Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pay related issue with work

Options
  • 26-11-2011 8:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, not sure if this is the right forum for this, but was looking for advice/opinions.

Ive been working for the same company for just over 2 years now. At the end of September I was offered a job by another company. So, I went to my manager and explained that the other job was offering higher pay, more 'senior' work and would have me working in new areas that I could expand my skillset in. I duly handed in my notice and that was that.

About 5 hours later my manager came back to me and said that he had spoken to the head of our department and they had agreed to match the pay the other job was offering and to give me a promotion that would allow me more responsibilities and to learn new skills. They said this would come through for November, they needed some time to get things done with HR and so on (because officially there is a pay freeze n the company), but assured me it was all agreed at the higher levels necessary (the head of the department confirmed this for me too). I have a very good relationship with both my manager and the head of the department, so was delighted to accept.