken arm comes up and slaps them are they meant to just take it. Are you meant to inquire what people can bench press before deciding if you're allowed hit them back?
    I don't know why there is a need to be sexist like this. Shouldn't it be more like 'decent people do not hit other people', regardless of who happens to be physically stronger. I know a few women who would knock the crap out of some guys I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭facemelter

If a man gets a slap in the pub from a woman, he probably deserves it, he probably hasn't taken no for an answer or has touched her up or is just being a wanker in general.
    once in a que for a night club , and a girl in front of me dropped her ticket for free into the club , now me being more than slightly drunk i picked up the ticket and handed in to her , now i only found out after but i handed the ticket to the wrong girl , the one who dropped it turned around and started asking for her ticket , i was so confused i was just blabbering nonense i thought i had just handed it to her and then she slaps me in the face before her friend turns to her and says her it is. i was really annoyed that she just reacted to this news by saying "oh ... how ... ugh never mind" ... not even a sorry !!! . now reverse the lads with the girls and its a whole different story . now regardless of what you think about equality between genders the above story highlights the inequality pretty well .

rubadub wrote: »
    A 10 year old child is immature, so it is not a fair comparison, not on a similar mental level, like a mentally disabled person shouting abuse at you or hitting you.

A better example to ask everybody would be -if you saw an obviously very strong woman being slapped in the face by a obviously weak man should she slap him back, and do you think it is OK for that man to slap her in the first place?

Most people who agree with the double standard are claiming it is OK simply because of a difference in physical strength (but I don't believe them I think they are being sexist too). If a guy with a broken arm comes up and slaps them are they meant to just take it. Are you meant to inquire what people can bench press before deciding if you're allowed hit them back?

I don't know why there is a need to be sexist like this. Shouldn't it be more like 'decent people do not hit other people', regardless of who happens to be physically stronger. I know a few women who would knock the crap out of some guys I know.

I was just pointing out that equality in this instance is not cut and dried and so shouldn't be used as if it is for the purpose of trying to illustrate a point just because the same word "SLAP" is used to describe the actions of each person involved. The law accounts for these inequalities and so it should be factored when trying to illustrate a point around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Laalaaa

While a slap from a woman to a man might be physically less damaging than the other way round, the psychological effects it may lead to in time can be far more devastating than just a rosy cheek.
    I've witnessed a relationship where the first slap was a sort of 'testing the water' which was forgiven and forgotten about but ultimately developed into a very violent situation for the guy and resulted in him becoming a mere shadow of his former happy-go-lucky, outgoing, confident self.

Maybe if people (both men and women) learned how to express themselves properly they might not feel the need to resort to violence in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

This kind of argument always comes across to me as treating women as tall children.

If someone hits you are you only allowed to hit them back if it would be a bad idea to do so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

psinno wrote: »
    This kind of argument always comes across to me as treating women as tall children.

If someone hits you are you only allowed to hit them back if it would be a bad idea to do so?

1.No violence should be used in general
    2. Give a slap, expect a slap*

*This also applies to tall children, they shouldn't be going around slapping random adults and if they do, they shouldn't be too surprised if they get floored

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub, her name doesn't get tarnished and people generally forget about it.

Yet if a man slaps a woman in the face, in the exact same context and situation(in a pub), his name is tarnished and he is branded a woman beater by many.

How is this fair? It's a double standard in society that needs to be stamped out IMO.
    cocoshovel wrote: »
    Yeah! Lets go attack all the women! :mad:

There weren't any women near me when I read these posts so I phoned my mum, called her a bitch and then hung up. Take that women!!!

Whooooooooooooooh, smash the system!!!!! Woooooooooowwww!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

I watched dark comedy "In Bruges" last night.

Despite being a British film, both of the main actors in it are Irish: Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson, who play a couple of Irish, London-based hitmen.

The two men are sent to the Belgian city of Bruges (for a reason I won't mention otherwise it would spoil it for those who haven't seen it). The Colin Farrell character is out on a date with a blonde little Belgian girl. There they are sitting in a restaurant when the little Belgian girl goes to the toilet. Then a loud-mouthed American, who is also with his girlfriend, starts complaining to the Farrell character that his cigarette smoke is blowing into his face.

The Farrell character then points out that this is the smoking section of the restaurant and then goes into a little anti-American rant, in which he mentions the Vietnam War.

This infuriates the American so much that he starts shouting back, but the Farrell character punches him to the ground mid-rant.

The American's girlfriend than starts to attack the Farrell character with a wine bottle, so he sends her flying to to the ground, too, by punching her in the face.

When the little blonde Belgian girl returns she is surprised to see the Farrell character about to leave the restaurant and with two Americans lying unconscious on the floor. After they leave the restaurant she says to him that he shouldn't hit women.

But, slightly angrily, he says that it was okay to hit her because she was trying to attack him with a glass bottle. He did it in self-defence.

And I agree with him. I mean, what was he supposed to do? Just stand there and let the bitch glass him?

Anyway, later on in the movie the Farrell character discovers that the couple weren't Americans but were actually Canadians.