Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai make thirteen "Christmas Day" arrests

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

mike65 wrote: »
    The WIT should just kick anyone arrested out and send them home.

Fact!
    Hit em where it actually hurts, ring the mammy.
    And fact!

Fines and cautions won't make the slighest difference but those 2 will for definate! lol
    any cautions should be accompanied by a good ole connemara bea8ting.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

O Riain wrote: »
    So 10,000 students in WIT and i suppose all of them are trouble makers are they? Alot of them are young and foolish and this is why they act like dopes but we've all been there and they will grow up eventually.
    10,000 students, 13 arrests.

That's 0.13%.

WIT is one of the biggest employers in the city. Without the students even the cinema would be in trouble.

Lets not over react. The problem is a minority of students, and the solution is a TASER rental scheme.

6600 wrote: »
    Because they're children, only drunk ones. And they are in their comfort zone by the fact that they go to college so close to home, with all their "friends", they've never had to grow up. IMO its not healthy to go to college so close to home, better to go somewhere different where you don't know as many people and have to make your own way. It's more challenging and knocks the corners off you IMO. That is the problem with WIT, too many of the students are still on the t*t.

About 20% of WIT students are from Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Well the few 'dopey ones' as someone called them that went to the Toddle last night certainly enjoyed themselves!

apart from knocking me up:D at least two neighbours door windows were put in, others thought they were coming through their front sitting room windows, so moved to back of house, and one car had the **** kicked out of it.

Didn't realize I missed out on sooooo much fun when I was young:(

Ah sure a good education now and in a few years they will be t.d's or councillor's telling us all how we should live or not as the case may be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

dayshah wrote: »
    10,000 students, 13 arrests.

That's 0.13%.

WIT is one of the biggest employers in the city. Without the students even the cinema would be in trouble.

Lets not over react. The problem is a minority of students, and the solution is a TASER rental scheme.

Do you think every last student from WIT went out last night ??

danjo-xx wrote: »
    Well the few 'dopey ones' as someone called them that went to the Toddle last night certainly enjoyed themselves!

apart from knocking me up:D at least two neighbours door windows were put in, others thought they were coming through their front sitting room windows, so moved to back of house, and one car had the **** kicked out of it.

Didn't realize I missed out on sooooo much fun when I was young:(

Ah sure a good education now and in a few years they will be t.d's or councillor's telling us all how we should live or not as the case may be.

I know they are the trouble until they graduate then they become "respectable" and give out about other people partying when they have to get up early for work. At least there was some arrests last night but there could of been alot more from what I saw and they guards either werent fcuked or just didnt have the man power to do it.

deisedave wrote: »

No, if they were you'd need a shotgun rental scheme.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭letsbet

Just because there were 13 arrests doesn't mean that 13 students out of 10,000 were mis-behaving and the other 9987 were acting like angels. A huge number were at the very least being disruptive, causing trouble, vandalising etc. and out of the percentage that were out it is more than likely way more than on other nights of the week. It's still a small percentage of the overall student population but that's no consolation to the people whose property is damaged, peace is disturbed, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭IrishJack89

Even better, do you think everyone who was out last night goes to WIT?

I don't think so cause judging by my facebook page I'm seen loads of people who don't go to college nor are they from waterford putting up pictures of their xmas day in Waterford and going on about the craic they had...

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭IrishJack89

letsbet wrote: »
    Just because there were 13 arrests doesn't mean that 13 students out of 10,000 were mis-behaving and the other 9987 were acting like angels. A huge number were at the very least being disruptive, causing trouble, vandalising etc. and out of the percentage that were out it is more than likely way more than on other nights of the week. It's still a small percentage of the overall student population but that's no consolation to the people whose property is damaged, peace is disturbed, etc.

Sorry but since when has people going out drinkng and causing anti-social behaviour become a new thing could you tell me? People who are living on that street where or near where the nightclubs are I'm sure are well used to that carry on by now hence why its other people who don't even live there are on here complainin on there behalf. If their windows got broken easily then that means their gonna have to buy stronger windows or shutters or park their car else where if they have to. I live on the main street, over a nightclub and have had our door smashed, cars vandalised but what can ya do?
    Hold on, I'll tell people to stop going out socialising, that could work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

For those of you that are having problems with them outside your house, follow them, find out where they live and contact the college. That's what we did in Maynooth. Contacted the college, security, president of the college, their Landlords...whoever we possibly could when the Garda warnings were just being laughed at. It's resulted in them being very quiet boys and girls ever since. Now they were our neighbours so it was easier for us to track them down but if you find out where they live WIT won't want the name of the college being shown in a bad light, if they care they'll do something about it.

Clare Bear wrote: »
    For those of you that are having problems with them outside your house, follow them, find out where they live and contact the college. That's what we did in Maynooth. Contacted the college, security, president of the college, their Landlords...whoever we possibly could when the Garda warnings were just being laughed at. It's resulted in them being very quiet boys and girls ever since. Now they were our neighbours so it was easier for us to track them down but if you find out where they live WIT won't want the name of the college being shown in a bad light, if they care they'll do something about it.

I live across from the night club following them is not an option lol you cant follow hundreds of people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I live across from the night club following them is not an option lol you cant follow hundreds of people

Well if you live across the road from a night club I'm all out of ideas! Good luck with that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

6600 wrote: »
    Because they're children, only drunk ones. And they are in their comfort zone by the fact that they go to college so close to home, with all their "friends", they've never had to grow up. IMO its not healthy to go to college so close to home, better to go somewhere different where you don't know as many people and have to make your own way. It's more challenging and knocks the corners off you IMO. That is the problem with WIT, too many of the students are still on the t*t.

I'm from Waterford and finished my degree in WIT while living at home. From my experiences it is always by far the out of town students who take Christmas Day too far. Because its not their town, none of their family are here to see them act the fool, or even hear about it. You think these arrests made the news in Kilkenny or Wexford today?

It was mostly the students living in student accommodation who all started drinking together in the morning Christmas Day and then took it to town.

I live in the city centre, so noisy last night. Guy passed out in Centra about 9pm. Traffic accident outside Masons at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭TheHumanOnion

Just wanted to chime in with a little observation I've put together over the past few years. Personally I feel that although it was always deemed a messy day, and there was always trouble, it's obvious the situation seems to have escalated over the past few years. And I think it all seemed to get even worse ever since the college stopped the Dome opening, and there was no activities going on out there throughout the day.

I started in the college myself in 2006, and was there 3 years before dropping out. I still went out every Xmas day until this year though, because still had a lot of friends out there, and to us (and a good few others) the day was about big groups getting together, having a good bit to drink, and enjoying the banter and live music in the Dome (even though you could barely move in there)

The college started to clamp down 2 years ago, and continued last year and this year, and the Dome was not allowed to open this year or last year (Think it opened for a few hours the year before that), and the situation seems to be getting worse and worse. (I understand there was less arrests this year than last year, but anyone that saw town at quarter past 10 last night will probably agree that it's the worst it's ever been)

It's obvious that it's being fueled by the cheap drink in clubs at night, and that the few troublemakers that are out there seem to be getting worse year after year, but I still maintain that part of it is to do with the fact that there was always a "tradition" that everyone would crowd the Dome, enjoy the craic out there and flood into town later, but since the Dome portion of the day is gone, people just start throwing back cans at 9 or 10 in the morning, end up in bits by 1 or 2 in the afternoon, and sound like they're speaking in tongues by the time they head out, if they're even able to speak at all.

I know something like that wouldn't make much of a difference in most peoples eyes, and am assuming most of ye will consider me an idiot for even posting this, but in my opinion it wasn't this crazy 3 or 4 years ago (even though it WAS still messy). I just think it's gone from a slightly organised day and bit of chaos at night back then to a day of complete anarchy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Toddle were selling pints for €1.

Noticed this morning that there is a lot of cable on the footpath where the bungalows are, it seems it was pulled from under the gutters and there is also half a wooden telegraph pole on the footpath. Not sure where that came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

danjo-xx wrote: »
    Toddle were selling pints for €1.

Noticed this morning that there is a lot of cable on the footpath where the bungalows are, it seems it was pulled from under the gutters and there is also half a wooden telegraph pole on the footpath. Not sure where that came from.

Noticed that this morning too. How the hell do you bring down a telegraph pole :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

humanonion has a point. when your not supposed to do something, doesn't it make the said thing a lot more fun to do?

A lot of people here believe saturday nights are much more calmer than student nights but ive always felt the opposite. I am a lot more weary in the town on a saturday night then i would be on a wednesday night. Just seems to be a lot more rough heads out. Having said that waterford is still a fairly safe place to go out in no matter what night of the week it is, compared to a lot of places.

Havent been threatened by junkies with needles here yet (touch wood)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

kkdela6 wrote: »
    humanonion has a point. when your not supposed to do something, doesn't it make the said thing a lot more fun to do?

A lot of people here believe saturday nights are much more calmer than student nights but ive always felt the opposite. I am a lot more weary in the town on a saturday night then i would be on a wednesday night. Just seems to be a lot more rough heads out. Having said that waterford is still a fairly safe place to go out in no matter what night of the week it is, compared to a lot of places.

Havent been threatened by junkies with needles here yet (touch wood)

IF you're ten maybe.

And I would probably feel safer on a wednesday night too cause students are generally just messers rather than hard men who are out to cause trouble.

IF you're ten maybe.

And I would probably feel safer on a wednesday night too cause students are generally just messers rather than hard men who are out to cause trouble.

I personally think there alot more drunk and unpredictable, the people who are out on Saturday are normally ok and the hard men normally only fight if people kick them off. Have you ever been started on on a Saturday night

Only time I have got started on was student nights, In Muldoons some ginger student smacked my friend for no reason before it closed down. 3 cork students also started on a friend by Mcdonalds last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Ah you'd always fancy your chances against a student.

lol Yeah my friend took 3 digs before he knew what was going on, dropped the student and the student got thrown out by muldoons bouncers. :D But he got arrested and brought to court over the mcdonalds incident.

I have never really got started on in town besides that dirty dude who sells roses, students have been smart arses and damaged my home and car but never started on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

IF you're ten maybe.

ah you know what i mean!

but your right students are generally just messers. the more rough element are out in their droves some saturday nights, many of them not even going to nightclubs just hanging around on streets (anyone in their late teens early 20's will know this particular group of lads in which it is their favourite pastime), starting fights on vulnerable people who have had a few drinks and are therefore not fully functional. Theres another group of lands who like to challenge you to a fight claiming to be part of some famous traveller clan. you can often find them in their headquarters of piss alley beside the kazbar or their subheadquarters in the alley behind revolution.

Maybe a bit controversial but there are certainly many people going to college now that would never have went before, due to many courses being offered at less than 200 leaving cert points, and purely because there is nothing else to do as they are leaving school at 17 so cant sign on or find work which they would have done a few years ago.

they come to college and spend it recklessly drinking and messing, many from small villages or towns around wexford, tipp and kilkenny and indeed waterford, and normally dont make it past their exams, and this is the reason the 'damn students' are normally 1st years maybe a handful of second years. Its not their city so they are not afraid of making a show of themselves.

before anyone challenges me about stereotyping or any of that craic i know plenty of people who have done this, again most claiming grants and drinking it, before dropping out or failing exams.

It must be stressed though that it is a minority or students and most of them are just out to have a good time.

and desiedave, i feel for you man i really do but moving in beside a nightclub is just asking for trouble :P

kkdela6 wrote: »
    ah you know what i mean!

but your right students are generally just messers. the more rough element are out in their droves some saturday nights, many of them not even going to nightclubs just hanging around on streets (anyone in their late teens early 20's will know this particular group of lads in which it is their favourite pastime), starting fights on vulnerable people who have had a few drinks and are therefore not fully functional. Theres another group of lands who like to challenge you to a fight claiming to be part of some famous traveller clan. you can often find them in their headquarters of piss alley beside the kazbar or their subheadquarters in the alley behind revolution.

Maybe a bit controversial but there are certainly many people going to college now that would never have went before, due to many courses being offered at less than 200 leaving cert points, and purely because there is nothing else to do as they are leaving school at 17 so cant sign on or find work which they would have done a few years ago.

they come to college and spend it recklessly drinking and messing, many from small villages or towns around wexford, tipp and kilkenny and indeed waterford, and normally dont make it past their exams, and this is the reason the 'damn students' are normally 1st years maybe a handful of second years. Its not their city so they are not afraid of making a show of themselves.

before anyone challenges me about stereotyping or any of that craic i know plenty of people who have done this, again most claiming grants and drinking it, before dropping out or failing exams.

It must be stressed though that it is a minority or students and most of them are just out to have a good time.

and desiedave, i feel for you man i really do but moving in beside a nightclub is just asking for trouble :P

Is it me or are alot of the trouble maker students culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Is it me or are alot of the trouble maker students culchies.
    Actually I find the culchies to be the friendliest ones....

Cool the thing about it these people are probably dead sound while sober unlike scumbags but they act like scumbags while drunk. Its easy for people to say its only a small minority and its only first years but tell that to the families and old people living on my street who's cars have been wrecked smashed window kicked in doors.

Hopefully if arrested they are chucked out of college and WIT are sort of to blame by not opening the dome thats like them saying the students are the towns problem not their own.

Just wanted to chime in with a little observation I've put together over the past few years. Personally I feel that although it was always deemed a messy day, and there was always trouble, it's obvious the situation seems to have escalated over the past few years.

I remember back in my day a fella who'd never come to a lecture if it was before 13.00 said to me 'are you coming in at 10.30 for the Dome'.

Must be the only time he got up early for college.

Just kick the idiots causing trouble out of college.. Simple enough really.

They are bringing the name of WIT into disrepute and should be dealt with. UCD, Trinity and Maynooth have it in their charters that any student that brings the name of the college into disrepute shall be dealt with by punitive sanction and ultimately expulsion.

Edz87 wrote: »
    Just kick the idiots causing trouble out of college.. Simple enough really.

They are bringing the name of WIT into disrepute and should be dealt with. UCD, Trinity and Maynooth have it in their charters that any student that brings the name of the college into disrepute shall be dealt with by punitive sanction and ultimately expulsion.

Yes, and also with Templars Hall. But most of the trouble is caused by non-students or students from outside of Waterford.

Christmas day gives the scumbags the long grass to hide in.