Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught with 18 ounces of weed

• 24-12-2011 5:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 33

Ok i hope i have this in the right place. I have a bit of a dilemma. My 20 year old brother was caught the other night with 18 ounces of weed. He was suppose to hide it for someone but the gaurds caught him, he was walking down the road with it at 11 o clock at night. I know he doesnt deal drugs, but just smokes the stuff. Anyway he was brought into the garda station etc, Seemingly he is been brought to court for possesion and intent to sell. He has no other convictions and has never been in trouble with the gaurds before, Just a once off silly mistake, He was gonna be givin 200 euro to do the deed, and as he doesnt work at the mo i can understand why he would do it, it being xmas and all. I know what he did was wrong and stupid and its bringin a dark cloud over the family home now for the xmas. Does anyone out there know what he can expect to happen when he does eventually go to court over it. Bare in mind the clean rap sheet before this mistake, would much appreciate the replies.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

thats alot of smoke , fine to 3 months in the big house

• Registered Users Posts: 33 DaDeadly1

how much money is an ounce?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

DaDeadly1 wrote: »

an ounce is 250 odd quid.. so your talking the guts of 4 or 5 grands worth. Quite alot.

You need to explain to your brother dealing is a mugs game, alot of small time dealers get caught and its never worth the hassle.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

250 to 300 quid if sold in ounces. More if sold by the gram.

and will the garda value the same as the street value?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

you can imageine the gardai who have no idea on the cost of weed, if its normal crap quaility your talking 250-350 an oz, good good stuff up to 450. i reckon they will value it close to 10k and your brother unless very lucky and lawyered up will be looking at big problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

The Gardaí who busted him should be ashamed of themselves, Are you sure your brother wasn't set up ? It seems strange that he would get caught the only time he was attempting to hide it. TBH I'v seen people get lectures off judges over weed while heroin junkies get a slap on the wrist.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

charlemont wrote: »
    The Gardaí who busted him should be ashamed of themselves.

why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

18 oz that be a half a kilo,Most likely and stand to be corrected here, The guards will get it tested and if it has a high potency like blue cheese or amnesia the value could be put at 6/7 thousand and yes the guards value it at street value but all aspects of the person charged will be taken into consideration including family.his friends and whether he is only just a smoker and being used as the Guards hear that story everyday.The main thing for your brother is to have a good solicitor and to work with the courts and hopefully he will get a suspended sentence and probation etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The Gardaí who busted him should be ashamed of themselves,

why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... I know he doesnt deal drugs, ... He was gonna be givin 200 euro to do the deed, ...
    The bad news is that if he tells that story he will be admitting to dealing and will likely be for the high jump.

IME the Guards will always value seizures at the maximum street value in order to make their bosses "war on drugs" statistics look more impressive. 18 ounces in €20 deals is a bit number. The news is not good for your brother I'm afraid.

I find it hard to believe that he was caught in a random search. He was stopped either because they had "intelligence" or they had him under observation.

Jagle wrote: »
    you can imageine the gardai who have no idea on the cost of weed, if its normal crap quaility your talking 250-350 an oz, good good stuff up to 450. i reckon they will value it close to 10k and your brother unless very lucky and lawyered up will be looking at big problems

They value it at the highest cost, I was caught with a half ounce of Hash and they valued it at €80 whereas it only cost me €60. That's like dividing the half into 4 twenty spots. BTW I got ten days for it whereas a guy caught with child porn walked !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Good lawyer will see him walk with a slap on the hand....might have to pay off who ever he was minding it for, so keep that in mind....we all make mistakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

They value it at the highest cost, I was caught with a half ounce of Hash and they valued it at €80 whereas it only cost me €60. That's like dividing the half into 4 twenty spots. BTW I got ten days for it whereas a guy caught with child porn walked !!!

It#s generally valued at the price you would sell it on for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

You must have had previous if they gave you ten days imprisonment?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

realies wrote: »
    18 oz that be a half a kilo ...
    Near enough 35 and a bit ozs to the kilo. Half a key is a lot to be carrying around "casually", so to speak.

mathepac wrote: »
    The bad news is that if he tells that story he will be admitting to dealing and will likely be for the high jump.

IME the Guards will always value seizures at the maximum street value in order to make their bosses "war on drugs" statistics look more impressive. 18 ounces in €20 deals is a bit number. The news is not good for your brother I'm afraid.

I find it hard to believe that he was caught in a random search. He was stopped either because they had "intelligence" or they had him under observation.

That's exactly what probably happened so someone is getting away with another possibly serious crime by ratting your brother, That's how the game is played unfortunately.

ThePower11 wrote: »
    You must have had previous if they gave you ten days imprisonment?

Yes I have and it was the same judge who I appeared before for cannabis in his former court district, Judge Patwell ,I must be the only person who didn't hate him I think he was a fair man depending on what mood he was in although he needs to tune into the real world a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

sweet lord that's

510 grams

and the Garda more or less say 10 quid a gram for weed

equals 5k more or less or as the Garda put it "street value"

Get a good solicitor is all I can say

(feel sorry for your brother)

MagicSean wrote: »
    It#s generally valued at the price you would sell it on for.

Cool I get it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭badgerbaiter

this was a seriously stupid move on your brothers side. and for 200 is jus a further insult to his intelligence. whether or not he got set up is irrelevent as the end result is the same. i dont think your brother is telling you the ful story either. 18oz is what in around a half k? so most definately intent. there will be time. 18 months bt wil prob serve 12. and he wil be heavily pressured to stick in who he got it off.
    tbh i would have brought this up with a soliciter, not boards

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭clonadlad

Auvers wrote: »
    sweet lord that's

510 grams

and the Garda more or less say 10 quid a gram for weed

equals 5k more or less or as the Garda put it "street value"

Get a good solicitor is all I can say

(feel sorry for your brother)
    €10 a gram is a very low estimate. If it's serious stuff like amnesia haze, that can sell for €50 for 2 grams at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Two offences....Possession and intent to supply.For possession a fine of up to 1270 euros I think on first offence,.... Intent to sell/supply fine and possibly up to a year in jail,though a lesser sentence and/or fine is likely.His age,previous or lack of , how he behaves with Gardai will effect him too.
    The gardai have a way of valuing seized drugs...but for the life of me I can't remember it.
    Your brother needs proper legal advice and maybe register with Fas ETC, join something in the community ,do something constructive before he appears in court.

thanks for the comments guys, he will be getting in touch with a solicitor after the xmas and iv told him already to start doing constructive stuff soon and make a few charitable donations etc, the stress of it all at this time! ya live and learn i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

thanks for the comments guys, he will be getting in touch with a solicitor after the xmas and iv told him already to start doing constructive stuff soon and make a few charitable donations etc, the stress of it all at this time! ya live and learn i suppose

donations now is a waste of time, better to donate to the court poor on the day no?

and again your brother is gonna be done for supply. get the best help you can afford cos he will be fcuked later in life with a drug conviction if he ever wants to move (visa's america/aus)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Your brother has really no defence against a charge of supplying - really impossible to argue that quantity is for personal use , he is in the sh1t on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Tell him to book into a rehab clinic immediately and say he only got involved because he has a drug problem and he has to pay off a debt because evil drug dealers led him astray. He needs to try to paint himself as the victim.

When he goes to the judge on the big day he will have cleaned up his act and gotten his life back on track and be looking at going back to school/college etc etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

Yeah this thing absolutely won't just go away and I'd say this is a fair bit too big for a slap on the wrist. Like other posters have said, get him to sign up for some volunteering work as he'll have a bit of time before it goes to court and will work heavily in his favour. Also get a solicitor that you think will be good. Unfortunately this is very much the prison sentence end of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Yes I have and it was the same judge who I appeared before for cannabis in his former court district, Judge Patwell ,I must be the only person who didn't hate him I think he was a fair man depending on what mood he was in although he needs to tune into the real world a bit better.

Patwell is now retired, why did you not appeal. CC would not have given time.

OP tell you brother get good solicitor, be willing to appeal, if he is lucky and the guards go in DC. If on indictment make sure his barrister has good results in drugs area. If he does all the right things ie get regular urine tests, has done charity work in the past and continues to do so, has a job or good chances of getting a job he may get a good result.

I have seen probation of offenders for 3k of coke, but very rare.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

some good advice , and some crazy comments also. herb will be given value of 12 euro a gram. doesnt matter about quality. brother needs to book into rehab immediatley and actively seek work if unemployed. should avoid prison if a few pound is put together for charity, for court hearing date. Best of luck.

p.s. if brother is arrested again for same thing, he will get massive prison time.

hope this helps