Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunnes Get Their Comeuppance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

ANYONE with any measure of fair play would see that Dunnes Stores are being wronged by anal, revenue-hungry tax officials.

All of you who are against Dunnes out of pure schadenfreude (I generally dislike DS but I believe in fair play and common sense), how many of you have seen people putting extra shopping into the fruit and veg bags and heading off about their business downtown? would you ever get up that garden, ye bunch of legalese children.. :rolleyes:

DS are referring this higher and, on a point of natural justice, I can't see a higher judge not at least commenting on the lack of common sense being applied here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Ghandee wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dunnes-forced-to-pay-euro36m-plasticbag-tax-bill-2962901.html

it's about time that they were shown that nobody is above the law.
    will also be interesting to see will we see the return of the 22c bags to Dunnes' tills now that they know they can't avoid paying tax on them.

In fairness, I didnt think the wee plastic bags for broccolli/meat whatever were subject to the bag levy either :confused:

Not a bad idea that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Jesus are people never happy?

It's a tax. Dunnes didn't pay it and got smacked down by Revenue. That's Revenue's job!

Would AH be so sympathetic if a property developer got done for not paying income tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

hardCopy wrote: »
    Jesus are people never happy?

It's a tax. Dunnes didn't pay it and got smacked down by Revenue. That's Revenue's job!

Would AH be so sympathetic if a property developer got done for not paying income tax?

Hell no, they made me take out a huge mortgage after all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

snubbleste wrote: »
    What's the difference between frozen carrots in a plastic bag and putting fresh carrots in a plastic bag?
    25-30 °C ?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

As this has been going on for a few years, the odds are that the 36 million euro fine will probably just go back into the Revenue as wages!
    my local greengrocer says he will close down / go bankrupt if he has to pay for all the little flimsy plastic bags people have put their carrors etc in over the years.
    And if he sold ready sealed bags of carrots, is there still a tax on them ? I think not .
    All that tax is just a money transfer from the struggling, unpensioned private sector to the government ...and we all know how it squanders it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

gigino wrote: »
    my local greengrocer says he will close down / go bankrupt if he has to pay for all the little flimsy plastic bags people have put their carrors etc in over the years.
    And if he sold ready sealed bags of carrots, is there still a tax on them ? I think not .
    All that tax is just a money transfer from the struggling private sector to the government ...and we all know how it squanders it.

Jaysus Jimmy gigino, ye just can't stop, can ye.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Nodin wrote: »
    Jaysus Jimmy gigino, ye just can't stop, can ye.....

Fecking useless private sector accountants and tax advisors.

Anyway, the way I see it, Dunnes took a test case as often happens with Revenue, they lost, they can appeal. The odds are they'd lose so it should be provided for in the accounts.

That doesn't mean shop keepers and the likes of Tesco shouldn't have been aware of the existing law, if anything its a lesser excuse as Dunnes highlighted a problem and made the industry more aware of the law. Dunnes should have provided for this money in its accounts, it wouldn't be prudent otherwise and poor accountancy advice.

As for the argument that Dunnes workers will suffer from this, :D, yeah Dunnes have a great reputation for treating employees well. Yet another excuse to cut wages and keep profits the same. Shareholders win, oh wait, Dunnes aren't a plc, its a private company.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Fecking useless private sector accountants and tax advisors.

Anyway, the way I see it, Dunnes took a test case as often happens with Revenue, they lost, they can appeal. The odds are they'd lose so it should be provided for in the accounts.

That doesn't mean shop keepers and the likes of Tesco shouldn't have been aware of the existing law, if anything its a lesser excuse as Dunnes highlighted a problem and made the industry more aware of the law. Dunnes should have provided for this money in its accounts, it wouldn't be prudent otherwise and poor accountancy advice.

As for the argument that Dunnes workers will suffer from this, :D, yeah Dunnes have a great reputation for treating employees well. Yet another excuse to cut wages and keep profits the same. Shareholders win, oh wait, Dunnes aren't a plc, its a private company.

Note: a private company also has 'shareholders'.

I hear there's people wearing these handled plastic bags as underwear, others are wearing them as sick bibs / pelican bibs for babies and alcos...... Dunnes know this and are using it as a competitive edge in providing the handled ones versus the flimsy ones..

Revenue can see that cynical ploy for the bag of sh1t it really is.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Note: a private company also has 'shareholders'.

Indeed. Dunnes is still family owned though?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.