Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How educated are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I've a cert and a diploma (technically that doesn't exist any more) hope to get my degree at the end of the year.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

histories wrote: »
    Could you clarify? Do you mean that unless someone has a piece of paper saying they went to college they are not educated? You do realise a LC is still an education. Also an aunt of mine never went to secondary school and she educates herself all the time. The woman reads everything! And I don't mean chick lit, she reads about history, science, medicine, etc.

Unless you have a piece of paper you're not educated. I'm studying for an Undergrad myself at the moment. However, since I'm not educated it would imply that this opinion is wrong and thus you can be considered educated without a piece of paper despite this rendering my opinion wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Unless you have a piece of paper you're not educated. I'm studying for an Undergrad myself at the moment. However, since I'm not educated it would imply that this opinion is wrong and thus you can be considered educated without a piece of paper despite this rendering my opinion wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

ThePower11 wrote: »
    Done a 1 day FAS Safepass course, does that count?

It does cos you'll probably get a job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Degree as there is no option for Postgrad or Higher Diploma on poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

One exam away from a degree. To be completed in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I have a BSc.....

.....Bronze Swimming Certificate:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

A while back I started a thread about your view of people who settle for low paid jobs. Although alot of the backlash was a little misguided, it got me wondering how educated boardsies are. I was of the assumption, with the Celtic Tiger, the majority would be college educated or in the process.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73938584

How educated are you?

this is by far the best poll which illustrates the demographics of boardsie posters

well done you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

Just have a fairly average leaving cert:rolleyes:, and im a chef in the business 4-5 years and have no plans on going to college to study, its not a high paid job and the hours are crap and long but i love my job and not many people can say that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Bachelors in Journalism, though most if not all of what I've learned about the industry has been through working since I graduated.

Have always wanted to do a Masters, just need to find the time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

A while back I started a thread about your view of people who settle for low paid jobs. Although alot of the backlash was a little misguided,

Wait a sec..

All those hundreds of thanks people received for rebuking you for your last thread and you think they were misguided and not you for making such an arrogantly worded thread?

Have you learned nothing?

Oh sweet sweet irony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

A while back I started a thread about your view of people who settle for low paid jobs. Although alot of the backlash was a little misguided, it got me wondering how educated boardsies are. I was of the assumption, with the Celtic Tiger, the majority would be college educated or in the process.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73938584

How educated are you?

I'd fall into your "none" catagory.

Left school at 15,went to work in the aul low paid jobs.
    Did my leaving cert at 30..because I wanted to.
    Reared 2 teenagers alone and went on to get my Degree in Health and Social Care.
    All the time doing low paid jobs. It fed us and kept me sane.

Does it make a difference now??

The best education I have is Life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

When I graduated back in the middle of the last decade I had a look through the classified sections to see what jobs were available, and based on the huge amount of vacancies in the early medieval European history sector, I decided to do a Masters on that. Imagine my horror then, on graduating with said MA, to find that, just like the dot com boom, the medieval French history bubble had burst too, leaving me stranded and jobless in a world which no longer cared about Charlemagne's wars with the Saxons. :mad:

On the bright side though, I hear there are loads of jobs going in the ancient Assyrian sector at the moment, so I'll be off doing my phd on that soon. Well, it was either that or something like IT, and sure everyone knows there are no opportunities there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭skinny90

Getting their.....Failed the leaving cert,repeated it but never went to school,got above average results(385).Started college,twas good craic.too good i had to repeat accounting for a year so im currently in my 2nd year studying Business Information Systems and its going great!since the leaving cert i have never asked my parents for money just workd and college for the week.and im close to 2grand in debt...would i change it,god no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

There's more to having an education then academic qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Jopari87

What option would this guy pick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

damn i thought it said endowed so picked PHD, clearly i should have said not:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

Sharrow wrote: »
    There's more to having an education then academic qualifications.

Indeed. Interesting how this thread is built around the assumption that education is measured by academic achievement, though perhaps an understandable assumption. For instance I studied English and History for three years, but not for a second would I consider myself more "educated" than someone whose been in the workforce for decades with just a Leaving - it really only suggests that I may have more knowledge of my chosen field than they do. The higher an academic achievement goes the more specialised it gets, does that necessarily make one more "educated" as a person? I don't believe it does.

Perhaps a better title/question for this thread would be "What is your highest academic qualification?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

whats an education these days anyway, i done my LC and went off into the work place, making parts to keep peoples home heating working, minding there precious coats and jacket while they danced away there nights away in nightclubs, i built the back-up power supplies that help keep the banks and telephone companies running, ive ensured that you medicines were pure and your worn out knee joints were replaced and now im currently helping to keep you hearts running smootly with precious cholesterol drugs,

education is overated, ive been working since i was 13 im now 27 and have been unemployed for 4 weeks since i started work,

and to think i was gonna go to college and learn how to survey land:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Never let your schooling interfere with your education.

Mark Twain.

And who the hell is Mark Twain?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Shania Twain's father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Never let your schooling interfere with your education.

Mark Twain.

Samuel Langhorne Clemens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Trying to have a degree but they keep insisting I take all these courses and pass a bunch of exams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

That's the pen-name of the guy quoted below below (I think you knew that though). :)
    Pherekydes wrote: »
    Samuel Langhorne Clemens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

have not realised my potential. There's a mitigating factor. Have moved on, even if i belatedly discovered the factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I've a degree and am starting a postgrad diploma in February in something more practical. I learned more in the four years working through college than I did in the actual classes tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Davidius wrote: »
    Trying to have a degree but they keep insisting I take all these courses and pass a bunch of exams.

I keep getting e-mails offering me all kinds of degrees and diplomas without any of that hassle. :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I isn't educated, but I is still happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I find that most people with Masters and that aren't working are still thick as f*ck.

Degree plus work experience for the win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

yupyup7up wrote: »
    I find that most people with Masters and that aren't working are still thick as f*ck.

I find that most people from Limerick are semi-literate criminals that sound like the guy with the I Shot JR t-shirt in Father Ted.

/aren't ill-founded stereotypes great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

My college asked my to leave as I was setting unrealistic standards for the other students.

They also said I was having sex with too many supermodels.

have an msc and doing actuarial exams at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Degree and 13 years work experience :D So far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I'm on track to pick up a Master's in Engineering next May, all going well, so I'll have spent five years at university as a mature student. I defy anyone to tell me that, in the 20+ years between school and university, that I was uneducated. I didn't have letters after my name, but I was an apprentice in industrial control systems, moved in to IT, and did some very valuable technical work along the way. I also did a lot of reading on all kinds of subjects and kept myself up on "soft" subjects, such as Film. I honestly don't think that my degree has made me more educated as a person overall.

PS: I know people with PhDs in the Arts who can not wire a plug. Electricity is everywhere around us, central to everything we do - so if all you can do is flick a switch and press buttons, I consider you uneducated in an essential life skill. :p

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »
    PS: I know people with PhDs in the Arts who can not wire a plug. Electricity is everywhere around us, central to everything we do - so if all you can do is flick a switch and press buttons, I consider you uneducated in an essential life skill. :p

If you can't wire a plug, put up a shelf, troubleshoot a computer, cook a steak or balance a spreadsheet you're about as uneducated as you can get in this world. Regardless of what formal education you may have you'll be relying on people for the rest of your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Education will only take you so far, experience is where it's at. Depending on your field of choice of course.

Take a career in catering for example. You can have a chef fresh out of college with 4 years of college training behind him walk into a kitchen applying for a job, On the other hand a guy with 4 years hard graft in a kitchen behind him, with no formal training afraid to apply for the same job, because he has no paperwork, but he said he's give it a shot.

Both get a week trial. In this situation, Who do you think will end up being more employable?

If that college chef hasint worked his butt off through college he is unemployable at the same rate as the guy who didint go to college.

If however, he workerd his ass off, he will fly up the ranks, leave the guy who never went to college sitting in flour and move on to much greater things, with coke and hookers loike :D (had ta)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

As I said, I dont know how to edit the poll.

I take it you picked the 'not' option then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Have a degree and I'm in the process of doing a Masters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

All the education someone really needs is reading, writing and mathematics.
    Once those are mastered (basic mathematics), you are educated.

If you choose to do a degree in say theoretical physics then you are specialised. So for arguments sake, say you can understand something like quantum theory but don't know anything about psychology. Does that make you any less educated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

mackg wrote: »
    Shania Twain's father.

That doesn't impress me much.

/uh-woh-uh-woh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

themadchef wrote: »
    Education will only take you so far, experience is where it's at. Depending on your field of choice of course.

Take a career in catering for example. You can have a chef fresh out of college with 4 years of college training behind him walk into a kitchen applying for a job, On the other hand a guy with 4 years hard graft in a kitchen behind him, with no formal training afraid to apply for the same job, because he has no paperwork, but he said he's give it a shot.

Both get a week trial. In this situation, Who do you think will end up being more employable?

If that college chef hasint worked his butt off through college he is unemployable at the same rate as the guy who didint go to college.

If however, he workerd his ass off, he will fly up the ranks, leave the guy who never went to college sitting in flour and move on to much greater things, with coke and hookers loike :D (had ta)

I used to be a Head Chef - and I'd employ the guy who worked in kitchens over the newly 'qualified' catering college guy any day. But at the end of the week the guy who did things the way I told him/her I wanted them done, pulled their weight, didn't moan, bitch or have Gordon Ramsey type hissy fits, produced good food consistently when required (not in five minutes -NOW!) and cleaned up as they went along would get the job regardless of any piece of paper they may or may not possess.

My doctor on the other hand I would insist on having that piece of paper...

(personally, I now have a Ph.D so am officially unemployable...but very educated)

I picked degree but Im currently doing a PhD.

themadchef wrote: »

So true. For some courses the degree itself is only a formality, it's the experience you are supposed to have as a result of doing that course that decides if your qualified or not. By that I mean there are plenty of Computer Science students, for example, that get their degree but couldn't code a game of blackjack or troubleshoot a Linux machine and expect to get a job solely because of the degree. It just doesn't happen.

I'd imagine plenty of courses (Electrical engineering, cookery, etc.) have this problem, people who are qualified but lacking real-world experience. In courses that are more practical than theory if you haven't spent at least as much time doing personal projects as you have doing college work the degree is nothing but a piece of paper and you'll be hard pushed to stand out from the crowd when applying for a job, even against someone with no degree..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have a degree, a post grad dip and a masters. I used to admire all the letters after my own name until I realised I was, in fact, just being a wanker :D

Qualifications do make a difference when you're looking for your first job, but as themadchef says above - nothing trumps on the job experience. I know plenty of people in my industry who mightn't have much in the way of paperwork but are absolutely amazing at their jobs and can command big money as a result. Ability and experience are ultimately where it's at, not a cert on the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I used to be a Head Chef - and I'd employ the guy who worked in kitchens over the newly 'qualified' catering college guy any day. But at the end of the week the guy who did things the way I told him/her I wanted them done, pulled their weight, didn't moan, bitch or have Gordon Ramsey type hissy fits, produced good food consistently when required (not in five minutes -NOW!) and cleaned up as they went along would get the job regardless of any piece of paper they may or may not possess.

My doctor on the other hand I would insist on having that piece of paper...

(personally, I now have a Ph.D so am officially unemployable...but very educated)

:d We all have to have hygiene records now anyway, if the health inspector lands up (in her space ship) and you have staff in the kitchen not adequately trained she will assimilate you.

All Chefs are drama merchants, we bring it worse than drag queens ffs. You sure you worked in a kitchen before :P (relax, im windin ya up:P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

i was thick as a post until an apple fell on my head

M.pharm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Left school when I was 13.

Went on to be a wild little bollox until I got into the army at 18 - so I have letters BEFORE my name!.

Have done pretty well for myself.

My son will be the first in my family to have gone onto third level education.

And..... I know who Mark Twain is!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Lone Soldier

Could all ye super educated people please explain the actual benefits of a PhD? 3/4 years is a very long time...I am not undermining it I am genuinely interested!

In most science and engineering fields you can only progress so far in your career with out a PhD. Its not a case either that experience can make up for it, you obviously need experience too but with out the qualification you will not be considered for the job.

Also due to the nature of what I work on every year of my PhD counts as a years work experience too. The downside is of course that its 4 years on crap money, but hopefully then on qualification the first job will pay better from day one than you wound be on after 4 years working in a job which just required a degree and with more potential for progression in your career.