Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

Family income support
    Mortgage interest supplement
    Child benefit
    Bus Passes
    Medical Cards
    Household Benefit Package
    Fuel Allowance
    Rent Allowance
    The list goes on and on..

A democratic state should provide the "less fortunate" with a minimum, subsistant, means of living. No right minded person would begrudge some 180 Euro a week to live, but when we account for the myriad of Social insurance payments, Means-tested payments and Universal payments we see that the accuring benefits to someone availling of 'Social Protection' have completely spiralled out of control. Anyone here on the average industrial wage would likely be better off being unemployed, spitting out a kid and going on the waiting list for a council house.

Please, stop saying its only 280/188/whatever arbitrary figure you decide it is because it truly isn't - It is so much more and, crucially for this topic, IT IS TOO MUCH.

I assume you are in in employment, somehow....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ya, try that place on moore street, u know the shopping centre where its all foreign shops,theres a few all you can eat places there, all kinds of foreign food,think its like 6 or 7 euro with a free drink i think,lovely food.:)

You can get a couple of pounds of entrails for a few euro in some of those Chinese or Korean places. Tasty entrails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

wheres the asia market?

Drury St. Any Asian shop'll do though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

kylith wrote: »
    Drury St. Any Asian shop'll do though.

cheers, will check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

cheers, will check it out.

It's a wonderland of things that I don't know what they are. The labels are pretty though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

joneyre wrote: »
    Why do you assume I haven't?

If you have and you find €188 "sickening" I assume you found it morally unconscionable to accept the full amount from the SW then yes? you told them you can live on your more favoured U.K. rate?

And of course as you feel people on the dole "should not be allowed drink alcohol or socialise" (LOL), you never once used any of your dole money to buy any alcohol or for socialising in any way, yes?

Oh and btw you're incorrect in saying that people on SW have all their rent paid for them, they don't. They have to pay part of it out of their dole-at least €30 per week and often more, depending on their rent and where they live.

Find out factual information before making such uninformed comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

the system is absolutely fecked.

There is absolutely no help available to get recently unemployed people back into the jobs market - to avail of any sort of assistance, training, courses, community employment schemes, you have to be on the dole for 12 months+. In our case, hubby lost his job recently, I earn just about enough to survive at the moment, but not enough to cover the mortgage, childcare, car, bills, mecial costs, and food with just my wage for the next few months.

Why isnt there a graded dole system in place, like in other civilised countries? Like 60 % of your wages for the first year, then drop down to 188 or something, to give you time to adjust? They can't expect you to go from a normal wage to the dole without problems arising (and we are NOT living the high-life, never have).

On the other hand, 188 quid for doing feck all, if you've never worked a day in your life and don't expect to, and get your rent/bills/education/medical bills/travel subsidised, is WAY too much.

A one-fits-all is just not fair, in my opinion.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

life on the dole. its not much but least you can choose not to sit around and still get paid for it. taking up as many courses as possible is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Day two of unemployment-

woke up at one, put Ellen on sly record and now in captain America for a spot of the early house menu, 15 not bad. This unemployed is what you make of it lads

Day three of unemployment-

Depression has kicked, I didnt think it would happen so fast, worst of all I spent all morning online looking for a carnival or circus to go to to help cheer me up but there's none in town :(. Also rang a few health spas to see if they'll do an unemployed special and F-all....FML

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

...................................I spent all morning online looking for a carnival or circus to go to to help cheer me up but there's none in town :(. Also rang a few health spas to see if they'll do an unemployed special and F-all....FML

:pac::pac::pac:
    You certainly cheered me up with that post, thanks

What's worse than being on the dole?

Doing a jobbridge because your so sick and depressed of hanging around the house with no purpose and people on the dole looking down their nose at you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Boombastic wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac:
    You certainly cheered me up with that post, thanks

What's worse than being on the dole?

Doing a jobbridge because your so sick and depressed of hanging around the house with no purpose and people on the dole looking down their nose at you :D

Even worse....

Completing your crappy internship and finding out you don't qualify for fuel allowance now because the 9 months you worked for 10e a day are not counted as days unemployed... and having the staff at your social welfare office totally understanding where you are coming from, but rules are rules.....

that is effing depressing!!!!

Even worse....

Completing your crappy internship and finding out you don't qualify for fuel allowance now because the 9 months you worked for 10e a day are not counted as days unemployed... and having the staff at your social welfare office totally understanding where you are coming from, but rules are rules.....

Did not know that, another kick in balls for those that are trying, while those that sat on their arse reap the awards:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Clareboy wrote: »
    Free Travel is only for those over 66

Not if you are on disability

Which plently of junkies are, shifted off the long term unemployed list and put on disability

Did not know that, another kick in balls for those that are trying, while those that sat on their arse reap the awards:mad:

I applied and got accepted for an 8-month FAS course, which I am now doing. You need to be at least 312 days signed on to get the extra €20 a week allowance for studuing.

Yet another kick in the teeth.

Had I done nothing at all, I'd be €40 up per week (study allowance plus fuel allowance).

I did the internship to get me out of the house and learn some new skills. Total waste of time. I was waved off the moment my internship ended.

I would have been better off foing nothing at all - €160/month in fact.

I'm also doing a part-time counselling degree, so that money would have come in really handy for my fees and the personal therapy Ihave topay for as partofmy course.

Not everyone uses SW money to blow on drinking, smoking etc. I put mine to the best use I can (and am very grateful for it), but a system is wrong when it benefits those who do nothing at all.

Still, it won't be forever :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Even worse....

Firstly, if you work a full week, i dont see how it can be classed as "unenmpolyed". BUT......................

Getting paid a shítty €50 a week, not to be offered a proper weeks work after it is imo getting used. There should be NO reduction in your benefit after trying to upskill yourself. It will only entice people not to bother their hole with job bridge.

To me the whole programme seems like a way of shuffling people around and employers getting cheap labour. Any figures out for this yet? How many people has it taken off the dole and into a full time permanent position? Would love to hear the % figure for that.

The dole is a career choice for some, and heart break for many. There should be a buffer for people newly unemployed, and a serious kick in the hole for long termers. endless courses that lead nowhere? Give people skills they can use even if they dont want to use them.

themadchef wrote: »
    Firstly, if you work a full week, i dont see how it can be classed as "unenmpolyed". BUT......................

Getting paid a shítty €50 a week, not to be offered a proper weeks work after it is imo getting used. There should be NO reduction in your benefit after trying to upskill yourself. It will only entice people not to bother their hole with job bridge.

To me the whole programme seems like a way of shuffling people around and employers getting cheap labour. Any figures out for this yet? How many people has it taken off the dole and into a full time permanent position? Would love to hear the % figure for that.

The dole is a career choice for some, and heart break for many. There should be a buffer for people newly unemployed, and a serious kick in the hole for long termers. endless courses that lead nowhere? Give people skills they can use even if they dont want to use them.

It is classed as UNEMPLOYED if the company is not paying you a penny and social welfare is paying you to be there.

I applied and got accepted for an 8-month FAS course, which I am now doing. You need to be at least 312 days signed on to get the extra €20 a week allowance for studuing.

Amazing enough time spent in prison counts as being unemployed for this, go figure:rolleyes:

There you go....

The point of JobBridge was for the new government to massage unemployment figures to make it look like the number on the live register was going down.

The whole scheme was thrown together overnight (that is me being generous); the jobs put up on the site were not 'monitored' as they said they would be (and still aren't) and anyone that does one and fails to secure employment out of it comes off worse than those that did nothing.

This government is worse than the one before. They have to go!

Sorry, derailed....back on topic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Not if you are on disability

Which plently of junkies are, shifted off the long term unemployed list and put on disability

Are there nationality requirements for disability? Do I need to be Irish or an EU member to collect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

What awards?

books4sale wrote: »
    What awards?

awards for being unemployed:)

It should be rewards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

awards for being unemployed:)

It should be rewards

Money for staying home.....seems like an award to me :)

Had I done nothing at all, I'd be €40 up per week (study allowance plus fuel allowance).

I did the internship to get me out of the house and learn some new skills. Total waste of time. I was waved off the moment my internship ended.

I'm also doing a part-time counselling degree, so that money would have come in really handy for my fees and the personal therapy Ihave topay for as partofmy course.

Not everyone uses SW money to blow on drinking, smoking etc. I put mine to the best use I can (and am very grateful for it), but a system is wrong when it benefits those who do nothing at all.

hi, whats this 2o euro study allowance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Anyone know any cheap pubs over the south side going to try blag my way into the rds. I found mixing with employed people give me back my sense if self worth.

Orange 2 you are going about it all wrong pal, you need to sign up to one of them deal yokes, or as I call then scratcher specials. Sure who else an go mid week? Great value breaks. Would you not go to the zoo, see I have it all sussed cuz I signed me self up to one of them spring board courses to get a student card. Bird in the doll office nearly fell off her seat when she seen the course I signed up for. So my advise ti you buddy is sign up for the next course starting and get the student card ASAP. Captain America cocktails €3 hair cuts €6, train cheap.

As me ole lad said to me, Johnny if you take unemployment a serious as people in the rat race take employment you'll always have a few shillings in the sky rocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭rahmalec

This post might not belong here, but I didn't want to be the creator of what might be considered as another dole thread.

I've noticed that many people out of work claim to be constantly bored, have nothing to do, etc. Do so many people have nothing better to do with their lives than work in a crappy job making money for someone else? TBH, if I wasn't making any money I still wouldn't have enough time to do the things I want to do. Working a crap job would certainly make me bored, since then I would have extremely little time to do the things I'd like to do.

And btw, no, I'm not on the dole.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Anyone know any cheap pubs over the south side going to try blag my way into the rds. I found mixing with employed people give me back my sense if self worth.

Orange 2 you are going about it all wrong pal, you need to sign up to one of them deal yokes, or as I call then scratcher specials. Sure who else an go mid week? Great value breaks. Would you not go to the zoo, see I have it all sussed cuz I signed me self up to one of them spring board courses to get a student card. Bird in the doll office nearly fell off her seat when she seen the course I signed up for. So my advise ti you buddy is sign up for the next course starting and get the student card ASAP. Captain America cocktails €3 hair cuts €6, train cheap.

As me ole lad said to me, Johnny if you take unemployment a serious as people in the rat race take employment you'll always have a few shillings in the sky rocket.

I'm actually too depressed to do anything today, I was going to go for a walk but when i got to the front door I decided it was too cold, I dont know why anybody would brave that weather for whatever reason.

My mother's at me to go out a further my education saying she doesnt want me moping about all day, what's this springboard college thing?

A student card would be handy, my blu ray collection has taking a serious hit in the last few days and I know HMV do a student special, hopefully I can find a course 3-5 hours a week, Ballyfermott looks to have something I'm interested in.

Does unemployment get any worse? :(

what course did you sign up for? do you know anything about this 20 euro study allowance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭rahmalec

I'm actually too depressed to do anything today, I was going to go for a walk but when i got to the front door I decided it was too cold, I dont know why anybody would brave that weather for whatever reason.

My mother's at me to go out a further my education saying she doesnt want me moping about all day, what's this springboard college thing?

A student card would be handy, my blu ray collection has taking a serious hit in the last few days and I know HMV do a student special, hopefully I can find a course 3-5 hours a week, Ballyfermott looks to have something I'm interested in.

Maybe brave it anyway and walk fast? You'll soon warm up.
    Learn an instrument? Get fit? Learn how to build websites or write software?
    Just an example of worthwhile things to do.

why do you want to find a course with only 3 hours a week?:confused:

hi, whats this 2o euro study allowance?

If you have been in reciept of a sw payment for a year, you are considered long term unemployed by fas. When you do a FAS course, FAS pay you, not social welfare, for its duration.

If you have been signing on for more than 312 days, you get the extra €20 per week for the duration of your course.

You have to get a form from FAS to get signed and stamped by social welfare to say how long you have been receiving SW benefits. This is usually done at the start of your course.

Hope that helps.

If you have been in reciept of a sw payment for a year, you are considered long term unemployed by fas. When you do a FAS course, FAS pay you, not social welfare, for its duration.

If you have been signing on for more than 312 days, you get the extra €20 per week for the duration of your course.

You have to get a form from FAS to get signed and stamped by social welfare to say how long you have been receiving SW benefits. This is usually done at the start of your course.

Hope that helps.
    cheers for the info:) doesnt apply to me, im doing a post grad part time but appreciate the detailed reply anyway.

why do you want to find a course with only 3 hours a week?:confused:

Id say the score everyone is going on about us fuel allowance. Have to be on the scatcher for 390 or something like that. The reason id say me pal above wants a short course is cuz he isn't going to go just wants the student card. The one I did was sustainable energy or something. Go to springboard.ie

oooooooh just I was thinking if he didnt wanna be so depressed and bored anymore he could do a course with a good few hours to keep himself busy. dont know why the woman in the social welfare nearly fell off her chair, sustainable energy sounds like a good thing to study, not like your doing a course in tarot card reading or anything;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Nothing much to add here except, sunflower? Absolute fair fcuks to you, and yes, it DOES and it WILL get better for you, having been on it myself for a while (well, disability, about 13 years ago when I had a hip op done), it can suck the motivation out of you and quite literally trap you in your own mental prison, so for you still to be so motivated and still keeping your brain ticking over and making great use of your time and your budget, I have to say I wholeheartedly admire your determination. You're one of very few, but they are out there, and life has a way of coming good once you put the groundwork in and keep building on it, building a solid future for yourself and not always having your future income dependent on the pen stroke of an incompetent government looking to be seen like they're doing something by shaving chunks off social welfare while at the same time giving themselves ridiculously disproportionate salaries and expenses allowances.

Never ceases to amaze me how willingly other people will kick another person when they're down, and just pay lip service to shyte talk about bankers and so on. The government of the day formed the system in which bankers and property developers thrived, people REALLY believed the current government now has the general public's interest at heart to recover Ireland's economy from the mess it's in now? Shows how gullible some people still are even now. They can barely cover their own àrse, which is all they're interested in, and that's why I'd feel sorry for any genuine person that finds themselves stuck in a position where they are dependent on a shìtty welfare system that are barely even the scraps off the table of the governments upcoming spending plans. The government doesn't need to budget like the rest of us- they just decide how much they need, and then increase taxes and make scathing cuts in essential services because we all need new roads to get to the few remaining hospitals that are left open, as fast as possible, right? School roof falling in on your child's head? But look, we just spent money on a brand new tourist centre for the 'merican tourists that wouldn't spend Christmas?

FÙCK, OFF!!

And the sooner, the better! Shower of nepotist, cronyist, cute hoorism bastids!

TL;DR? Fùcking right too, I'm scared to read back on that myself! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Recent research supports the idea that having no job is healthier psychologically than having a job you hate.

I prefer not working to being in a call centre for instance, I'd imagine that it would be different for everyone according to their circumstances.

Any thoughts on the idea?

dd972 wrote: »
    Recent research supports the idea that having no job is healthier psychologically than having a job you hate.

I prefer not working to being in a call centre for instance, I'd imagine that it would be different for everyone according to their circumstances.

Any thoughts on the idea?

Have you any link to this recent research? I'd honestly have to have a thorough read of any research that suggested that isolation and desolation and destitution is in ANY way "psychologically healthier" than being employed in a job you are just not happy in. I'd find a lot more truth in the saying that it's easier to get another job when you have a job, than it is to get a job when you don't have a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Have you any link to this recent research? I'd honestly have to have a thorough read of any research that suggested that isolation and desolation and destitution is in ANY way "psychologically healthier" than being employed in a job you are just not happy in. I'd find a lot more truth in the saying that it's easier to get another job when you have a job, than it is to get a job when you don't have a job.

I worked in a call centre and it was the worst 6 months of my life. Having every minute of my work day timed (including toilet breaks). All the calls being monitored. Crazy targets to meet. And nasty customers who seem to enjoy ringng up and screaming abuse down the phone. It was a soul destroying experience and it took me months to get my confidence back. You need to be hard as nails for a job like that. I would happily sweep the roads instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

My blu ray collection has taken a hit. Oh my flucking god. You havent a clue.

I worked in a call centre and it was the worst 6 months of my life. Having every minute of my work day timed (including toilet breaks). All the calls being monitored. Crazy targets to meet. And nasty customers who seem to enjoy ringng up and screaming abuse down the phone. It was a soul destroying experience and it took me months to get my confidence back. You need to be hard as nails for a job like that. I would happily sweep the roads instead!

Not meaning to sound dismissive of your experience, but the poster suggested was it psychologically healthier to work in a job you hated, or be unemployed, if you are sweeping the roads, you're not exactly unemployed now in all fairness. I worked in some high pressure environments and now I run my own business and tbh there are days when I absolutely love it and thrive on the pressure, and days when I'd sooner be back breading chicken in supermacs, but I'd never again want to be on disability. It should be labelled cruel and unusual punishment / mental torture.

That's why I questioned the poster for the source of this research, as I wanted to see the criteria under which the research was conducted, because as your post displays, it's a very subjective opinion.

Day two of unemployment-

woke up at one, put Ellen on sly record and now in captain America for a spot of the early house menu, 15 not bad. This unemployed is what you make of it lads
    Day three of unemployment-

Depression has kicked, I didnt think it would happen so fast, worst of all I spent all morning online looking for a carnival or circus to go to to help cheer me up but there's none in town :(. Also rang a few health spas to see if they'll do an unemployed special and F-all....FML

Day four of unemployment-

Good day today, I've got over my recent bout of depression. I'm ready to rejoin the dregs of society and be a worker bee again, made some real progress on Jobs.ie, spent 30 minutes looking didnt find anything I liked but it's good to know worst case senario I can just pick one of the crappier jobs to do.

After searching jobs.ie I followed some of your advice and decided I'll do a hobby, Camping.

8 man tent with main area - 360e
    sleeping bag minus 30 degress - 60e
    Trespass jacket - 125e

Cant wait to actually get out, I'll probably wait till May when it gets warm.

The key to the unemployment is to stay positive guys!

Good day today, I've got over my recent bout of depression. I'm ready to rejoin the dregs of society and be a worker bee again, made some real progress on Jobs.ie, spent 30 minutes looking didnt find anything I liked but it's good to know worst case senario I can just pick one of the crappier jobs to do.

After searching jobs.ie I followed some of your advice and decided I'll do a hobby, Camping.

Trespass jacket - 125e

What time you going to the airport?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Trespass jacket - 125e

Is this a piss take?

Instead of taking up jogging or knitting you buy an 8 man tent for 360e which can't be used til May?

What about the 8 months before that? And what's wrong with a two man tent?

And you're ringing up health spas? On the dole! You must have serious savings.

Is this a piss take?

Instead of taking up jogging or knitting you buy an 8 man tent for 360e which can't be used til May?

Don't hate the player, hate the game.

Is this a piss take?

Keep positive, the 8 man tent will come in handy next may, when they can't afford to pay their rent:p

I'd love to see this research too dd972, if you're still on this thread. Who did this research? what methodology did they use? how big was the sample study-that kind of information is needed.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if it was true mind, I've worked in a few crappy soul destroying jobs in the past that compromised my physical, emotional and mental health that took me a long time to recover from, so I can well believe it may be true that being unemployed for some people may be actually healthier than having a job you hate. Or at the very least no worse than.

I couldn't work in a call centre, I wouldn't last very long there for a start and know myself it would almost certainly lead to either serious depression or a mental breakdown and then I'd be back on the dole or disability. It would suck the life blood from me and I'm just not cut out for that kind of high stress monotonous work dealing with irate customers. Plus I have ethical issues about working for those kind of unscrupulous employers.

I've been unemployed before and while I found it initially quite boring I used the time to gain some life and job skills I needed to become (mostly!) self-employed, and to get fit by getting out walking, jogging and cycling-things which I've thankfully kept up ever since.

It's a long tough road and I'm not quite in the position I want to be work wise or financially yet but I'm hoping I will be in the next few years as a portfolio worker *fingers crossed*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Greentopia wrote: »

I'd love to see this research too dd972, if you're still on this thread. Who did this research? what methodology did they use? how big was the sample study-that kind of information is needed.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if it was true mind, I've worked in a few crappy soul destroying jobs in the past that compromised my physical, emotional and mental health that took me a long time to recover from, so I can well believe it may be true that being unemployed for some people may be actually healthier than having a job you hate. Or at the very least no worse than.

I couldn't work in a call centre, I wouldn't last very long there for a start and know myself it would almost certainly lead to either serious depression or a mental breakdown and then I'd be back on the dole or disability. It would suck the life blood from me and I'm just not cut out for that kind of high stress monotonous work dealing with irate customers. Plus I have ethical issues about working for those kind of unscrupulous employers.

I've been unemployed before and while I found it initially quite boring I used the time to gain some life and job skills I needed to become (mostly!) self-employed, and to get fit by getting out walking, jogging and cycling-things which I've thankfully kept up ever since.

It's a long tough road and I'm not quite in the position I want to be work wise or financially yet but I'm hoping I will be in the next few years as a portfolio worker *fingers crossed*.

I was unemployed for a couple of years, got a job in January in a absolute sh!t dump but was very happy to be back working, I used to tell the lads that working in the kip would help us appreciate a real job when we get one.

Roll forward to July, 65 of us were let go I was pretty depressed within a week but get cv's out there and asked my friends to keep an eye in places they worked, October I'm now working in a great spot and am so happy..

Some of the long term lads in the place think its crap and are always giving out about it but I know what's out there.

Lesson sh!t jobs are good for your mental health cause you'll really appreciate a good job when you get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

not sure about bad jobs being good for you..but...3 years out and a postgrad under my belt with more study to follow. looking for work now in my new field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Is this a piss take?

I really worry about people sometimes.

bryaner wrote: »
    Lesson sh!t jobs are good for your mental health cause you'll really appreciate a good job when you get one.

I don't see how working in a job you hate can ever be said to be good for a persons mental health (it certainly wasn't for me), especially if there is little future prospect of finding or creating a better one. The experience might toughen some people up, but it can break others.

It may make you and others like you more determined to find better work but some people are trapped in jobs they can't leave because of family commitments-being the breadwinner in the family with responsibilities to shoulder-a mortgage and huge bills to pay etc., also fear of being unemployed and never finding alternative employment,-especially in the current climate, because it may be a sh1tty job but it's secure and pensionable employment, and many other reasons why people stay in jobs they hate; but I agree it would doubtlessly make one appreciate finding work that is more personally and professionally fulfilling when contrasting it to a job you hate, yes.

But, in order to reach that point you have to know or at least have a reasonable expectation that there is light at the end of the tunnel when you're in that crappy job and you know you won't have to be there forever.

Edit-forgot to add-congrats on your new job! glad it's something you enjoy doing and it's better than what you previously had :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭the flananator

Great. I'm learning to speak a new language called African.

Not a language.