Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rovers v Spurs Match Thread (football talk only )

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

could have swore the title said football talk only. hasnt been a mention of the actual football in the last couple of pages!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Genki Sudo wrote: »
    No, it has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with patriotism. Nothing.

Nah I ****ing love music man, I'm a two gig a week man. The fact that you even try to compare the two speaks volumes. Music fandom and football fandom are wildly different animals, but you know so little about what it is to support a football team, I can see why you would struggle.
    I know how I support my team and how I do that should be of no interest to you. I'm baffled why it bothers you so much. I'll tell you what, here's a big pat on the back from me for being such a brilliant supporter of a football team, you must be so proud of yourself. As supporters of football teams go you must be up there with the best and I'm way down below ya.
    Ha ha pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Genki Sudo wrote: »
    No, it has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with patriotism. Nothing.

Sorry if it has nothing to do with patriotism what is it that makes you a "superior" football fan?

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

i wonder if the rovers fans would be so damning if it was celtic that played in tallaght on thursday..........
    its purely an anti-english vibe im getting from the rovers fans,try to pick your knuckles off the floor and drag yourself into this century please!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

i wonder if the rovers fans would be so damning if it was celtic that played in tallaght on thursday..........
    its purely an anti-english vibe im getting from the rovers fans,try to pick your knuckles off the floor and drag yourself into this century please!

It's nothing to do with an anti-english vibe at all. It's purely an anti-barstooler thing, and that would go if it was Celtic too. Not all Rovers fans support Celtic, despite what people think. Rovers fans got on great with real Spurs fans when we played in WHL. They hate barstoolers too. The sight of tricolours with Spurs crests sickened me a little bit on Thursday

Waiting on a Rovers mate to pony up a ticket. i'll be in with 'them lot' but sure I dont mind.

You have your location as Tallaght and you say "them lot" !!!!

Just sold my ticket today just couldn't be arsed for some reason. :(

You have your name as "Ireland Spurs", your team is playing a competitive game in Ireland for the first and probably the only time, and you don't go ????

Wages dont play a part in results?!?! I've no idea how anyone who watches the modern game could think that. It is everything.

I`ve never seen a players bank balance win a match!! I have seen their class and talent win matches alright.

And generally the players with the most talent get bigger wages right ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Did you register on boards just to come in and stir this thread up a bit more ?

3 post in a row of absolute bollocks. Should have just kept lurking mate!

What about the spurs fans who travel from Ireland to go to games in England week in week out? Definitely can't be classified as "bar-stoolers" and as the distance travelled is much greater than most supporters of LOI clubs clearly they must be the superior football fans?

Hmm yeah? The team you support so vigorously got destroyed.

Well that's a sad outlook. Look's like you were just setting yourself up for the (inevitable) fall. I bet you'd be the first one in here spouting the "all your money and you can't beat a team of part-timers" speal if rovers had done the unlikely.

You do realise that it was the English who developed the game? Just because you are watching it being played in Ireland makes oh-so-patriotic?

The reality is that alot of soccer fans would prefer to watch fantastic coverage of soccer being played at a high level in the comfort of their local / living room. As opposed to getting soaked in Ireland watching Ballygobackwards FC play shyte football in the flesh. Go figure.

Alot of sports fans in Ireland get their kicks from supporting / fundraising for / a local team backed by a real community of families and friends i.e. The GAA. As opposed to a shower of ignorant louts which is how you lot are being perceived on this forum at least. There is no crime in spurring on (excuse the pun) a team in foreign league / continent if it makes you happy.

Take your colossal inferiority complex back to the Soccer Forum please.:cool:

Talk about a contradiction in terms.

It's nothing to do with an anti-english vibe at all.
    The sight of tricolours with Spurs crests sickened me a little bit on Thursday

This post smacks of hypocrisy.

Did you register on boards just to come in and stir this thread up a bit more ?
    It does look that way but no. But some of the stuff on here bugs the **** out of me.

This post smacks of hypocrisy.

It would annoy me if it was any team, even Celtic, on the flag. Personally I'm not in favour of Irish teams being on the flag, but that's a just a personal view.

Talk about a contradiction in terms.

No contradiction.

Inclusive community-based sport at all levels.

-v-

Elitest twats watching crap football.

Do you think with all your whining and criticism in this thread that you've encouraged any of the mostly Irish people on this forum to attend an LOI game?

No contradiction.

Inclusive community-based sport at all levels.

-v-

Elitest twats watching crap football.

Do you think with all your whining and criticism in this thread that you've encouraged any of the mostly Irish people on this forum to attend an LOI game?

So watching Ballygar Gaels (I made the name up !!!) hoof the ball in the pissing rain is ok but LOI isn't ? As for the GAA being all inclusive, that's the best yet.

As for the actual game I enjoyed it. Rovers started well and could/should have been 1 up when Dennehy was wrongly given offside. Kaboul had a good game and is a giant of a man. Dos Santos was great in WHL but wasn't too impressed with him this time around. Townesend looks a good player too. kranjaer is a lovely player to watch. Piennar seems to have gone backwards since he joined Spurs and resorted to diving on a couple of occassions. 4-0 was a little harsh on Rovers I thought, but we're not at their level and never will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

As for the actual game I enjoyed it. Rovers started well and could/should have been 1 up when Dennehy was wrongly given offside. Kaboul had a good game and is a giant of a man. Dos Santos was great in WHL but wasn't too impressed with him this time around. Townesend looks a good player too. kranjaer is a lovely player to watch. Piennar seems to have gone backwards since he joined Spurs and resorted to diving on a couple of occassions. 4-0 was a little harsh on Rovers I thought, but we're not at their level and never will be.

best of luck paying 15 quid to watch that ****e in tallaght , i'd rather pay the couple of hundred euro all day long too see my beloved THFC play the way footie should be played.

BERBA wrote: »
    best of luck paying 15 quid to watch that ****e in tallaght , i'd rather pay the couple of hundred euro all day long too see my beloved THFC play the way footie should be played.

That's your own choice and you're entitled to do that. Spurs play good football, haven't always though. But watching the likes of Wigan, Blackburn, Bolton etc play would do nothing for me.

So watching Ballygar Gaels (I made the name up !!!) hoof the ball in the pissing rain is ok but LOI isn't ?

Good point, I suppose it's okay to do both, either or neither if that makes you happy. But you won't catch me on a Superiority trip to someone who stays at home and watches Cork v Kerry on RTE2 while I go and watch the U16 B Final. I don't feel the need to denunciate the worthiness of that sports fan.
    As for the GAA being all inclusive, that's the best yet.

In Ireland the GAA club is most often than not the hub of the community. As for inclusiveness - there is a very few clubs in Ireland that would not welcome new members with open arms, whether they'd be the buy a lotto ticket a week and nothing else type or if they were in the vision of the LOI super-fan.

If the Rovers fans were so content with being the super-fans we all know and love they wouldn't feel the need to try to disparage the choices of others.

Good point, I suppose it's okay to do both, either or neither if that makes you happy. But you won't catch me on a Superiority trip to someone who stays at home and watches Cork v Kerry on RTE2 while I go and watch the U16 B Final. I don't feel the need to denunciate the worthiness of that sports fan.

In Ireland the GAA club is most often than not the hub of the community. As for inclusiveness - there is a very few clubs in Ireland that would not welcome new members with open arms, whether they'd be the buy a lotto ticket a week and nothing else type or if they were in the vision of the LOI super-fan.

If the Rovers fans were so content with being the super-fans we all know and love they wouldn't feel the need to try to disparage the choices of others.

Not once have I said I'm superior because I support Rovers and I don't have an issue with people watching other sports. i do have an issue with Irish people cheering a foreign team against an Irish one, in Ireland. A Spurs fan wouldn't go to the home section in Old Trafford, Anfield etc an cheer on Spurs, they'd get a nasty reception if they did. The GAA like to see themselves as the hub of the community but its b####x imo. The way Thomas Davis, with support from GAA HQ, delayed Rovers getting to Tallaght shows their real agenda.

jiltloop wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers aren't my local team. I'm from Meath, no local team really around here. The Dutch and Germans have decent clubs to follow.

Are Spurs ????

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Wendell Gee

I was running a bit late on Thursday evening, due to work in town, and also meeting my son who was coming up from the country with friends. Despite being at the Jervis Luas station before 5, it was quarter to by the time I reached the ground, and kick-off as we got in.
    We were in a rovers section, me in work clothes, and my little boy (he's 10) in spurs clobber. The section we were in (E turnstile 4) was full up, with nowhere to sit, and nowhere really to stand either. The level of abuse we got from a minority of rovers fans was wrong, leading to me bringing my boy up to the spurs fans for the second half. The guards and stewards were helpful, and were more than sympathetic to our desire to get away from an atmosphere that was ridiculously nasty considering the almost friendly match fare on view.
    Rovers are a club I would always have had a soft spot for, because of the great history they have, and the wonderful team of the '80s I remember. I don't think I'll be rushing back to Tallaght, and my son never wants to go there again. Not clever.
    To those Rovers fans coming on here, I admire your loyalty to your club, but I've been a Spurs fan since 1973, when going to Dalymount or Milltown was a s far removed from my life as going to White Hart Lane or the San Siro. I didn't see them play live on TV until the '81 cup final, and first saw them in the flesh in 2000. That doesn't negate my right to choose my team. As regards Irishness, I have been involved in my local GAA club since I was 11, and follow my club and county whenever they play. Live and let live lads, and you might find your club gets neutrals along to watch your games, putting money into your club. Rovers have a tradition, and part of it was class on and off the pitch. I was impressed with some of your players, and with the fervour of the fans on the (i think) West stand (near the big flags). Otherwise, I feel there's a road to go before Tallaght matches Milltown as a venue to travel to.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

For Christ sake man use the multi-quote button......

I was running a bit late on Thursday evening, due to work in town, and also meeting my son who was coming up from the country with friends. Despite being at the Jervis Luas station before 5, it was quarter to by the time I reached the ground, and kick-off as we got in.
    We were in a rovers section, me in work clothes, and my little boy (he's 10) in spurs clobber. The section we were in (E turnstile 4) was full up, with nowhere to sit, and nowhere really to stand either. The level of abuse we got from a minority of rovers fans was wrong, leading to me bringing my boy up to the spurs fans for the second half. The guards and stewards were helpful, and were more than sympathetic to our desire to get away from an atmosphere that was ridiculously nasty considering the almost friendly match fare on view.
    Rovers are a club I would always have had a soft spot for, because of the great history they have, and the wonderful team of the '80s I remember. I don't think I'll be rushing back to Tallaght, and my son never wants to go there again. Not clever.
    To those Rovers fans coming on here, I admire your loyalty to your club, but I've been a Spurs fan since 1973, when going to Dalymount or Milltown was a s far removed from my life as going to White Hart Lane or the San Siro. I didn't see them play live on TV until the '81 cup final, and first saw them in the flesh in 2000. That doesn't negate my right to choose my team. As regards Irishness, I have been involved in my local GAA club since I was 11, and follow my club and county whenever they play. Live and let live lads, and you might find your club gets neutrals along to watch your games, putting money into your club. Rovers have a tradition, and part of it was class on and off the pitch. I was impressed with some of your players, and with the fervour of the fans on the (i think) West stand (near the big flags). Otherwise, I feel there's a road to go before Tallaght matches Milltown as a venue to travel to.

But it wasn't a friendly match, it was the Europa league. I don't condone abusing a 10 year old kid but you should have known better. You wouldn't bring him to home sections in Anfield, old Trafford etc in Spurs gear would you ? There is some good points in your post and you should bring your kid to Tallaght for an LOI game, you never know he might enjoy it !!!!

ziedth wrote: »
    For Christ sake man use the multi-quote button......

Yeah should have done that......

i do have an issue with Irish people cheering a foreign team against an Irish one, in Ireland.

Yeah because cheering an Irish team playing an English sport is soooo different. Anyway I thought it wasn't anything to do with nationalities or patriotism.

Afterall there is no doubt the great patriotic Rovers players you so vigorously admire would crawl a mile in ****ty broken glass to get a trial with Spurs. The only reason you aren't watching Pavlyuchenko scoring the winner in Tallaght stadium is because your club has no money.

Whether it's the Bar-stoolers or the Patriotism arguments that you prefer, take a good look at both for there are plenty of holes in each.

I fear I have engaged with an imbecile so I shall take leave from this argument promptly. Good day.

Yeah because cheering an Irish team playing an English sport is soooo different. Anyway I thought it wasn't anything to do with nationalities or patriotism.

Afterall there is no doubt the great patriotic Rovers players you so vigorously admire would crawl a mile in ****ty broken glass to get a trial with Spurs. The only reason you aren't watching Pavlyuchenko scoring the winner in Tallaght stadium is because your club has no money.

Whether it's the Bar-stoolers or the Patriotism arguments that you prefer, take a good look at both for there are plenty of holes in each.

I fear I have engaged with an imbecile so I shall take leave from this argument promptly. Good day.

That's why I said foreign instead of English so you couldn't use the Nationalism argument, and football is not just an english sport it's worldwide, unlike the GAA. Of course ALL of our players would love to play at a higher level, that's not even being contested, although how good they'd perform in a trial after walking a mile in broken glass is anybody's guess. Our players are at Rovers because that's the level they are at, bar a few who could go further. Enda Stevens has signed for Villa, for example. And less of the imbecile ****e, I'm far from it !!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Are Spurs ????
    Did I say Spurs were my local team? Do you even have a point here or are you just stating the obvious and thinking that you've scored a great point in the argument. I've explained myself enough in this thread already so why don't you read the rest of the thread properly instead of starting an idiotic and redundant argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Can this thread now be closed? It is going around in cirlcles in fairness. Also if possible could this forum be for constructive Spurs chat only?