Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Shops/Businesses in Bray

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Calibos

Cliffage wrote: »
    Noticed building beside the casino at end of albert walk is getting a facelift. Is this a part of the casino itself or is a new business going in?

Wish they'd give the whole casino complex a facelift. ie. a new unified facade. They bought all the shop units that used to surround it, extended the interior of the casino into them, but left the windows and metal shutters on the facades. All those permanently shut deteriorating facades make the area look like a business dead zone when in fact behind the facades are a single profitable business.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Cliffage

Calibos wrote: »
    Wish they'd give the whole casino complex a facelift. ie. a new unified facade. They bought all the shop units that used to surround it, extended the interior of the casino into them, but left the windows and metal shutters on the facades. All those permanently shut deteriorating facades make the area look like a business dead zone when in fact behind the facades are a single profitable business.

On closer inspection it's the casino itself they are doing up, or at least part of it. Should improve the look of the walk a bit hopefully

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Reads (of Nassau St) are now open on the Main St.... books, stationery and printing.

New coffee shop open where Guna Dubh was on Florence Road.

Pe We Ton has changed name to Kantai - not sure if it's a change of ownership.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,455 ✭✭✭✭Alun

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Pe We Ton has changed name to Kantai - not sure if it's a change of ownership.
    They're advertising themselves as being "Thai / Chinese". Seeing as most Chinese places also do (not very good) Thai dishes too, that's hardly going to be a USP. Now, if we were to get a proper Thai restaurant that'd be a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Reads (of Nassau St) are now open on the Main St.... books, stationery and printing.
    Good luck to them but what are they doing there tbh? Is there really that much traffic for them in Bray?

Thargor wrote: »
    Good luck to them but what are they doing there tbh? Is there really that much traffic for them in Bray?

It's not just books that they're selling but the print business. I was travelling from Bray to their branch in Sandyford to get printing done. They'll clean up with all the local printing jobs from Bray down to Wicklow.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Rumour is that Wetherspoons is buying the barracuda

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Interesting :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

That would be good alright.

Is Dealz not coming to Bray now since it turned out to be a Euro2 that went into the Xtravision unit?

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

Thats quite a rumour. What about the pub at the Dart station now that, that area is going to be redeveloped.sherlockzk0.gif

Antrim_Man wrote: »
    Thats quite a rumour.

Its from a reliable source too

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Its from a reliable source too

Taxi driver :D:D:D

Not at all. I said reliable.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Calibos

Thats quite a rumour. What about the pub at the Dart station now that, that area is going to be redeveloped.sherlockzk0.gif

Wait, What??

Have I missed some big news or does a new pedestrian bridge constitute redevelopment of an area?

Calibos wrote: »
    Wait, What?? Have I missed some big news or does a new pedestrian bridge constitute redevelopment of an area?
    I vaguely remember seeing something about plans to redevelop the area somewhere too, but can't for the life of me remember where now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Thargor wrote: »
    That would be good alright.

Is Dealz not coming to Bray now since it turned out to be a Euro2 that went into the Xtravision unit?

Its a Eurogiant, Rumour Dealz is going to where City2 used to be...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Alun wrote: »
    I vaguely remember seeing something about plans to redevelop the area somewhere too, but can't for the life of me remember where now.

Would love to see this area redeveloped. The old Cash N Carry building is an eyesore and is the first thing people see when they come out of Bray Dart Station. I know that building is up for sale so hopefully it sells soon.

Heard that about Wetherspoons a few weeks back.... that would certainly add a bit of competition to the seafront.

At the moment I wish the Barracuda might move their massive bins from the main entry to the beach from the DART... it looks awful for anyone coming down the Albert Walk to the seafront.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭Tippex

Its a Eurogiant, Rumour Dealz is going to where City2 used to be...

I heard a totally different rumour that dealz have decided not to go into bray now and that starbucks are taking City 2.
    Also heard that the owners of PWEton are the ones to have bought the bank on the quinnsboro road.

Alun wrote: »

From FG press releases some 150,000 is being spent on a transport interchange design or transport hub

http://www.simonharris.ie/?p=3396

http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/travel//news/2012/0419/317690-varadkar-announced-12m-dublin-transport-improvements/

Terry Pratchet

From FG press releases some 150,000 is being spent on a transport interchange design or transport hub

http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/travel//news/2012/0419/317690-varadkar-announced-12m-dublin-transport-improvements/
    Ah yes, that was it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Cerco

Just more empty promises. Plan to be ready by end of 2014. Do these people even know It is almost year end 2014?
    Sounds like the promised completion of the harbour in Greystones.
    Don't hold your breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,473 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Cerco wrote: »
    Just more empty promises. Plan to be ready by end of 2014. Do these people even know It is almost year end 2014?
    Sounds like the promised completion of the harbour in Greystones.
    Don't hold your breath.

Why is it an empty promise?

Why do people always react so negative?

They are not saying it will be completed by end of 2014 but that the confirmed plan would be in place. Big difference.

More about it here.

Think it'll be great to the area up.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

Heard that about Wetherspoons a few weeks back.... that would certainly add a bit of competition to the seafront.

At the moment I wish the Barracuda might move their massive bins from the main entry to the beach from the DART... it looks awful for anyone coming down the Albert Walk to the seafront.

I have made numerous complaints to Bray Council (Or the current equivalent) to no avail...
    It is disgusting, I have seen tourists trying to stretch over stinking bins to read the information display, Rats running from the bags of food waste..

I have made numerous complaints to Bray Council (Or the current equivalent) to no avail...
    It is disgusting, I have seen tourists trying to stretch over stinking bins to read the information display, Rats running from the bags of food waste..

One day raw chicken breasts were left on the path for a day... it had fallen out of one of their bins .

Was in the new Dun Laoghaire one yesterday. If they open in the Barracuda they will blow away the rest of the seafront. Unbeatable value.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭sallymomo

Was in the new Dun Laoghaire one yesterday. If they open in the Barracuda they will blow away the rest of the seafront. Unbeatable value.:)

Did anyone see the Wicklow Times piece about it this week?
    Nice quote from current person leasing the premises saying "to my knowledge its not going to be a wetherspoons"...and then the building owner giving out about a large publican in the area objecting to the application for a "superpub" while not disclosing his own interests in the premises. The very next paragraph then has a quote from John Duggan himself about the sustainability of a wetherspoons in Bray and its effect on local businesses and jobs.
    And of course there's an obligatory quote from Steven Matthews (he of the I want to shut down the Bray Summerfest campaign) on keeping the seafront in good shape etc.
    I'm all for keeping the seafront in good shape, it is our town's best asset after all - but it has been mentioned already here about the eyesore of bins on the existing premises and not a whisper out of politicians about that.
    So how about we tidy up the current mess first lads eh?

I'm in two minds as to the thoughts of a wetherspoons down there, obviously good competition for the locals but with the impending vacancy across the road in Campo and Barracuda being replaced we will be in dire need of a decent restaurant again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Not really a big fan of any of the main pubs along the seafront but wouldn't like the idea of Wetherspoons opening along there.

I'd be worried about the type of crowd being drawn to the area due to the cheap booze. Especially considering the great improvement in how family friendly the beach is these days.

As mentioned, the seafront could be in dire need of a good restaurant soon enough if/when Campo is sold, so that would be my preference for the Barracuda building.

I'm in two minds too. Much as I'd like the idea of supping a nice (and cheap!) pint of English cask ale while peering out over the sea on a warm summer's evening, I agree that the lure of their low prices might attract the "wrong crowd". It's a difficult call.

Pay a visit to the Blackrock one.

I was surprised that the crowd weren't really rough but any time I've been in the crowd is fine. And I've been in there late on a Saturday night while sober (had a non alcoholic Becks in a pint glass topped up with lemonade for €2.15). They seem to be pretty strict about serving people who have had a few too many.

The place closes at 12.30 I think.