Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50hx loader.cost of rebuild

• 09-12-2011 12:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭

my loader is blowing out approx 250ml oil out breather pipe:eek::mad:. i measured it while using shear grab filling silage last night. also water seems to be dropping in radiator:confused:.is there anything i can mix along with oilk to stop this? what does it cost to rebuild this engine.its a perkins engine but i dont know the no or is it possible to get 2nd hand engines now. its 1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

my loader is blowing out approx 250ml oil out breather pipe:eek::mad:. i measured it while using shear grab filling silage last night. also water seems to be dropping in radiator:confused:.is there anything i can mix along with oilk to stop this? what does it cost to rebuild this engine.its a perkins engine but i dont know the no or is it possible to get 2nd hand engines now. its 1990

if you got in touch with the lad's in the link below they would give ya a price for a re build

http://www.enginere.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I can't give you an exact price, but I know someone who got a Perkins 212 engine fuly rebuilt a few months back. Labour, specialist engine rebuild and parts came to almost €2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

its generally 1K per cylinder to do it properly e.g. full head recon, oil / water pumps, pump and inj and bearings + polish crank + pistons / liners / rings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I know with some engines, it's possible to just bore out the cylinders. They can even do this in place, without removing the engine block. They use slightly oversized piston and rings, then to match.
    Otherwise they bore to a larger diameter and put in new liners. With an old engine it might be worth getting the valve seats done too. It they take off the head they usually have to get it surface grind before putting it back in.

Find out exactly what they plan to do with it, when getting a price.
    I paid 1500Euro recently to get a new block put in a David Brown, Bloody Frost!! This included reboring the new block, new pistons and engine bearings. The head wasn't touched.

A big chunk of the expense is labour, so while they're in there, it's worth doing a right job, replacing whatever they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

Johon roberts in wexford is the man to get a rebuilt engine for 2k rebuilt he does excellent work and rebuilds alot of engines for a lot of tractor garges in ireland . he also guarentee s them for a year0872158065

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭David brown

thanks for info lads. if i could find a good 2nd hand engine, i might be tempted;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

thanks for info lads. if i could find a good 2nd hand engine, i might be tempted;)

In my opinion, a second hand engine would be a waste of time. Most of the money involved in rebuilding an enging would be labour. There would be quite a bit of labour involved in removing and replacing an engine. And you'd still have a used (non-rebuilt) engine which could give up at any stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭marlyman

Spaghetti. Hold on a sec. An engine eabuild kit is no more than 400 euro. The Perkins 248 engine is childsplay to rebuild. Do it yourself and save a fortune. 2 days should do it. Biggest job is getting the engine out.

The liners are more than likely glazed and the rings are fecked. Common enough for the 248. I'll be doing my dads 50 Hz this Christmas .

I'll even give you the workshop manual to tempt you into it. If your throwing out the old engine for a second hand one can I have dibs on it ?

Marly.

The thing about all these old, so called 'outdated tractors' is, there's plenty of 'old, outdated guys', who know how to fix them.:D

Not directed at you Marlyman.:D

pakalasa wrote: »
    The thing about all these old, so called 'outdated tractors' is, there's plenty of 'old, outdated guys', who know how to fix them.:D

Not directed at you Marlyman.:D

No offense taken. My thoughts are that you hear mad prices of 2 grand to get an engine done when you could do it yourself . I mean that engine.e is just a bigger version of an mf 135. One more cylinder and a balanced unit for the crank. I only have modest mechanical ability, I'm not a qualified mechanic, but them Perkins engines are nothing to be afraid of.

I'm only 32. I don't know why I feel the need to disclose that.

I was only joking, as you know. I'd love to have a crack at one some day, when I have the spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

not too sure who has been rebuildign your engines lads but 2k wont get you too far espically if you have a big job to do. had to do the eninge on our one 2 years ago, oil filter got knocked off by a limb. not easy to take out when its freezing cold. it'll cost over 4k to rebuild plus labour to take it out and back in. that said the engine is purring well these days. if you think your digger is worth holding onto then by all means rebuild the engine, otherwise trade it in before the engine goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭David brown

marlyman wrote: »
    Spaghetti. Hold on a sec. An engine eabuild kit is no more than 400 euro. The Perkins 248 engine is childsplay to rebuild. Do it yourself and save a fortune. 2 days should do it. Biggest job is getting the engine out.

The liners are more than likely glazed and the rings are fecked. Common enough for the 248. I'll be doing my dads 50 Hz this Christmas .

I'll even give you the workshop manual to tempt you into it. If your throwing out the old engine for a second hand one can I have dibs on it ?

Marly.
    Does the shaft have to be reground when rebuilding. hopefully my engine will last the winter.dont fancy tackling that job now.let us know how you get on with the rebuild and costs.dont know what the dibs are but if i dont need them,no bother.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    not too sure who has been rebuildign your engines lads but 2k wont get you too far espically if you have a big job to do. had to do the eninge on our one 2 years ago, oil filter got knocked off by a limb. not easy to take out when its freezing cold. it'll cost over 4k to rebuild plus labour to take it out and back in. that said the engine is purring well these days. if you think your digger is worth holding onto then by all means rebuild the engine, otherwise trade it in before the engine goes

4k, :eek: . this is what im talking about. a new engine is less than 4 grand.

Does the shaft have to be reground when rebuilding. hopefully my engine will last the winter.dont fancy tackling that job now.let us know how you get on with the rebuild and costs.dont know what the dibs are but if i dont need them,no bother.

all depends, youll have to inspect it when its out. see is there any pitting in the shell bearings or on the crank. ive seen guys replace a perfectly good crank because of "someone else" told them. re the costs i wount be paying for any of it so i wont know the bills. but i cant see the bit coming to more than 500 euro.

marly.