Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault in Fr. Burke Park

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I think that all uniformed patrolling does is move the problem elsewhere. As New York proved the secret is to catch offenders rather than deterring them. Lot of criminals were caught because, what they thought was a helpless person, turned out to be a police officer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭elvis99

Dusting for prints? you serious?

First of all you need a comparable sample which was lawfully obtained. Patrols are the answer, any young shíts down there can be moved on at the very least

elvis99 wrote: »
    Dusting for prints? you serious?

First of all you need a comparable sample which was lawfully obtained. Patrols are the answer, any young shíts down there can be moved on at the very least

Yep moved on or they see the Guards, move on & then come back. Totally pointless & impractical because whilst the Guards are patrolling there crime is occurring somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭elvis99

Discodog wrote: »
    Yep moved on or they see the Guards, move on & then come back. Totally pointless & impractical because whilst the Guards are patrolling there crime is occurring somewhere else.

Or they could patrol it regularly and clamp down on anti social behaviour within the park area. Are there bye laws on drinking in the city can anyone tell me?

If you tolerate smaller crimes within the area it leads to other more serious crime and in this case assault, ever heard of the "Broken window theory"? the theory encouraged residents to take ownership of these public areas, e.g upkeep and zero tolerance to anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Have the Guards collected the broken bottles & tested them for prints ?

Or even better send a plain clothes officer to walk through there late at night with a tempting smartphone in his hand.

Whatever about dusting for prints I don't see anything wrong with sending some smallish built gardai wandering drunkenly thru there whilst yapping on an iPhone........
    Draw them out!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

elvis99 wrote: »
    Patrols are the answer, any young shíts down there can be moved on at the very least
    Preferably with a baton across the ear

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

any one else in town on sat night think there was a serious lack of gardai around on sat night? with the amount of big groups doing the 12 pubs of christmas not really surprised there was some fighting. my mate got punched and knocked to the ground by two fellas on shop street who then legged it before anyone realised what happened..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

there are not enough guards and anyway guards can do very little. otherwise the thugs would cry police brutality and we do not want to live in a police state. the laws are to protect the thugs.

antoobrien wrote: »
    Preferably with a baton across the ear

Spare the rod, spoil the scumbag.
    even if attacked most guards are reluctant to use their baton. it usually means the end of their career when the thug sues for police brutality.

There are two ways to Police - proactive & reactive. We do the latter. New York was transformed because the Police went proactive. For example parking a truck load of goodies & leaving the doors open. Or getting a woman officer to dress as an old lady. The end result was that loads of villains were caught & the rest were too scared to try anything in case in was a trap.

Treating an assault as low priority simply encourages the thugs. Next time they might inflict serious damage.

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭eyesquirm

Fuinseog wrote: »
    Spare the rod, spoil the scumbag.
    even if attacked most guards are reluctant to use their baton. it usually means the end of their career when the thug sues for police brutality.

If you beat the scummy c***s to death, how could they sue? :):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I'm genuinely wondering why a Garda could not head down there some Sat night and draw these lads out???? Like a sting sort of thing??

Would there be something legally wrong with this or what's the story? Specially if it is a problem area!!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭dan hibiki

but how many times do we see an article in the galway papers about gardai being assaulted? im not afraid of galway cops, so these little ****tards sure as hell arent. if i was a cop there would be no way i would go there at night! patroling the area is, as already mentioned, pointless...at best we get a twenty minute respite in the area, at worst they move to a different one. im sorry to have to say this but its the people who have to be proactive. its too easy to report a guard for getting physical and the courts and tabloids will never support guards. i know this will sound like macho-bravado-bull****, but if i spotted someone getting a hammering from ***** like that i would jump right in. i remember another thread a while back where some french guy helped a guy that was attacked in eyre sq. we need to look out for each other when we can. of course this dosent help the person walking on their own. the only logical answer that i can come up with for these spots at night time is illumination. lights ,are to scumcocks, what garlic is to vampires. im sorry folks, i didnt mean to rant on, i just loathe the notion of these ****-spas ruining my city. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gaillimhabu

Everyone that replied to this thread could join up and head down there some evening to draw them out as a sting and then give them the bating of their lives. Or is that too forward.
    Time to stand up to scumbags if the guards won't do anything about it. Be it from lack of resources or interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Please stop suggesting beating anyone up would be a good idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Everyone that replied to this thread could join up and head down there some evening to draw them out as a sting and then give them the bating of their lives. Or is that too forward.
    Time to stand up to scumbags if the guards won't do anything about it. Be it from lack of resources or interest.

Ya cool say Friday evening...meet ye down the spanish arch for a bottle first

:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

There are two ways to Police - proactive & reactive. We do the latter. New York was transformed because the Police went proactive....

Policing was only one factor. A decline in the proportion of teens in the population helped too. As Wikipedia says (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crime_in_New_York_City):
    The city's dramatic drop in crime has been attributed by criminologists to these policing tactics, the end of the crack epidemic and demographic changes.

- it's got more authorative references at the bottom of the article, look them up if you want.

Whilst I don't disagree that policing is needed, the guards also need to priortise their resources, and I suspect that a charge based on entrapment might not stick here.

JustMary wrote: »
    Whilst I don't disagree that policing is needed, the guards also need to priortise their resources, and I suspect that a charge based on entrapment might not stick here.

What takes priority over an assault - checking tax discs ?

Or do we want Galway to have no go areas.

Jesus lads what do ye expect?

I was reading last Fridays Tribune earlier, I swear from a few pages you had...

1. A 20yr old who glassed another lad outside Coyotes, brought E2k to court, was given 4 mths to bring E2k more and will receive a suspended sentence(judges words)

2. A scumbag who bashed a fella in the eye(with some object) for no reason blinding the man, was thrown out as the Guards never held a fair ''I.D Parade''

3. A man who put his ex-wife in fear of his life(loads of previous) 11 mth suspended sentence.

4. Man who killed others with dangerous driving, suspended sentence

5. Man who beat up an ex-friend, 1 year suspended sentence

Whats the point in arresting them while the justice system is in this state.
    Even the odd one who receives a sentence is going to get out after 4/5 months to free up space for another scumbag getting a light sentence.

The Minister came out around 4 months ago at a Prison Guards AGM and stated the Prisons are at their highest capacity since the formation of the state.

There just isn't enough room for them all, and they aren't interested in safe guarding others by building more and cutting the extortionate costs(think I heard before its E2k p/w :confused:) it currently takes to lock up individuals

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Fuinseog wrote: »

Well there's no need to use a baton when you can get away with stuff like this is there

Sur the Gardaí are never the thugs though :rolleyes:

Jesus lads what do ye expect?

I was reading last Fridays Tribune earlier, I swear from a few pages you had...

1. A 20yr old who glassed another lad outside Coyotes, brought E2k to court, was given 4 mths to bring E2k more and will receive a suspended sentence(judges words)

2. A scumbag who bashed a fella in the eye(with some object) for no reason blinding the man, was thrown out as the Guards never held a fair ''I.D Parade''

3. A man who put his ex-wife in fear of his life(loads of previous) 11 mth suspended sentence.

4. Man who killed others with dangerous driving, suspended sentence

5. Man who beat up an ex-friend, 1 year suspended sentence

Whats the point in arresting them while the justice system is in this state.
    Even the odd one who receives a sentence is going to get out after 4/5 months to free up space for another scumbag getting a light sentence.

The Minister came out around 4 months ago at a Prison Guards AGM and stated the Prisons are at their highest capacity since the formation of the state.

There just isn't enough room for them all, and they aren't interested in safe guarding others by building more and cutting the extortionate costs(think I heard before its E2k p/w :confused:) it currently takes to lock up individuals

there was a story in the indo today about a guard who got a prisoner in a rugby hold and now his job is at stake.
    what you need is a guard like Lugs Branigan.

Well there's no need to use a baton when you can get away with stuff like this is there

Sur the Gardaí are never the thugs though :rolleyes:

that guard pushed him like a girl.
    i am sure the constable gave him him a warning first. if that were any other country the cop would have used his baton or pepper spray.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Drug dealing.
    Sex offences.
    Killings (murder, manslaughter, etc). Also "voluntary" deaths involving the river.
    Major property crime (eg bank robberies - and prevention of them, ie cash-deposit escorts).

That's just off the top of my head.

As with most things in life, it's a balancing act. If I call Mill St 'cos someone's collapsed in the street and it just doesn't look right, I expect them to turn up - and they do. OTOH, I don't call 'em every time I see one of ye in a drunken heap. And I think assault is a higher priority than suicidal-man-collapsed-in-despair (yes, I've called 'em for that), in terms of it's longer term consequences. Contradictory expectations on my part - you bet.