Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Meeting someone with no wingmen ;)

• 27-11-2011 10:53pm
    Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭

I recently finished up in a relationship. It wasnt a very long one, few months, but the break-up has been pretty hard on me so far. I know the best thing to do is dust myself off and get back out there. Heading out, socializing, activities whatever. Sitting staring at my laptop screen all day for the few hours I actually spend awake, thinking about the situation more is only making things worse.
    Typically, heading out starts by rounding up the mates, right? However, all the people I know are in long-term relationships, so they are rarely free. I'm in my mid-late twenties ( :P ) now so I don't know if single's nights, speed-dating, things like that are really for me, I always imagined they were for a slightly older crowd, and I'd feel naff going them, I'm sure no one goes to them alone either! Feel naff for even considering them to be honest. I just don't know how to go about meeting someone solo, would much rather just meet someone 'naturally' than go the dating sites route.

I'm posting here on the off-chance that there is some option I haven't considered, or don't know about. Any advice would be appreciated.

All ideas (even the typical sarcy AH ones!) welcome!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Plenty of people who need a ride in the virginity thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

2 words: Dr. Quirkeys.

Thanks me later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Are wingmen those rubber things learner swimmers put on their arms? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

I'm sure if you asked some of the lads a few days in advance they'd be able to head out with you. They can't all be dating b*tches!!! In terms of other avenues to try why not give the oul online dating a try. Sure loads of people are doing it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Internet Relationship Providings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭amacca

galwayrush wrote: »
    Plenty of people who need a ride in the virginity thread...

jeebus...prison thread, virginity thread.......what else am I not aware of.

wtf I could have been doing serious damage!

no...they help you pull off sh1t like this.....wingmen watch your six and distract enemy bogeys....they are crucial in a dogfight......always respect your wingmen or you'll either be dead or flying a cargo plane full of rubber dogsh1t out of Hong Kong...nuff said.

Well someone has to give you the beer to put out the flames...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

naff? Really?

1) boards beers
    2) talk to women in places like book stores etc
    3) take up a new hobby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Get a wing woman!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

John Doe1 wrote: »

Thanks me later

As a past frequenter of Dr.Quirkeys, I'm going to need you to elaborate on that... may I state for the record that I am looking for a girl who is of LEGAL AGE (much older than that in actual fact) and is also not a skanger! Thanks though :P
    1) boards beers

What dis?
    eilo1 wrote: »
    Get a wing woman!

Not a bad idea, a good friend of mine might be on the market again soon, we can go on the prowl together >:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Naff? Going out on the pull with "wingmen" is fucking naff.

Andy!! wrote: »
    not a skanger! Thanks though

picky eh?.............................beggars and choosers etc

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Wingmen are the guys that losers talk to all night when they should be chatting up ladies.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Naff? Going out on the pull with "wingmen" is fucking naff.

not if you're in naval fighter weapons school turning and burning and pullin hard G's on a regular basis its not!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

If you go out solely with the intention of meeting someone, it probably won't happen.

amacca wrote: »
    not if you're in naval fighter weapons school turning and burning and pullin hard G's on a regular basis its not!:pac:
    Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭tigger123

Start a band.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

tigger123 wrote: »
    Start a band.

**** a band.

Just play synth.

If you go out solely with the intention of meeting someone, it probably won't happen.

I can agree with this, but can't sit here moping either, not healthy is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

tigger123 wrote: »
    Start a band.

**** a band.

Just play synth.

Like your man in that film Cyrus..http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?desktop_uri=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kc5VCGNEbV8&v=kc5VCGNEbV8&gl=IE

defo get the chics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

What dis?

Not a bad idea, a good friend of mine might be on the market again soon, we can go on the prowl together >:D

Boards is the site you're on. Beers is a term used for going to a meetup where we drink (some drink beer, hence the name).

don't go on the prowl with a member of the opposite sex, you will be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

John Doe1 wrote: »

Thanks me later

You're going to have to explain that one to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

naff??

who uses that word anymore?

but can't sit here moping either, not healthy is it?

no its not and tbh I don't know what I'm doing in a meet people and act normal thread being so completely inept at it myself

I will however wish you good luck and assure you that sitting there moping wont help......having done a lot of that myself

**** a band.

Just play synth.
    No point. Been done and will never be beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I can agree with this, but can't sit here moping either, not healthy is it?

You could try flashing in the park, that's usually a good ice-breaker when trying to form new relationships, especially if you like women in uniform.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Morgan Freeman

Well first thing my boy is that you need to treat a lady with respect.
    Open doors for the lady, kiss the back of her hand and tell her she smells like heaven.

In the summer of '52 I was helping my Uncle Jeremy deliver corn to the market one Saturday afternoon.
    The sun baked the red earth dry and the dust made for beautiful sunsets.

Upon reaching the market I noticed a beautiful woman drop the punnet of sweet potato she was carrying. She uttered a swear, which brought a cheeky grin to my face.

I hopped out of the T and picked the veg from the ground. She thanked me and our eyes made contact. Her eyes were as deep as the Mississippi bayou. A deep shade of green.

We made love in the bed of my T after I dropped off the corn. Myself and Jane remained together for a number of years, each week making sweet love in the back of the T, where we first knew we were right for each other.

All I'm saying is, treat a lady with respect and you shall be rewarded.

Take care.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You could try flashing in the park, that's usually a good ice-breaker when trying to form new relationships, especially if you like women in uniform.

+1, good show....this way you meet women that still find you personally repulsive but are forced to spend a certain amount of time with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Open doors for the lady, kiss the back of her hand and tell her she smells like heaven.

Even if she smells like a piece of haddock that's been wedged behind a radiator for three weeks?

In the summer of '52 I was helping my Uncle Jeremy deliver corn to the market one Saturday afternoon.

Upon reaching the market I noticed a beautiful woman drop the punnet of sweet potato she was carrying. She uttered a swear, which brought a cheeky grin to my face.

I hopped out of the T and picked the veg from the ground. She thanked me and our eyes made contact. Her eyes were as deep as the Mississippi bayou. A deep shade of green.

We made love in the bed of my T after I dropped off the corn. Myself and Jane remained together for a number of years, each week making sweet love in the back of the T, where we first knew we were right for each other.

Take care.

I read that in your sweet grandfatherly voice Mr Freeman........makes a lot of sense to this crazy mixed up kid.

Take care.
    amacca wrote: »
    I read that in your sweet grandfatherly voice Mr Freeman........makes a lot of sense to this crazy mixed up kid.
    I just want to buy insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

/.../

What he said!

Wingmen are stupid. Be a gentleman. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Learn to dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Throw enough **** at the wall and some of it will stick.

Basically it's a numbers game so try all avenues:

Internet dating
    Join some sort of club maybe hiking etc.
    Surely you can get a mate or two to go out???
    Head out on your own - I don't see why its that awful
    See someone regularly in a coffee shop? No harm in asking her out!

I'd say on the club/group thing don't start trawling it for females. It's probably better used as a tool to widen your horizons. Obviously if you spark with someone that's different.

Or enjoy being single!

First they came for the socialists...

What he said!

Wingmen are stupid. Be a gentleman. :pac:

Just stand in the street and be a gentleman and they'll come flocking eh? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Just stand in the street and be a gentleman and they'll come flocking eh? ;)

Exactly! We're suckers for gentlemen :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Feisar wrote: »
    Or enjoy being single!

This! What's so wrong with being single? You're a free man now, whatever you feel like doing, do it. If you want to go out for a few beers, go. If you want to do some speed dating for the craic, do it. If you have a few interests, join a club. Who gives a flying fcuk if you think it might be seen as "naff"? As you said all of your mates are in long-term relationships already, so who is going to bother to notice what you're up to, let alone judge you?

Enjoy yourself! Don't put so much pressure on yourself to find a replacement so soon. Enjoy yourself and your own time and learn to appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If you ask 100 to have sex with you, only 99 will say no.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

The amount of potential partners is inversely proportional to the amount of time you spend in your house, being forever alone. So just go out and do stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭vtec_vixen

St.Spodo wrote: »
    The amount of potential partners is inversely proportional to the amount of time you spend in your house, being forever alone. So just go out and do stuff.

Never a truer word spoken!!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

I once seen Wesley Quirke giving Rosanna Davison a blow job in the jax in Dr Quirkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I used to think the Morgan Freeman poster was just a messer, but I think it might actually be himself:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I once seen Wesley Quirke giving Rosanna Davison a blow job in the jax in Dr Quirkeys.

No, you didn't.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

johnayo wrote: »
    No, you didn't.:rolleyes:

Really? Dya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Well first thing bud is that you need to treat a bird with respect.
    Open doors for the lady, kiss the back of her hand and tell her she smells like johnny blue.

In the summer of '2011 I was helping my Uncle Jeremy deliver dutch goldcorn to the gaff one Saturday afternoon.

Upon reaching the gaff I noticed a bird drop the punnet of sweet potato she was carrying. She said bollix, which brought a cheeky grin to my face.

I hopped out of the civic and picked the veg from the ground. She thanked me and our eyes made contact. Her eyes were as deep as the Mississippi bayou. A deep shade of green.

i rattled her in the bed of mycivic after I dropped my bags. Myself and Jacinta remained together for a number of years, each week making sweet love in the back of the civic, where we first knew we were right for each other.

Take care.

St.Spodo wrote: »

Very true :) That's the plan.

Thanks for the replies everyone, some good ideas in there that I'll try :)