Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

conno16 wrote: »
    RVP is likely to request a transfer request soon
    we need to be ready for this
    SAF should have a man sniffing around the arsenal camp
    tumblr_lor7r8uiFz1qh8vo7o1_500.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

I almost feel sorry for arsene wenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

the poor quality of the EPL has been shown up by Napoli, Basle and now tonight Milan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

70 Ajax fans arrested for planning to attack United fans apparently. Not hugely surprising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,337 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

in fairness to conno on that one - if RVP did hand in a transfer request we should be all over it if there is even a small chance of getting him.

Sure there are more likely destinations - City, Barca, Real, Chelsea - but if a player like RVP did hand in a transfer request it would be an absolute disgrace for United not to try to buy him; it would be simply negligent imo.

baz2009 wrote: »
    70 Ajax fans arrested for planning to attack United fans apparently. Not hugely surprising!

there are a huge amount of riot police being drafted in for this game, and it is not because they fear what the United fans are going to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

in fairness to conno on that one - if RVP did hand in a transfer request we should be all over it if there is even a small chance of getting him.

Sure there are more likely destinations - City, Barca, Real, Chelsea - but if a player like RVP did hand in a transfer request it would be an absolute disgrace for United not to try to buy him; it would be simply negligent imo.

I've felt for a while that United should be looking to pick through the bones of Arsenal. Ahead of Van Persie for me would be Jack Wilshire. Obviously Van Persie too! :)

Would himself and Rooney be compatible?

there are a huge amount of riot police being drafted in for this game, and it is not because they fear what the United fans are going to do.

Serious mentallers over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Ajax have Ultra's!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Probably be able to keep up to date with Andy Mitten.

Serious mentallers over there!

I am firmly of the opinion that the only function the Dutch perform for the world is to ape English culture! Hooliganism, Darts, bad food and the rejection of their classical heritage. It must be the product of both counties under the yoke of monarchs and being rampant colonialists.

kmart6 wrote: »
    Ajax have Ultra's!?

i remember when I went to the stadium i was told they needed bullet proof glass protecting the away end. I think matches vs PSV have been a massive issue over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

the poor quality of the EPL has been shown up by Napoli, Basle and now tonight Milan.

I think that's knee jerk type of stuff tbh. It's only one season.

Anyone with half a brain knows that United are a better team than Basel and that City are a better team than Napoli.

Milan are a much improved side from a few years ago, whilst Arsenal have gone backwards. The San Siro is always a difficult place to go, I watched them against Barca a couple of months ago and they gave them a real game. No real surprise to see them beat Arsenal well there. But Arsenal definitely played below their best tonight, no way the true gap between the sides is 4-0.

Make a judgement on the quality of the EPL after a sustained number of CL seasons, not just one that could be categorised as a freak season.

I am firmly of the opinion that the only function the Dutch perform for the world is to ape English culture! Hooliganism, Darts, bad food and the rejection of their classical heritage. It must be the product of both counties under the yoke of monarchs and being rampant colonialists.

We're not a million miles away ourselves, tbh.
    i remember when I went to the stadium i was told they needed bullet proof glass protecting the away end. I think matches vs PSV have been a massive issue over the years.

Feyenoord is bad too, I think. I think it was on some Danny Dyer(don't shoot me:pac:) hooligan programme where they said that Paul Elstak, a hardstyle DJ from Amsterdam* had to get a Police escort into his own gig on Rotterdam*.

*Not sure which way round it is.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Really hope everyone going to the game tomorrow gets to and from it safe, nobody should ever go to watch a football match and have any threat to their safety

City are hugely inexperienced in European competition. Any auld eejit knows United are better than Basle. Milan are probably the best team in Italy atm, whereas Arsenal have been in he shítter lately.

Blatter wrote: »
    I think that's knee jerk type of stuff tbh. It's only one season.

Anyone with half a brain knows that United are a better team than Basel and that City are a better team than Napoli.

Milan are a much improved side from a few years ago, whilst Arsenal have gone backwards. The San Siro is always a difficult place to go, I watched them against Barca a couple of months ago and they gave them a real game. No real surprise to see them beat Arsenal well there. But Arsenal definitely played below their best tonight, no way the true gap between the sides is 4-0.

Make a judgement on the quality of the EPL after a sustained number of CL seasons, not just one that could be categorised as a freak season.

All that decline of leagues stuff is crap. Every top league has mini leagues of three, four or five quality teams and the rest are dross, obsessed with survival.

In fact such is the dearth of interest from these also rans (see Pulis of Stoke and the disdain Villa and Bolton have treated the EL) I would propose cutting the numbers qualifying from the top leagues and putting 3rd and 4th from the CL into the competition instead.

heh - Owen and that numpty Piers morgan having words again. Morgan told him to stop pretending to be a footballer.

Owen replied with this:

https://twitter.com/#!/themichaelowen/status/169901556936880131/photo/1

We're not a million miles away ourselves, tbh.

Wholly disagree. We have a very rich culture and one that for the most part we are in touch with it. Elements of our society are Telly fed scobes or empty headed money obsessed 52nd staters but still for the most part we have remained connected to our roots and our heritage. Far more so than either the English or Dutch. We've evolved sure but we still have our core heritage mores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I've felt for a while that United should be looking to pick through the bones of Arsenal. Ahead of Van Persie for me would be Jack Wilshire. Obviously Van Persie too! :)

Absolutely

Absolutely

Absolutely compatible or absolutely jack Wilshire or both or Orando your always right?

All that decline of leagues stuff is crap. Every top league has mini leagues of three, four or five quality teams and the rest are dross, obsessed with survival.

In fact such is the dearth of interest from these also rans (see Pulis of Stoke and the disdain Villa and Bolton have treated the EL) I would propose cutting the numbers qualifying from the top leagues and putting 3rd and 4th from the CL into the competition instead.

Yeah, the 'decline' stuff always comes out when a nation has a bad season in the CL.

I still maintain England relatively have the highest amount of quality teams. United, City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams with big ambitions in the future. Few nations have that sort of array of top clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Doc is gone now too? This is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

heh - Owen and that numpty Piers morgan having words again. Morgan told him to stop pretending to be a footballer.

Owen replied with this:

https://twitter.com/#!/themichaelowen/status/169901556936880131/photo/1

Two muppets carrying on with that Twitter childishness.

Blatter wrote: »
    Yeah, the 'decline' stuff always comes out when a nation has a bad season in the CL.

I still maintain England relatively have the highest amount of quality teams. United, City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams with big ambitions in the future. Few nations have that sort of array of top clubs.

Yep. Decline is an easier media sell than improvement. I think the gap between top and bottom is not as laughable in England as it is in Spain or Italy. Germany has a good spread but probably not as strong overall as England.

Germany are producing far better footballers throughout the Bundesliga however. Every club seems to have a gem in their midst.

Two muppets carrying on with that Twitter childishness.

Have they never heard of unfollow? The cynic in me thinks it's a mutually beneficial arrangement to drum up followers. It is tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

just watched these two vids again on youtube, thought I'd share it. made me smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

When it comes to jerseys lately I tend to end up buying a training kit instead. They always seem nicer and double as light five a side wear...

Trilla wrote: »

I haven't seen it for a while, so I forgot how special his debut goal was.
    What a cracker.

Thought I was watching Cantona there for a minute :D. The look on his face after he scored was priceless, it was like he thougth to himself....." Wow, who just scored that amazing goal?"..."Fúck it was actually me, woohoo."

One player that we should never have let go :(, he was like a Swiss Army knife player - he could adapt to nearly any role you gave him.

Regarding the O Shea situation, dont wanna go into too much detail on it, but I have been told by a member of his family that he was brought to Fergies office, was told that as is the clubs policy he wasnt going to be offered a long term deal as he is over 30, but as a reward for his loyalty to the club and his part in the achievements for the last few years, the club would look for the best deal for him rather then themselves.

This was Sunderland, he was going to be offered a 2 year deal by United, think he signed a 4 year one with Sunderland, got very good wages and a great signing bonus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

kryogen wrote: »
    Regarding the O Shea situation, dont wanna go into too much detail on it, but I have been told by a member of his family that he was brought to Fergies office, was told that as is the clubs policy he wasnt going to be offered a long term deal as he is over 30, but as a reward for his loyalty to the club and his part in the achievements for the last few years, the club would look for the best deal for him rather then themselves.

This was Sunderland, he was going to be offered a 2 year deal by United, think he signed a 4 year one with Sunderland, got very good wages and a great signing bonus.

Glad to hear that, JOS was a great player for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

just watched these two vids again on youtube, thought I'd share it. made me smile.

I knew Manucho's utd career was over when he was 5 yards from Super Danny and it was hit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

As an Arsenal fan this post depresses me. It wasnt that long ago that we were challenging yas for honours year in year out and this wouldnt even be discussed. Obviously Id never see us selling a player to Man Utd as I think City, Barcelona or Real Madrid would be more likely destinations, but it just goes to show that Man Utd probably dont see Arsenal as a threat anymore. :(

lordgoat wrote: »
    Glad to hear that, JOS was a great player for us.

Definitely, great servant, did a job anytime he was asked, great attitude, no moaning, team ahead of himself all the time. Players like him are needed when trying to compete in so many competitions, never a super star but always integral in the squad.

On top of that, he is a top bloke. Still so down to earth

Rooney and Welbeck have 21 goals in the 15 games they've started together

As an Arsenal fan this post depresses me. It wasnt that long ago that we were challenging yas for honours year in year out and this wouldnt even be discussed. Obviously Id never see us selling a player to Man Utd as I think City, Barcelona or Real Madrid would be more likely destinations, but it just goes to show that Man Utd probably dont see Arsenal as a threat anymore. :(

Unfortunately from your point of view mate, you arent a threat at the moment.

I think thats a shame as some of the best title battle United have had have been against Arsenal.

Rooney and Welbeck have 21 goals in the 15 games they've started together

Whats the break down on that?

Id assume Rooney has more with the penalties but would have thought it would be kinda close other than that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Is it wrong that Im genuinely excited about this Europa League tie? Gonna be weird to see them kick off at 6pm, I'll just be finished work!

Whats the break down on that?

Id assume Rooney has more with the penalties but would have thought it would be kinda close other than that??

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Football-News/2012/Feb/wayne-rooney-and-danny-welbeck-preview-europa-league.aspx

United's record in all competitions this season when Rooney and Welbeck have started together:

P W D L GF GA
    15 13 1 1 43 19

Rooney: 15 goals in 15 games
    Welbeck: 6 goals in 15 games

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Football-News/2012/Feb/wayne-rooney-and-danny-welbeck-preview-europa-league.aspx

United's record in all competitions this season when Rooney and Welbeck have started together:

P W D L GF GA
    15 13 1 1 43 19

Rooney: 15 goals in 15 games
    Welbeck: 6 goals in 15 games

Jesus! Genuinely surprised Rooney is that far ahead :) I cant put that down to the 3 or 4 penalties so :D

Good indication of why they are the first choice strike partnership of course

Unfortunately from your point of view mate, you arent a threat at the moment.

I think thats a shame as some of the best title battle United have had have been against Arsenal.

I have seen Arsenal and more to the point Wenger as a fading force. He seems so tired and aloof. He no longer seems to even notice players who are just phoning it on for him. I'll echo Kryogen in saying the Arsenal title tussles were epic from a United perspective.

Wenger doesn't even have the air of a man who wants to right a few wrongs. When you see Ferguson being pally with your manager you know your club is ****ed.

fúck it, I'll admit it

I enjoy seeing Arsenal getting hopped off.

I don't like Ray Parlours face.

Eddie McGoldrick, sound fella!

Henry, well you know.

Vieira, you know also.

My 70yr old Dad got a few "ould paddy fúck off" comments last season in OT....obviously not all Arsenal fans are like that but still :mad:. Was fuming that day. Nice one Ji for popping up with the winner.

oh and the new entry on the list thats driving twitter into a bigger pile of poo then it was already in, Mr Piers Morgan.

8-2..............................loved it.

fúck it, I'll admit it

I enjoy seeing Arsenal getting hopped off.

I don't like Ray Parlours face.

Eddie McGoldrick, sound fella!

Henry, well you know.

Vieira, you know also.

My 70yr old Dad got a few "ould paddy fúck off" comments last season in OT....obviously not all Arsenal fans are like that but still :mad:. Was fuming that day. Nice one Ji for popping up with the winner.

oh and the new entry on the list thats driving twitter into a bigger pile of poo then it was already in, Mr Piers Morgan.

8-2..............................loved it.
    A lot of my friends are Gunners and are all for the most part moderate and magnanimous, I used to enjoy the Arsenal United games with them. It was cordial despite the fierce rivalry on the field. Also loved the Keane - Viera dynamic. Dreamt of a midfield with those two side by side in it. I never had the blind ignorant obsessiveness of ********* with any of the Arsenal boys.

It's all subjective though, your father's experience would colour any opinion in fairness.

Very true. I had a small disliking for them up until that day. It multiplied rather quickly. My season tickets were right next to the away fans and in the games I went to last season that was the only one I witnessed that kind of crap.

You're spot on though, personal experiences can make up your opinion rather easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

I have seen Arsenal and more to the point Wenger as a fading force. He seems so tired and aloof. He no longer seems to even notice players who are just phoning it on for him. I'll echo Kryogen in saying the Arsenal title tussles were epic from a United perspective.

Wenger doesn't even have the air of a man who wants to right a few wrongs. When you see Ferguson being pally with your manager you know your club is ****ed.

Yeah you definitely have that right. Ferguson has even defended Wengers position in the recent past at interviews. No way in hell was that the case 8 years ago or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Is it wrong that Im genuinely excited about this Europa League tie? Gonna be weird to see them kick off at 6pm, I'll just be finished work!

I sure am, strong enough side tomorrow hopefully, especially since we've no games till next Thursday, get a decent lead for the home leg. Get Cleverly back in with 20-30 minutes. Might see Pogba get some time as well.

Looking forward to seeing Eriksen as well.

V. Ajax

de Gea
    Rafael
    Ferdinand
    Evans
    Fabio
    Valencia
    Carrick
    Cleverley
    Young
    Rooney

Hernandez

If Jones and Smalling are fit enough to start, I'd play them both at CB, Jones needs the experience there. Good opportunity to give Hernandez a start and Young + Cleverley more game time after injury. Bring Nani on for the last half an hour.

Looking forward to the game, Europa league is definitely better than no European football at all - I'd hate it if we didn't have any game this week!

Think Fergie has said Rio is captaining the side