Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beginner - Guitar advise please

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Forest Fire

clonmahon wrote: »
    Your right but this is the nature of guitar players, ask 10 guitar players for an opinion and you will get 10 different opinions.

Yes, it'll probably be me in 2 years time!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,311 ✭✭✭✭endacl

clonmahon wrote: »
    Your right but this is the nature of guitar players, ask 10 guitar players for an opinion and you will get 10 different opinions.

Yes, it'll probably be me in 2 years time!
    It's complicated. Wait till somebody starts a thread on the stringiest strings and pickiest picks. Then you'll know all about opinions. Ah feck it. Acoustic: elixir nanoweb .012's, electric: d'addario xl's (gauge depends on the guitar, but none o' yer floppy nancy boy stuff), classical d'addario pro arte (hard tension) trebles, savarez alliance blue basses. Picks: still love those ol' dunlop .60 nylon. I'm right and everybody else is wrong...
    :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

endacl wrote: »
    It's complicated. Wait till somebody starts a thread on the stringiest strings and pickiest picks. Then you'll know all about opinions. Ah feck it. Acoustic: elixir nanoweb .012's, electric: d'addario xl's (gauge depends on the guitar, but none o' yer floppy nancy boy stuff), classical d'addario pro arte (hard tension) trebles, savarez alliance blue basses. Picks: still love those ol' dunlop .60 nylon. I'm right and everybody else is wrong...

Oh you did NOT just go there!!!!! :P
    Electric...... Super Slinky 8's....... I like to bend the **** out of every note!! lol
    Acoustic..... Super Slinky 10's...... I dont know why but I love putting electric strings on the acoustic, i just love the sound!!! MY OPINIONS ARE RIGHT AND ALL OF YOURS ARE WRONG!!!!!! :P

Generally I'd use the dunlop .60 nylons too but if im playing something very 80's "metal" - (term "metal" used lightly) as in Def Leppard, Bon Jovi, Skid Row etc I'll use a steel pic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Anyway, I got a guitar today, purchased from a family owned and run music shop. I got an SX Acoustic Guitar. It turned out his wife gives music lessons too, at a time which would suit me down to the ground and in a place that I would be passing when bringing my son to school. Great to know that if I can't pick it up from the computer that this backup is available to me. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

i got a semi acoustic encore first , not a guitar specialist but iv never had problems with it , its fairly cheap too i think (was a present)
    argos sell em i think

cloptrop wrote: »
    i got a semi acoustic encore first , not a guitar specialist but iv never had problems with it , its fairly cheap too i think (was a present)
    argos sell em i think

Did it take you long to learn to play and did you go to a music teacher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Black Cow

You guys are a laugh. This tread was started to offer simple advice to a beginner (like myself) and you have all gone off on one with how much you all know about what! Give Cofy some simple advice and then leave it, eh?
    Agreed - there's some awful snobbery ITT. And from my experience, it's the empty vessels that make the most noise - most 'gear' heads who read the guitar magazines & study up on the latest equipment, etc, are usually the worst players. They love to talk the talk.

OP - unlike some people ITT, I don't know the detailed ins & outs of every guitar, pick, string, etc, available - I just don't have time - I'm too busy actually playing music; but from my experience, you can't go wrong with a Yamaha acoustic for a beginner. Nice action & good sound. Try Adverts.ie

http://www.adverts.ie/514765

endacl wrote: »

I'd be curious to see you post a link to your actual playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Nothing wrong with someone liking the gear and reading about it and not being the best player. Its just a different way of enjoying instruments, music etc. No need to get into someone face about it.

BostonB wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with someone liking the gear and reading about it and not being the best player. Its just a different way of enjoying instruments, music etc. No need to get into someone face about it.
    I'm not getting "in his face" - I'm just saying that the OP asked a simple question, and received all sorts of in-forum arguing over brand names - it's pure snobbery. I then simply stated that I reckon the empty vessels make the most noise.

And yeah, there is something wrong with being all talk IMO.

A forum is all talk that's entirely the point of it. You listed a brand name yourself. My point is many guitar heads love to talk about guitars. Same way people like to talk about football, even if most of them aren't any good at it. I wonder if someone posts a comment of the soccer forum do they get asked to see a vid of them playing. Each to their own.

cofy wrote: »
    Anyway, I got a guitar today, purchased from a family owned and run music shop. I got an SX Acoustic Guitar. It turned out his wife gives music lessons too, at a time which would suit me down to the ground and in a place that I would be passing when bringing my son to school. Great to know that if I can't pick it up from the computer that this backup is available to me. Happy days.

Congrats OP, best of luck with it and hope you stick with it.... great that you can get the lessons from the same people too :)
    Black Cow wrote: »
    Agreed - there's some awful snobbery ITT. And from my experience, it's the empty vessels that make the most noise - most 'gear' heads who read the guitar magazines & study up on the latest equipment, etc, are usually the worst players. They love to talk the talk.

OP - unlike some people ITT, I don't know the detailed ins & outs of every guitar, pick, string, etc, available - I just don't have time - I'm too busy actually playing music; but from my experience, you can't go wrong with a Yamaha acoustic for a beginner. Nice action & good sound. Try Adverts.ie

http://www.adverts.ie/514765

So because I read up about the gear that I use and pay a lot of money for i'm full of awful snobbery?? I gave my advice... someone disagreed... we debated our points, some comments look aggressive and argumentative but how do you know what tone they were meant to be read in?? And I personally think your "Empty Vessel" comment is hilarious.... that says to me that your attitude is that if someone knows the theory side of something then they'll be useless at the practical end of it. I could be wrong, but thats how it reads...
    I'm not getting "in his face" - I'm just saying that the OP asked a simple question, and received all sorts of in-forum arguing over brand names - it's pure snobbery.

It's not snobbery, its human nature to debate over what brands etc people think are better. The OP asked for advice from people, If I was starting a thread like this (which I have done many times) then I'd want to read various comments and suggestions from different people, and if one person disagreed with someone about why type of gear to be spending money on, I'd want to hear arguments from both parties... it's how you make educated decisions.

And before you accuse me of arguing with you... I'm simply debating your opinions with my own, not being a snob or an "Empty Vessel"

Did it take you long to learn to play and did you go to a music teacher?

i had a bass for about 5 years before i got the guitar
    i never took the bass seriously in all that time , i just learned about 5 riffs off it and played them once a year when i picked up the bass cause it was in the way
    i think however this gave me a small headstART with finger strength
    i didnt get lessons , i wanted them and even advertised on that barter site to offer my plumbing skills for lessons , nobody replied.
    so i went on the internet and found the g c and d chords and practised them till i had them ,
    im at it about a year now i can play any open chords except b which is a b***ch , im struggling on with bar chords and can make up my own little songs and stuff ,
    after about a year you will be able to play a good few songs
    easy songs to learn first would be
    1 wild thing g g c c d d c c then chorus is g a g a
    2 knockin on heavens door just g d c all the way through g g d d c c c c
    3 twist and shout d d g g a a a a
    you need to practice alot though
    at least an hour a day in parts at first cause your hands wont last an hour at the start

I wonder if someone posts a comment of the soccer forum do they get asked to see a vid of them playing. Each to their own.

Analogy fail. This is more like if someone on the Soccer Forum was debating the type of studs they use or the best brand of shorts. People can be fans of music & not play - and people can be fans of soccer & not play. This is the forum where people DO play, so it's fair to ask someone who talks big to back it up with something tangible.
    that says to me that your attitude is that if someone knows the theory side of something then they'll be useless at the practical end of it. I could be wrong, but thats how it reads...

I never said that - apologies if it reads that way. You can be into gear & brands, etc, and still be a good player - I simply stated that from my experience, they usually don't go hand in hand.
    Debating Ernie Balls vs. D'addarios implies that you can tell the difference when you play with both - which means you must be at a high level of playing to notice this. I've been playing 20 years and I could a tell light vs. heavy gauge - but I couldn't tell you the brand (I use D'addarios - but swap them out with the same gauge of Fenders, and I wouldn't notice); so for someone to debate these sort of intricacies, they really must be playing at the top level. And if they're just novices, then I highly doubt these tiny little details make any difference at all to their playing - so actually having a debate about these finicky little details as if it makes any odds (unless they are top, top level players), tells me they're most likely full of sh*t.

It's just logic - novices wouldn't notice the difference between a maple neck or a rosewood neck if they played it blind; but they'll probably debate it with someone because they read an article in Shred magazine or something. I know people who would say "oh, have you seen the new Line 6 POD XR20F - it has a new coupling flange delay, with an extra 80ohms of gain in the module control fx loop insert" - yeah, nice regurgitation from the magazine - but you haven't a clue what it means (nor do I), and even if you did, how much difference would that slick new piece of equipment make to your sloppy 1-position pentatonic solos.

cloptrop wrote: »
    i had a bass for about 5 years before i got the guitar
    i never took the bass seriously in all that time , i just learned about 5 riffs off it and played them once a year when i picked up the bass cause it was in the way
    i think however this gave me a small headstART with finger strength
    i didnt get lessons , i wanted them and even advertised on that barter site to offer my plumbing skills for lessons , nobody replied.
    so i went on the internet and found the g c and d chords and practised them till i had them ,
    im at it about a year now i can play any open chords except b which is a b***ch , im struggling on with bar chords and can make up my own little songs and stuff ,
    after about a year you will be able to play a good few songs
    easy songs to learn first would be
    1 wild thing g g c c d d c c then chorus is g a g a
    2 knockin on heavens door just g d c all the way through g g d d c c c c
    3 twist and shout d d g g a a a a
    you need to practice alot though
    at least an hour a day in parts at first cause your hands wont last an hour at the start

Thanks a million, this is really helpfull, I find it very hard to put the guitar down, when my fretting fingers get too sore, I practice strumming and fingerpicking. I am probably trying to run before I can walk, but we'll see. I love the 3 songs you have listed. Thanks again.

Analogy fail. This is more like if someone on the Soccer Forum was debating the type of studs they use or the best brand of shorts. People can be fans of music & not play - and people can be fans of soccer & not play. This is the forum where people DO play, so it's fair to ask someone who talks big to back it up with something tangible....

I still don't reckon if someone commented on studs someone would be ask to see them playing. The only reason for doing that is not to debate the comment, but attack the posters playing. The point should be debated on thread. Not dragged somewhere off site, or descend into name calling.

lads lads,,,,,,,, the topic is beginner guitar advice

I still don't reckon if someone commented on studs someone would be ask to see them playing. The only reason for doing that is not to debate the comment, but attack the posters playing. The point should be debated on thread. Not dragged somewhere off site, or descend into name calling.
    Yeah, I'd agree with that.

Point is; I'm not the one who started the debate ITT - the OP asked a simple question, and people went OTT with debating pointless stuff that's not even relevant to the OP as a beginner. I told him to get a Yamaha, and I even linked to one on Adverts - short & sweet - answered his query. I then simply stated that from experience, the people who talk the talk are seldom the ones who can walk the walk.
    Yeah, this thread got dragged off on a tangent - but it wasn't me who did it. And for the record, I didn't "ask to see a video of him" playing - I just said I'd "be curious" to see one, since he seems to 'know' a lot. I demanded nothing - I just left the ball in his court in case he felt so inclined.

Thanks a million, this is really helpfull, I find it very hard to put the guitar down, when my fretting fingers get too sore, I practice strumming and fingerpicking. I am probably trying to run before I can walk, but we'll see. I love the 3 songs you have listed. Thanks again.

Personally I think the sooner you get something you recognise out of the guitar the more you'll stay interested. So if you find a teacher, get them to help you play something you know, rather than just exercises, or pieces you don't know.

Some say you should start on a nylon string quitar, saves the fingers. I dunno though. I think you should play what you like playing. Be it classic, steel, or electric.

Personally I think the sooner you get something you recognise out of the guitar the more you'll stay interested. So if you find a teacher, get them to help you play something you know, rather than just exercises, or pieces you don't know.

That's actually really good advice, playing songs that you listen to regularly will keep you interested. Pick a few songs from a few of your favorite bands and concentrate on them. But the exercises, in my opinion, are very important, there's a big difference in being able to play a guitar and being able to play a few songs on a guitar

Some might just want to play a few songs, especially singers etc. Not everyone wants to be Eugene Martone.

I guess I'm bias I never stuck with anything I did formal lessons with. I'm brutal at the quitar, but its the only I'd still pick up from time to time.

Fully agree - was sent to group guitar lessons when I was 10 - learned The Fields of Athenry and similar sh*te and had no interest.
    Picked up the guitar again myself when I was 12 and started getting proper into music - first song I learned was Knocking on Heavens Door (GNR) and Don't Cry, because a friend gave me the chords. Practised them until my fingers fell off. I also had a beginners guitar book that I worked my way through. Now I was doing it because I wanted to - and I slowly learned more & more songs/chords and then became obsessed. Went for private lessons and took it all in this time & never looked back.

Yeah; learn songs you know & like - it'll make it more like fun & not work.

Fully agree - was sent to group guitar lessons when I was 10 - learned The Fields of Athenry and similar sh*te and had no interest.
    Picked up the guitar again myself when I was 12 and started getting proper into music - first song I learned was Knocking on Heavens Door (GNR) and Don't Cry, because a friend gave me the chords. Practised them until my fingers fell off. I also had a beginners guitar book that I worked my way through. Now I was doing it because I wanted to - and I slowly learned more & more songs/chords and then became obsessed. Went for private lessons and took it all in this time & never looked back.

Yeah; learn songs you know & like - it'll make it more like fun & not work.

Very same thing happened me, when i was about 12 my first guitar teacher just told us to bring in cd's with songs we wanted to play and he's show us, i went to about 5 of these lessons and got fed up cause the songs the other guys brought it didnt appeal to me at all. So i stopped for a few months, then used the net to teach myself, particularly youtube videos. and 16 years later I've never looked back

I think my first songs were

"Don't talk to strangers" - Dio (the intro)
    "Patience" - GnR
    Dead or Alive - "Bon Jovi"
    Fisherman Blues - "The Waterboys"

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭clonmahon

You can be into gear & brands, etc, and still be a good player - I simply stated that from my experience, they usually don't go hand in hand.
    Debating Ernie Balls vs. D'addarios implies that you can tell the difference when you play with both - which means you must be at a high level of playing to notice this. I've been playing 20 years and I could a tell light vs. heavy gauge - but I couldn't tell you the brand (I use D'addarios - but swap them out with the same gauge of Fenders, and I wouldn't notice); so for someone to debate these sort of intricacies, they really must be playing at the top level. And if they're just novices, then I highly doubt these tiny little details make any difference at all to their playing - so actually having a debate about these finicky little details as if it makes any odds (unless they are top, top level players), tells me they're most likely full of sh*t.

I think Black Cow may have a point here, there is a wonderful story about the great Merle Travis who was an absolutely top notch finger picking guitar player, but had zero interest in or knowledge of technical trivia. A journalist once asked him "what kind of strings do you use on your guitar Mr Travis", he replied "I use guitar strings". He was puzzled by the question.

I said earlier in this thread it's not the machine that makes the music, its the player. I repeat I have heard great players knocking sweet music from crappy guitars and crap players making a racket with great guitars. If you can tune it, if it stays in tune and the action is reasonable then it will do the job, no need to spend a lot of money. As Black Cow says you really need to be flying very high before slight differences in gear will make any real difference in the playing.

The flaw in that reasoning, is that theres a massive difference between the very cheapest quitars, which are effectively toys, rather than instruments, and the next step up. Even just €50 more. In general thats what everyone is saying.

The comment about strings was very much a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,311 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The finicky little details about the stringiest strings and the pickiest picks? That was by way of levity and veiled apology if you like. And also to acknowledge that things were going off on a wee bit of a tangent. But sure that's the way of conversation, isn't it. I had been a bit snippy with Antonus Prime earlier on in the thread (sorry 'bout that Antonus. There. I said it out loud...).

On the walkin' the walk point? I've been walking for years now. Got my first guitar for me birthday at 12, so actually 26 years walkin' as of yesterday. Through the strummy years, the metal years, the jazzy/bluesy years, the classical degree years, the current fingerpicky/flatpicky/traditional years... Happy to walk the walk when paid or among friends. I'll only talk the talk when asked to. For example, when a thread comes up here and people ask for advice on a first instrument, I'll base this on my teaching experience (talkin' the walk...?). That's what I've been doing pretty much solidly for the last 10-15 years. Teaching and playing. Or walking and talking if you like. That said, advice to beginners is always based on 28 odd years learning from my own experience and and that of the many others who have been a part of the process.

If I might offer a couple of test cases... One young fella (11) arrived in to me last September fresh from a year of group classes, armed with a fender acoustic he could barely reach around. Action you could drive a bus under, and zero scope for adjustment. Same fella is making progress, but it's slow and quite literally, painful progress. Because, and this is the important part, he's trying to learn on an instrument that's working against him. He's a talented young fella. Working his way through the stones back catalogue, learning his chords and licks (and I may get shot for this, but he's getting a bit of theoretical knowledge as well...). Now, the interesting part is that he can play everything he's learned pretty much damn near spot on. But only when we swop and he plays my guitar. I on the other hand, have a tough enough time getting anything worthwhile out of his. Now I know he'll persevere and get beyond this instrument, but it's an awful pity he's in a position where he has to. There are good beginner instruments out the in the same price range. He just didn't get one.

Another. I've a student, late 40's, who came to classical guitar from bass. A semi-pro player. Went from grade I to VI on a Valencia beginner model. Did the job. Playing surface -grand, action/setup – grand, response -zero. Based on this, his ability to explore the expressive possibilities of both the instrument and repertoire are also zero and he knows this. So, the hunt is on for a new classical. Which he'll be happy to pay for because, important part again, he needs one to progress.

I have any number of these stories to offer, but I suppose what I'm saying is that quality does matter. It doesn't have to be top quality, but it should at least be good quality. Especially at the beginner end of the market. I'm not really into getting in a pi**ing up the wall contest about who can play better, or who's got the fancier gear. Tend to ignore those conversations. When a chat comes up about making a good start though, I'm all too happy to offer my 5c worth. As well as being the world's most popular instrument, the guitar is also unfortunately the world's most 'given-up' instrument. Largely, I'd imagine, because crappy gear makes it that much harder to get over the initial hurdles. No, I haven't a research study to back up that claim, but I don't think, anecdotally, that any here would argue this point.

Some of the truisms and snippets of received wisdom that exist in the guitar world are frankly, laughable. Steve Van Diddley never took a lesson in his life, Blind Benny Bosworth learned on a piece of twine stapled to his nose....
    Some extremely talented artists succeeded despite having to use crappy gear. An enormous number give up as a result of having to use crappy gear. They used what was available to them. Our choices are happily much broader. Unfortunately, the Steve Van Diddleys and Blind Benny Bosworths of this world are few and far between. We all love a legend. That's what makes them legends. I'm not one.

Deko43 (who we haven't heard from for a while – took the advice and ran!), I hope you do make progress and have many happy years of playing. Do persevere, and remember that if you're not getting on as well as you know you should be, the fault may be in the machinery.

As a postscript... On the subject of telling the difference between strings and things, although I was being a bit tongue-in-cheek: All gauges being equal, electric – almost never, acoustic – generally, classical – always – Savarez are a little scratchy but just sound sooooo good, Augustines bit too thick and 'rubbery' for my liking, D'addarios are somewhere in the middle....

Dunlop nylon 0.60's? I've just been using them too long to change.

Just out of interest. A quick question to Clonmahon, and this is a serious question. If the crappy player with the good guitar, and the great player with the crappy guitar were to swop, what might the result have been? And secondly I suppose, do you think the great player would have refused the swop? ;)

Should this thread be renamed at this point........?

pinochio had no strings
    and he didnt let that hold him down

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭deko43

Deko43 (who we haven't heard from for a while – took the advice and ran!), I hope you do make progress and have many happy years of playing. Do persevere, and remember that if you're not getting on as well as you know you should be, the fault may be in the machinery.

All,
    Thanks for all the advise. I will filter out the suggestion's from all the comments on picks, strings and the like ( all of which is way over my grey hair !). I spend a lot of time on the boards golf forum and I thought those
    guys were mad !! ( meant in a nice way). Looking forward to getting going,I will be buying something at the weekend. Expect to have sore fingers over Christmas and mabey I will report back on here in a couple on months on how I'm getting on.