Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

Thse ambulances are assembled in quinns in athenry in galway was in there a few weeks ago on the assembly line cool setup. They have the contract for one of the nhs in uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

thekopend wrote: »
    Thse ambulances are assembled in quinns in athenry in galway was in there a few weeks ago on the assembly line cool setup. They have the contract for one of the nhs in uk.

Off to Wales judging by the markings that's what made me look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

I remember a few years ago the crowd near the Coachmans Inn at Cloghran got an Arab contract for military ambulances based on Mercedes G-wagens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

God, those Montegos were some piles of ****e. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,278 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Looking at those ambulances makes me wonder why we've never seen the word 'OTHARCHARR' anywhere on our rigs (aside from the NAS logo of course)

sjb25 wrote: »
    Off to Wales judging by the markings that's what made me look

Ya thats it they told me inside i actually have a short clip of the production line

1 ambulance a day they can produce but this obviously doesnt include the interior fit out which is done by another company.

Wilker in Clara Offaly, I think,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

RE: delly photos.

Those older Mondeo in anyway decent back in the day compared to the mk3's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

These Mondoes even when new looked rundown.. They were very reliable though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭PeteK*

Saw a 161 Audi Q7 today heading towards Ranelagh this evening.
    I'm not too sure, but it may have been an armed marked one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭Terrontress

PeteK* wrote: »

Surely the armed, marked Q7is immediately distinguishable from a private Q7. If not, they need better marking.

PeteK* wrote: »

There are a couple of new Q7's being used in the DMR on a temporary basis by members of the RSU from the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭PeteK*

Surely the armed, marked Q7is immediately distinguishable from a private Q7. If not, they need better marking.

It was marked, but not sure if it was armed markings or not.
    I'd gamble it was from what I could tell for the second I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I don't understand that Belgian Skoda. It looks like the driver won't be able to see out the window, plus you'll damage the window if you lift the bonnet to top up the washer fluid. It also makes the car very conspicuous. Why not put the kit on the roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

foreign wrote: »
    There are a couple of new Q7's being used in the DMR on a temporary basis by members of the RSU from the country.

Saw corks RSU new Audi Q7 this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

I don't understand that Belgian Skoda. It looks like the driver won't be able to see out the window, plus you'll damage the window if you lift the bonnet to top up the washer fluid. It also makes the car very conspicuous. Why not put the kit on the roof?

I though that myself ridiculous looking thing. That should be on the roof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭ratracer

Just watching the Easter parade on the box now, those new BMW motorbikes are really impressive looking machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

ratracer wrote: »
    Just watching the Easter parade on the box now, those new BMW motorbikes are really impressive looking machines.

Look really well very professional

The NYPD smart cars replacing the trikes. Surely those trikes have more space for equipment then the boots of a Smart car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭kub

ratracer wrote: »

Very nice machines alright, now what i wondered was, how did they keep balance while moving at the pace the lads in front of them were walking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

kub wrote: »
    Very nice machines alright, now what i wondered was, how did they keep balance while moving at the pace the lads in front of them were walking?

Its actually quite easy with the right balance and feed of the clutch.

I can't balance for sh1t on a push bike but put me on a motorbike no probs.

Its actually quite easy with the right balance and feed of the clutch.

I can't balance for sh1t on a push bike but put me on a motorbike no probs.

Maybe these lads need your expertise :p

http://img45.xooimage.com/files/c/9/c/gnkc6-1b62fe4.jpg

http://img.xooimage.com/files22/5/b/f/motos_gendarmes_tombe-cae704.jpg

Too much 'vin' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

That Garda 4x4 from the 2001 image, or one very much like it (Nissan Terrano I believe?) is still attached to Swords or perhaps Santry/Ballymun. Very frequently seen round here.

Those transits that pagan posted are attached to the public order unit. They got a few new ones. Hopefully the district vans will come soon!

With the milage expected the vans seem to last a very long time. I seen loads of 03 Transits at protests in town ect.. Many with lots of bodywork damage but still mechanically strong..

Those new transits are great looking machines. I don't think the side glass is a great idea for a po unit? that'll probably be smashed eventually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

carzony wrote: »
    With the milage expected the vans seem to last a very long time. I seen loads of 03 Transits at protests in town ect.. Many with lots of bodywork damage but still mechanically strong..

Those new transits are great looking machines. I don't think the side glass is a great idea for a po unit? that'll probably be smashed eventually...

It's all smash proof glass for want of a better word

Has been since the newish Ducatos came in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

D Trent wrote: »

Car windows are the same on the i40's etc..from what I seen anyway

So no need for the mesh covers anymore?

I'd still want mesh covers in difficult situations. That smash 'proof' glass can only take so much..

rocky911 wrote: »
    Car windows are the same on the i40's etc..from what I seen anyway

the cars are not reinforced.

Look at older focus and mondeos and you see most have an extra film put on inner side of glass as to stop windows smashingg in like window tint but clear.

flazio wrote: »
    So no need for the mesh covers anymore?

Correct. Phased out after the '07 Transits
    Maybe also the minuscule number of "11 low top Transits
    I don't know know anything about the cars though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Correct. Phased out after the '07 Transits
    Maybe also the minuscule number of "11 low top Transits
    I don't know know anything about the cars though

Seen two transits today 152 and 161 in store street today theyve got cameras fitted front and another cam at the rear with strentghten plus reenforced windows and doors.
    Not sure about the massive black window on the side though. Ive never seen such a plain public order van.

carzony wrote: »

Public order unit vans don't do much mileage, they are not on the road 27/7, only for call out's.

Saw a ton of 2004 transits beat up to bits in convoy along with a few cars out the wicklow direction must have been a few raids going down.

This was a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

27/7

I now understand the complaints surrounding the Garda roster.

donvito99 wrote: »
    I now understand the complaints surrounding the Garda roster.

:D:o

Just looking through all the comments about the suitability of vehicles I think that overall there's a lot of stuff on the fleet, either in large or small numbers (H-Historical 'strange' choices)

AUDI - A4 / A6 / Q7

H - Alfa Romeo 156 Traffic / 164 Presidential

BMW - 3/5/7(?) series

Citroen - Berlingo (Peugeot)

FIAT - Punto /Ducato/Marea

Ford - Fiesta/Focus/Mondeo/Ranger/Transit/Connect

Hyundai - i30/40 (NO Santa Fe's - thought they were to be supplied as well ??)

Isuzu - Trooper / D-max

H- Jeep Cherokee

Kia - Sorrento

Land Rover - Discovery / Range Rover

Mitsubishi - Pajero

Nissan - Terrano

Opel - Astra /Vectra /Insignia / Signum (05 IIRC?)

H - Renault 4 and 18 Turbo

H - SAAB Traffic and Taoiseach

Skoda - Octavia / Superb

Subaru - Forester

Toyota - Corolla / Avensis/Land Cruisers

Volvo - S60 / XC70

Can't recall any VW's in use for whatever reason - no fleet discount for AGS from VW ??

Capri wrote: »
    Just looking through all the comments about the suitability of vehicles I think that overall there's a lot of stuff on the fleet, either in large or small numbers (H-Historical 'strange' choices)

AUDI - A4 / A6 / Q7

H - Alfa Romeo 156 Traffic / 164 Presidential

BMW - 3/5/7(?) series

Citroen - Berlingo (Peugeot)

FIAT - Punto /Ducato

Ford - Fiesta/Focus/Mondeo/Ranger/Transit/Connect

Hyundai - i30/40 (NO Santa Fe's - thought they were to be supplied as well ??)

Isuzu - Trooper / D-max

H- Jeep Cherokee

Kia - Sorrento

Land Rover - Discovery / Range Rover

Mitsubishi - Pajero

Nissan - Terrano

Opel - Astra /Vectra /Insignia / Signum (05 IIRC?)

H - Renault 4 and 18 Turbo

H - SAAB Traffic and Taoiseach

Skoda - Octavia / Superb

Subaru - Forester

Toyota - Corolla / Avensis

Volvo - S60 / XC70

Can't recall any VW's in use for whatever reason - no fleet discount for AGS from VW ??
    Add to the Terrano the Almera and Primera

Also Renault Laguna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Yea can add the Peugeot 407 and Camry to your list.

And of that, I've actually never seen a Superb, 3 series or an A4 before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

And of that, I've actually never seen a Superb, 3 series or an A4 before.

Superb I've seen at Harcourt Place. A4 would be Ministerial I'm guessing. And there was a 3 series out in West Dublin traffic at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭BaronVon

donvito99 wrote: »
    Superb I've seen at Harcourt Place. A4 would be Ministerial I'm guessing. And there was a 3 series out in West Dublin traffic at one point.

And the old S Class Mercs for the Ministerial Pool, and Renault Traffic vans

And a Hyundai Sonnata

Octavia, Fiat marea, ulyses, Toyota yaris, avensis, corolla, lots more

Did see an unmarked VW Golf back in my youth. There were also Hyundai Accent's and Toyota Carina E's.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Spotted one of the unmarked Hyundai Santa Fes behind Pearse St station with strobes fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭kub

Those Saabs were not solely on traffic, there were a few normal patrol cars also.
    Not to forget the Bedford vans and the Daf trucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

There's Citroen cars as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DAVE1972

there was 1 or 2 vw jetta diesel unmarked around cork 96 regs , a white one attached to bridewell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

@Capri, did that Landcruiser have diplomatic plates on it?

Not authorised to tell you that :cool: That wouldn't be a diplomatic thing to do :rolleyes: If the damn thing was black it wouldn't stand out so much - most of the LC200's are black in this country. The UAE embassy have a nice black one :rolleyes: