Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Icing a Wedding cake

Options
  • 07-12-2011 2:05am
    Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭

Hey everyone. I was thinking of making my own wedding cake. I'm a fairly decent baker but have no clue about icing. have been looking stuff up on the web and it doesn't look to be too difficult until you get to decoration but i don't want anything to fancy and there will only be 40 of us at the wedding. Any body got any ideas on where to even start or am i just nuts and should i just get it done professionally???:confused:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

I reckon you can do it yourself, but depending on what you want you might want to go to a professional. The key to DIY is practice, and I made and iced my sisters cake last year, and I'm just an amateur.:)
    First consider what kind of cake you're gonna make, and how many tiers. Most hotels have a stacked stand so you won't have to stack the tiers atop one another, unless you want to.
    The cake will have to withstand the weight of the icing, so we are taking a dense cake like Madeira, devils food, rich carrot- no sponges or light cakes, they'll collapse.
    Then it's usually cover with buttercream like this and cover with White fondant like this. Fondant can be tricky and takes lots of practice, do a search here for similar threads and listen to the pros advice.
    You can decorate it with fondant flowers or ribbon, check out YouTube tutorials for more ideas.