Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Store in Galway

• 07-12-2011 12:14am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads, I'm looking for a specialised running store in Galway city - I want to get someone a voucher for xmas. Google seems to be pointing me in the direction of http://mile20.ie/

Anyone any experience of them? Anywhere else I should consider?

Thanks,
    Muppet Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭kay 9

I was looking for one in Galway myself and they are far and few between. That store looks decent enough though. Must check it out. Small selection in elverys and the likes and sizes are a prob when you're a 14 foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Amphibian King in Oranmore come highly recommended. Ring in advance to make an appointment as they will spend 45 mins to an hour doing gait analysis and sorting out the right runner for you

http://www.amphibianking.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

Going with vouchers is taking a risk in the current economic climate

Nigel's were recommending them to me, they do some really cool runners for triathlon. If you like using a particular brand then you may have trouble. I like using Nike Structure runners (personal choice) but this shop dont do Nike. What does the person want to buy ?

He is now where Nigel's used to be some possibly some link. From their website I notice they dont do wetsuits. Their stock is limited/specialized - is this a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

kay 9 I was looking for one in Galway myself and they are far and few between. That store looks decent enough though. Must check it out. Small selection in elverys and the likes and sizes are a prob when you're a 14 foot.

Ever try John Buckley sports in Cork, they are a running specialist shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

kay 9 wrote: »
    I was looking for one in Galway myself and they are far and few between. That store looks decent enough though. Must check it out. Small selection in elverys and the likes and sizes are a prob when you're a 14 foot.

We have sizes available up to UK 16 and usually have a decent selection in the sizes from UK13 in the range of supportive and neutral shoes. If there is a particular shoe you are fond of it can be ordered in within a week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

mbiking123 wrote: »
    He is now where Nigel's used to be some possibly some link.
    Mile 20 is run by Nigel's bother Alan.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Deego01

Amphibian King in Oranmore, I did a spying session :D in there before I opened my own shop and felt that it was as good as you're going to get. Good advice given by people who run. Kind of like my own gaff ;)