Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Premier League Relegation

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,618 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

A win for us today would've made it 4 match run in, as oppose to in reality, us, QPR and Wigan. The missus is a Utd fan, so it could be her cheering for a QPR win and me cheering for a City win. Obviously depends on the Stoke game, but in reality, it's a must win game, so the result is still going to be needed regardless, but I'd like to have another team in the mix just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

True they still have a chance but personally I can't see it happening. In fact, I think Wigan will get at least a point tomorrow.
    As for the other spot, for the QPR fans I really hope they don't regret the pitch invasion today. As someone said, Stoke look like they're already on holiday and there's almost zero chance QPR will get anything from City.

I hope they do regret it. Will be hilarious!

Ye were dead and buried in 2007 iirc. Didn't ye get blitzed by Sheff Utd near the end and everyone had ye gone? Ye then beat Utd away last game. ANything is possible. That's why I'm saying Bburn are by no means gone. Think they'll beat Wigan tbh. Funnily its the small teams Wigan have struggled with recently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Oh, FFS lads ........ c'mon! If the Queen had balls ......... she'd be the king. Having said that .......... Come On You RRRRRRRRRRRRRs

If any of ye want to win (:p) some wonga .............. QPR are 5/2 against

Spread wrote: »
    Oh, FFS lads ........ c'mon! If the Queen had balls ......... she'd be the king. Having said that .......... Come On You RRRRRRRRRRRRRs

If any of ye want to win (:p) some wonga .............. QPR are 5/2 against

Fair play to ye didn't see ye staying up few weeks ago. Still think it will be a case of Bolton blowing it than ye earning it but ye've great home form tbf.

Still though what ye're fans were at celebrating like that I'll never know. A Bolton win next week and ye're gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

QPR fans were celebrating today? Now I hope they go down :pac:

SantryRed wrote: »
    QPR fans were celebrating today? Now I hope they go down :pac:

Yeah like they won the league! Invaded pitch. Idiotic or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,800 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Paully D wrote: »
    Can't wait for next week :)

Could all be over tomorrow.

JPA wrote: »
    Could all be over tomorrow.

By no means... Bolton have a cup final of sorts next week. What's in their favour is that they know a win will keep them up. They know QPR won't get anything. Massive game for Bolton. Form goes out the window they'll throw the kitchen sink and more right from the off.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

cgpg5 wrote: »
    I hope they do regret it. Will be hilarious!

Ye were dead and buried in 2007 iirc. Didn't ye get blitzed by Sheff Utd near the end and everyone had ye gone? Ye then beat Utd away last game. ANything is possible. That's why I'm saying Bburn are by no means gone. Think they'll beat Wigan tbh. Funnily its the small teams Wigan have struggled with recently!
    Yeah that is true. We were 10 points from safety with 9 games remaining and were easily beaten by Sheffield United in one of those remaining games but stayed up at their expense on the last day.
    It's just I can't see any way that Blackburn will pull off a similar feat, but fair play to them if they do.

Yeah that is true. We were 10 points from safety with 9 games remaining and were easily beaten by Sheffield United in one of those remaining games but stayed up at their expense on the last day.
    It's just I can't see any way that Blackburn will pull off a similar feat, but fair play to them if they do.

Probably not. Anyway big day for them tomorrow. I just have a feeling about Bolton next weekend though. Don't really care who goes tbh as long as there's excitement. The quality of the teams down there has been awful tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wigan safe, Blackburn relegated, no more than either deserve IMO, Wigan on a serious run of results

• Registered Users Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭pavb2

As an outsider looking in the worst thing about B'Burn was that after last season unless there were dramatic changes they were always going down, did they actually do anything to stop the rot?

Interesting to see how many on boards tipped them to go down wasn't there a poll at the beginning of the season?

I see similarities with Mcleish at Villa

pavb2 wrote: »
    As an outsider looking in the worst thing about B'Burn was that after last season unless there were dramatic changes they were always going down, did they actually do anything to stop the rot?

Interesting to see how many on boards tipped them to go down wasn't there a poll at the beginning of the season?

I see similarities with Mcleish at Villa

Na they have Darren Bent to come back who'll score goals. Villa actually haven't lost many games, especially away. A good goalscorer with one or two more signings and they'll stay up easily

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Na they have Darren Bent to come back who'll score goals. Villa actually haven't lost many games, especially away. A good goalscorer with one or two more signings and they'll stay up easily
    The trouble with Bent is he likes his transfers and would not surprise me if he is on the move during the summer.
    Villa signing anyone half decent is remote IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

QPR stay up, delighted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭pavb2

thegen wrote: »
    QPR stay up, delighted.

Whatever about Bolton last week & today, QPR's defining game was Spurs. I thought they were gone.

They fully deserved to stay up. Going out and putting it up to city and then the fuppin nutter getting sent off. I hope Hughes gets him out the door ASAP

*Through gritted teeth* Well done QPR...

Ha can't stand them but they showed good character today. Now please offload Barton.

Tbh these have to be collectively the 3 worst relegated sides in the 20 year history of the PL. They were all awful. Villa/QPR would've gone down any other year

They fully deserved to stay up. Going out and putting it up to city and then the fuppin nutter getting sent off. I hope Hughes gets him out the door ASAP

On today yes. Overall, hard to know. Can't help feeling they stayed up because the 3 teams below them were just awful. Any other year they were gone.

Relegation was quite boring this year overall tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Fair play to Wigan. 7 wins from the last 9.

Gutted to see Bolton down and QPR stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,522 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I guess Owen Coyle loses his goldenboy status.

On today yes. Overall, hard to know. Can't help feeling they stayed up because the 3 teams below them were just awful. Any other year they were gone.

Relegation was quite boring this year overall tbh

It's been obvious yor sustain for QPR, they deserved to stay up. Points are what it's about. You could say Wigan were lucky they hit a rich vein of form in the run in, I prefer to think they played their way out of trouble. Delighted the people who hate QPR for whatever reason are upset. Cone on you R's

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

Such relief.
    As much as I hate Man Utd I would've preferred QPR clung on today and stayed up on their own merit, but whatever. They survived and that's the big picture.
    Sincerely hope Barton never plays for them again but I can't see how they'll get rid of him. At the very least there's no way he should EVER have the captaincy again.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

Mark Hughes: "We won't be in this situation again while I'm the manager".

Sh*t, I guess that means he's off to West Brom in the Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,800 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Can't say Bolton don't deserve to go down. Consistently poor all season.

It's been obvious yor sustain for QPR, they deserved to stay up. Points are what it's about. You could say Wigan were lucky they hit a rich vein of form in the run in, I prefer to think they played their way out of trouble. Delighted the people who hate QPR for whatever reason are upset. Cone on you R's

I have freely admitted like many in this forum that I dislike QPR. To say you're delighted for those that dislike them is a childish thing to say. I dislike Man Utd but would never say I am delighted for their fans today. Tbh QPR didn't deserve to stay up as did none of the bottom 3 if that makes any sense :D seriously the 4 were as bad as the other. Could even go as far as including Villa. Tbh if any of them 5 went down you'd have to say it's deserved. AT the end of the day it was more Bolton f***ing up than QPR surviving on their own merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

How was that first Stoke goal allowed? Shocking officiating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Just coming in to say similar. Especially the way its gone in recent years, if you even look at a keeper its a free out. Bogdan had caught it and got hit.

Decisions even out my arse.

Was Gutted for Bolton today. The day was workign out so well till that 2nd Stoke goal :-(

Spose it'll be handy to get tickets next season anyway. Going to try get over once or twice with the young lad.

EDIt. **** you Crouch and your diving. Only seeing it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭cson

Can't say the clubs that have gone down are any great loss.

Hopefully Blackpool come up too, they play good stuff plus Hughton deserves a proper crack at the Premiership.

cson wrote: »
    Can't say the clubs that have gone down are any great loss.

Hopefully Blackpool come up too, they play good stuff plus Hughton deserves a proper crack at the Premiership.

Holloway you mean although I'd love to see Chris move the short distance to WBA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

EDIt. **** you Crouch and your diving. Only seeing it now.

Crouch didn't dive, the RTE Soccer Saturday showed a slow-mo close up, the keeper clearly took Crouches left peg.

Looked a crazy game. Awful disappointing that if Bolton had held out v WBA draw would have been enough. They really f***ed it up unfortunately.

Just coming in to say similar. Especially the way its gone in recent years, if you even look at a keeper its a free out. Bogdan had caught it and got hit.

Decisions even out my arse.

Was Gutted for Bolton today. The day was workign out so well till that 2nd Stoke goal :-(

Spose it'll be handy to get tickets next season anyway. Going to try get over once or twice with the young lad.

EDIt. **** you Crouch and your diving.

You a Bolton fan like mate? I wonder if O'Neill will make another go for Davies during the summer? Someone like him is tailor made for our side really. Would be surprised if we didn't go for a big money striker too though.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭GEM_13

A Walters foul and a Crouch tumble(dive) the final nail for Bolton.Two poor decisions.

mike65 wrote: »
    Crouch didn't dive, the Soccer Saturday they showed a slow-mo close up, the keeper clearly took Crouches left peg.

MOTD must have had the editing suite on it cos it was a dive on there. The usual falling before theres contact and letting your leg nudge the keeper.

You a Bolton fan like mate? I wonder if O'Neill will make another go for Davies during the summer? Someone like him is tailor made for our side really. Would be surprised if we didn't go for a big money striker too though.

He'll surely stay on I'd say for a season. Would be great signing though top class workrate.

WRT QPR think Zamora and Cisse could be an immense partnership next season. See Taarabt leaving though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭cson

Holloway you mean although I'd love to see Chris move the short distance to WBA!

Yeah thats the one. Had it in my mind that Hughton was gaffer at Blackpool.
    See Taarabt leaving though

One of those players that eats up the Championship but's out of his depth in the PL.

Kind of picked them up as my 2nd club. The young lad is a fan now. We were in Bolton in August and went to the CC game against Macclesfield. It was his first time at a game of football. He loved it.We were back over in March and in the pub outside the ground for the abandoned FA cup game against Spurs

cson wrote: »

One of those players that eats up the Championship but's out of his depth in the PL.

Exactly. Granted he came ok towards the end of the season but he seems a clown. Apparently saying last summer he didn't want to play for a team that would get relegated. Strikes me as someone who'll leave in a heartbeat. Think France would suit him.

First time since 01 the three promoted teams stayed up! Ironically that was the year Bolton and Blackburn came up.

Only one Lancashire side bar the big ones next season. Blackpool, Burnley, Blackburn and Bolton have all been and gone.

Looking now, it seems Wolves have the best chance of coming back up long summer ahead though!

I'm hoping to get over for a few Bolton games next season. Buy a season ticket every year, but don't get to go to many games. There's some decent players for us coming through, so hopefully if they don't think they deserve to be in the PL they may play better.

antodeco wrote: »
    I'm hoping to get over for a few Bolton games next season. Buy a season ticket every year, but don't get to go to many games. There's some decent players for us coming through, so hopefully if they don't think they deserve to be in the PL they may play better.

Hard luck to ye. In a couple of minutes of madness last week it turned. Was hoping ye could do it today but the damage was done last week :(

What's the story with the debt mate? Seems you could be in quite a bit of trouble in that regard and there's a lot of players out of contract that you won't receive a fee for too.

Heard that. That's why I fear the worst. Maybe if Bolton stayed up next season could have been a disaster similar to Pompey a few seasons ago. Perhaps a chance to rebuild for a couple of seasons in the championship?

Remember on final day last season saying that Wolves, Blackburn, Swansea and Wigan would really struggle next season. Right now it's impossible to think of any. Could be very exciting relegation next season :D Long summer though!!

I think because we had so many newer faces coming in, the team were still settling, so they never got to play properly. A championship season will hopefully do a world of good. I reckon a cup final next season is on the cards!

In relation to the debt, it's hard to say. Sure they were told to not be in Europe a few seasons ago, due to the cost. A few cheaper 'championship fee' players might just be what we need.

I think because we had so many newer faces coming in, the team were still settling, so they never got to play properly. A championship season will hopefully do a world of good. I reckon a cup final next season is on the cards!

Mightn't be the worst thing. Ye could have been awful next season and that would have been psychologically damaging. Maybe a year or two to rebuild and hopefully get promoted and ye'll be back better than ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,741 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Jesus Bolton were fairly robbed of their league status.

Actually does anyone know what the estimated loss cost is for being relegated as oppose to staying up?

Edit: £25 Million!

Remember on final day last season saying that Wolves, Blackburn, Swansea and Wigan would really struggle next season. Right now it's impossible to think of any. Could be very exciting relegation next season :D Long summer though!!

Personally I think that the Swansea and Norwich might suffer a bit of ''second season syndrome'' and be down there. QPR might too but then again they can throw money at decent players as they're a rich London club so will be able to attract them. Wigan will probably sell a couple of their better players in the summer too.

Swansea, Norwich, Wigan and QPR would be the teams I'd pick now to be around the bottom half next season, along with a couple of the promoted teams.