Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

foreign wrote: »
    It is a Garda one. I think it's DMR East SOC.

Can confirm. Have also seen an Opel Vivaro type shape been marked up in the same way for SOC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ratracer

I wouldn't think the amulance is for HSE, probably for one of the vol amb groups or private

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

ratracer wrote: »
    I wouldn't think the amulance is for HSE, probably for one of the vol amb groups or private

For DFB afaik

They had a couple of ambos written off during summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

ratracer wrote: »

Or possibly coming to/from Wilker. No number plates on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They have NHS on side so equipped for north.

They are spanking new model

They have NHS on side so equipped for north.

They are spanking new model

South East Coast Ambulance Service

http://www.secamb.nhs.uk

South East Coast Ambulance Service

http://www.secamb.nhs.uk

So could it be that there is a surplus and will be re branded for here?

As said above they could be on the way to Wilker in Offaly for refit or have left there to go to the UK. They recently had a tender for the Scottish Ambulance Service. They could be about to go to one of the voluntary organisations after tidying up.

They are the new model lighs on the rear and look new so your probably right heading out for service over the waters.

Didn't know they had a fitting place here.

They are the new model lighs on the rear and look new so your probably right heading out for service over the waters.

Didn't know they had a fitting place here.

http://www.wilkergroup.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

Have seen plenty of nhs marked vehicles being transported city bound on the m4 over the last few weeks, presumably going towards the ferry terminals.

Nice to see an Irish company getting the tender for them ;)

sgt.bilko wrote: »
    Have seen plenty of nhs marked vehicles being transported city bound on the m4 over the last few weeks, presumably going towards the ferry terminals.

Nice to see an Irish company getting the tender for them ;)

Technically German as they own us all;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

In relation to 3fullback's question in the pic thread about the uzi, it is still in use by some units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

While an older model, that Mondeo looks to be in very good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

While an older model, that Mondeo looks to be in very good nick.

maybe an armed unit doesn't use it that often?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DAVE1972

maybe those mondeos are the ex traffic unmarked 3.0 ghias , just re assigned,

Quite possible dave as some were alweays parked outside the park and harcourt st.

Nice vehicle but they should be using ST and proper quick cars imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

Ok, i don't want to sound like a right pineapple but surely the "unmarked" 131 Mondeo should have its reg plate obscured ?

Sorry if i offend anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

sgt.bilko wrote: »
    Ok, i don't want to sound like a right pineapple but surely the "unmarked" 131 Mondeo should have its reg plate obscured ?

Sorry if i offend anyone.

Never mind the members face as well - some here can be sensitive to both faces and reg. plates !

Why would plates need to be blocked when even without arials these cars stand out big time... Well to me they do anyway.

The colour of the mondeo is 1 give away as non metalic and they have used that colour for years.

Lights in grill are a give away.

Light on dash and bumpers.

Then the usuall 2 or 3 uniformed cops inside.

It use to be the missing hub cap, big arials all over them, the dodgy looking reg plates, certain trim on the outside, never washed look along with dings on most panels, single tax disc holder sometimes with nct of some other yoke:D etc etc....

DAVE1972 wrote: »
    maybe those mondeos are the ex traffic unmarked 3.0 ghias , just re assigned,

Ghias more like ex-Protection cars, they like to have smart cars accompanying those CD cars to functions, and there wouldn't be as much mileage on them as traffic stuff .
    In the real world SFA difference in performance between 3.0 Ghia X and ST220.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I'd imagine they're only blue side lights on the Jeep. If they were flashing, it's be more than an fcps issued.

Still a stupid thing to have on your car though.

I'd imagine they're only blue side lights on the Jeep. If they were flashing, it's be more than an fcps issued.

Still a stupid thing to have on your car though.

Just the blue led light you would see on civics and for some reason lately on a lot of bog standard not even alloys fitted cars with nurburgring stickers on the rear with blue reg plate lights also.

Good they are making them fix them there and then.

Things like this would make you apprehensive ! Taken from @gardatraffic twitter just now!

Just sloppy policing in most cases, people being let through checkpoints with 'blue' front lights. Some of the white LED's have a blue look to them but a deliberate blue bulb is 'impersonating a Garda vehicle' ?? Most 'Joe Publics' will pull over to let the 'Gardai' through, chances are he came up quickly behind a cerain green 06 BMW 5-series and found out that that 5 series had blue lights also - except they flashed :eek:
    The Road Traffic Act says you can only have a 'white or yellow' sidelight to the front - in times past I've been pulled for amber front lights (US LHD car, LEGAL in the US ) / daytime lights (Volvo - legal here but the member took another argumentative view:rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Does the yellow front light legislation relate to the former French requirement?

I always thought it was a shame when they changed that.

Coloured sidelights, or even LEDs on the washer nozzles are a menace and a distraction. A lot of motorcycles seem to have them too.

Does the yellow front light legislation relate to the former French requirement?

I always thought it was a shame when they changed that.

Coloured sidelights, or even LEDs on the washer nozzles are a menace and a distraction. A lot of motorcycles seem to have them too.
    Mais non! The 'yellow ' was just a white bulb flickering with 6v power!!

Wonder does anyone in the Park have pics of all the cars used down through the years, or were they thrown out in a spring clean :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Capri wrote: »
    Wonder does anyone in the Park have pics of all the cars used down through the years, or were they thrown out in a spring clean :confused:

I completed my dissertation on patrol cars, someone put me in touch with a sergeant from Headquarters, who loaned me about 7 discs of pictures of almost every Garda vehicle ever used up until that time, was hundreds if not thousands of pictures. Everything was there, from marked cars, to tow wagons, to motorcycles to vehicles on trial. Can't remember who he was but it was a serious collection of pictures.

Be nice to get all those up on Flikr or somewhere for the record, pity to have them hidden away :cool:

Regarding a lot of 'what if they had ******'s on the fleet' - if you look on Hatch/Harcourt st near HQ you'll see Octavias / Superbs / A4 /A6 / Land Cruisers / Pajeros / Troopers / Mondeos / Vectras / 3series / 5series / Volvos / Toyotas ..... so they are out there for the specialised units - maybe the lack of proper driver training has led to 'disposable' Hyundais being used in patrol duties :rolleyes:

there was a guy on flickr ( irishcopgc15 ) one time for a while but he deactivated his account , he had some great stuff up
    from the 1970s and 80s id say he was based in garage

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 153 ✭✭rollcall

there was a guy on flickr ( irishcopgc15 ) one time for a while but he deactivated his account , he had some great stuff up
    from the 1970s and 80s id say he was based in garage

I'm back! I am based in the college not the garage, just a car guy and remember driving some awful heaps back in the day including Renault 4s, Triumph Acclaims, Austin Maestros and Montegos. I hated them at the time but now I am an aul lad, I'm getting nostalgic! I took down the flckr account as I wanted to put together a proper archive and eventually a decent GS vehicle website when I had enough stuff gathered, so feel free to pm me if you have any ideas or are interested in the idea of forming a car club for old AGS vehicles. I am a part owner of the Vauxhall Victor in the photo, and group ownership worked well to save and restore this car. What we need is a few more cars to put smiles on our faces!

jesus the acclaims , my father had an ex garda one navy blue old siren was still disconnected stuck in the grill. there was a gra commerative calendar out which had every car from the last 5 decades.. be great to see those up again members on this forum who enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Regarding a lot of 'what if they had ******'s on the fleet' - if you look on Hatch/Harcourt st near HQ you'll see Octavias / Superbs / A4 /A6 / Land Cruisers / Pajeros / Troopers / Mondeos / Vectras / 3series / 5series / Volvos / Toyotas ..... so they are out there for the specialised units - maybe the lack of proper driver training has led to 'disposable' Hyundais being used in patrol duties :rolleyes:

I find the possibility of someone thinking - oh we don't have driver training so lets buy Hyundais - an interesting concept.

Especially when in the 2007 and 2011 period - the typical patrol car would have being a Mondeo.

Part of the problem I see isn't so much the fact they went for Hyundai - but the fact they went for a manufacturer only capable of supplying cars suited to ONE basic role.

The thing about Mondeos back in the day - is that you had options to BETTER spec vehicles suited to what you wanted for each role - so regular, traffic, detectives etc could ALL be fulfilled.

In fact - the 2006 Mondeo range on its own had more options suited to police work then what Hyundai as a manufacturer had in total*

*yes a Santa Fe can be used - but the point is - a Mondeo could fulfil the basic role of an i30 - but with higher performance options in the range if needed AND SUITABLE.

Old diesel wrote: »
    I find the possibility of someone thinking - oh we don't have driver training so lets buy Hyundais - an interesting concept.

Especially when in the 2007 and 2011 period - the typical patrol car would have being a Mondeo.

Part of the problem I see isn't so much the fact they went for Hyundai - but the fact they went for a manufacturer only capable of supplying cars suited to ONE basic role.

The thing about Mondeos back in the day - is that you had options to BETTER spec vehicles suited to what you wanted for each role - so regular, traffic, detectives etc could ALL be fulfilled.

In fact - the 2006 Mondeo range on its own had more options suited to police work then what Hyundai as a manufacturer had in total*

*yes a Santa Fe can be used - but the point is - a Mondeo could fulfil the basic role of an i30 - but with higher performance options in the range if needed AND SUITABLE.

Most of the EU manufacturers - Skoda/VAG/Ford/Opel can supply a range of emergency vehicles whereas the Far East (due to logistics ?? ) just seem to send a one-size-fits-all model ( Remember the 'basic' E80 Corolla DE's http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Toyota-Corolla-E80-Sedan.jpg that seemed to be stripped models of the Irish LE )

Rollcall
    I'm back! I am based in the college not the garage, just a car guy and remember driving some awful heaps back in the day including Renault 4s, Triumph Acclaims, Austin Maestros and Montegos. I hated them at the time but now I am an aul lad, I'm getting nostalgic! I took down the flckr account as I wanted to put together a proper archive and eventually a decent GS vehicle website when I had enough stuff gathered, so feel free to pm me if you have any ideas or are interested in the idea of forming a car club for old AGS vehicles. I am a part owner of the Vauxhall Victor in the photo, and group ownership worked well to save and restore this car. What we need is a few more cars to put smiles on our faces!

Be nice to have them up on-line somewhere, hopefully it can be done and you can share the memories and heritage. My earliest memories are the CZA *** Zodiacs :rolleyes: The Victors 2000/3300 were good examples of proper police cars along with the Branch SSI Granada 2.8L's :cool: , and of course the Fiat 132's and Renault 18 Turbo's :eek:

One to buy for the 'collection' ?? http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/renault-four-l-van-ex-guarda-van/8030157

Slightly different topic - road safety and stupid drivers. Accident waiting to happen. Spotted this in the strong sun - either tried to clean nicotine off windscreen, or wiped windscreen with dirty rag :mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 153 ✭✭rollcall

Most of the EU manufacturers - Skoda/VAG/Ford/Opel can supply a range of emergency vehicles whereas the Far East (due to logistics ?? ) just seem to send a one-size-fits-all model ( Remember the 'basic' E80 Corolla DE's http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Toyota-Corolla-E80-Sedan.jpg that seemed to be stripped models of the Irish LE )

Rollcall

Be nice to have them up on-line somewhere, hopefully it can be done and you can share the memories and heritage. My earliest memories are the CZA *** Zodiacs :rolleyes: The Victors 2000/3300 were good examples of proper police cars along with the Branch SSI Granada 2.8L's :cool: , and of course the Fiat 132's and Renault 18 Turbo's :eek:

One to buy for the 'collection' ?? http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/renault-four-l-van-ex-guarda-van/8030157

Problem with buying something like this is that is needs an NCT or DOE and you pay full road tax & normal insurance, and its bound to need some work, so its only financially worth it to have cars that are pre 1980 to get the advantage of classic car status. But the government are even looking at those rules now, so if they change them to make it more expensive it will kill the classic car hobby here completely!

rollcall wrote: »
    Problem with buying something like this is that is needs an NCT or DOE and you pay full road tax & normal insurance, and its bound to need some work, so its only financially worth it to have cars that are pre 1980 to get the advantage of classic car status. But the government are even looking at those rules now, so if they change them to make it more expensive it will kill the classic car hobby here completely!

It be very hard to find a maestro or montego driving thats for sure . them buckets

Very few genuine ex-Garda stuff around , UK or big bucks here

£375 http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C548158

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/chrysler-avenger-gl/7819480

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

You got there before me 😄😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

Hopefully the bouncing type whereby the missile bounces straight back at the person that threw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

the i40 has nicer lights at the back

carzony wrote: »
    the i40 has nicer lights at the back

that's because not normal filament bulbs in the rest.

Look good alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

What output are the i40's ? 115 or 136 ?

I would imagine they opted for the automatic on this occasion. If that were the case then 136bhp

D Trent wrote: »
    I would imagine they opted for the automatic on this occasion. If that were the case then 136bhp

I very much doubt they went for an auto, would seriously limit the amount of people qualified to drive it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

I very much doubt they went for an auto, would seriously limit the amount of people qualified to drive it

You can drive an automatic with a manual licence, but not the other way around.

I think the only reason the Depot would have gone for Auto is simply because it's a slightly higher spec than its manual counterpart. It's that bit quicker.

I mean had the tender gone to Ford or Toyota they could have got 1.9/2.0/2.2 engine.
    However with i40 you can only get the 1.7 litre engine- there isn't a 2.0 on offer.
    So they were forced to work with what they got

You can drive an automatic with a manual licence, but not the other way around.

Correct but you can't drive an automatic in the guards without doing a specific course above the standard car course