Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

would you like recommendations for books at library?

Options
  • 14-12-2011 7:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

This is my first post in this forum and I wanted to ask you all your opinion on this.
    I'm a computer science student and I'm currently writing a paper on building a recommendation system for a library.
    The idea is that you would have a profile linked to your library account with simple details including your age-group and what genres you are interested in.(No one can view this information, it is not like a facebook or twitter page)
    When you return a book you are asked to rate them 1-5.
    Recommendations for books you may be interested in would be made by comparing the scores previous readers have given along with how similar their interests are, if they are in the same age group etc.

I love to read, but often I don't know what to read next, so I came up with this idea.
    I just wanted to get peoples opinions on whether this would interest them? Would you use it? Or what features would you like to see in a system similar to this?

Thanks everyone!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

I'm sure it would interest some people but personally- no. I've been doing all this through Goodreads.com for years so I wouldn't find it necessary to do it through my library too.

It's a good idea though!

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Grievous

The answer to the original post is this: www.goodreads.com

This describes everything mentioned in the first post.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭evilmonkee

Thanks for your input.