Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Business openings and closures around you?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭ted1

SHOE ZONE in the Irish life mall
    And pride and joy euro shop in donaghmede

There north side ;) wrong forum

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Is that speciality Coffee shop still open down near Argos? (as in they sell equipment and beans etc.) That also looked like a very big gamble.

I've been in a couple of times and each time there's been at least one other in there so I hope it stays open.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I've been in a couple of times and each time there's been at least one other in there so I hope it stays open.

Ah yeah, but staff don't count ;)

I hope they stay open also, it just seems a big gamble in these hard-pressed times. Monkstown village would have been a more natural home or Dalkey perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭flowerpower12

Reads have opened up in the old Celtic Bookmakers premisses.

This is great news, much needed as Eason's is so expensive for stationary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

crushproof wrote: »
    Alas, everytime I go by LA Strada I'm hoping they've reopened. Heard they might open in the summer again... great family restaurant.

Greasy tables and so-so food. One visit was enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Xtravision in Blackrock has closed, although the writing was on the wall for a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Dunno how long it's been open but popped into Michi Suchi at the Peoples Park end of DL last Saturday and had an absolute feast of suchi. Excellent grub and it's good to see something opening up at that end that isn't a charity shop!

Also noticed that some cash for clothes place has opened up directly opposite St. Vincents de Paul, which I am kind of disgusted at. Hopefully people will keep dropping clothes into the V de P and getting some good kudos rather than with the other crowd for a few token euro...

• Registered Users Posts: 25 gfarnan

Dahlis in blackrock has closed aswell, Blackrock has been devastated in the last 12 months

• Registered Users Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Diep has opened in Templeogue Village where Shirley's Kitchen used to be

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

gfarnan wrote: »
    Dahlis in blackrock has closed aswell, Blackrock has been devastated in the last 12 months
    Just read the same, Dali's has closed after 15 years in business. Unlike places like Ranelagh, the replacement rate for closed businesses in Blackrock village seems very low right now. Not sure if it's an issue with rental rates, or lack of customers, particularly nights and weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Dubl07 wrote: »
    Greasy tables and so-so food. One visit was enough for me.

Jeez, kick a man when he's down why don't ye.

Fe&& sake, now we have a string of empty shops and throw away remarks that come so easy from people. You try running a business.

And, imo this was an excellent little family run restaurant.

OK it had't the glitz and polish of a yawn yawn chain. Restaurants need support not unfair comments hurtled at them from key boards. If you had a complaint I hope you gave it directly to the management as opposed to the public bashing on a forum hiding behind the keyboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

This is great news, much needed as Eason's is so expensive for stationary.

I was in Reads yesterday and found the staff very helpful...a good addition to Dun Laoghaire.

Davej

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

New barbers opening in Dundrum near the post office. It's possibly already opened as this was last week and the place looked good to go. I think it might be one of those Turkish barbers like you might find in Rathmines, althouh that may just be a terrible racial stereotypical assumption on my part!

Great addition to Dundrum - it's nice to see a bit more variety after so many places having closed down. Come to think of it, isn't there already a well-established barbers up by the Garda station? Things must be looking up if this new place is willing to go in competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

Two new places will be coming to Dalkey. The Grafton Barber will be opening up across the road from The Corner Note Cafe. The former Castle Chinese Restaurant is going to become a new place called "Tropica". I don't know if it's going to be a restaurant, newsagent or specialist shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Chinasea wrote: »
    Jeez, kick a man when he's down why don't ye.

Fe&& sake, now we have a string of empty shops and throw away remarks that come so easy from people. You try running a business.

And, imo this was an excellent little family run restaurant.

OK it had't the glitz and polish of a yawn yawn chain. Restaurants need support not unfair comments hurtled at them from key boards. If you had a complaint I hope you gave it directly to the management as opposed to the public bashing on a forum hiding behind the keyboard.

La Strada was shiite....otherwise it would still be open. I went there a fair few times, there was always some sort of problem which was mentioned to the staff....never rectified.

Don't think so, the owner Mo could not have been more helpful and dedicated. To go on a public forum and call someone's livelihood 'sh%%e is just bloody mean.

This little restaurant was there for years and had very loyal patronage that were sorry to see him go.

Restaurants need constructive feedback given directly to them - not cowardly over a public forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

There's a new barbers in Blackrock - opposite the (original) library on the road in from Seapoint. The strange thing is that he opened right next door to the other barbers. There must have been some rent reduction to make that an attractive proposition. I would have thought that one of the vacant slots elsewhere in Blackrock might have been better. Mind you, there's a good chance of getting a quick parking slot in that part than elsewhere in Blackrock so maybe he's relying on the drive-by traffic that the main street can't get.

z

Don't think so, the owner Mo could not have been more helpful and dedicated. To go on a public forum and call someone's livelihood 'sh%%e is just bloody mean.

This little restaurant was there for years and had very loyal patronage that were sorry to see him go.

Restaurants need constructive feedback given directly to them - not cowardly over a public forum.

Oh yeah, I fogot that I am lying to strangers on the internet. :rolleyes:

It was shiite. I had many problems there which I would not expect while paying for food to be cooked for me by professionals. Especially when their livelyhood depends on it.

Cold food, burnt food, dirty plates and utensils, greasy tables. I even slipped on food that had not beed cleaned up off the floor, while returning from the bathroom.....(obviously this was my fault:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:) Might I add, a lesser person would have sued. BTW, ALL of the above happened over multiple nights there which was brought to the attention of the staff.

Now, Im sure many people had a great time there. Me, unfortunately I never had a good time there. I must be the exception. I must be the only person to have had a bad time there. Oh that's right....he's closed, I wonder why.

His loyal patrionage should have went more.

Don't bother replying, I have derailed the thread enough. You wont change my mind.

Might I add, a lesser person would sue:eek: - Hard Pressed to find I'd imagine - compo culture rules

Now, Im sure many people had a great time there. Good a slight compromise

His loyal patrionage should have went more.

Don't bother replying, Hehe.

You wont change my mind.

Too late for this, unfortunately for the poor man he has lost his livelihood :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Too late for this, unfortunately for the poor man he has lost his livelihood :mad:

People aren't guaranteed a livelihood when in the service industry. Obviously there were serious service issues given that the place is now closed.

Tesco Express is now open in Ranelagh.

Door 51 has been replaced by Noodlemee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

La Strada was shiite....otherwise it would still be open.
    Obviously there were serious service issues given that the place is now closed.

I never went to the place so can't really comment but do you two think that only bad places close or that is a places closes it therefore had serious service issues?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

reprazant wrote: »
    I never went to the place so can't really comment but do you two think that only bad places close or that is a places closes it therefore had serious service issues?

Far from it - Alexis had brilliant service any time I visited and they've also closed. You must admit however that service is an important aspect of any business and that for a restaurant the food should be tasty and the staff up to scratch.

Perhaps La Strada were having an off night when I visited. That's why I didn't review them on menupages or tripadvisor. My observations were accurate and yes, I did bring them up with the waiter at the time. I was still able to draw a :-( on the table with my finger at the end of the evening. I voted with my feet and dined elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭liffeylite

People aren't guaranteed a livelihood when in the service industry. Obviously there were serious service issues given that the place is now closed.

Tesco Express is now open in Ranelagh.

Door 51 has been replaced by Noodlemee

where is the Tesco express in ranelagh? I thought it was an Aldi that was opening?

Indeed, and Im not delighted that he has closed. My point is, It was always sub par for me. Hopefully he gets another crack at it but pays attention to detail.

On another note, Alexis has also closed recently, I ate there too and never had a problem with it. People may have though. It just shows no one is safe from closure for various reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

liffeylite wrote: »

where is the Tesco express in ranelagh? I thought it was an Aldi that was opening?

Next door to Mutt Ugly.

Lids will be opening where Jason's used to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭The_Wrecker

Signs of life at the former Gastro pub/port view, hoarding going up for a refit.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Signs of life at the former Gastro pub/port view, hoarding going up for a refit.

Nandos are opening in there

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

A new premises opening in the old Easons shop in DL - Blue Ginger, assuming it's a cafe/restaurant?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

There was a printed a4 sheet on the door, that ( my eyesight ) said Malay Fusion. I'm guessing it's a Mao-style place so.

Quite a big building if it's just going to that, unless they only took the bottom floor and another business is going in upstairs?

A new premises opening in the old Easons shop in DL - Blue Ginger, assuming it's a cafe/restaurant?

Thank feck.....I was told it was going to be an Eddie Rockets! :( Glad they were wrong.