Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wtf? Christmas carolers?

• 01-12-2011 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭

Just opened the door to a young lad (about 10 or 11) and his mother singing "We Wish you a Merry Christmas" and holding out a bowl for money.

I quickly made my excuses and shut and locked the door behind me. :D

Since when has this ever been done in Ireland? Especially the freekin first of December!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Bah ...Humbug time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Spartan kick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Foreigners ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

hondasam wrote: »
    Foreigners ?

Nope they were Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's nothing new. I just open the door and tell them they have the wrong house, I ordered a stripper not a singer.

Nope they were Irish.

In that case you should have given them some money. Would €5 break the bank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Just opened the door to a young lad (about 10 or 11) and his mother singing "We Wish you a Merry Christmas" and holding out a bowl for money.

Since when has this ever been done in Ireland? Especially the freekin first of December!

Holy Christ...............I hate Xmas.

In that case you should have given them some money. Would €5 break the bank?

Actually at the minute yeah! I have 3 euro to last me untill tomorrow!

Actually at the minute yeah! I have 3 euro to my name untill tomorrow!

Probably more than they had, you could have given the child €1.50.
    Do you not feel bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

shite in the bowl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Scrooge had the right idea. He acted like a bollix towards this kind of stuff for the month of December but then had a change of heart right at pressie time.

It is a policy I shall adopt.

Probably more than they had, you could have given the child €1.50.
    Do you not feel bad?

Not. One. Bit. :rolleyes:

They have probably made loads going around the estate from people that felt guilted into giving them something. It's begging in disguise imo (in this case)

It's ok i feel bad for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

You should have sang back at the kid slayers "angel of death"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭antocann

when we moved down the country , we get carrolers after xmas , taught standerd was xmas eve?

It's ok i feel bad for you.

Thanks. If I sing you a virtual song will you send me 5 euro?

antocann wrote: »
    when we moved down the country , we get carrolers after xmas , taught standerd was xmas eve?

Wouldn't mind if it were a few days before xmas but this is taking the piss

Thanks. If I sing you a virtual song will you send me 5 euro?

If you dance as well i will double it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

They have probably made loads going around the estate from people that felt guilted into giving them something. It's begging in disguise imo (in this case)

Oh, I'm sorry it bothered you so much.

For that woman to do that must have taken real guts for the sake of her child and all you can do is whine and come on here and given those little stupid rolleyes?

Some people make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Erm, happens every year, although in fairness they usally wait till mid december. I dont give them anything, becuase then word gets about, and you have the whole neighbourhood calling round.

lastlaugh wrote: »

For that woman to do that must have taken real guts for the sake of her child and all you can do is whine and come on here and given those little stupid rolleyes?

What makes me sick is people using their child to pressure people into giving them their hard earned money. This woman did not look starved or desperate in any way.

If anything she looked like she was chancing her arm.
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Erm, happens every year, although in fairness they usally wait till mid december. I dont give them anything, becuase then word gets about, and you have the whole neighbourhood calling round.

Hmm news to me. I've never come across it before. As I said I wouldn't mind if it was nearer christmas or if it were just a couple of kids or in aid of a charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You should have kicked his ding-dong merrily on high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

I love Christmas but hate carol singers, at least the ones who call to houses. I like seeing them singing in town. Its so fing awkward having to stand and smile and look interested until the end of the song.
    In an estate I used to live in the local kids would call carol singing every evening. I stopped giving them money and just gave them a bag of tayto or biscuits instead lol

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Lighten up will you!

It's now Christmas time and they were children.

A few euro won't break the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

A kick into the goolies !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

If you dance as well i will double it :pac:

Kinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Get off your high horse would you.
    Do you give every person and child that knocks on your door singing €5.
    If you do, you're the biggest mug of them all.

Dr.Silly wrote: »

Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

What makes me sick is people using their child to pressure people into giving them their hard earned money. This woman did not look starved or desperate in any way.

If anything she looked like she was chancing her arm.

Hmm news to me. I've never come across it before. As I said I wouldn't mind if it was nearer christmas or if it were just a couple of kids or in aid of a charity.

For a thread about carollers this has gotten fairly heated...

mackg wrote: »
    For a thread about carollers this has gotten fairly heated...

Would you like to step outside ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Would you like to step outside ? ;)

I told you carollers to get off my fcuking doorstep!

mackg wrote: »
    I told you carollers to get off my fcuking doorstep!

lol... okay okay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Lighten up will you!

It's now Christmas time and they were children.

A few euro won't break the bank.

It probably would break the bank for some people. Lots of people out there without jobs.

I can't say I've ever seen a mother and child come singing to my door, but if they did you can be darned sure I'd wouldn't throw them a roll eye and shut the door on them.

Biggest mug of them all indeed.

I bet you think it's stupid to donate used clothes to the SVP and rather throw them down a lane or something.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    It probably would break the bank for some people. Lots of people out there without jobs.

Just because you don't have a job doesn't mean you can't give to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

That's when I bust out the photocopied fivers.
    WIN!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

This happened to me last year.

It was a mother with two children, who I'm presuming were her own.

They looked a bit street if you get me.

After a rather brutal version of Silent Night, I went and fetched a bottle of milk for them and sent them on their way.

One of the sprogs proceeded in throwing the bottle of milk at my expensive bicycle.

Take from this what you like. I won't be giving them free milk this Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭caitmb

The only ones that call to my door are our own nomadic people.....They get the same answer every time,thanks but no. I'm all for a bit of charity but see this door knocking craic as begging pure and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Jazzzman wrote: »
    This happened to me last year.

It was a mother with two children, who I'm presuming were her own.

They looked a bit street if you get me.

After a rather brutal version of Silent Night, I went and fetched a bottle of milk for them and sent them on their way.

One of the sprogs proceeded in throwing the bottle of milk at my expensive bicycle.

Take from this what you like. I won't be giving them free milk this Christmas.

A bottle of milk ? have you a time machine. Haven't seen milk in a bottle for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I can't say I've ever seen a mother and child come singing to my door, but if they did you can be darned sure I'd wouldn't throw them a roll eye and shut the door on them.

I bet you think it's stupid to donate used clothes to the SVP and rather throw them down a lane or something.

Donating to the SVP and giving money to a con artist who drags a child around to pressure people into giving her money are to very different things :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Just because you don't have a job doesn't mean you can't give to charity.

It does if you don't have a fukn penny. Charity starts at home and all that.
    Look after yourself first and then if you have a couple of quid left over you can give to charity. No point leaving yourself short too.

Venom wrote: »
    Donating to the SVP and giving money to a con artist who drags a child around to pressure people into giving her money are to very different things :rolleyes:

And how do you know that woman was a 'con artist who drags a child around to pressure people into giving her money'?

Will you give me the lotto numbers if your doing it this week please?

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

Carolers dont come to my house

The benifits of living in a bog Tipperary :rolleyes:

We should swap usernames

Hey c'mon now, don't be making jokes.

Can't you see I'm absolutley outraged over here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

And how do you know that woman was a 'con artist who drags a child around to pressure people into giving her money'?

Will you give me the lotto numbers if your doing it this week please?

from the OP

Why did they need a begging bowl ?

And Christmas carolers out on the 1st of December?

You seriously asking why it's a con job?

If so I have some magic beans for sale that will sing the winning lotto numbers to you twice a week :p

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

lastlaugh is doing some serious trolling here tbf...

Hey c'mon now, don't be making jokes.

Can't you see I'm absolutley outraged over here?

oh...outraged... a little over dramatic aren't we ?

your comment about "them" type of people making you sick was totally uncalled for.

Jazzzman wrote: »
    lastlaugh is doing some serious trolling here tbf...

Hold on a minute, that's a serious allegation, are you trying to ge me banned?

Venom wrote: »
    from the OP

Why did they need a begging bowl ?

And Christmas carolers out on the 1st of December?

You seriously asking why it's a con job?

If so I have some magic beans for sale that will sing the winning lotto numbers to you twice a week :p

She was obviously desperate, and she was 'kind of' begging.

Doesn't make it a con job, quite the opposite really.