Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stagnant Progression- Where to go from here?

Options
  • 22-12-2011 8:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭

Okay I've been learning guitar for a few years now however the last year or two (or three) I really haven't gotten any better, bar my ear getting a bit better. I can play pretty much any song that's chords, and I comfortable enough with the rhythm of most songs. I'm fairly ok with fingerstyle (can play blackbird,stairway to heaven etc).

I tried using Justinguitar.com for a while but because I knew bits and pieces of a lot of lesson's I struggled to motivate myself. I'm just wondering whether I should go justinguitar.com and just start from the intermediate method or what? I'd quite like to learn to play by ear as well, so any good sites for this would be a great help.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭Echoes675

This is something that all musicians go through at various times through their lives. It is simply a matter of gaining some direction and goals. I think you need to decide what you want to achieve? You need to set yourself targets and see how to achieve them in small steps. This always keeps you moving, doing new things, thinking about music and your instrument in new ways all the time.
    I'll have a stab that you want to learn to solo effectively? I would advise learning your scales and some theory, this will really help you unlock a deeper understanding of music. It will enable you to see what works and more importantly why it works.