Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

The connect uses the Ford 1.8, not the french 1.6.

Still crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

robo10 wrote: »
    Tramore garda have a white unmarked mondeo 2007 you would spot it a mile away

This one presumably...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Do-eGETW-5M

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭robo10

yes mate that's the one looks well in plain white.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 C.S.I

I put a picture of one over in the gallery thread

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭robo10

Yeah a nice white 3.0 Mondeo i doubt the garda will ever have such powerful cars again

C.S.I wrote: »
    I put a picture of one over in the gallery thread

Driving School.

Would it not be better suited out on motorways??

Probably but you still need it to train members how to drive them first.

very true i suppose, any 131 3.0ltr mondeos

That picture was during open day couple years ago, there few up in college recently

CSI

There is no 3l mondeos anymore 2.2 one that replace them this year are 198bhp so there them replacement just need more than was bought now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Old diesel

POGAN wrote: »
    That picture was during open day couple years ago, there few up in college recently

CSI

There is no 3l mondeos anymore 2.2 one that replace them this year are 198bhp so there them replacement just need more than was bought now

Presuming the 198 bhp cars are for the very highest training level in terms of Garda driver training - then presumably - if the right deal can be done :D.

There is nothing to prevent the purchase of cars with plenty of power in future :) - in theory obviously.

Old diesel wrote: »
    Presuming the 198 bhp cars are for the very highest training level in terms of Garda driver training - then presumably - if the right deal can be done :D.

There is nothing to prevent the purchase of cars with plenty of power in future :) - in theory obviously.

Yes there for the advanced degree in driving course

It was limited purchase in 2013 they can purchase then like everything goes down to cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭flazio

EireGun wrote: »
    Armed Gardai from the RSU and ERU return fire on gunman in Sligo, negotiators later bring incident to a peaceful conclusion. 50 local people evacuated from their homes. Nobody hurt.

sligo+arm001.jpg

That Mitsubishi white jeep belong to the Gardaí as well? Any better pictures of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

flazio wrote: »
    That Mitsubishi white jeep belong to the Gardaí as well? Any better pictures of it?

Thats the landshark unit!

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/631571/278201.jpg

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/631571/278202.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

2.0 EcoBoost 0-100kph 7.6 Tops 144mph in old money
    2.5T (Volvo 5cyl engine) 0-100kph 7.3 153mph

Hungarian police - Mondeo ST http://policecars.hu/p/albums/ford/ford108.jpg

Ford UK Fleet have no info - Official Secrets Act? :rolleyes:

Ford Germany http://www.ford.de/Firmenkunden/KundenGruppen/Behoerden
    http://www.polizeiautos.de/show_zusatzbild.php?id=7322

Danish Politi Mondeo 2.5T :eek:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/maistos/4454765328/in/pool-fordcontour/
    (They prefer to spend the money on power rather than battenburg marking :rolleyes: )

Ford US - the full monty, LOUD n PROUD :cool:
    http://www.ford.com/fordpoliceinterceptor/
    They seem to be touting the 2.0 EcoBoost , probably a good engine then :confused:

Think I posted pic of it a long time ago , as well as that gold Nissan/Ford Terrano, the unmarked double cab Isuzu is a new one to me, tho' Traffic and the Airport APFS use them

CSI

They should do the trick i'd imagine

Capri wrote: »
    2.0 EcoBoost 0-100kph 7.6 Tops 144mph in old money
    2.5T (Volvo 5cyl engine) 0-100kph 7.3 153mph

Hungarian police - Mondeo ST http://policecars.hu/p/albums/ford/ford108.jpg

Ford UK Fleet have no info - Official Secrets Act? :rolleyes:

Ford Germany http://www.ford.de/Firmenkunden/KundenGruppen/Behoerden
    http://www.polizeiautos.de/show_zusatzbild.php?id=7322

Danish Politi Mondeo 2.5T :eek:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/maistos/4454765328/in/pool-fordcontour/
    (They prefer to spend the money on power rather than battenburg marking :rolleyes: )

Ford US - the full monty, LOUD n PROUD :cool:
    http://www.ford.com/fordpoliceinterceptor/
    They seem to be touting the 2.0 EcoBoost , probably a good engine then :confused:

Think I posted pic of it a long time ago , as well as that gold Nissan/Ford Terrano, the unmarked double cab Isuzu is a new one to me, tho' Traffic and the Airport APFS use them

I can see why the AGS make decisions based on cost - but even within the Ford range - you've got the 2.0 ecoboost as featured in your post.

And in UK you can buy a 163 ps 2.0 diesel in the Focus - and a 1.6 ecoboost with 182 bhp (turbocharged).

Such things provide options for the likes of Traffic corps rather then messing about with 1.6 and 1.7 diesels.

Wouldn't surprise me if they started using i40s on traffic when cars are running short :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

flazio wrote: »

The Mitsubishi Pajero is marked and belongs to the Dog Support Unit (as you can see above), but it doesn't have a lightbar for some strange reason. I'm not sure about the unmarked Nissan Terrano, could be negotiators or maybe Garda "techies" (regional technical staff who can run small surveillance ops without National Surveillance Unit/NSU, and are also good with communication equipment). The unmarked Isuzu D-Max is used by the Special Detective Unit's Emergency Response Unit (ERU), was delivered as part of 2011 Traffic Corps consignment, they are great for holding equipment, and the ERU could have a few more of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭kub

The unmarked Isuzu D-Max is used by the Special Detective Unit's Emergency Response Unit (ERU), was delivered as part of 2011 Traffic Corps consignment, they are great for holding equipment, and the ERU could have a few more of them...

So it is true, resources in traffic are so low, they have the ERU lads doing nixers.

kub wrote: »
    So it is true, resources in traffic are so low, they have the ERU lads doing nixers.

Resource for traffic is so low we dont see them on the road, armed units in DMR are underpressure so much there moving call to call at the moment so much happening,

best results i could see expand Regional Support Unit to by double current amounts ( no figure please) expand cars to 6 units in current bases over current ( no figure please). RSU units in DMR is so badly needed give more regular units on the streets quicker assitance leaving the SDU and ERU to do operations

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Consy90

Anyone know if the i30 are just regular. They hardly expect traffic to use them.
    Anything else showing up yet?

Consy90 wrote: »
    Anyone know if the i30 are just regular. They hardly expect traffic to use them.
    Anything else showing up yet?

Youd like to think so - but then again they used the Avensis for traffic - so I suspect its a case of they buy a big order of random cars.

And traffic just have to take what is available - don't know the story tbh - but that's the impression I get as an outsider tbh.

Should have a separate tender for traffic really - if they want to take Traffic Corps seriously going forward :rolleyes:.

Separate tenders mean - or should mean - in theory - that you don't end up with manufacturers who don't have a car suitable for traffic getting the big order.

And traffic having to use some crappy Avensis or i40 type stuff.

Just my opinion :( - apologies for any upset caused.

Happy new year to all on boards.ie

'Traffic' - the catchphrase for a higher-spec car than the ordinary plod 'Panda' car ?

Volvo want a piece of the action http://www.autoblog.com/2013/11/18/volvo-xc70-police-wagon/

Ford Australia want to 'reach out ' :rolleyes:
    officers intend use the car more to reach out to young motorsports fans than to run down baddies
    http://www.autoblog.com/2012/11/25/ford-falcon-gt-becomes-australias-most-power-police-car-ever/

BMW - http://www.autoblog.com/2012/08/26/bmw-unveiling-new-euro-police-cars-soon/

IMHO any car that gets upgraded brake pads should be ok IF the driver is skilled enough - while it'd be nice to have a good car under you, the Barrack Master might have a different view of 'idiots wrecking good motors - they don't deserve anything more than a basic model with blues n twos fitted ' :mad: ??

I'm sure everyone knows someone in their division who shouldn't be let near a Micra, let alone an XC70 !

Case in point -
    .....Audio from in-car cameras captured a tongue-in-cheek discussion between the motorway officers saying they hoped Harrison wouldn't shunt their precious motor, delivered just days earlier, as they prepared to pull him over.
    But Harrison, who had stopped on a single-track lane next to the A road, did just that, causing significant damage.

.....Harrison caused around £5,000 in damage to the X5 plus thousands more to the other vehicles he later struck.

Act Sgt Leaver, added: "The BMW patrol car had only been with the force for a matter of days before the incident we had some explaining to do when it was taken into our fleet mechanics for extensive repairs so early in its police service!"

They discussed it as a possibility before being rammed so why did they then let him ram the new motor instead of letting an older yoke in front to pursue him ????

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DAVE1972

hi all im new , but i think the minimum traffic car , having driven 4 in last 12 years should be higher spec mondeos,, they are as big as an audi a6 0r volvo xc70 and as comfortable, must add im a sales rep not a member

DAVE1972 wrote: »
    hi all im new , but i think the minimum traffic car , having driven 4 in last 12 years should be higher spec mondeos,, they are as big as an audi a6 0r volvo xc70 and as comfortable, must add im a sales rep not a member

A sales rep for Ford?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DAVE1972

nope i swear oh and at the moment due to downturn, im driving a renault grand megane 1.5,, and i wouldnt wish them in anyone

Resource for traffic is so low we dont see them on the road, armed units in DMR are underpressure so much there moving call to call at the moment so much happening,

best results i could see expand Regional Support Unit to by double current amounts ( no figure please) expand cars to 6 units in current bases over current ( no figure please). RSU units in DMR is so badly needed give more regular units on the streets quicker assitance leaving the SDU and ERU to do operations

Armed Regional Support Units are now going to operate on a full-time fully-armed basis from today (January 1st), the first time in the force's history uniformed Gardai will be routinely armed... Let's hope they double the numbers in the RSU and give them a new fleet of high-powered vehicles. Badly needed. http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/gardai-to-be-armed-in-dissident-crackdown-29880827.html

Capri wrote: »
    'Traffic' - the catchphrase for a higher-spec car than the ordinary plod 'Panda' car ?

Volvo want a piece of the action http://www.autoblog.com/2013/11/18/volvo-xc70-police-wagon/

Ford Australia want to 'reach out ' :rolleyes:
    http://www.autoblog.com/2012/11/25/ford-falcon-gt-becomes-australias-most-power-police-car-ever/

BMW - http://www.autoblog.com/2012/08/26/bmw-unveiling-new-euro-police-cars-soon/

IMHO any car that gets upgraded brake pads should be ok IF the driver is skilled enough - while it'd be nice to have a good car under you, the Barrack Master might have a different view of 'idiots wrecking good motors - they don't deserve anything more than a basic model with blues n twos fitted ' :mad: ??

I'm sure everyone knows someone in their division who shouldn't be let near a Micra, let alone an XC70 !

Case in point -

They discussed it as a possibility before being rammed so why did they then let him ram the new motor instead of letting an older yoke in front to pursue him ????

Car getting written off is a car written off whether its an Avensis or an Audi with Quattro.

Who knows - the extra roadholding of a better car MAY actually help prevent it been in in an accident when been driven hard.

Driver training would be important - but much depends on what the car actually is - would their be that much difference between a 140 bhp car and a car with 180 bhp.

If someone is able to manage 140 bhp - is say 180 bhp that big a step up - if your already traffic corps - and hence trained (I assume).

clearly if you go to high bhp figures - in say the 220, 250 to 300 bhp range youd need to be training up people especially for the cars.

But such cars would probably only be used for special tasks in this country - so youd be working with small numbers of cars and personnel - meaning its easier to set up the training (not as costly on smaller numbers)

Armed Regional Support Units are now going to operate on a full-time fully-armed basis from today (January 1st), the first time in the force's history uniformed Gardai will be routinely armed... Let's hope they double the numbers in the RSU and give them a new fleet of high-powered vehicles. Badly needed. http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/gardai-to-be-armed-in-dissident-crackdown-29880827.html

So in other words the detective branch will again loose more armed officer's.

According to the Commissioner, Detectives will not lose any firearms, but Plain Clothes officers who sometimes carry firearms will have their permits withdrawn.
    Cost saving ahead of protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

According to the Commissioner, Detectives will not lose any firearms, but Plain Clothes officers who sometimes carry firearms will have their permits withdrawn.
    Cost saving ahead of protection.

Makes sense to me? If they only carry them the odd time then might aswell save money and let the proper dedicated unit deal with firearms..

carzony wrote: »
    Makes sense to me? If they only carry them the odd time then might aswell save money and let the proper dedicated unit deal with firearms..

Well uniformed officers who partake in plain clothes operations (who have firearm permits) will no longer be able to carry. Puts them at far more risk in my opinion. I think the entire force should be armed with Tasers, cannot believe they are still not. I can't see the Gardai as a whole being unarmed for any longer than another decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Well uniformed officers who partake in plain clothes operations (who have firearm permits) will no longer be able to carry. Puts them at far more risk in my opinion. I think the entire force should be armed with Tasers, cannot believe they are still not. I can't see the Gardai as a whole being unarmed for any longer than another decade.

I agree, It's insane that they are still unarmed. A few weeks ago I phoned them because a few lads were trying to hotwire my neighbours car. In the end they never showed up but if they had they would have been outnumbered and probably would have gotten hurt..

I don't think they'll all be armed anytime soon though. Even recruiting new members or ordering decent cars is an issue lol

They have been armed for long time now just another case of PR. Still think there a need for RSU marked armed units in DMR.

Let's hope this year brings good news for everyone

carzony wrote: »

While I appreciate what you are saying, it does mean that the net effect is less armed officers.

You see - this is the problem with a lot of whats done in Ireland - too much short term thinking.

Say a Garda has a permit to carry a gun - when he or she is in plain clothes.

Now surely the sensible thing to do - is to consider the idea that - you start training them up properly.

And having extra armed support thus as a result - if the training and personal are right - and the right equipment is there - then it could be a useful asset.

This is Ireland sadly - so we don't (we as in officialdom) don't think like this - an awful shame.

So we think - I know lets cut back numbers (to save money) - and not bother training them - and take the permits back.

Its sickening :mad:

They have been armed for long time now just another case of PR. Still think there a need for RSU marked armed units in DMR.

Let's hope this year brings good news for everyone

Just to carry on the point from above, as ERU are based in DMR then there are two chances of RSU operating there, we know what they are.

The way things are going the RSU might end up in Hyundai's.

Just to carry on the point from above, as ERU are based in DMR then there are two chances of RSU operating there, we know what they are.

The way things are going the RSU might end up in Hyundai's.

Eru have different role to the RSU but I understand the reason why they won't go ahead with it

Met police Trojan units covering London pArt of CO19 they are marked armed deterrent against armed crime think it works leaves the SDU and ERU to do operations

Eru have different role to the RSU but I understand the reason why they won't go ahead with it

Met police Trojan units covering London pArt of CO19 they are marked armed deterrent against armed crime think it works leaves the SDU and ERU to do operations

We're still playing catch up:o
    CO19 -Each armed response vehicle is crewed by three uniformed AFOs. With each one fulfilling a specific role whilst responding to emergency calls believed to involve firearms, the driver is responsible for getting the crew to the scene in the fastest way possible, with regards to public safety. The navigator is responsible for deciding which route the ARV takes, with regards to road diversions and other factors. The observer is responsible for liaising with other services on the scene, and requesting more support if needed. Most ARVs are specially equipped and adapted BMW area cars, identified as an ARV by the circular yellow sticker the front and back windows, along with a star on the roof for helicopter identification.

It's quite unbelievable that the Dublin Metropolitan Region, which has a population of 1.8 million people, has no visible armed Police presence. Yes, they have the most armed Gardai, but there is no marked armed Police presence in the capital city of a European country. 9 of the 15 fatal shootings this last year (2013) occurred in Dublin, and just 2 of the 15 outside of Leinster. It's possible the ERU themselves want to Police the DMR without the RSU, but there should be marked ARVs and uniformed armed Police. You have the Special Branch, NBCI, ERU, etc. all in Dublin, but for the majority of the population they are 'secret police' who drive around in shady high powered vehicles, a visible deterrent akin to the RSU (everyone knows who they are in Limerick, Cork, Louth, etc) would imo work wonders in Dublin.

It's quite unbelievable that the Dublin Metropolitan Region, which has a population of 1.8 million people, has no visible armed Police presence. Yes, they have the most armed Gardai, but there is no marked armed Police presence in the capital city of a European country. 9 of the 15 fatal shootings this year occurred in Dublin, and just 2 of the 15 outside of Leinster. It's possible the ERU themselves want to Police the DMR without the RSU, but there should be marked ARVs and uniformed armed Police. You have the Special Branch, NBCI, ERU, etc. all in Dublin, but for the majority of the population they are 'secret police' who drive around in shady high powered vehicles, a visible deterrent akin to the RSU (everyone knows who they are in Limerick, Cork, Louth, etc) would imo work wonders in Dublin.

any member in DMR or anywhere would tell you there not enough armed assistance when its needed, most shot fired calls or shootings are answered and reponsed to by the regular that do 99.9% of calls thats the problem, they need to refocus views to support members on frontline.

Short term....

Expand all Regional Support Units from 120 to 240 atleast along with covering DMR, Make sure units are covered for 24/7/365 leaves the SDU & ERU do the job there meant to

Tazer deployment for whole force would be great benefit for all members & management its a cost issue understandable short term train up tango members (traffic Corp) Regional & divisional.

There will be problems with this as all units on traffic coming under fire for increase road deaths, high vistabilty road policing but they cant be everywhere education is key.

There should be 300+ cars in by sept atleast on the road losing about the same before then, 2011 cars are coming to life end.

The taser would be a great start (a damn sight better then nothing imo) - and I believe Uk forces have started increasing the amount of officers trained and issued with tasers.

Actually the Uk tends to have a far superior all around attitude towards stuff like having more dog units, armed support and other such stuff like that.

Mind you - they are apparently looking to cut back on the dogs now (theres a campaign on twitter now - #dontditchthedogs - and they are having the same issues with cutbacks too.

Also - why would traffic corps be under fire for the increasing road deaths - cutbacks and general poor approach by officialdom to road safety is to blame there I think.

Traffic corps can only deal with what they can see going on in front of them - they cant deal with some nutcase pulling off a dangerous overtake - a mile behind or ahead of the traffic corps car.

Think one thing that could be done in the line of traffic corps in that regard - is to have decent unmarked cars - preferably stuff that wouldn't normally be associated with Garda cars (Audis etc).

If you enter Audi A6 Avant unmarked police cars or something like that in google - and go into images - youd see some nice unmarked Audis.

Seen a pic of a lovely silver A4 Avant (2010/11 type model) unmarked - it had the lights lit up in the pics but youd never know it was unmarked with lights off.

I only mention Audi as an example - but having unmarked cars could be good - drivers wouldn't know that the car behind them or in front was a Garda car until they are pulled in for driving like a muppet.

Just my two cents as an outsider (apologies)

The taser would be a great start (a damn sight better then nothing imo) - and I believe Uk forces have started increasing the amount of officers trained and issued with tasers.

Actually the Uk tends to have a far superior all around attitude towards stuff like having more dog units, armed support and other such stuff like that.

Mind you - they are apparently looking to cut back on the dogs now (theres a campaign on twitter now - #dontditchthedogs - and they are having the same issues with cutbacks too.

Yes i would love to see patrol estate focus with Garda Dog unit but there is something stopping management on that one, there is need to change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Any pic or sign of new cars ? Or them Hyundais !!!! Great last 3 points ! POGAN / eiregun

Also - why would traffic corps be under fire for the increasing road deaths - cutbacks and general poor approach by officialdom to road safety is to blame there I think.

Traffic corps can only deal with what they can see going on in front of them - they cant deal with some nutcase pulling off a dangerous overtake - a mile behind or ahead of the traffic corps car.

Think one thing that could be done in the line of traffic corps in that regard - is to have decent unmarked cars - preferably stuff that wouldn't normally be associated with Garda cars (Audis etc).

If you enter Audi A6 Avant unmarked police cars or something like that in google - and go into images - youd see some nice unmarked Audis.

Seen a pic of a lovely silver A4 Avant (2010/11 type model) unmarked - it had the lights lit up in the pics but youd never know it was unmarked with lights off.

I only mention Audi as an example - but having unmarked cars could be good - drivers wouldn't know that the car behind them or in front was a Garda car until they are pulled in for driving like a muppet.

Just my two cents as an outsider (apologies)

AGS are blamed in newspapers & gay Byrne blame members all the time with all the money in the world, cant be everywhere that why if you see something always report it.

Cars & resources issue

goes down to money at the end of the day

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said the 305 cars come in addition to the 133 new vehicles introduced earlier in 2013, bringing the total to 438 this year.
    - Irish Examiner

Where are the 305 new cars (and €5 million spending) that were promised to come on stream between late September 2013 and January 1st 2014? Anyone aware of them? And another €4 Million spending promised in 2014?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

3fullback wrote: »
    Any pic or sign of new cars ? Or them Hyundais !!!! Great last 3 points ! POGAN / eiregun

Saw them arriving into the country on the back of a transporter. Mostly white still.

- Irish Examiner

Where are the 305 new cars (and €5 million spending) that were promised to come on stream between late September 2013 and January 1st 2014? Anyone aware of them? And another €4 Million spending promised in 2014?

There was couple in before end of year but they will come in like they do all the time they wont all be on the road by end of january for def

they should be all on the the road by sept 2014 then 4 million more than likely be on the road sept 2015 papers and TDs lie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

3fullback wrote: »

@3fullback
    MY GOD what is your obsession with the Hyundais??! I'm sure if someone was to hear of something/see a pic the vehicle gallery will be the first port of call