Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car key cutting

• 16-12-2011 3:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭

Looking to get a spare key for my car cut and programmed. Was quoted €250 from the main dealer, which seems excessive for something that will in all likelihood sit in a drawer until I sell the car.

Is there a cheaper alternative out there?
    Cheers!
    R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Phelans key service in John street beside book a room is the best stocked around

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭ratedR

wellboytoo wrote: »
    Phelans key service in John street beside book a room is the best stocked around

You'll possibly get the key cut there alright, depending on make and model of the car, but they won't be able to code it for you. Only the main dealer or specialists can do that.

Sometimes the key itself is really expensive even for the main dealer to order in from their supplier, in this case I'd bet on that, but sometimes the bulk of the expense is labour. If it's the latter, make a couple of calls to dealers in neighbouring counties to see if you can get it done a bit cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

i remember getting car key cut and coded in clonmel few years ago in a place in clonmel just up from the garda station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Cheers lads, all the suggestions are appreciated!
    Do you remember the price by any chance ex_infantry man?

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭DaveJac

what type of car is it? good lock smiths can do most modern car keys

Hi DaveJac,

It's a Primera, gettting it cut isn't the issue. Programming the transponder is the trick.
    I've seen a few on eBay that are user programmable, but none for the Primera.

Cheers.

Roen wrote: »
    Hi DaveJac,

It's a Primera, gettting it cut isn't the issue. Programming the transponder is the trick.
    I've seen a few on eBay that are user programmable, but none for the Primera.

Cheers.

does seem very dear alight we charge €50 to programme keys work in a main opel dealer all in new key and programmed 120-150 depending on type of key and model id say €100 from a lock smiths, M&D lock smiths in clonmel are good, id ring around a few nissan garages too id say the price may vary

Sound out Dave,

M&D look good! I'm often up the mountains so Clonmel isn't too far a hop. Will give em a bell tomorrow.
    Cheers once more.
    Ronan.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Waterford26

Did ye ever use the google lads? .. almost every car make can be programed for free ..check this before u spend your money http://www.programyourkeys.com/Nissan_Primera_Key_Remote_Control_Fob_Transponder_Programming.html

Roen wrote: »
    Cheers lads, all the suggestions are appreciated!
    Do you remember the price by any chance ex_infantry man?
    twas bout 40 or 50 quid at the time???yeah twas MD locksmiths is the name of the place

Did ye ever use the google lads? .. almost every car make can be programed for free ..check this before u spend your money http://www.programyourkeys.com/Nissan_Primera_Key_Remote_Control_Fob_Transponder_Programming.html

thats for programming the remote for opening the doors, not for programming the chip to start the car

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Waterford26

DaveJac wrote: »
    thats for programming the remote for opening the doors, not for programming the chip to start the car

u're right.. sorry.. forgot on immo ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

My brother lost his only key to his laguna and it was the same craic €250 from Renault for a new one and a week to get it from paris. So Renault and Nissan are obviously singing from the same hym sheet. at least you have the option of getting one cut, the renault has a card so ya'd have to go hunting for a second hand one and see if there's anyone to program it.

Thanks for all the replies lads!
    They are all greatly appreciated.

ya can,t beat boards for finding out what ya need to know!! there,s always someone out there that,ll give ya help, also ya should post this in the motors forum ya will get mechanics and car enthusiasts who,ll be happy to help