Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

sparrowcar wrote: »
    Lapse of judgement or they thought the bus would slow down?

Both, He thought the bus would have stopped seen that they made the intention to do a U-turn. Bus driver was concentrating on going around the car in his lane. Basically the driver was depending on bus driver seen him when he was looking elsewhere. They were turning to assist the unit trying to stop the polo(second attempt). It’s only metal sure the important part is they are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Both, He thought the bus would have stopped seen that they made the intention to do a U-turn. Bus driver was concentrating on going around the car in his lane. Basically the driver was depending on bus driver seen him when he was looking elsewhere. They were turning to assist the unit trying to stop the polo(second attempt). It’s only metal sure the important part is they are fine.

Yep absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Well to be honest it was poor driving, they didn't indicate and really should have hit the lights, as a bus driver myself it's shocking what goes on our there.

100% great no injuries but it was so avoidable.

Big bus crash last night on Northumberland road, heard the Almera was been chased as was stolen, can't obviously say 100% but it's bad,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Big bus crash last night on Northumberland road, heard the Almera was been chased as was stolen, can't obviously say 100% but it's bad,
    Some wollop to take down a fully grown tree, lucky nobody on the foot path as well. Just shows it only takes a split second to change your life. Everybody needs to be 100% alert all the time.

Capri wrote: »
    Some wollop to take down a fully grown tree, lucky nobody on the foot path as well. Just shows it only takes a split second to change your life. Everybody needs to be 100% alert all the time.

You can be 100% alert but some prick can still ruin your life.

Well to be honest it was poor driving, they didn't indicate and really should have hit the lights, as a bus driver myself it's shocking what goes on our there.

100% great no injuries but it was so avoidable.

The driver wasn’t allowed turn the blue lights on lol wrong end of CBD

That's nuts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Was he not allowed to use the indicators either?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Saw a Land Rover Discovery yesterday, what unit is using these and how many are there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Saw a Land Rover Discovery yesterday, what unit is using these and how many are there?

Water unit. Not sure how many were bought

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Same type BMW 1200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I almost forgot about the rear blue LED placed in the middle of the brake light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

The Paramedic on the right was at work the other day a lovely man and Bike!

The ford had the Garda crest and Garda on the doors, you can see in the pic where they were removed.

Yeah noticed that too...was probably just taken out of service...was that blue livery what came before white with yellow stripe? What was white with a blue stripe for?

aaronc182 wrote: »
    Yeah noticed that too...was probably just taken out of service...was that blue livery what came before white with yellow stripe? What was white with a blue stripe for?

Yes that was previous colour, they fitted the reflective stripes on the sides for when cars were used for road blocks etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

White with blue stripe was traffic

Ah ok the white and blue strip looked fairly smart I think

Yes that was previous colour, they fitted the reflective stripes on the sides for when cars were used for road blocks etc....

When did the current white come in early 90s? Any pics I’ve seen of the blue ones they look fairly abused...they look like there kept fairly immaculate now

1995 iirc

I saw a red 2007 Mondeo yesterday coming off the M50 at Tallaght. For 13 years old, I'm sure there is a fight to get that car over a 201 i40!

Incidentally, for the old members. On the 1989 Ford Escort there is a search light. Could you not do with something like that now?

There's a search light in the glove box that usually doesn't work.

I remember them going White when they got the first generation Mondeo.

foreign wrote: »
    I remember them going White when they got the first generation Mondeo.

Ah here, I must be old as f**k!!!

I remember on Garda Patrol they had what was a Ford Cortina or an Opel Record that was white with a blue stripe. What was that, lates 70s, early 80s?

Ah here, I must be old as f**k!!!

I remember on Garda Patrol they had what was a Ford Cortina or an Opel Record that was white with a blue stripe. What was that, lates 70s, early 80s?

Im not that old. I remember a navy Carina or Corolla. Those Mondeo's had the flat light bars. Kevin St got a Carina E with the old style two lights light bar.

There's a search light in the glove box that usually doesn't work.

That’s because you can make cool shadow animals on the walls when you’re bored, or cruising down by a beach trying to find fish in the water lol

That’s because you can make cool shadow animals on the walls when you’re bored, or cruising down by a beach trying to find fish in the waterlol

More like cruising down by a beach trying to find young ones riding in the back of a polo!!! :D:D

Haha that’s the type street trading that is legal somewhere so that means it is that’s ok, we seen nothing lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Any updates on the Skoda tender ? Surely its not just going to be Tuscons from now on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Any updates on the Skoda tender ? Surely its not just going to be Tuscons from now on ?

There seems to be loads of unmarked Tucsons about. They're very discreet in fairness

carzony wrote: »
    There seems to be loads of unmarked Tucsons about. They're very discreet in fairness

Seem to be fairly high spec too with the rear tipped exhaust.

1.6 litre diesels. Not much difference in performance to the i40.

They blend in very well though, but it won’t be long before everyone know them.

I haven’t heard anything regarding Skodas.

1.6 litre diesels. Not much difference in performance to the i40.

They blend in very well though, but it won’t be long before everyone know them.

I haven’t heard anything regarding Skodas.

Thought the Tucson's were higher hp was it not 180 or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Limited purchase like the i30

New unmarked tuscon are easy spot is the problem

POGAN wrote: »
    Limited purchase like the i30

New unmarked tuscon are easy spot is the problem

Are they?
    Every second suv on the road is a Tuscon. Grill/rear lights aren't massively noticable. Windscreen light is all but invisible when it's off.

Thought the Tucson's were higher hp was it not 180 or so

I they maybe the version that RPU have, they may have the turbo unit addition with 180hp.
    The 192 we have is a 1.6 litre with 115hp.

Its always about the bottom line. Why buy 2 high spec when you can get 3 bog standard for the same money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Stephen Strange

Are they?
    Every second suv on the road is a Tuscon. Grill/rear lights aren't massively noticable. Windscreen light is all but invisible when it's off.

Even inside is hard to notice. Light controls in the sunglasses holder and no visible Tetra.

I they maybe the version that RPU have, they may have the turbo unit addition with 180hp.

Traffic are getting 2l Verison 180 BHP

Last lot 192/201 Hyundai i40 are 1.6 with ad blue compare to 1.7 in the 181 different kinda drive

Are they?

See the grill light are easy spot looks smart maybe it’s me I can spot the light and tertra on the roof

https://www.flickr.com/photos/be216cd1/50401740992/

See the grill light are easy spot looks smart maybe it’s me I can spot the light and tertra on the roof

https://www.flickr.com/photos/be216cd1/50401740992/

Lights are so obvious it hurts....

Non facelift they are grand but not these! Have to say though I am sold on them as looks and drive

Lot these need to come a lot of 131 / 141 / 151 cars coming up on mileage soon

I40, i30s, mondeo saloon & estates and insignias too

What’s the limit for mileage 300k? What’s the highest mileage yous have seen on one? I’d imagine traffic cars would get serious mileage

Toyota and ford were 500k.
    That's why still have 2005/6/7 etc....

Non facelift they are grand but not these! Have to say though I am sold on them as looks and drive

Lot these need to come a lot of 131 / 141 / 151 cars coming up on mileage soon

I40, i30s, mondeo saloon & estates and insignias too

What's handling like though with height and body roll.

Toyota and ford were 500k.
    That's why still have 2005/6/7 etc....

Cars 300k
    Jeeps and vans 500k

Cars 300k
    Jeeps and vans 500k

The funny thing is the van is in no way built for that, to be honest for the work they a do it should really be a lot less.

Will the tucson and Kona be classed as the 500k

The funny thing is the van is in no way built for that, to be honest for the work they a do it should really be a lot less.

Why?