Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Life on the dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Paddy Power is the beacon among the **** with regards to Irish companies. There's a complete dependence on multinationals to keep everything afloat.

hate to see gambling getting possitive covereage, and enda kenny on the news promoting it, I know we need jobs but I just think the gambling industry is disgusting. thought the same when I saw ken dogherty doing paddy power advertisements years ago. gambling is as bad as a drug hadit to some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Not on the actual dole but on Disability which I guess you could say is the same thing. Sick to death of having nothing left after groceries, rent, loan repayments and goddamned monthly bank charges (**** you, BOI).
    Currently about to attempt to find some CE schemes to help with the funding. Good thing I still have a small amount of savings. :/
    I'm trying to budget effectively but even being cheap with the Christmas presents (buying early this year to avoid the price hikes in mid-Dec) still leaves me with less than a tenner each week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

hate to see gambling getting possitive covereage, and enda kenny on the news promoting it, I know we need jobs but I just think the gambling industry is disgusting. thought the same when I saw ken dogherty doing paddy power advertisements years ago. gambling is as bad as a drug hadit to some people.

My cousin was near suicidal after losing 10 grand in online gambling. My aunt was driven to distraction and even went so far as to hide his laptop and cut off their Internet. But of course he could use the gambling app on his phone. He got some help when bailiffs started turning up at the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

People can get addicted to anything FFS, just look at the obesity problem. That's not Paddy Power's fault, it's the fault of the person who has the problem. Paddy Power is thriving and creating jobs, it's definitely something to be admired.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

token101 wrote: »
    People can get addicted to anything FFS, just look at the obesity problem. That's not Paddy Power's fault, it's the fault of the person who has the problem. Paddy Power is thriving and creating jobs, it's definitely something to be admired.

Yes you said it, Paddy Power is thriving. Their customers sure arent. Nothing admirable about encouraging people to lose money. And go into any betting shop and you will find the very people who don't have money to waste.

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Yes you said it, Paddy Power is thriving. Their customers sure arent. Nothing admirable about encouraging people to lose money. And go into any betting shop and you will find the very people who don't have money to waste.

That's the customer's fault though. You having an addiction is ultimately your problem, no one elses. You spend money gambling and usually get nothing back, like a lot of other hobbies. It's your fault if you overdo it, not Paddy Power's. Passing off the responsibility on them is just passing the buck really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Those complaining about PP and gambling, can I ask you do you drink?

If so, do you think it should be banned as some people can't take it without going to excess?

Or what about smoking? Sure it is guaranteed to do you damage. But its your own free choice to engage in it.

Just because some people get into a terrible mess with gambling doesn't mean I shouldn't be allowed to have the odd punt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Just quit my job the otherday and since my life has drastically improved. Went out and bought the new fifa and played it till about 8am. Woke up today 6ish then hit the dentist.1 after i treated myself to a curry for dinner, later again i had a a hankering for some hot chocolate, couldn't find any so went for pints. Gonna look to do some soul searching southern hemisphere to get the Sun after the crap summer we had and do some depressing. Haven't got dole yet but I can't believe I've been a shmuk all these years when I've could have got paid to do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sirsok

What I hate is the dole being abused by people who simply dont want to work, I appreciate the fact that some people are genuinely trying to find something weather it be work or courses......but the vast majority of young lads I know in my area that are entitled to it, couldnt be fcuked to apply for anything. That pisses me off! People are caught in a rut that they say they cant get out of, but the reality is they dont want to get out of it. The amount of messages I pass onto them regarding my workplace looking for employess and telling them to send in their cv, out of ten, not one of them applied.....yet I had to listen to them moan every weekend about sitting around doing nothing for the week and how I was lucky to have a job.

you wouldnt say that if someone close to you had a serious gambling problem, iv seen someone bet their house on a poker game, he lost it."its his fault bla bla bla" we are not all perfect like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

you wouldnt say that if someone close to you had a serious gambling problem, iv seen someone bet their house on a poker game, he lost it."its his fault bla bla bla" we are not all perfect like you.

Jesus Christ... Really? 'oh honey, hey kids, i bet the house in a game of poker... HEY DONT JUDGE ME, IM NOT PERFECT'.

cool story bro..

keelanj69 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ... Really? 'oh honey, hey kids, i bet the house in a game of poker... HEY DONT JUDGE ME, IM NOT PERFECT'.

cool story bro..

no honey or kids, he had bet them away years b4 lol joke, he did bet his house though. if you dont believe that can happen you probably dont know anyone with a chronic gambling problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

No i believe full well it can happen. Come from a gambling family and it is no one elses fault. At least i would say. Obviously personnal evidence isnt the truth or anything but there it is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I have been working in a **** job, on shift work, with **** pay. It has done psychological damage I am sure. I have been doing this for 4 years. Someone else hire me? Anyone lol.

My friend has been on the dole the whole time. Gets over half of what I make working each month for doing **** all, works under the radar a bit to make up and does whatever the **** he wants.

Having just read the above myself. The **** am I still working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

That's the customer's fault though. You having an addiction is ultimately your problem, no one elses. You spend money gambling and usually get nothing back, like a lot of other hobbies. It's your fault if you overdo it, not Paddy Power's. Passing off the responsibility on them is just passing the buck really.

Sounds like a heroin dealer justifying his behaviour. "Sure I'm only providing a service, he wants the gear like. He'll only get it from somewhere else..."

• Registered Users Posts: 4 joneyre

The sense of entitlement some dolers have is sickening. You are entitled to nothing, the public sector is a support mechanism to the private sector, the public sector is an employee of the private sector. Your welfare payments are to help you get a job, not to sit on your ass and moan.

€188 a week? Sickening! Go to the UK and see what you get..about £65 (for over 25's) a week last time I checked.

Un-employed should be given food & travel stamps instead of this amount of cash. You should not be allowed to drink alcohol and socialise when on welfare. If you can't contribute you should be pushed out to sea after 12 months unless you have a good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

joneyre wrote: »
    The sense of entitlement some dolers have is sickening. You are entitled to nothing, the public sector is a support mechanism to the private sector, the public sector is an employee of the private sector. Your welfare payments are to help you get a job, not to sit on your ass and moan.

€188 a week? Sickening! Go to the UK and see what you get..about £65 (for over 25's) a week last time I checked.

Un-employed should be given food & travel stamps instead of this amount of cash. You should not be allowed to drink alcohol and socialise when on welfare. If you can't contribute you should be pushed out to sea after 12 months unless you have a good reason.

If you ever find yourself on the dole, there's a plate of humble pie waiting for you.

Why do you assume I haven't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭edellc

the uk also give you a social house and the cost of living is a lot less than the robbing feckers here, I wish people would stop liking us to England as we are nothing like them, in every way and the includes welfare so stop the comparisons its like comparing chalk and cheese

edellc wrote: »
    the uk also give you a social house and the cost of living is a lot less than the robbing feckers here, I wish people would stop liking us to England as we are nothing like them, in every way and the includes welfare so stop the comparisons its like comparing chalk and cheese

You really believe the cost of living is 60% more?

I have a friend in Belfast who has his 220 month rent paid by welfare, and I have a friend in Dublin who has his 480 month rent paid by welfare.

So im not really seeing the chalk and cheese argument.

If there is any chalk and cheese here, it is in attitudes of dolers.

if you dont like it feck off to the uk then, im sure their attitude to being on the dole is a lot more proactive than ours :D

belfast and living in englands major city are vastly different as is the expensive of both cities

rents are also considerably higher here due to our lovely housing bubble that went pop, which I know england experienced too, many years ago ours if you remember was only a few years ago so the effects of the greedy landlord and enormous mortgages thanks to our fine government of the day and ever so helpful bankers all helped

chalk and cheese my friend chalk and cheese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

What a load of nonsense, you don't get council housing just because you are unemployed. You have to pay your rent/mortgage just as you did when employed. You get a lot more over here, it's a joke.

if you dont like it feck off to the uk then, im sure their attitude to being on the dole is a lot more proactive than ours :D

belfast and living in englands major city are vastly different as is the expensive of both cities

rents are also considerably higher here due to our lovely housing bubble that went pop, which I know england experienced too, many years ago ours if you remember was only a few years ago so the effects of the greedy landlord and enormous mortgages thanks to our fine government of the day and ever so helpful bankers all helped

Difference in price of rent is not relevant here, I was merely pointing out that both welfare systems cover it.

And like I said before you think Dublin is 60% more expensive that Belfast? Its not.

Just like public sector works here, the Irish state grossly over pays them (over double for equivalent job last time I heard.), at a similar level to the gross overpayment of job seekers allowance.

Why can't you admit that, too busy feeling sorry for yourself......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

I don't know why anyone wouldn't be on the dole to be honest. I've been on it for the last four years since I qualified as an electrician and I still get plenty of work doing nixers in the mornings and at the weekend. I've built up a good amount of contacts in the local area as well so I usually get a good few jobs a week. Was lucky enough to miss out on buying a house as well because I was younger when all that property stuff was going, so yeah, no recession for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I was probably teetering on the brink of, if not depression, then severe apathy; being on the dole. I still am on the dole, but now I'm doing a FÁS course and it has definitely saved me from losing my mind.

It's the sameness of each day on the dole that got me. I loved dole money day, not just because of the cash, but because it gave me a reason to put on some nice clothes and go interact with people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

The dole is soul destroying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭greenpilot

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    I find it degrading as well. It makes you feel useless.

I think you'ld finding sucking penis in a back alley trying to make ends meet slightly more degrading than claiming back your PRSI contributions, no?

I did.......:pac:

Was that the reason he gave you for his offer........hmmm.

The dole is soul destroying.

for some people maybe. for others its a god send. i was on it for 2 years before i went to college, then got the bte allowance for 4 years while i was in college getting my ord degree and honours degree, still on it and am currently still in education working to get more qualifications(level 9). i always find it funny when you have to collect your dole in the post office, most of the employees are sound but theres 1 or 2 who look at you like your scum, i just smirk at them because id say iv probably more money than them and most certainly a better education.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

UCDVet wrote: »
    Pottler wrote: »
    I've never been on the Dole, and I honestly have no feelings about it, or the people who get it. I don't resent them, envy them or pity them. If it's a choice, that's fine by me, if it's because they can't find work and need it, that's ok too. I also don't care what level it is at, it could be €600 a week and I'd care less. Lifes for each person themselves, if you spend it worrying what everyone else is getting, it eats you up and messes you up. I'd die of boredom, I actually love work and for me it just follows, I care not a bit about money, I just do what I like doing and money follows - I'm not rich, I have enough and I support a lot of families by creating work for a good few local lads who otherwise would not have any, but, tbh, I'm just having a bit of fun and I leave the deep stuff to others. I'm lucky cos I have a mad head that just sees work that pays, but not everyones like that and thats just fine by me - why the feck would you want to see people poor? The dole should be there to provide a safety net for people, otherwise what's the point in life if everyone just gets shat on when they are in need? Sorry for the windy post, I usually try to keep it short.

Sounds good in theory.

In practice; money for the dole has to come from somewhere.
    People not working don't generate tax revenue.

Ergo - if you are working and I'm on the dole - you're paying for me to stay home.

If you're fine with that - cool. But why limit it to the dole? Why not just send me money? I could use it.

People working also pay for the overpaid civil servant's and a leader who is only a puppet for the troika. They are the real decision makers so why should that shower get paid as much as they do

Difference in price of rent is not relevant here, I was merely pointing out that both welfare systems cover it.

And like I said before you think Dublin is 60% more expensive that Belfast? Its not.

Just like public sector works here, the Irish state grossly over pays them (over double for equivalent job last time I heard.), at a similar level to the gross overpayment of job seekers allowance.

Why can't you admit that, too busy feeling sorry for yourself......

Didn't get back to you earlier to busy actually working unlike you, you scrounger

I also disagree with you view point but won't waste my time trying to discuss it with you as you are clearly in the mindset of workers against unemployed, tarring all unemployed in the same way therefore taking the focus off where cuts actually need to be made ie govt wages, allowances for public servants

Their plan has worked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Dole is tolerable when you're young.

When you're older it's horrendous.

People need jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

for some people maybe. for others its a god send. i was on it for 2 years before i went to college, then got the bte allowance for 4 years while i was in college getting my ord degree and honours degree, still on it and am currently still in education working to get more qualifications(level 9). i always find it funny when you have to collect your dole in the post office, most of the employees are sound but theres 1 or 2 who look at you like your scum, i just smirk at them because id say iv probably more money than them and most certainly a better education.:)
    I think your head might explode if you ever get around to finding a job and making a contribution in the form of income tax.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I think your head might explode if you ever get around to finding a job and making a contribution in the form of income tax.

not at all, i worked for a few years straight out of school. then decided i wanted an education. i love to work.

Day two of unemployment-

woke up at one, put Ellen on sly record and now in captain America for a spot of the early house menu, 15 not bad. This unemployed is what you make of it lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Day two of unemployment-

woke up at one, put Ellen on sly record and now in captain America for a spot of the early house menu, 15 not bad. This unemployed is what you make of it lads
    try 2 or 3 years of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Day two of unemployment-

Spending 15 euro on dinner?

That won't last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Day two of unemployment-

Surely you took advantage of the cheap cocktails? Can't justify getting out of bed just for food. Jeremy was great today. Did you catch it

AnonoBoy wrote: »

That won't last.

ya, try that place on moore street, u know the shopping centre where its all foreign shops,theres a few all you can eat places there, all kinds of foreign food,think its like 6 or 7 euro with a free drink i think,lovely food.:)

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Surely you took advantage of the cheap cocktails? Can't justify getting out of bed just for food. Jeremy was great today. Did you catch it

I caught the lad at the end going out with the ole one. Good episode, no cocktail specials its Friday so had a few heinys instead.

When i start getting bored im looking to fly out to south Africa do some safari for a few months.

ya, try that place on moore street, u know the shopping centre where its all foreign shops,theres a few all you can eat places there, all kinds of foreign food,think its like 6 or 7 euro with a free drink i think,lovely food.:)

You have it all wrong pal, you are messing out on the nicest feed in Dublin. Down the lane at the side of clery's. Set you back around €2.59 main course. Cie canteen, few nice boozers and if you are into the horses like myself you've a paddys and a lads right next door. Then you could get lucky like I did and end up sitting next to the chap who drives me bus. Now he thinks I'm in the business and get on the bus for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭sky2424

I caught the lad at the end going out with the ole one. Good episode, no cocktail specials its Friday so had a few heinys instead.

When i start getting bored im looking to fly out to south Africa do some safari for a few months.

Aren't you the same guy who was in the work and jobs forum looking how to get paid social welfare while holidaying in Thailand... And now apparently your off to SA on safari... Bit of a Walter Mitty eh?! Good luck with that mate!

She was a bleedin walkin advertisement for sunscreen.

You have it all wrong pal, you are messing out on the nicest feed in Dublin. Down the lane at the side of clery's. Set you back around €2.59 main course. Cie canteen, few nice boozers and if you are into the horses like myself you've a paddys and a lads right next door. Then you could get lucky like I did and end up sitting next to the chap who drives me bus. Now he thinks I'm in the business and get on the bus for free.

ha cheers, ill give it a go.not into the bookies though.i like food though:)

sky2424 wrote: »
    Aren't you the same guy who was in the work and jobs forum looking how to get paid social welfare while holidaying in Thailand... And now apparently your off to SA on safari... Bit of a Walter Mitty eh?! Good luck with that mate!

Dont be so harsh on me pal, we got chatting through pm and decided we aren't working until the Quinns are locked up. Last night in the prime time made me sick. To think what my previous tax dollars paid for. Fool me once never again.

sky2424 wrote: »

Cheers man, haven't decided yet where to go yet but south Africa looks most likely taking a work break for a few months, have a bit of savings.

griffdaddy wrote: »
    I don't know why anyone wouldn't be on the dole to be honest. I've been on it for the last four years since I qualified as an electrician and I still get plenty of work doing nixers in the mornings and at the weekend. I've built up a good amount of contacts in the local area as well so I usually get a good few jobs a week. Was lucky enough to miss out on buying a house as well because I was younger when all that property stuff was going, so yeah, no recession for me:D

are you not worried about someone reporting you to the social welfare? its happening a lot l8ly i hear.like someone could get you to do work for them, then refuse to pay you, and threaten to report you.it has happened mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

AnonoBoy wrote: »

That won't last.
    Come month's end he'll be in the Asia Market buying rice by the hundredweight, like the rest of us.

kylith wrote: »
    Come month's end he'll be in the Asia Market buying rice by the hundredweight, like the rest of us.

wheres the asia market?

Or maybe they are looking at you and thinking, 'He/she has more money than me and a better education, all the while I'm the fool paying taxes and not having the time/cash to go to college'. Maybe that irks them a little.

they dont know how much money I have or that im in college so that cant be the case.