Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LETS ALL LAUGH AT PEOPLE WITH DEPRESSION!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Lieing here wide awake tears rolling down my face wondering why I am here?? I won't bore with the details... Anyone else ever feel like this..

Hey there, I think most people who've visited this page and more who haven't have felt exactly like this.. I don't usually manage to cry much.. But wow do I ever wonder about the bloody point of it all. I hope your tears have dried since you posted this.. It can make a hard time worse if you are feeling alone at night. I'm here for pm if you'd like..

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I was put on a new drug (pregablin) and it's helped immensely with my anxiety and the side effects have been tolerable. Nice to have a drug that works well for a change rather than a partial fix!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

nesf wrote: »
    I was put on a new drug (pregablin) and it's helped immensely with my anxiety and the side effects have been tolerable. Nice to have a drug that works well for a change rather than a partial fix!

Lyrica is the brand name most familiar for pregablin. Works great for some but side effects intolerable for others. Never been on it myself but my mother has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Going through a horrible time at the moment on the plus side I am stronger person and have learned to let no one walk all over my but I still feelingso alone I've good family and friends support but I'm crying every night just wish it would stop.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its going to be summer soon... we have a whole summer and autumn ahead of us to look forward to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Calibos wrote: »
    Lyrica is the brand name most familiar for pregablin. Works great for some but side effects intolerable for others. Never been on it myself but my mother has.

I had serious issues with it when I was on it for anxiety. never again. It does seem to work very well for a lot of people, though.

I'm currently on sertraline for anxiety. I was on seroquel and lyrica together for anxiety and bi-polar, but since the sertraline is working well for the anxiety, I'm recognising mood changes very quickly and managing them without needing anything for the bi-polar, which is pretty awesome. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 asters_choice

I only recently posted in another forum, just something happened and I felt the need to just talk anonymously. I'm after reading a lot of this thread, and I can honestly say, thank Christ, I am not alone (I don't mean for that to sound bad/as in??).

I just thought that the thoughts and emotions going through my head were unique to me, if you understand that?

I suffer from bipolar (type 2 seemingly), but I never investigated it to be honest (I don't want to know, ignorance is bliss). I've hid it from almost everyone the last few years (diagnosed 5 years).

I've been in my current job for near on 7 years. I never missed a single day. Its mad but, mentally I'm not quite there, but physically I'm flying through it. A lot of running and cycling, but I am very accident prone :). But I still went to work, regardless of what was going on in my life.

I had to walk way from work last week. Destroying a perfect attendance.
    I had spoken with a family member, earlier during that particular day. In retrospect, I know it wasn't like me to be probably incoherent and just babbling, basically talking shoite (but my mind cracked, it couldn't keep going).

It was only through whatever fate that exists, that a Garda put his hand on my shoulder and dragged me back, just when I had gotten over the fear of the cold and that fear
    of hitting the water. I wasn't shouting out for help, far from it. That Garda, saved my life, when it was the lowest (I'd say he still doesn't realise what he did that day).

The medication that I've been on, you wouldn't believe. I have the gift of the gab and can talk myself out of any situation. Now, in hindsight, that isn't such a great
    skill after all. To be honest lads, these things going through my head.....are becoming incessant. They have no logic, but yet so much control. I know some people will give out and say, keep going with your meds and that... I do, I just think the doctors are just as exhausted as I am now.

To all of ye out there, who read this thread, ye need to be honest! There is no point in spending a lifetime in your own personal prison. Talk to people, Christ! talk to whoever!
    If its the Samaritans, please talk. Don't get yourself into such a state where the only answer you'll find, is a permanent one. It does get to a terrible stage, where you have set
    out your fate. Nobody wants to die, but some of us feel the need to (if that makes any sense?).

We should never have the need nor desire to die :(

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The biggest single surprise for me from starting this thread (and there have been a number of them!) is the sheer response to it. I honestly thought a few people might recognise what I was saying. I didn't think it would last a week. Mostly I thought AH would laugh and slag and I was ok with that, in fact I was ready for that! I wasn't ready for this... :)

So many people posting here, so many I've talked to, so many who have written in private or referred to this thread in person... just so many people out there saying the same things we see on this thread month in month out. Its scary that there are so many but good that we are uniting in some way, telling our stories so that people can see... "I'm not alone".

• Registered Users Posts: 2 asters_choice

I apologise lads...and its taking a lot to remember the username, let alone the password for here.

I apologise, soo much...

there is, I swear ta god, only soo much any of us can take....
    l
    I'm done with this shoite of a thing some call life...ye know! fook em!

Some people will say "the usual shoite"...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I'm online for a few hours if you want to chat, you can here or pm, I can relate to the lost feeling of a sh1te life..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

Right... my first post in here because I'm never quite sure if I 'belong' or not. I don't know if I have depression, and I'm far too nervous to go talk to my GP (been going to him since I was a teen & feel as though I'm too familiar with him). I have a good family that I'm close with, but I am the world's worst at talking about anything meaningful/my feelings. I totally clam up even when other people start talking about how they're feeling, stay quiet and pretend I'm not even in the room.

I go through some really down periods. Laying in bed at night crying for no reason, or my mind wanders to horrible places and I feel awful about myself, or I'll feel like the whole world is turning against me and acting as if I'm not even there (had a bad time this morning of convincing myself that everyone was talking over me & ignoring me, put myself in the worst mood), I have a hard time sleeping, even my concentration seems to be slipping a bit lately. Things like this have been happening on & off for the past 7ish years. Sometimes I'll be fine, and that's when I feel like I don't have anything 'wrong' with me, I'm exaggerating bad moods/anxiety that everyone gets.

Even writing this out now, I'm not even sure if I'll actually post this because it sounds like nothing, just the same as everyone else goes through at some stage. I've looked up symptoms of depression in the past and have seen how they applied to me, but I don't know. The hardest thing is to say to someone 'I don't think I'm ok', and even thinking of saying that to someone has my eyes filling up right now.

Shaz... there are so many red flags in that post it could be a Chinese New Year.

You absolutely need to talk to someone about this. Its not going to go away and its going to get worse. By your own admission you are isolating yourself, experiencing paranoia, lack of sleep, emotional swings, poor concentration etc. In three paragraphs. :)

Its ok to say "I don't think I'm ok". Its a sign of strength. If you sit down and examine *why* you don't want to say that I'm going to go out on a limb and put 1000 euros on you realising its a mixture of misplaced pride, and fear. And you know what, fnck both of those things.

Congrats on pressing the Submit button. I spent 3 weeks hovering the mouse over it myself. That's the first step, so you are on the road now. Next step is to talk to someone about why you feel this way and more importantly how you go about managing your mental health to ensure you get this under control.

You say "Laying in bed at night crying for no reason, or my mind wanders to horrible places and I feel awful about myself" <--- that right there... that's something you can do something about immediately. When your mind wanders, you are handing the reigns of your mental health to your subconscious. Don't let that happen, correct your thinking the moment you start to wander like that. Immediately focus on something real and current. Your breathing, your surroundings, the bedclothes, anything... just don't let your mind wander like that. That's a good step but you also need counselling. (I'm not a counsellor nor am I a professional, I'm a fellow traveller).

Baby steps... if you don't feel comfortable talking to your doctor (and believe me, he wont bat an eyelid at this, he's heard it all 100 times before, probably every single day I'm sorry to say), then look up a counsellor in your area: http://www.counsellingdirectory.ie/

Make a single appointment for probably 50 - 60 quid and see what you think of them. First visit you don't even have to get into anything, just see if you feel comfortable with the person.

This isn't going to go away and saying "I feel fine now, it was all just a bad day" is like saying the 'flu doesn't exist because you don't currently have it.

Much respect for posting, I know that aint easy, so you've taken probably the hardest step of admitting to yourself things aren't right. Now you need to not stick your head in the sand and deal with it. Its not as hard as you think and its worth it. So worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Swings and roundabouts, was on a low dose of the meds and things were fine and then they weren't and I didnt' really notice and now that I have I did manage to get to the dr and get a plan in place and well an increase in meds. But I am getting better and spotting it.

ShazGV wrote: »
    Right... my first post in here because I'm never quite sure if I 'belong' or not. I don't know if I have depression, and I'm far too nervous to go talk to my GP (been going to him since I was a teen & feel as though I'm too familiar with him). I have a good family that I'm close with, but I am the world's worst at talking about anything meaningful/my feelings. I totally clam up even when other people start talking about how they're feeling, stay quiet and pretend I'm not even in the room.

I go through some really down periods. Laying in bed at night crying for no reason, or my mind wanders to horrible places and I feel awful about myself, or I'll feel like the whole world is turning against me and acting as if I'm not even there (had a bad time this morning of convincing myself that everyone was talking over me & ignoring me, put myself in the worst mood), I have a hard time sleeping, even my concentration seems to be slipping a bit lately. Things like this have been happening on & off for the past 7ish years. Sometimes I'll be fine, and that's when I feel like I don't have anything 'wrong' with me, I'm exaggerating bad moods/anxiety that everyone gets.

Even writing this out now, I'm not even sure if I'll actually post this because it sounds like nothing, just the same as everyone else goes through at some stage. I've looked up symptoms of depression in the past and have seen how they applied to me, but I don't know. The hardest thing is to say to someone 'I don't think I'm ok', and even thinking of saying that to someone has my eyes filling up right now.

First off, well done for posting, takes bravery, and means you've taken a big step towards helping yourself.. I would be pretty confident that most people who read your post were nodding their heads in recognition of the symptoms and feelings you have described - first big thing you are not alone and you are worthy of help You said you're not comfortable about going to your own gp, and that's fine, there is no rule saying you have to go to that particular one. Look for local reccomendations for another gp..

I made five or six appointments with my doc before i actually tackled the subject of my depression, i ended up writing him a note/letter with my symptoms and feelings in it because, try as i might, i could not vocalise it..

My apologies for the rambly post, your post struck a major chord with me.. I hope you continue to post and find the support you need both here and in your vicinity, well done again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

DeVore & Gremlinertia - thank you both so much for taking the time to reply with such thoughtful & helpful posts. It helps to see a complete outsider's view, and know that I would have reason for talking to my doctor or a counsellor. I would 100% agree that it's fear & pride keeping me from saying anything, but reading both of your posts have made me realise that maybe I could approach my own doctor about it. I do think it'll probably take me more time to build up to making the appointment, but you've definitely helped me realise that yes, he probably does get this every day. :)

I'm a big supporter of people talking about their mental health issues, and helping it to become less of a taboo here, but it turns out it's a lot harder when applied to myself. And Gremlinertia, I may even steal your idea of writing it down for my doctor, I think I would feel a lot more comfortable doing that.

And this ^^ right here is why i post, it gladdens my heart when i can help someone realise they are not alone. Shaz, you're on the road now, let's hope it treats you well..

Let me tell you a story of one of my oldest and best friends. He's a doctor. We've known each other since we were 12 and we've been through the good times and the bad together. I'd trust him with my life. He specialises in sexual health and like most people I'm not much into talking about my sexual health. But I'm getting middle-aged now and I figured, maybe I should see what I should do about checkups or whatever I should probably be doing at my age. So, I asked my friend, why not I mean, he's one of the best in the business.

So I cornered him on his own and asked him about it. He asked me some basic questions and then some not so basic questions and then says "Have you ever <insert the most *graphic* sexual practise you can imagine here>." Now, I've been online for a quarter of a century, I've seen tubgirl and goatse and all of those over and over again and nothing really phases me but my eyes were like :eek: .... I had to laugh like "Jesus H man, you cant just ask me a thing like that and by the way NO, No, noooo I have never done that, or anything like that and now I need the brain bleach, Christ WTF?! Dear God... that's not something you ask a friend no matter HOW long we've known each other."

He looked at me and laughed and looked a bit embarrassed and apologised saying "Sorry, I forget sometimes that normal people aren't as inured to the range of things we deal with every day".

Its like that with mental health. The thing you think is "omg, how could I ever reveal this to anyone who knew me... what would they think of me,... the horror" wont even give him a moments pause, he's probably already seen 3 people this week with similar stories. Doctors... they see the sickest of us all and their experience is so vast that what's common to them, would shock most of us :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

You're lucky he didn't demand an X-ray as proof DeVore ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Can anyone remember a post in this thread in recent weeks that detailed a technique for invoking the relaxation response, the only part i remember was placing the tongue behind front teeth and breathing out. If whoever posted it knows I'd like a link to that post cheers

Hmmm... I've searched in this thread for Teeth and none of the posts have anything to do with stress relief... Are you sure it wasn't in one of the other threads on Boards about depression (there are a couple of them in LTI and in Clearsil & Hormones, iirc).

I don't recall a post like that in this thread. BTW, if you look up the top of any thread, top right juuuuust above the first post, there is a Search In This Thread drop down which is handy for things like this...

I think you're looking for a breathing technique that was mentioned in the "let's be anxious" thread in lti where you rest your tongue behind your top teeth. No phone so can't search for you sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

I've found this to be helpful

http://www.beaumont.ie/marc

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭murria

Was it the 4 7 8 breathing exercise? I seem to remember someone posting it recently. I have been using it to help me sleep.

I've copied it from another site:

The 4-7-8 (or Relaxing Breath) Exercise
    This exercise is utterly simple, takes almost no time, requires no equipment and can be done anywhere. Although you can do the exercise in any position, sit with your back straight while learning the exercise. Place the tip of your tongue against the ridge of tissue just behind your upper front teeth, and keep it there through the entire exercise. You will be exhaling through your mouth around your tongue; try pursing your lips slightly if this seems awkward.

Exhale completely through your mouth, making a whoosh sound.
    Close your mouth and inhale quietly through your nose to a mental count of four.
    Hold your breath for a count of seven.
    Exhale completely through your mouth, making a whoosh sound to a count of eight.
    This is one breath. Now inhale again and repeat the cycle three more times for a total of four breaths.
    Note that you always inhale quietly through your nose and exhale audibly through your mouth. The tip of your tongue stays in position the whole time. Exhalation takes twice as long as inhalation. The absolute time you spend on each phase is not important; the ratio of 4:7:8 is important. If you have trouble holding your breath, speed the exercise up but keep to the ratio of 4:7:8 for the three phases. With practice you can slow it all down and get used to inhaling and exhaling more and more deeply.

This exercise is a natural tranquilizer for the nervous system. Unlike tranquilizing drugs, which are often effective when you first take them but then lose their power over time, this exercise is subtle when you first try it but gains in power with repetition and practice. Do it at least twice a day. You cannot do it too frequently. Do not do more than four breaths at one time for the first month of practice. Later, if you wish, you can extend it to eight breaths. If you feel a little lightheaded when you first breathe this way, do not be concerned; it will pass.

Once you develop this technique by practicing it every day, it will be a very useful tool that you will always have with you. Use it whenever anything upsetting happens - before you react. Use it whenever you are aware of internal tension. Use it to help you fall asleep. This exercise cannot be recommended too highly. Everyone can benefit from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Thank you all, yes murria that's it thanks v much. It is going well for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Kayleigh..

I don't think life is for me.

Most of these thoughts don't last though.. It will pass.. And things can and do get better.. Most feelings are temporary, good or bad. I'm being (slowly) taught to accept whatever thought comes my way but not to let negative associations stick.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭murria

Thank you all, yes murria that's it thanks v much. It is going well for you?

It's not as immediate as I thought it would be, but I'm definitely sleeping better. I had read an account where a person was asleep before the end of the second 4/7/8 routine but that's not my experience. After I do the breathing exercise I'm doing a mindfulness exercise where I imagine my whole body as a light bulb that lights inside from the toes up and then I switch the light off and back on and let a blade of light run from head to toes and back several times quickly. I don't drop off immediately but it must be pretty soon after as I'm no longer awake for hours on end panicking about how much night I have left. It was making me feel quite light headed at first and I could hear my pulse in my head but that has now passed. Now if I could just do something about the snorer beside me!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 TeacherforHire

Well, I lost my job.

But, I have a new job in a couple of weeks. I have a lack of disposable income though and I am getting a tad anxious about the next few weeks. Panicked may be a better description.

But after these two weeks, it'll be clear sailing.

Well, I lost my job.

But, I have a new job in a couple of weeks. I have a lack of disposable income though and I am getting a tad anxious about the next few weeks. Panicked may be a better description.

But after these two weeks, it'll be clear sailing.

Find your local community welfare officer, they can sometimes bridge you. Failing that get down to tax office tomorrow to see if they owe you anything, can be pretty quick coming back to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 niell919

The past couple of months I've completely isolated myself from friends and family, I'm 22 and absolutely terrified that one day I'll look back and realize all the opportunities I've missed in lifem I'm currently receiving help and feeling a bit better with each day.
    It's usually when I come out of depression that I'm greeted by a deep sense of sorrow and guilt about the time I've wasted, when instead I could have been out enjoying life.
    I broke down listening to The Suburbs (continued) by Arcade Fire, its perfectly sums up the feeling... I need to start living again.