Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What shoes you wearing now and what next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Treviso wrote: »
    I did a 7 mile easy run in them today and found that my pace increased. Not sure if it was the shoes themselves or just the new shoe feeling. They seem to push my feet forward quite a bit. I'm very happy with them, super cushioned.

Started running again (do this very 18 months since mid 20s) back in September, my first time since turning 40 and doing my meniscus three years back. Slow. Dog slow and that usually springyness I’d get 2 months in just isn’t coming back.

Been running in last years Infinity and Pegasus Trail 2 GTXs and they’ve been good. But I’ve been looking for a bit of magic (besides drills etc) to make me slightly less slow. Along comes Nikes ad department, so I ordered the Invincibles. I’m not sure what I wanted, a slightly faster version of the infinity maybe? Now they’re here I’m not sure.

The upper seems ridiculously bolstered. I remember first taking the Inifinity out of the box and thinking “what a cheap POS”, but I’ve really come prefer that one piece, minimal sock design. The invincible just feels clunky. Also hot. I went for a 6k yesterday and it felt clammier than the Goretex trails do at 10K. I appreciate the width though as I’ve flipper like feet. This is something Nike seem to be improving upon, especially since you can’t select wide fitting on the customs any more. Also had a mild plantar fasciitis sensation in the right a few hours after the run, so maybe going back?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

ariana` wrote: »
    I got them in the same size I wear all my shoes, EU40, and they seem fine quite roomy even but I haven't worn them running yet - they are far too bright and the roads are manky dirty around here between the rain and farmers spreading slurry. The joys of country living :( I'm no rush to wear them, they'll probably be a shoe for races whenever they happen again. I got them on AllTricks.com a few weeks back for €144 - that is the most I've never spent on a pair of shoes, I don't think I'd have justified full price at the moment with no races.

I don't think you'll regret picking up a pair of the React Milers but you're right to wait for a sale on those.

Cheers - same size as me ! I bought the react this morning on sale in elverys for 75 cuid . Bright white - whilst I don’t live in the country white is deffo not the best colour but honestly if they are comfortable I don’t really mind what they look like .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

Bluesquare wrote: »
    Cheers - same size as me ! I bought the react this morning on sale in elverys for 75 cuid . Bright white - whilst I don’t live in the country white is deffo not the best colour but honestly if they are comfortable I don’t really mind what they look like .

I saw that pair on Elverys - that's a great price, well wear. I have a pair in a box unworn already or else I'd pick up another pair myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Thanks - I’ve had them in my Nike basket for a few weeks . I should have bought Sunday with 20% off but wasn’t too sure . ! Hopefully there will be another sale soon - I think Nike are due one !

Apparently if you keep them in your basket you'll get offered a discount code soon enough.

I saw that pair on Elverys - that's a great price, well wear. I have a pair in a box unworn already or else I'd pick up another pair myself.

Good to know I’m not the only one who stock piles runners I like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,703 ✭✭✭Cartman78

aquinn wrote: »
    Apparently if you keep them in your basket you'll get offered a discount code soon enough.

Not sure if that's a universal rule tbh.

I had a pair of Zoom Flys in the basket with the discount applied (down to a very tempting €127)....took a day to contemplate if I really needed them (no), and if I could hide them in the attic without the missus noticing (yes)...so on mature reflection I went back to buy them the following day and they were sold out.

Tldr....don't leave stuff in your basket for too long

Runhub have all sizes of speeds on the website now. I’d suggest ringing ready2run Tullamore if you’re looking for a pair though, 20 quid cheaper then the runhub. OP above suggested

Thanks - Run hub were sold out in all ladies sizes bar size 4. I rang Tullamore and luckily they had received a delivery last night - and I managed to get a pair !!

Now to figure out how to get 2 pairs of new runners into the house unnoticed !

Thanks - Run hub were sold out in all ladies sizes bar size 4. I rang Tullamore and luckily they had received a delivery last night - and I managed to get a pair !!

If you figure that out will you come back and let us know ;)

Thanks All for assistance . I’ll come back and let ye know how I get on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Runpod in Sligo have them too
    https://runpod.ie/product/saucony-endorphin-speed-womens/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Would anyone recommend Saucony Guide 13 support runners for a beginner? <5k runs on road only. Local specialist shop has a deal on them at the moment.

I will give these a huge thumbs up, i have had 4 pairs, had three on the go for Dublin Marathon 19, that was the previous incarnation but i have the 13s as well, I've given up on support shoes but these were the best i ever had, nice and light as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I will give these a huge thumbs up, i have had 4 pairs, had three on the go for Dublin Marathon 19, that was the previous incarnation but i have the 13s as well, I've given up on support shoes but these were the best i ever had, nice and light as well.

Cheers thank you, they will have to wait for now!! I got a pair of Hoka Arahi 4's on Tuesday. Even with my limited experience - I'm impressed with them so far, find them a lot easier to run on the road with

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Lombardo123

Nike Epic React Flyknit 2 on sale @ Nike. 82 EUR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Slideways

Oops. Bought another pair of shoes

Brooks Hyperion Tempo. On special offer for $225 which is approx €145 when they are over $300 everywhere else

Should be delivered when away for work for the week. Gives me a few days to come up with an excuse I suppose :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭healy1835

Slideways wrote: »
    Oops. Bought another pair of shoes

Brooks Hyperion Tempo. On special offer for $225 which is approx €145 when they are over $300 everywhere else

Should be delivered when away for work for the week. Gives me a few days to come up with an excuse I suppose :pac:

Hyperion Elite you mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Slideways

healy1835 wrote: »
    Hyperion Elite you mean??

Nah, the tempo. Similar vein to the Endorphin Pro/Endorphin Speed except the tempo has no plate at all.

The Elites are $400!! Haha. I bought a pair of the first incarnation which I got on special and they were a major disappointment. I would have been fuming had I paid too whack for them

Slideways wrote: »
    Nah, the tempo. Similar vein to the Endorphin Pro/Endorphin Speed except the tempo has no plate at all.

The Elites are $400!! Haha. I bought a pair of the first incarnation which I got on special and they were a major disappointment. I would have been fuming had I paid too whack for them

You're in Australia aren't you? Thought you were talking in USD :) yeah picked up a pair of tempos myself for €125, arriving today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

healy1835 wrote: »
    You're in Australia aren't you? Thought you were talking in USD :) yeah picked up a pair of tempos myself for €125, arriving today.

want.....................:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Cole

I'm getting back into running and needed to update my old pair. Brooks GTS Adrenaline were recommended for me years ago when I got a gait analysis done and have never failed me, so I just got a new pair of 21s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

Would anyone have a good alternative to Pegasus 34s?
    The obvious answer would probably be the 35s-37s, but I've read some negative reviews that's put me off them (maybe I'm wrong, open to correction).
    Stocked up on the 34s a few years ago but they're hard to find now. Looking for a neutral, daily shoe for road running. Ideally less than €120.

The obvious answer would probably be the 35s-37s, but I've read some negative reviews that's put me off them (maybe I'm wrong, open to correction).
    Stocked up on the 34s a few years ago but they're hard to find now. Looking for a neutral, daily shoe for road running. Ideally less than €120.

Nike React Miler
    Nike React Infinity

Also going to throw the Reebox Floatride Energy 3 in there as I've read some very positive reviews comparing it to the Pegasus. It's €88 and 20% off that at the moment (SAVE20) making it a very attractive price point. I've worn the 2nd iteration of the shoe and it can't be faulted other than it's a bit plain visually.

Nike React Miler
    Nike React Infinity

Also going to throw the Reebox Floatride Energy 3 in there as I've read some very positive reviews comparing it to the Pegasus. It's €88 and 20% off that at the moment (SAVE20) making it a very attractive price point. I've worn the 2nd iteration of the shoe and it can't be faulted other than it's a bit plain visually.

I'd second the Infinity React Flyknit. My favourite easy runner at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭dowling06

Funnily enough, Nike has the 34s for sale on their site for 97 euro at the moment. Not a whole pile of sizes, 5.5,6,7.5,8.5 & 12 from what I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

dowling06 wrote: »
    Funnily enough, Nike has the 34s for sale on their site for 97 euro at the moment. Not a whole pile of sizes, 5.5,6,7.5,8.5 & 12 from what I can see.

Yep, size 9 unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,446 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

I'd consider the Vomero 14s also, some reviews have suggested them to be like a Pegasus 37 except better!

I'd describe them as a similar but faster React Miler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

I'd second the Infinity React Flyknit. My favourite easy runner at the moment.

I am not too fond of them at all..... My favourite are asics novablast if that says anything about me...

Was it yourself that was also ordering the bright NB carbon plate yokes? If so, how do you find them? I quite like them, haven't run any faster in them, or perceived myself to be running faster or using less energy or whatever, but I like them nonetheless.... If not yourself please ignore with my apologies

I only wish I had the charisma of TbL but alas its not me

Eh, it was you! Bright, New Balance Carbon plate...... Fuelcell TC ;) when you can't even remember what shoes you've bought, then you REALLY have a problem.

Oh was that me?? Haha. Thought the OP meant the Alphafly.

Yes I got the fuelcell TC. Wore them first in a 10k session and wasn't necessarily blown away (loved them but expected more). In hindsight perhaps taking them out on a soaking wet day which involved mostly puddle dodging wasn't the best idea.

I then wore them on a longer tempo session and that's where I found they came into their own. So if I was to pick a session style to wear them it would be longer tempos. I would say probably ideal for people doing marathon paced sessions and even race day. For me I'll save them for long tempo style runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sk8board

Deporvillage have all sizes of Endorphin Speed for €150 delivered, incl 8% discount voucher RNT7.

Finally got my hands on a 10.5/46 to replace my Boston’s.