Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Winter kills

• 06-12-2011 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭

Since the summer we have had homeless Czech Republic nationals sleeping rough in a small public garden facing me in Lower Dominick street in the heart of Dublin 1...town.

B1BA6150C2564D99922F481AA7E2675C-0000316428-0002408656-00800L-73B99CCE5FF0487498FB8CB2FD400BC5.jpg

People have brought down soups and jackets but this weather is no friend of the homeless, this morning one of them didn't make it past the night.

B137BC72F0CD4A76BB4F6431D0FF380E-0000316428-0002656663-00800L-5520C8058C8D40C380E7CBD5456926A1.jpg

75D2F93359A2472DB07D3968203FC188-0000316428-0002656662-00800L-1B5CAE8E295945608226DE5FE526AFFA.jpg

7C88B1646D744A5E853F3747280DAF12-0000316428-0002656661-00800L-1DA11685E3D747618DAC1411E64ED456.jpg

4601A53673B8453CA6840716D9E6ED39-0000316428-0002656660-00800L-EE886F6EE0D04A0BB8E725375584FB36.jpg

What's terrible is the amount of empty flats behind them that could and should be used for temp accomadation in this weather for the homeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭EyeBlinks

Crikey, thats bloody awful :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭im...LOST

That's very, very sad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

very sad indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Well captured. It's a pretty grim sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,096 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Sad indeed. As you say, being homeless in the garden of a boarded up block of flats is... I don't even know what word to use. But it certainly highlights the outrageous state of our housing strategy.

Being reported on RTE now

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1206/dublin.html

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 328 ✭✭thefly

Very sad but great shots all the same. Have you sent them into any news agencies? I would imagine most papers would be interested in using them. Nit only will you get exposure but at the sometime highlight the plight of the homeless in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

I didn't McFly, I did one time and it is just so much hassle, that Green jacket was one of 3 jackets I gave them only 3-4 weeks ago, I've just blown up the picture and realised.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 winda34

Well captured but so achingly sad. Thank you so much for sharing, I am sure there is something more we could all do..

I can't even find on their website how to send a pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Very sad :(
    I do love your first pic!

aye, that was summer, I am not sure which one it was that died...their english was very poor but I could've swore that they said they were Czech Republic...I guess my broken english understanding is poor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Very sad. Just to think when he was a young boy he would never have thought his life would end in a lonely garden outside a derelict block of flats in Dublin.

Life really can deal people a cruel hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Scamp-

Oh god, that's terrible. The poor lad was only 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

****ing hell. that poor guy. may he rest in peace.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,037 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Sad stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭The_Snapper

Great shots, and yes, incredibly sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Jesus, RIP:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Lady_North1

That is so so sad. Such a desperate thing to happen. and the saddest part is that it will probably happen again.

RIP :(

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭92cooper

i saw lads sleeping there the other week :(:( and also noted the completely empty
    boarded up flats. very very SAD.

puts the whole budget/financial business into perspective. we had a lad pulled out of bushes where we live, this time last year. poor fecker didnt stand a chance in last years temps.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Heard Christy Burke (Councillor) on the radio at lunchtime saying how decent they were and caused nobody any bother. They had been there since the summer and enjoyed their few drinks each day. Wicked sad to see somehting like that.

AR, you should get in touch with the Gardaí - I'm sure they'll be able to put you in touch with his relatives and that they would appreciate some of your pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

This is nothing short of disgusting.

While Ireland wonders what to do with it's "Ghost Estates", people die on the streets as they cannot afford shelter.

AR, well done on having the nerve to capture this story, i'm not sure i would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

There are homeless people dying all over the world,it is a horrible thought that it can happen.

What it is a worse feeling is when it happens on your doorstep, with the cruel irony of it being on the doorsteps of unused dwellings

These lads no doubt came here under the promise of a better life, one has now lost this life in a country where it could have easily been prevented

Disgusted,

R.I.P