Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads.

• 28-11-2011 12:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

I've been seeing this everywhere on boards recently, but I have no idea what it means! 'Lads. No, it's lads. Actually it's Lads. :pac:' is it a one off thing or does it come from some tv show or something, like that 'chinese are a great bunch of lads' thing came from father ted? Like, what is it a reference to?

(Congrats in advance to whoever's witty page one post gets thanked an inordinate amount of times.)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Thumbs up

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ah lads. Come on now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

wut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Biscuits16

A great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Whatcha talkin bout Willis? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

*strokes lad*... :eek:

carry on... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

"Alright lads we're the guards"

"Alright guards we're the lads"

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's a reference to a gay porn movie, so I'm told, i.e. a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭stimpson

He gets his lad out. And so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

♫♫ Get your lad out for the girls ♫♫

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Never seen it nowhere guvnor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I'm not being funny, but are your a fordiner? I can't understand how someone who lives in Dublin could be confused as to the meaning of the terms "lads."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

S'up lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,903 ✭✭✭amacca

Fbjm wrote: »

(Congrats in advance to whoever's witty page one post gets thanked an inordinate amount of times.)

quit your ironic thanks whoring!

anyway: Lads = plural of Lad.......Lad is often used to refer to a boy or a young man as a form of address

great bunch of lads is reference to that fr ted episode

the lads = group of lads you hanfg around with

cmon now lads = cmon people

etc

whats not to understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

efb wrote: »
    S'up lads!

S'up Santa

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

No I know what the term lads means, but people just randomly saying it. Saw it in C&H there today, saw it in the LC forum a little while back etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Kiera wrote: »

always wondered, how DO you do the music notes thingy? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

S'up lads!
    S'up San-
    chucken1 wrote: »
    S'up lads!
    S'up Santa

Aww :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ypu cant be doin' that lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

xsiborg wrote: »

I make music with my lad all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

If you just say 'lads' on its own, its the same as how's the goin lads. The way at home you'd say 'well', meanin 'are ye well?'.

No I know what the term lads means, but people just randomly saying it. Saw it in C&H there today, saw it in the LC forum a little while back etc.

Its a bit like people saying random things randomly..like

• Registered Users Posts: 6,903 ✭✭✭amacca

if people randomly say lads then perhaps they have some sort of psychological issues or problems

eg: would you like ketchup? --- eh yes oh wait eh no...eh lads?

did you hear that aunty mavis died tragically in a spelunking accident? ----lads lads lads

get your ass off my face! ---- lads?

so all I know is that there were rumours of lads!

sorry did you say nads....no I said lads!

Q: why did the chicken cross the road? A: Lads

lady da!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You get special keyboard powers when you get over 25k posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

chucken1 wrote: »
    S'up Santa

Wanna sit on my knee?;)

http://fsymbols.com/computer/music-note/

I've no idea how :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Kiera wrote: »