Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Oxegen Cancelled?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

jester77 wrote: »
    That's what happens when you don't have a decent line up!

Once again, not really. The concept of a decent line up is completely subjective...in my opinion Oxygen has rarely , if ever, had a decent line up.

They had more than enough big name and popular acts to sell all the available tickets but the simple fact is that the arse has fallen out of the Festival market and they priced their tickets right out of affordability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

I hope EPs organisers bring in some sort of Scumbag filtering process this year so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Korvanica wrote: »
    I hope EPs organisers bring in some sort of Scumbag filtering process this year so...

Hipsters are worse than scumbags , fact

EP's organisers are now, largely, the same people who ran Oxygen.

So that won't be happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I think they call it "Perimeter Security".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Debatable, Hipsters can be entertaining - you can make fun of their stupid looking glasses and silly haircuts

Scumbags are just annoying in every way.

Ive yet to see a hipster slash someones face of set someones tent on fire after robbing it...
    Lumbo wrote: »
    I think they call it "Perimeter Security".

Scumbag Filtering Process.... with shotguns

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Enjoyed it last year and all, but I was annoyed by the remarkable amount of scumbags who had no interest in the music. One fellah only left the campsite to see The Script over the three days. Just causing a nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

humanji wrote: »
    When Amanda Brunker is put on stage, you know it's time to call it quits.
    You needn't worry about that happening again: you can add Amanda herself to the list of people unhappy with the whole thing:
    Oxegen was a huge part of what happened in my life this year, I think I really need to learn how to say 'no' from now on. The whole thing was far too stressful and I'm normally not the kind of person that looks back on things and kind of go, 'I shouldn't have done that', but genuinely if I had my time back I wouldn't have done that.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

SONISPHERE!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

That place has turned into a scumbag magnet anyway. If I had kids I wouldnt let them anywhere near it.

Nah hipsters are just annoying. Scumbags are dangerous and annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Fun Fact:
    Did you know that scumbags are afraid of loofahs while hipsters are more afraid of a world without irony?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Very very mixed feelings about this

1) worked there last year myself the festival not being on is going to pull a lot of money out of the economy including people doing a nixer like myelf and people in permanent jobs in companies that rely on oxegen as a major source of revenue

2) 48 hours in the dance tent was a really horrible eye opener I'd thought I'd seen things before (been to a fair amount of festivals and gigs, including Oxygen as a punter) but seeing the dance tent sober was actually just depressing especially when you realised a lot of the girls in their were about 16-17.

Too all the people being gleeful about this, its just going to make other festivals worse as the Oxygen crowd tries out other places, this will bring out a reaction in the security/event management (i'm thinking EP here) present and I can see them being more heavy handed, those Gainsborough guys that do most of EP security include some severely hard b-st-rds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

So it's being cancelled on account of The Stone Roses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's the only place I've found since I was 16 where it's socially acceptable to get locked and finger bang a chick in a field in front of a crowd without people caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

smash wrote: »
    It's the only place I've found since I was 16 where it's socially acceptable to get locked and finger bang a chick in a field in front of a crowd without people caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Ah no went about 5 years ago was grand kind of sad I passed on the couple of years before and after when my friends went, Oxegen has had its day the scumminess of it was getting out of hand and it was trying to cater to too many audiences. Greedy MCD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i went the past 3 years in a row and each time i swore i would never return. now i defiantly cant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

saa wrote: »
    Greedy MCD.

Oh no you didn't :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

smash wrote: »

PM sent with a map.

To get in wear a red ribbon around your...... well the details are in the PM.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Still haven't gone to Oxegen, probably never will at this rate. Line ups have only ever contained one or 2 bands I like.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Any news that pisses off scumbags is good news, it will also mean less unwanted pregnancy and amanda brunker:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

recyclebin wrote: »
    I can't see scumbags wanting to go to the Electric Picnic with all the hipsters and old people with their 80's music.
    Scumbags just want a big field where they can get ****ed up on drink and drugs and rob people's tents all weekend. Sure, if there's a festival that has Rihanna and Beyonce playing they'll pick that one, but EP could serve pretty well as plan B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Bad times indeed, I put the wrong colour bin out today and the chap said he couldn't take it as it was black, the racist bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Worried about electric picnic now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

So it's being cancelled on account of The Stone Roses?

No?

Ive yet to see a hipster slash someones face of set someones tent on fire after robbing it...

Scumbag Filtering Process.... with shotguns

ive yet to see a scumbag snort a fcuk load of coke and try and force himself on obviously not gay lads.

ive yet to see a scumbag make a tumblr account of them taking photos with passed out people they had drawn mustaches on

ive yet to see a scumbag hold up the queue into a music festival while they scream 'do you know who my father is' at security after not being allowed bring bottles of wine in.

Ive yet to see a scumbag rob a load of shít from a shop and give it out to people claiming 'here you go , im fighting capitalism'

hipsters still destroy tents too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

if they cancell oxegen i will die

boom-tish

tr;dl

ive yet to see a scumbag snort a fcuk load of coke and try and force himself on obviously not gay lads.

ive yet to see a scumbag make a tumblr account of them taking photos with passed out people they had drawn mustaches on

ive yet to see a scumbag hold up the queue into a music festival while they scream 'do you know who my father is' at security after not being allowed bring bottles of wine in.

Ive yet to see a scumbag rob a load of shít from a shop and give it out to people claiming 'here you go , im fighting capitalism'

Hipsters can be scumbags don't cha know.

hipsters are just scumbags with daddys money and no visible gender

Ah but have you seen hipsters slash someone or push a pint glass into someones face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Ah but have you seen hipsters slash someone or push a pint glass into someones face.

Yes but a combination of zero strength and restrictive stupidly tight clothes prevents any damage occuring in these incidents

pragmatic1 wrote: »

i havent seen a scumbag do that either, only people ive ever seen do that are 2 groups of people im not going to discuss because the first would be racist and the 2nd might come get me in their caravans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

hipsters are just scumbags with daddys money and no visible gender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You don't consider people who do that kind of thing scumbags?

i consider them all scum really, but when people say scumbags in this thread they generally mean lads who tuck their tracksuits into their socks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

i consider them all scum really, but when people say scumbags in this thread they generally mean lads who tuck their tracksuits into their socks
    Fashion critics?

Ok so the cancelling of Oxegen will ruin EP because of the influx of "whatever the hell Eric Cartman calls people who ruin festivals for others"...

I call them scumbags.

Because theyre scumbags

Ok so the cancelling of Oxegen will ruin EP because of the influx of "whatever the hell Eric Cartman calls people who ruin festivals for others"...

I call them scumbags.

Because theyre scumbags

my point is that EP was already ruined , the 'scumbags' wont make it worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

They commercialise it to the point of charging so much that they can now say "Its just not worth putting it on when people dont have the money to buy tickets"...

Well duh.

Scale back your crazy plans to something realistic and then you can sell tickets at a reasonable cost.

And dont blame your audience of not being rich enough to back your lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Bring back Lisdoonvarna...

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Scumbags just want a big field where they can get ****ed up on drink and drugs and rob people's tents all weekend..

Who wouldn't, in fairness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Going to Tomorrowland anyways :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

A lot of people complaining about this from an EP point of view seem to forget that EP now have the picking off the acts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

my point is that EP was already ruined , the 'scumbags' wont make it worse
    Bollox. Maybe you've had some bad experiences with them, and I find them annoying myself, but by and large they are avoidable and don't cause much trouble. EP has been on a steady decline, as is the fate of most popular festivals after a few years, and it certainly hasn't been guys in silly oversized non-prescription glasses brining it down.

Though to be honest I think you're on a bit of a windup here.
    stovelid wrote: »
    Who wouldn't, in fairness?
    I'm all for the former, it's part of the whole festival experience for me, but I manage to do it without making it **** for everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

danniemcq wrote: »
    Thats EP f*cked,

all the scumbags will end up there now
    darokane wrote: »
    Electric Picnic for me now

Hopefully underworld will be banging out the chooooons
    Be wary of darokane! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 DDDDDeannnnn

The way people are going on about Oxegen goers ruining EP is laughable.If they fork out 250 odd euro to camp at EP let them,mind your own business and enjoy the music as that's what you'll be there for,not to monitor the behaviour of so called 'scumbags'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 necrofudge

Devastated!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:(

Lazy Pigz!!!! :(

Now how am i going to sell my 5euro burgers and my sausages from the pigs back that cost E7.50 a portion????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,646 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The reasons why Oxegen isn't going ahead - http://www.hotpress.com/news/8752395.html

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar