Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC Ladbrokes World Championship 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

in years to come we will be tellin our kids that we saw taylor at the top of his game, talkin about how great he was, the way he brought darts back to the big time and was so near perfection sometimes

he still will win majors and is still going to hammer people, just mayby not as often as before, i hope darts doesnt die with him, i think its only when hes gone people will realise what he done for sky + the pdc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Regardless what happens now Taylor is one of the greatest sportmen ever, never mind darts.

To quote a wrestling term, "the best there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 johnjoda

ebbsy wrote: »
    Regardless what happens now Taylor is one of the greatest sportmen ever, never mind darts.

To quote a wrestling term, "the best there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be ".

In my opinion a bad sportsman. His short interview after his losing game along came the excuses bad eyesight, heat on stage. Mr Taylor "The Power" has blown a fuse end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Washout

johnjoda wrote: »
    ebbsy wrote: »

In my opinion a bad sportsman. His short interview after his losing game along came the excuses bad eyesight, heat on stage. Mr Taylor "The Power" has blown a fuse end of
    Oh come on the way he applauded chizzy at the end of the match has and raised his arm showed a bit of class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,365 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Van Gerwen had a great run there, really looks back on form,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

can someone explain to me how king averaged almost 100 and van gerwen averaged 91 yet van gerwen wins 4-1????

King couldnt finish his dinner, let alone the doubles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

32% vs MVG 36%

Legs just went Van Gerwens way when it mattered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,646 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

donfers wrote: »
    can someone explain to me how king averaged almost 100 and van gerwen averaged 91 yet van gerwen wins 4-1????

When King won legs it was generally on his own throw and quite often quite comfortably in 12/13/14 darts. In these legs MVG got off slowly and never caught up, sometimes still with a 200+ score when King hit a double.

Conversely when MVG won legs on his own throw King was still usually competitive in the leg, scoring enough to be down to ~100 when MVG got the winning double.

The above combined to give King a big lead on the overall averages. The handful of legs which MVG won on the King throw were enough to win him the game but not to close the gap in averages.

Some finish by Lloyd at the exact time he needed it, class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

i have to say, Lloyd is playing some fantastic darts here.

Rand isnt playing bad by any means, Lloyd is just excellent today. its a good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Those silly hat wearing muppets constantly football chanting - rather than enjoying the darts - really do my head in. Just a bunch of daytrippers too eager to be seen on camera. It is especially bad today, for some reason.

That is the one negative of the PDC over the BDO, in that it definitely attracts more of that type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Go on the Wizard!! Delighted for him. There's been a lot of 4-1 scorelines in this round!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

really hope the wizard wins the event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Taylor makes me laugh the excuses again last night , heat , eyesight:rolleyes:

Chizzy played better end of.

Taylor will go back now and in to the gym where he works out every day. Why the fcuk does he always say that ?

ppssssttttt no need to go to the gym Phil , why? coz you throw a fcuking dart !!!:D

Dont get me wrong i love watching the game , but its not a sport and as for the olympics :rolleyes:

I'd love to see the wizard world champion

It is a sport.
    Everyone should go to the gym.

Lot of Whitlock love, hes ok but im not a huge fan of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,647 ✭✭✭Heroditas

donfers wrote: »

As the great Bobby George says: "trebles for show, doubles for dough"

EDIT: Beaton had two awful meltdowns this afternoon in his game - threw two awful darts at crucial times when trying to check-out. could have got back to 2-2 at one stage but instead fell behind 3-1 and then when trying to pull back to 3-2 effectively threw the match away.
    Shame, always enjoy watching him throw.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Well done Devon Peterson, top class! If he could hit more doubles this could be a cracker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Well done Devon Peterson, top class! If he could hit more doubles this could be a cracker!
    Yea,seems Peterson has a dose of the Andersons when it comes to doubles.

Hes hitting 140s like a boss though.

Anderson is there for the taking at the moment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Great game of darts that. Huge credit to Peterson for playing so well and he is bound to make an impact in the years to come. Anderson held it together though and goes marching on!

Whoever invented the stand up if you love the darts chant should kill themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pudzianowski

Might be a bit of an upset in the last game tonight, pipe vs Jenkins. The pace of pipe's play might wear down terry and end up doing his head in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭allimac

Is it me or are half the people there not even watching the match?:confused:

allimac wrote: »
    Is it me or are half the people there not even watching the match?:confused:

It's a chant off between the tables and the balcony. "Shall we sing a song for you??". Nah, you're alright, d!ckheads. I'm not in competition with you's. I'm just watching the darts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

easy peasy for Lewis there, Jones was awful how on earth is he ranked 14?

I'm heading over for the semi finals and final so I'll sort them all out lads ;)

Crowd is disgraceful tbh in this game, but in fairness Pipe doesn't seem fazed at all.

cgpg5 wrote: »
    easy peasy for Lewis there, Jones was awful how on earth is he ranked 14?

Ah in fairness to Jones, he's a very good player. He's very good on the floor tournaments by all accounts and he's transferred that form onto the tv events over the past year or so.

Yep 93 average for Jones and 40% on doubles, he played well.

Jackpot just checked out everything.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Ah in fairness to Jones, he's a very good player. He's very good on the floor tournaments by all accounts and he's transferred that form onto the tv events over the past year or so.

I see where you're coming from alright with regard to being good on the floor and I understand that puts up your rankings- I remember Dennis Ovens was ranked below 20 a couple of seasons ago yet couldn't win on tv to save his life!
    However I just feel that Jones was very poor I'd be surprised to see a player perform as poorly in the third round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

The crowd's at the darts are getting worse by the tournament! Don't personally like Pipe but the treatment he's getting is a joke as has been said so many times before the PDC will do nothing as usual and the reason i will never go back to the Citywest World Grand Prix because of brainless idiots who are there only to get on TV wearing a costume with no interest in the games

mr.jingle wrote: »
    The crowd's at the darts are getting worse by the tournament! Don't personally like Pipe but the treatment he's getting is a joke as has been said so many times before the PDC will do nothing as usual and the reason i will never go back to the Citywest World Grand Prix because of brainless idiots who are there only to get on TV wearing a costume with no interest in the games

I agree and up to this year the World Championships crowds were generally ok but this year is a different story. It's sad to see but unfortunately as long as the PDC are raking in the cash the players will just have to deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭pad180

its a discrace the way the crowd are doing that to pipe

Jenkins hitting the form he was showing a few years ago,could be worth a punt to win the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

The sky camera men going aroung the crowd with tv cameras is half of the problem imo.
    It gets all the shouting going and cheering when the good looking girls apear on camera.
    By stoping this would definately be a start to sorting out the crowds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Unquiet Nights

Ah, Jenkins just let me down losing Set 3 to Pipe.

Lewis v Jenkins what a game that'll be!

It really is wide open unless Lewis or Anderson can find their A game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Very Impressive win from Terry Jenkins in the last game of the night over Justin Pipe 4-1 and a 102+ average. It should be an interesting quarter final between himself and Adrian Lewis. Lewis hasn't hit last year's form yet but I reckon he'll have to hit that form Friday night in order to beat Terry Jenkins who has been in great form in all his games so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Decent enough days darts. Very impressed with Whitlock again, will be a cracker of a qf v Anderson if they both get there. Anderson wasn't too convincing again, but saying that Petersen played some great stuff and has all the makings of a future star.
    Anderson pulled out the big shots and finishes when needed.

Lewis was hitting those doubles so well tonight. Wasn't scoring as well as he can but with that kind of finishing will be tough to beat.

Jenkins in that last game scored amazingly well, avg of almost 103 was pretty good. Hard one to call between him and Lewis and I would love to see Jenkins come thru that one on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭briany

sc86 wrote: »
    in years to come we will be tellin our kids that we saw taylor at the top of his game, talkin about how great he was, the way he brought darts back to the big time and was so near perfection sometimes

he still will win majors and is still going to hammer people, just mayby not as often as before, i hope darts doesnt die with him, i think its only when hes gone people will realise what he done for sky + the pdc

I don't think anyone will ever touch Taylor's consistency of form. There's players there who can match him on their day but never have I seen any evidence of a player who could do it day in-day out on TV way the that Taylor has over the last 15 years. He's a darting freak and it does worry me as to what will happen when he retires because it's him who has been pulling everyone else along with him as they have had to attempt to live with him. When Taylor's gone, I think the other players will unwittingly drop their game a notch or two over time and while the averages will still be above that of the BDO, they won't be as much as before and there'll be no Taylor figure to heroically overcome in tournaments which for me takes away a really compelling element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Would love it if Jenkins beat Lewis

Cracking first set,Painter continuing on his good form,looks really up for it.

Painter's average must be crazy high

Great game, pressure is really getting to Painter

Delighted Part won that match. Feel bad for Kevin Painter but it was one of those games where both players had their fate in their own hands at various and Part just took the pressure and the chances better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Kind of insulting talk about Part there saying he only ever wins when the favouites go out. They obviously forgot about him beating Taylor in the final in 2003:rolleyes:

Lex Luger looking to cause an upset over Wade.

2djdvuu_th.jpg

Edit : Shocking! He'll be ruing that one. :O

WTF Farmer how does someone bust 176!