Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing UCC student

• 03-12-2011 1:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭

Just copying and pasting from UCC forum. Hope the chap is found ok.
    Taken from collegeroad.ie facebook page:

A UCC Student is missing. His name is Caolan Mulrooney and he was last seen in the early hours of last night (1 December 2011).

If you have seen this student please contact Irlaith Kennedy on 085- 749-2398 or Anglesea Guards.

Details: 19 Years of Age, Tall, Brown Hair – Last seen outside Cubins nightclub.

392762_10150989802260471_244184210470_21803833_2139984369_n.jpg

Really hoping this has a happy ending.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Where was he last seen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭dodger50

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Where was he last seen?

" gardaí in Cork are calling for information on the whereabouts of Caolan Mulrooney, 18, who was last seen at around 1am today. He was walking over South Gate Bridge and towards French’s Quay at the time.
    He is described as being of athletic build, is 6′ in height and has brown hair. When last seen, Mulrooney was wearing a blue and white striped shirt and blue jeans."
    photo outside Cubins

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?t=202581

• Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Where was he last seen?

According to the Gardaí at the briefing last night the last visual they have of him was up by fort street/dean street which would have had him heading out of the city. They were trawling through barrack street cctv last night to see if he headed back down to the city that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Sallyanne2

Wish in my heart that I could say something that would lead to this missing young man. He is so handsome. This is so heartbreaking. May God help his family to cope with this. Why, oh why, do students feel they have no alternative but to disappear. I wish I could help any student who feels like this. Circumstances change so much between 18 and 30no need for any student to feel lonely or at the point of despair. If only they could know that they have so much to live for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

They appear to have honed in on his mobile phone somewhere along college rd, and are asking all returning students after weekend to check their back gardens etc. for it. "LL students located near St. Finbarrs Cathedral, Barracks Street and College Rd, check your gardens, bushes and bins for Caolans phone. Especially students who have been away for the weekend. The phone is an LG Cookie. Any student who finds the phone should immediately contact the Gardai! Also, the search continues at 10am tomorr from the Lee Rowing Club.."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

I would be 99% sure Sallyanne2, that this is not related to loneliness or anything like that, he has never shown any signs of depression and was happy that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

There is another thread on this concerning an article the daily mail wrote which is a disgrace

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

There is another thread on this concerning an article the daily mail wrote which is a disgrace

It is an absolute disgrace and people are publicising one of Caolan's friend's editorials regarding that - http://www.universitytimes.ie/?p=7104

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Sallyanne2

magicianz wrote: »
    I would be 99% sure Sallyanne2, that this is not related to loneliness or anything like that, he has never shown any signs of depression and was happy that night.

Well, then this makes the whole thing very mysterious. Please God let this young man be found safe and well, that would be my dearest wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭joyce2009

This is an interview on 96fm this morning with the young lads father,,hes highlighing the areas they want searched,,so if you know anyone be it locals or buisness owners please ask them to ckeck their property, back garden, bins, laneways for any sign or clue to the where abouts of this poor lad.
    http://soundcloud.com/pj-coogan/0512-eugene-mulrooney-with

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

magicianz wrote: »
    It is an absolute disgrace and people are publicising one of Caolan's friend's editorials regarding that - http://www.universitytimes.ie/?p=7104

EDIT: Misread your post. Sorry

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

PJ Coogan's just tweeted that a body has been found in a yard between Evergreen Street and Douglas Street, it hasn't been identified yet. Here's hoping it isn't Caolan.

Ludo wrote: »
    Retracted now...report of body found untrue
    Where did you hear this?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Source? Irish Times and 96fm say the Gardaí reported a body found.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 thelungs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Well done. Its very much true.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

On front of Examiner site - Irish Times also reporting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭IHeartChemistry

96fm website crashed for anyone else?

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭kmcattack

yep, been down for me pretty much since the news broke

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Sad news today.

To respect the family's wishes, this thread will stay closed and there will be
    no further discussion on this topic.

If you wish to express condolences to the family, you can do so over on the UCC forum.

Please read the first post there, the thread is only to express sympathy to the family and friends of Caolan Mulrooney.

no discussion or speculation.