Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LED lighting General discussion, read here before posting a question.

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Hi. How would you go about changing 50 watt MR 16 to LED GU 10

• Registered Users Posts: 13,840 ✭✭✭✭josip

Hi. How would you go about changing 50 watt MR 16 to LED GU 10

Take out the transformers and MR16 fitting and wire the new GU10 holder directly into the mains. If they're on a dimmer switch and you want to continue being able to get them, then you'll have to get a dimmable LED, such as a Philips Master LED.

I'm not an electrician and I did a swap out like that a few months ago.
    Maybe some electricians would frown on such behaviour, but I know my limits and its very straightforward.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Ikea bulbs are different fittings or at best not Common

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

LED bulbs burn out faster than makers claim

Anyone any thoughts on the following. I just had my first burn out on an exterior light, Its wired fine in a proper fitting but only lasted 1 year which i calculated to be just over 2000 hours. Philips Master LED 4W GU10
    Now the old bulb incandescent bulb i had in that was there donkeys years :confused:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/led-bulbs-burn-out-faster-than-makers-claim-256742.html

An investigation carried out by British consumer watchdog Which? found that many LED bulbs simply do not live up to manufacturers’ claims that they will shine for 25,000 and 50,000 hours.