Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United v Newcastle United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,036 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

alproctor wrote: »
    United were by FAR, the better side, and deserved to win the game.
    Never a pen in a million years
    And i think Hernandez was just off.....
    United struggled to create any goalscoring opportunity in the first half and were poor in the second half too up until the sending off .
    After the sending off ,a tired Newcastle team sat back and afforded United ample goalscoring opportunities.
    When it was 11 v 11 ,United were very very poor.

Not a word on Rooneys challange either, surprise surprise.

Was he asked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Trilla wrote: »
    I know for a fact if this was in st James park or whatever its called now and the roles were exactly reserved there would be no United fans or mutual fans coming in here saying United deserved a point.

Your spot on there , they would be saying they deserved the 3 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Young, Fabio and Nani had great chances against 11 men.

Also its not Uniteds fault Newcastle went down to 10 men is it? Stupid comment.

United were the better team, had better chances and had a shocking penalty decision given against them. Had a goal that was marginally offside in the dying moments... the deserved 3 points which means Newcastle did not deserve 1.

I know for a fact if this was in st James park or whatever its called now and the roles were exactly reserved there would be no United fans or mutual fans coming in here saying United deserved a point.

Good point. Maybe it's just because it's United,and everyone is out to take them down,but if it were Newcastle it'd be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

United were the better team, had better chances and had a shocking penalty decision given against them. Had a goal that was marginally offside in the dying moments... the deserved 3 points which means Newcastle did not deserve 1.

The irony of your first paragraph. :rolleyes:

As for the second piece in bold, the goal was offside which means that the right decision was awarded and the goal shouldn't have stood.
    What a fucking móng of a comment.

Point a piece, expected for a top 4 clash I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,917 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Rooneys challenge??? :rolleyes:

They're referring to his kick out in the first half. He had a second swing when the ball was gone. Could have connected to be fair, it was rash but there's too much of a big deal made about it here I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

They're referring to his kick out in the first half. He had a second swing when the ball was gone. Could have connected to be fair, it was rash but there's too much of a big deal made about it here I think.

The intent was there if he had of connected he could have injured the player. Typical Rooney hate to see that side of his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Had a goal that was marginally offside in the dying moments....

Offside is Offside. What difference does it make if it was an inch or a mile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Doocey wrote: »
    The irony of your first paragraph. :rolleyes:

As for the second piece in bold, the goal was offside which means that the right decision was awarded and the goal shouldn't have stood.
    What a fucking móng of a comment.

Point a piece, expected for a top 4 clash I suppose...

Top 4 my nuts......

Just cos Hull were 2nd at one stage after a game or two of last season didn't make them a top4 side, no more than Newcastles decent run should label them a top 4 side.

Lets see where they are in May - 9/10th methinks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Didn't see that in the highlights but Rooney seriously needs to change his attitude.

Was he asked?
    No and thats why i asked. How come he was'nt asked surprise surprise.

Top 4 my nuts......

Just cos Hull were 2nd at one stage after a game or two of last season didn't make them a top4 side, no more than Newcastles decent run should label them a top 4 side.

Jaysus, ye've no sense of humour lads. :rolleyes:

Top 4 my nuts......

Sour grapes eh? Newcastle are where they are because they deserve to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Rooneys challenge??? :rolleyes:

I know what he's on about,why the **** would anyone think that would be brought up in a post match interview,it was much ado about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Ferguson on the BBC now. Believe it or not, he said he won't go and talk to the referee about the decision because "he never does that" :pac:

Not a word on Rooneys challange either, surprise surprise.

You mean Rooney's kicking a man when he's down? Thought I was watching the UFC. Did he even get a card for that?

BERBA wrote: »
    Your spot on there , they would be saying they deserved the 3 points.

Come on now Berba you know thats not true :)

You mean Rooney's kicking a man when he's down? Thought I was watching the UFC. Did he even get a card for that?

Nope, and Coloccini being the gent he is made nothing of it.
    Any other player..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭parc

Disgraceful carry on from United playes at the end. Hopefully the FA have a look at that no need for the referee to put up with that kind of rubbish.

lol

i was about to post something on this but wanted to wait 'til i got a quote from someone as i knew it was coming

how is it a discrace? what's the harm in going up arguing your case with the referee for making a bad decision. it's actually pointless but it's human nature. they same way if you get a parking ticket for spending 2 mins on a yellow line or being in a spot for a few minutes, you're going to argue your case

you see it once in a while without fail on here when united get a decision against them and kick up a fuss..."oh disgraceful from united blah blah"

it's not disgraceful. punching the ref or shoving him would be disgraceful but this isn't south america or russia we're talking about, it's the premiership.

I think that the referees doing a job and as with every job, he is open to criticism for poor performance. They get paid quite a decent wage you know

Maybe because it's a non-issue and there are much bigger talking points?:rolleyes:

Top 4 my nuts......

I'm not saying Newcastle are a top 4 team, but in fairness, 12 games and only lost 1, is more then 'a decent run', that's great work.

They will fancy their chances against Chelsea last week, and I think they can do it. If they even get a point out of that, they will be happy. There having a great season so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

I have watched the peno and the sending off and both are just I am disappointed to say. I also watched the Hernandez goal multiple times and it definitely does look like the ball came off his hands and in. It may have been about to yards away from Taylor kicking it but his hands were raised and not down by his sides, it even looks like he tried to raise his hands to stop the balling hitting him so all in all man utd were lucky with the first goal and that completely changed the game and gave the onus to United to attack and dominate the second half. Newcastle were fortuitous with the penalty but swings and roundabouts and if United deserved to win it then they would have.

Doocey wrote: »
    Nope, and Coloccini being the gent he is made nothing of it.
    Any other player..

Yep fair play to Coloccini for getting on with it. Rooney was stupid to make that second swing the ball was gone at that point

Also Doocey, take it easy there using the word mong will ya. This is the internet its serious business

Was he asked?
    It was barely even a talking point during the match why would it be after it.
    I don't know why I am bothering to reply to someone who writes retarded things like this.
    I laughed when i heard George Best died. Liver robbing wife beating dipso
    Clearly a neutral point of view from you yea??

Who said it was Utd's fault?
    And 'marginally offside' is still offside. Different if he wasn't offside at all.
    Utd should have scored a couple of times but they didn't. Therefore, a draw. Simple really.
    Have to say it was an entertaining match.

Maybe because it's a non-issue and there are much bigger talking points?:rolleyes:

If he was South American and played for another club you just know the question would have been asked, but hey it's Rooney the white Pele and if the guy asked the question he'd never be allowed inside old trafford again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

parc wrote: »
    lol

i was about to post something on this but wanted to wait 'til i got a quote from someone as i knew it was coming

how is it a discrace? what's the harm in going up arguing your case with the referee for making a bad decision. it's actually pointless but it's human nature. they same way if you get a parking ticket for spending 2 mins on a yellow line or being in a spot for a few minutes, you're going to argue your case

you see it once in a while without fail on here when united get a decision against them and kick up a fuss..."oh disgraceful from united blah blah"

it's not disgraceful. punching the ref or shoving him would be disgraceful but this isn't south america or russia we're talking about, it's the premiership.

I think that the referees doing a job and as with every job, he is open to criticism for poor performance. They get paid quite a decent wage you know

I agree that united players can argue their case to the referee but there is a time and a place and with 60 odd thousand at the game and the rest watching on tv & streams ;) it is not being a good role model for younger kids and underage players all huddling around the referee at the end of a game. They should respect the referee and after the game have a word with him behind closed doors. This goes for all teams and not just united.

It was barely even a talking point during the match why would it be after it.
    I don't know why I am bothering to reply to someone who writes retarded things like this.

Whats my views on George Best got to do with this match and also the soccer forum?

bazual wrote: »
    They should respect the referee and after the game have a word with him behind closed doors.

Then we wouldn't be able to moan about them doing it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭LOTTOWINNER

Shearer looking down on Giggs thinking "I could have won as many medals as him....if only".

Maybe he should pin all his medals to his jersey to remind the other players how good he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Really is hard to believe the amount of sh1t-stirring tripe that's posted in these match threads......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

United should've won the game, but they didn't deserve to from what I had seen. I think people are mixing the two up.

Krul, Taylor, Taylor, Coloccini, Simpson, Guthrie - none of them deserved to be on the losing side. They still should've been. Macheda, Rooney, Young, Nani, Carrick, Giggs didn't deserve to be on the winning side having done very little or missed late chances.

About level on the all important 'deserved' scale.

Who said it was Utd's fault?

Nobody. But why use it in a defence to say Newcastle deserved a point. If they went down to 9 men would they deserve it even more, or deserve a win?
    Utd should have scored a couple of times but they didn't. Therefore, a draw. Simple really.

So if every game ends in a draw then both teams deserve a point, end of ye? I disagree to be honest. I thought United had the better chances and were marginally away from scoring on so many occasions (Chico offside, Krul saves, shots narrowly wide).

Are people now saying if you don't take your chances you don't deserve it? Or you make your on luck etc... then the commonly used comment "they deserved better" is irrelevant all the time then.
    Have to say it was an entertaining match.

Great for the mutuals! I'm gutted. I will say Newcastle's defence and their keeper especially were excellent but I thought the United team on a whole deserved more than a point.
    dfx- wrote: »
    United should've won the game, but they didn't deserve to from what I had seen. I think people are mixing the two up.

Maybe I am above! I'm just taking the fact they should have won it plus the decision against them to equal that they deserved it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭parc

Really is hard to believe the amount of sh1t-stirring tripe that's posted in these match threads......

I heard that linesman is actually gay

Whats my views on George Best got to do with this match and also the soccer forum?
    I'm pretty sure he did play soccer and I was making the point that I dont know why I was replying to someone capable of such scummy retarded thinking,yet here I am still replying so bye bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Folks, we can all understand the frustration being shown by Utd fans. If you supported a club whose every point earned over the years was earned on merit only, you too would be annoyed when another team 'robs' you.

I feel your pain, Red Devils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Linesman should be sent to Fergie's office first thing Monday morning for his sins..
    tumblr_lva46vU50E1r0i1v3o8_1280.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJ6IHWSU3BX3X7X3Q&Expires=1322416364&Signature=smK84RFR2Y2r5RF5v%2FIH%2FN52gco%3D

parc wrote: »
    I heard that linesman is actually gay

Talkin' to Fergie were ye?

Fergie:" Ayy noooo far a fakt ee teks it in ezz arse". :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

These United match threads descend into farce anytime United don't win. Both trolling ABU's and over-sensitive United fans to blame.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    These United match threads descend into farce anytime United don't win. Both trolling ABU's and over-sensitive United fans to blame.

I apologise for biting and being over-sensitive. I'm in work on a Saturday and took 2 hours off to watch that game. Ah well come on Liverpool tomorrow.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Some people just need things pointed out to them.If anyone thinks that was a penalty they have no business in the soccer forum because they are trolling or idiots or both.

Ah well come on Liverpool tomorrow.

Draw be nice in that one.

Some people just need things pointed out to them.If anyone thinks that was a penalty they have no business in the soccer forum because they are trolling or idiots or both.

and I also think I'm not being unreasonable in saying United should have won it plus the decision against them to equals United deserved to win it! Might be biting and overreacting to much though :)

Enjoy rest of the weekend and congrats on the draw geordie fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Deploring a man who did alot of disgraceful things, and happened to play for United does not automatically imply a bias against Utd. There's many justifiable reasons why people have no respect for the man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Just one of those days.

Battered them for the last 30 mins but just didn't get the luck we deserved.

Penalty decision was obviously decisive and incorrect, but what can you do.

Time to move on and hope Liverpool typically raise their game against a top side in City.

tommyhaas wrote: »

Deploring a man who did alot of disgraceful things, and happened to play for United does not automatically imply a bias against Utd. There's many justifiable reasons why people have no respect for the man
    Maybe so but I'm fairly confident if he played for anybody else he wouldn't have made the comment,there's plenty worse people than George Best that have died over the last few years.
    If you laugh at anyone's death you're a bit disturbed and scummy anyway IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Fantastic professionalism shown by the United superstars at the end indeed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Maybe so but I'm fairly confident if he played for anybody else he wouldn't have made the comment,there's plenty worse people than George Best that have died over the last few years.
    If you laugh at anyone's death you're a bit disturbed and scummy anyway IMO.

I don't agree. Thatcher being a prime example of it being perfectly okay to do so. Regarding the Best comment, I have no idea what the motivation for Crazy Horse's comments was, however given some of the things he did, I think its fairly petty to assume club rivalry was the sole motivation. My own opinion of him would be the same regardless of who he played for

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Fantastic professionalism shown by the United superstars at the end indeed..
    Yea,almost as professional as that display/attack from the Chelsea players after Barca dubiously knocked them out of the champions league.
    The hypocrisy on the soccer forum knows no bounds.

tommyhaas wrote: »
    [
    I have no idea what the motivation for Crazy Horse's comments was
    Well we will never know but if there was some way of finding out I would put my house on it that he was trying to get a dig in at United on a forum where he wouldn't be punished for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Yea,almost as professional as that display/attack from the Chelsea players after Barca dubiously knocked them out of the champions league.
    The hypocrisy on the soccer forum knows no bounds.

And this proves what I was saying. United fans can not be criticised, nor can their players. Rooney is a thug, and if he wasn't English the likes of Sky wouldn't be drooling all over him.