Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How hard do you work for your wages?

• 23-12-2011 12:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭

With all the threads about dole bashing, it got me thinking how hard do people actually work for their wages? People complain about others collecting the dole and taking money for doing nothing, but I've seen people in various jobs (including where I work now) who take absolutely no pride in their work. They come in late, do a half assed job and the same people sneer at those who can't get work.

Personally I would say I should probably earn less for the work I do. That said I'm not going to ask for a pay reduction but still you've got to wonder are wages hugely overinflated in some areas.

So what think ye? Do you work hard for the wages you earn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I don't think I get paid enough, the job is not hard but the hours are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Too hard, for what they pay me for my labour & time :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

Definitely too hard & I've just had them cut by 50% :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

I work way too had for the money I get, I deserve more.

Having said that I'd rather work hard for little rather than be one of the 450,000 odd dole scroungers in this country.

ThePower11 wrote: »
    I'd rather work hard for little rather than be one of the 450,000 odd dole scroungers in this country.

Is that a can of worms I hear being popped open?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

In my case the hours and wages are just okay -- but the volume of work within the hours is mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

In before numerous dole jokes:D

I get paid ****e:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Having said that I'd rather work hard for little rather than be one of the 450,000 odd dole scroungers in this country.

sucker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Well wages are partly set by supply and demand and partly by social welfare/min wage.

I'm paid grand for what I do, it's an office job. It's definitely better than the few pound Dad used to give me for footin turf on the bog! Do that crap for free now.

Some people go to Lough Derg, I rare a plot of turf!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

A lot of those "dole scroungers" paid into a system and are entitled to draw on the system as they require.

First they came for the socialists...

I get extremely well paid for what I do.

And have 18,000 posts which proves that I don't really work as hard as I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Not very hard!

However people who work harder than me make more fook ups than I do so what do you rather in an employee, quality or quantity. Me, I'd go for quality every time and in my job it's more important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

sign my name once a month, about right i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Feisar wrote: »
    A lot of those "dole scroungers" paid into a system and are entitled to draw on the system as they require.

That's the problem every dole scrounger seems to have a huge sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Ray von

I'm a genius procrastinator!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I get paid well for the amount of time I put in, but then again when push comes to shove they would find it hard to replace me. I have made myself irreplaceable.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

S*it! Think I inadvertently started a dole bashing thread :(

kjl wrote: »
    I get paid well for the amount of time I put in, but then again when push comes to shove they would find it hard to replace me. I have made myself irreplaceable.

Nobody is irreplaceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭prettygurrly

i'm on funding which means i do as much work as i want...which means i do a lot!
    it does annoy me though when i catch support staff to my phd playing solitaire...i play solitaire, on my lunch break!!!

In relation to dole claimers, I would say that the economy has made a lot of jobs redundant and as such there are plenty of people who would be thrilled to get off the dole, but at the same time you have to accept the fact that there are a lot of people claiming who just don't give a crap and have no intention of finding work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

S*it! Think I inadvertently started a dole bashing thread :(

Come on, you're not that naiive. You could start a thread about orange peeling or wind surfing on this forum and it would turn into a dole bashing thread.

Nobody is irreplaceable.

I bring in about 50x more money for the company they I get paid, they have a great deal with me.

Come on, you're not that naiive. You could start a thread about orange peeling or wind surfing on this forum and it would turn into a dole bashing thread.

The fact that people on the welfare can afford to go wind surfing & eat oranges is proof that the dole is too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

The fact that people on the welfare can afford to go wind surfing & eat oranges is proof that the dole is too much.

It's the ones with 10 kids and sky tv that eat oranges and wind surf at the same time that are really taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

That ****e about dole scroungers is bollocks.
    During "Les Boom" there was the 4% or so like most countries on the dole. It's not like now that money has got more precious there's an extra 10% of the workforce just deciding to be "lazy dole scroungers".

In saying that though, I had a great time on the dole, used to get around 200 quid, lived at home, Diceys €2 and €3 drinks. What else could a girl want. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I don't work hard, I work smart.

And I mean "hard work" in the traditional way where "hard work" is building up a sweat and coming home shagged and in need of mate and spuds. With that kind of work once the day was over the day was over and I could get on with other ****, if I had the energy. With the job I have, I'm not so tired that I can't go to the gym, but my brain is constantly whirring about what I have to do and how best to do it.

I'm not averse to getting my hands dirty either. I worked on a golf course for two summers, doing general course maintenance. That was a "hard" job, and I was definitely underpaid for the physical effort I put in. Still, I loved that job and I love the different style of job I have now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I bring in about 50x more money for the company they I get paid, they have a great deal with me.

Maybe your replacement could do 100x.....

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

I used to work hard, then they cut my wages.

Now I don't push myself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

In saying that though, I had a great time on the dole, used to get around 200 quid, lived at home, Diceys €2 and €3 drinks. What else could a girl want. :P

€201 quid a week, living at home and €1.50 drinks in Diceys for a start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

With all the threads about dole bashing, it got me thinking how hard do people actually work for their wages? People complain about others collecting the dole and taking money for doing nothing, but I've seen people in various jobs (including where I work now) who take absolutely no pride in their work. They come in late, do a half assed job and the same people sneer at those who can't get work.

Personally I would say I should probably earn less for the work I do. That said I'm not going to ask for a pay reduction but still you've got to wonder are wages hugely overinflated in some areas.

So what think ye? Do you work hard for the wages you earn?

well that depends on the hours you are working compared to the wages you are paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Roughly 23-25k depending on how much OT I want to do.

Easy enough work and every second week is a 3 day week but for the level of responsibility I think I should be paid a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Ya right... Only if you work for yourself!!!

If you were a shop assistant you'd be told to pull your socks up :)

In my own case, my job is not too hard (after a while..) but is stressful, can be dangerous and carries a fair amount of responsibility. All told my wages are probably fair enough but plenty of PS bashers will argue otherwise!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Ya right... Only if you work for yourself!!!

If you were a shop assistant you'd be told to pull your socks up :)

In my own case, my job is not too hard (after a while..) but is stressful, can be dangerous and carries a fair amount of responsibility. All told my wages are probably fair enough but plenty of PS bashers will argue otherwise!!

I work for myself.... but I'm still replaceable

(by someone else who works for themselves !! )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

I get extremely well paid for what I do.

And have 18,000 posts which proves that I don't really work as hard as I think.

BER certs. biggest swindle going thanks to the Greens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Nobody is irreplaceable.

My parents are irreplaceable.
    (They passed away 6 years ago).

I get paid unbelievably well in comparison to living costs and I don't put in much effort.. With my current job, 10 hours work a week will let me pay rent in a beautiful house and eat/ drink/smoke pretty much what I want.

My girlfriend works for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and has one of the best jobs you can really have at 24. I earn her monthly wage in 11 hours of work.

Today, I'm getting $25/h to be Santa and give out presents to kids.. This evening, I'm going to be drinking .25c glasses of beer and smoking .75c packs of cigarettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

i work hard for the money i earn and have had 2 part time jobs on the go at one time while still doing well in school. who ever said teenagers are lazy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

An old friend of mine (now deceased) told me once he was employed by Dublin Corpo for 50 years and never worked a day in his life. Smartest old codger I ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

depends on the situation I usually read peoples mind or know them well enough to sort out what ever needs to be done.

I only hope when i have an assistant he's as good as me :cool:

even as sous I was always told I was a mind reader Id see the chef do something and have what he needed with out asking...

I think its intirely your own level of cop on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I work extremely hard for my wages but then again lives depend on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Kasabian wrote: »
    I work extremely hard for my wages but then again lives depend on it.

the little people in your head :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't really do much tbh. A bit of walking, bit of pushing, the odd dead body. But mostly sitting watching Only Fools with a cup of tea and some toast. And I still get 3 or 4 times an hour what my friends do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

I work about 85 hours per week for about €20k per year. So yes, I work bloody hard for my wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

work a 40 hr week for just under 30k

very mentally challenging and demanding job though. You have to be "switched on" and are responsible (need to sign off) for all the work you do

I honestly think I should be paid more. But that will come with time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

brummytom wrote: »
    I don't really do much tbh. A bit of walking, bit of pushing, the odd dead body. But mostly sitting watching Only Fools with a cup of tea and some toast. And I still get 3 or 4 times an hour what my friends do

Hmmmmmmmmm. Morgue attendant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I have to say no, I don't work hard for my wages, actually I do a little above nothing and I really don't understand why they pay me for what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

I'm still in work, most are off, the boss is about to give me a file back and its 3pm and i want out of here. Too hard at present!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

Have been out of work for a year until 3 months ago. Bust me balls all day for a low wage. But i love it because it's a job...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

TheBody wrote: »
    I work about 85 hours per week for about €20k per year. So yes, I work bloody hard for my wages.
    Doing what?