Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I have to say, I am very uncomfortable with Gardai claiming personal injury compensation off people for what happens while on duty.

Sorry but I have to say - I think its right and proper that if a garda gets injured when on duty - they get compensated for it.

Personally I don't really care whose doing the paying out of the compensation - whether its the state or an insurance company or a combination of the 2.

Theres a lot of things in this country im not very comfy with or indeed happy with - but compensating Gardaí for injuries suffered while on duty is not one of them.

Anytime I ever heard of a garda getting compensation for being injured - its genuinely justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Old diesel wrote: »
    Sorry but I have to say - I think its right and proper that if a garda gets injured when on duty - they get compensated for it.

Personally I don't really care whose doing the paying out of the compensation - whether its the state or an insurance company or a combination of the 2.

Theres a lot of things in this country im not very comfy with or indeed happy with - but compensating Gardaí for injuries suffered while on duty is not one of them.

Anytime I ever heard of a garda getting compensation for being injured - its genuinely justified.

I don't disagree that they should be compensated but they should not be taking actions individually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

So... if an builder on a building site is injured due to the guy building the scaffold doing a bad job, its tough titty

Going by your reasoning !

I don't disagree that they should be compensated but they should not be taking actions individually.

Well their employer (AGS) isn't going to take any action on their behalf.

So should the individual garda just sit back and wait for the employer to so something/nothing

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Vehicle Gallery discussion thread!

back to vehicles please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

lighterman wrote: »
    Out of interest why would you claim for being spat at. Genuine question

The risk of contracting hepatitis through bodily fluids from an infected person is exceptionally high. A typical attack of this nature is when a hep-b infected person spits their own blood at a member of AGS. What follows is months of stressful medical tests for the member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Re. airport jeep !

Anyone explain the jurisdiction of ap v AGS ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

3fullback wrote: »
    Re. airport jeep !

Members of the Airport Police Service have the powers to:

- Stop and search (this includes persons, their property, vehicles, aircraft and cargo in an airport).
    - Demand a person's biographical details, evidence of ones identity and other relevant information.
    - Detain persons (for such time as is reasonably necessary for the exercise of any of his/her powers under Section 33 Air Navigations & Transport Act 1988)
    - Remove person's/Issue person's banning orders (these are usually issued in cases of Anti-Social Behaviour) to temporarily prohibit a person's re-entry to the airport.
    - Arrest a person on the minister's landthis includes passenger terminals, cargo areas, car parks,on board aircraft, runways, radar sites or on any air navigation installationthis also includes any other roadways, land or property owned, leased or operated by the Dublin Airport Authority or Minister for Transport, even if it is located outside of an airport's security perimeter fence.

Other powers of enforcement conferred upon them, such as those detailed within the Airport Byelaws. Members of the APS are defined as "competent persons" employed by a Public Authority under Section 18 of Criminal Justice Act 2006 for the purpose of taking & receiving witness statements in the course of their duties.

Under Section 33 of the Air Navigation and Transport Act 1988 (as amended by the Air Navigation and Transport Act 1998, they can arrest persons in connection with offences under that Act or other legislation. It is an offence to obstruct, impede, assault or impersonate an Authorised Officer (Each warranted member of the police service is classed as an Authorised Officer under law.)

Each year, Officers of the force effect several hundred arrests for a wide variety of offences, including assault, theft, fraud and breach of the public order. Members of the Airport Police are required to transfer custody of their prisoners over to the Garda Síochána to be prosecuted by the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Offences committed under the Airports Byelaws detected by the Airport Police can be dealt with by way of reporting for summons to the District court to initiate a prosecution on behalf of the Airport Authority, or by the issue of a fixed penalty notice.

The APS will respond & initially investigate all reports of criminal offences under the Airports and Aviation Acts 1936 to 2004, Airport bye laws and other legislation within the Airport. Offences deemed as serious or those beyond the capability or capacity of its limited size that are committed within the Airport, such as acts of terrorism, murder, manslaughter, rape, facilitation of illegal immigration or any incident involving the death (suspicious or otherwise) of a person are investigated by the Garda Síochána. However, APS officers will take immediate necessary action prior to the arrival of the Garda Síochána in such cases.

Airport Police operate in Dublin Airport, Cork Airport, and in Shannon Airport, as do An Garda Siochana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

Now that Shannon is no longer part of DAA where do the airport police there stand in this equation?

kub wrote: »
    Now that Shannon is no longer part of DAA where do the airport police there stand in this equation?

According to Wikipedia...
    The APS is established, funded and maintained by the owners of Dublin Airport and Cork Airport, the Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) and in Shannon Airport by the Shannon Airport Authority (SAA), both entities are state owned by the Irish Government.

3fullback wrote: »
    Re. airport jeep !

Take a look back though the pages here. Plenty of 'discussion' on this topic there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

-1381698996.JPG
    Dublin Airport Police K9 Unit
    Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 (3.2 Diesel Engine (200 BHP), Automatic Transmission)

Ah they spelt K9 wrong....

Why has it no amber beacon?

pa990 wrote: »
    So... if an builder on a building site is injured due to the guy building the scaffold doing a bad job, its tough titty

Going by your reasoning !

My point is that people should be compensated - its just that I don't care whose doing the actual paying - once someone does actually caugh up the compensation.

Sorry for the off topic - but I just couldn't let the above post go without further clarification.

Sorry chaps

Back on topic

That Pajero looks like a fine piece of kit.

Always good to see something new being tried out - and the silver looks well with the Battenberg.

Hope it does the business for the airport police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

The risk of contracting hepatitis through bodily fluids from an infected person is exceptionally high. A typical attack of this nature is when a hep-b infected person spits their own blood at a member of AGS. What follows is months of stressful medical tests for the member.

I'm well aware as indicted in an earlier post
    lighterman wrote: »
    No they shouldnt as yes as you stated it is assault but neither do i expect it as a security guard.

Maybe you should talk to the guards who advised me and talked me out of pressing charges against a man with Hepatitis C who spat in my face which got in to my mouth.I was told it wouldnt be worth it as it was only a i believe told a section 3 assault and wouldnt be worth the time bringing him to court.

I asked would the fact he knowingly had Hep C and the fact i had to do the 3 month tests to get the all clear which i did and i was told no.

So is it a different law for guards and the general public.

(Careful stepping down off that horse)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭source

Built into the light bar?

source wrote: »
    Built into the light bar?

Not good enough airside. needs to be visible from 360 degrees. LED Lightbar is only visible front or rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Why would they need a 4x4 in an Airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

sgthighway wrote: »

There's plenty of grass at the airport.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Snow.....?

I reckon those jeeps would better suit gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Snow.....?

I reckon those jeeps would better suit gardai

The dog unit has one. prefer land cruisers but never happen now

POGAN wrote: »
    The dog unit has one. prefer land cruisers but never happen now

Ye, Those land cruisers are a great bus alright.. I'd say they'd protect you in any kind of a crash aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Looks like the beacon we've on some OMAC jeeps. There is blues built into the sides of it, I'd imagine there is ambers on the airports one, they know what they're doing ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Chasing intruders inside the perimiter fence ,runway incursions :eek: http://news.aviation-safety.net/2010/03/04/dublin-airport-serious-runway-incursion-by-grass-mower/ crossing runways and grassy areas, SNOW/ICE -
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/snow-closes-dublin-airport-disrupts-bus-and-luas-483985.html

Met Eireann is warning that the sub-zero weather will continue up to next Wednesday.

Flight operations at Dublin Airport have been suspended.

The Dublin Airport Authority said it currently has crews working to clear snow from the main runway

(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Bitches love jeeps

Back on topic

That Pajero looks like a fine piece of kit.

Always good to see something new being tried out - and the silver looks well with the Battenberg.

Hope it does the business for the airport police

Met Police have been using them for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Garda Dog Unit's Pajero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

D Trent wrote: »
    Garda Dog Unit's Pajero

Why doesnt this have blues?

Saw it on O'Connell street recently not knowing it was dog unit and thought it looked awful bizzare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

timmywex wrote: »

Saw it on O'Connell street recently not knowing it was dog unit and thought it looked awful bizzare

It does, just not a roof lightbar. Has a dashlight, grille and other blues

timmywex wrote: »

Cost cutting I was told doesn't need light bar tho

Later, the Department of Justice said that all the new Ford and Hyundai cars being bought for the Garda fleet would either be saloon or estate vehicles

Does this rule out Santa Feis or is it confused journalism?

donvito99 wrote: »
    Does this rule out Santa Feis or is it confused journalism?

I would imagine Garda management would opt for Toyota Landcruiser or Isuzu D-Max, possible even Kia Sorento if a need for 4x4 vehicles in the fleet arose as they have done in the past.

D Trent wrote: »
    I would imagine Garda management would opt for Toyota Landcruiser or Isuzu D-Max, possible even Kia Sorento if a need for 4x4 vehicles in the fleet arose as they have done in the past.

Couldn't rule out the Mitsubishi Pajero? Better suited than the Hyundai or Kia, and up there with the Isuzu - although it's a pick-up. Land Cruiser still tops for me though.

EireGun wrote: »
    Couldn't rule out the Mitsubishi Pajero? Better suited than the Hyundai or Kia, and up there with the Isuzu - although it's a pick-up. Land Cruiser still tops for me though.

Hyundai sant fei are coming in the order

Are those female officers allowed drive that Barabus ?

Gang takes powerful €135,000 BMW at gunpoint

Officers fear that the stolen BMW five-series car will be used by a gang in serious crime.

The description of the M5 model, which sells at up to €135,000 for new vehicles, has been circulated to all garda districts nationwide.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gang-takes-powerful-135000-bmw-at-gunpoint-29756393.html

Interesting times ahead for someone :rolleyes:

Capri wrote: »
    Interesting times ahead for someone :rolleyes:

Nothing will be able to catch it in straight line alpha seria will have trouble keeping up with it if it has a good driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Nothing will be able to catch it in straight line alpha seria will have trouble keeping up with it if it has a good driver

And that even before it's in M mode :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

ASU will have no problem keeping up. It does 135mph in a straight line and if thats not fast enough they just have to climb to keep it in view.

No doubt it'll be used for jobs at some stage soon though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,497 ✭✭✭✭guil

ASU will have no problem keeping up. It does 135mph in a straight line and if thats not fast enough they just have to climb to keep it in view.

The m5 has 500hp. I'd guess the xc70 has 250-300 at most.

guil wrote: »
    The m5 has 500hp. I'd guess the xc70 has 250-300 at most.

Charle is on about the ASU which is air suppor unit, people use the asu for the regional support unit but in the AGS there RSU :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,497 ✭✭✭✭guil

Charle is on about the ASU which is air suppor unit, people use the asu for the regional support unit but in the AGS there RSU :)

Oh bollox. That's what I get for posting when I'm drinking haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Section_4

E90 BMW M5s are electronically limited to 155mph. That electronic limiter can be removed with a very simple electronic rewriting of the cars ECU (BMW dealerships offer this service to their customers, as do most good independent BMW specialists). The theoretical top speed then exceeds 185mph.

For obvious reasons I won't get into what can / cannot keep up with a 155 mph vehicle, let alone a 185mph vehicle.

T'would be interesting to see if CAB could establish that a car like this was acquired as a direct result of the proceeds of crime. Then they'd need to catch him.

Christmas present for the Tango boys and girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

donvito99 wrote: »
    T'would be interesting to see if CAB could establish that a car like this was acquired as a direct result of the proceeds of crime. Then they'd need to catch him.

Christmas present for the Tango boys and girls?

A stolen car wouldn't be proceeds of crime unfortunately. Anyway, tbh I'd imagine that its already in a shipping container out of the country. Too distinctive to hide here