Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad form and grunting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭GASMANN

POWERCLEANS
    x5's - 40,50,60
    x3's - 65,70,75
    x2's - 80,85
    x1's - 87,89,91 FAIL
    x2's - 85,85
    x3's - 80
    x5's - 60

SNATCHES
    x5 - bar
    x3 - 40,45,50-1 p.s
    x2 - 55 f+f, 50,50,50

DIPS + 15KG 5X5

PURPLEPULLUPS 5X5

that was an enjoyable afternoon. now time for more brocolli and mayonaise.

i changed the running order today because i wanted to get the volume stuff done, i wasnt sure what id be like energy wise.

BENCHPRESS 70KG 10X10 S/S BARBELL ROW 60KG 10X10 60sec rec
    full house on both, mucho happy.

CLEANS
    w/u - 40x3, 50x3, 60x2, 70x2, 75x2

80kg x 2
    80kg x 2 - fell over on the 2nd.
    80kg x 2
    83kg x 2
    85kg x 2
    i know these arent massive numbers but it was my best day in a little while, it felt consistent and that i had a bit more in the tank too.

DIPS +15KG 5X5
    failure , dropped back to body weight and got 3.

PURPLEPULLUPS 5X5
    got the first 5 and 3 on the second

i got a couple of good pointers on the keto thing from the lads in ironside too.

SQUATS SQUATS SQUATS 120KG 10X10 60SEC REC
    100/100
    these were hardish, but its time to move up to either 125kg or 130kg.

DEADLIFTS 150KG 6X3 60SEC REC
    these were ok, i felt a bit tired in the last couple of sets. il probably do a bit of a switcheroo with either the amonut of sets/reps and the weight next week.

keto's going well, i dislike everyone and everything

recharge day

warmup, powerleans 40kg 3s of 5

CLEANS
    x3's 60,70,75
    x2's 80,83,85,85 90fail, 88no, 85
    lost a couple to sweaty hands, hygiene lol.

FRONT SQUATS x3's
    140 - dropped it, felt a little pinch in my knee. + didnt want to unload, rerack and reload.

DIPS +10kg 5x5
    all ok

PURPLEPULLUPS 5x5
    improving, id say im a week off coming off band assistance. this is good.

HANGING KNEE RAISES 3x8

late training today, so i had to keep it brief.

OH PRESS 45KG 10X10 S/S INV. ROW 10X10 60sec rec
    press : 94/100 - push pressed the last, last2 + last3 reps on the last 3 sets, so i done 100reps but only 94 strict.
    row : 100/100

iv 2weeks left on this so im going push this a bit harder to the the finish

ATTEMPT AT BW PULLUPS
    2,2,3,2 - excuse of the week time, the knurling on the rack i was using was very pointy on my hands*

PURPLEBAND X3
    GREENBAND X3

*did i actually say that

i was testing front squats with one of the lads today so skipped the volume front squats.

BENCH 75kg 10x10 60sec rec
    10,10,10,10,10,9,8,7,8,6 total 88/100, meh

CLEANS + F.SQUAT

so 1 clean follwed by 3 f.squat
    50, 50, 60, 70, 80, 85, 85

FRONT SQUATS
    90 x 3
    100 x 2
    110 x 2
    120 - all singles from here.
    145 +1kg pb
    150 fail
    148 +4kg pb
    150 fail
    150 +6kg pb

best gym day in ages. i want 155 baaadly now, the weight is actually comfortable but i need to improve the bottom of my squat badly, my form is fairly spot and im going full atg, but what im doing is stopping at the bottom so its a dead start to get up again, i need to get springy.

bruteforce+ignorance ftw.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Boom!

Get in there - well done

i woke up this morning and just wanted to lift some heavy stuff, iv been working at 60-70% for a few weeks and yesterday gave me a bit of a taste.
    blah blah blah squating 2 days in a row, blah blah recovery. i wanted to squat heavy so....

BACK SQUATS
    bar x 30
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    160kg x 1
    170kg x 1
    180kg x 1
    187kg - fail, would have have been a +2kg pb
    187kg - fail
    160kg x 1
    100kg 1/4 squats x 20
    60kg 1/4 squats x 30
    bar full squats 3 x 10

again iv no spring at the bottom of the squat, but tbh honest i didnt really want it, i was a bit disapointed,with the effort. i was to casual. i phucking hate realising that a few hours later, it feels like a wasted effort.

no plan from here, just d1cking around. which is another waste of time.

PUSH JERKS - these mightnt be an actual thing
    bar x 10
    40 x 6
    60 x 5
    70 x 5
    70 x 5

INVERTED ROW HANGING FROM A TOWEL JUST BECAUSE.
    2 x 10

VERTICAL ROW WITH A TOWEL
    2 x 20

PURPLE PULL UPS
    5, 5, 4, 5, 4

DIPS BW
    5, 5, 5, 10

the good news is 3 fillet steaks topped with 3 fried eggs topped with cheese for nomnoms.

and peanut butter for yummy's after.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

You maxed out in the front squat yesterday......You don't think that might have had something to do with your performance maxing out on the back squat today?

d'Oracle wrote: »
    You maxed out in the front squat yesterday......You don't think that might have had something to do with your performance maxing out on the back squat today?

im sure it played a part, but i just wanted to see how far i could go, i felt loose so i pushed on a bit, another day i might have pulled up a bit earlier and done a 5x5 or something, saturday's are my off programme days so i like to just do what feels good. today i wanted to squat so squats away.

as for that "thinking" lark, its over rated.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

If I had heros, you would be one.

and if i had a bag of mickey's i wouldnt give you one

8km this morning in about 50 min i think, planned on doing 30min but i put a load of new music on the ipod last night so kept going. it wasnt to fast but i felt like i was working.
    emelie sande, beyonce, sugarbabes - its like running juice

i just wasnt in the humour today, felt a bit tired and blah blah blah.

BENCH 75KG 10X10 S/S BARBELL ROW 70KG 10X10, 60 SEC. REC.
    bench 99/100
    row 100/100

probably the most agonising rep of my life to date, the last rep on the last set, i had it about half way back up but just couldnt move it to lockout. phuckin great battle though, id say i was in that position a good 3-4 mins trying to lock it out, although anybody else present would say a good 30 seconds. mentally it was a killer iv been stuck around 87/88 reps @ 75kg for a couple of weeks and thats without supersetting it. boo.

the row is up 5kg today too, meh.

CLEANS
    loads, until they got moderatly heavy then none.

SNATCHES
    see cleans.

POWERSNAT.....AH PHUCK IT IM GOING HOME.

intended 10x10 @ 130kg but i couldnt, done a good warm up and felt ok but when i got to some weight i was just ****ed, yesterday was the same. so i done a short b.w session which was made shorter by a call back to the office.

DIPS 5x10 @bw

PURPLEPULLUPS 5x5

work

bit of a false stert to the week but i think im back on it now, i was going to try 10x10 back squats again but decided to leave it and just move on. also had some front squats planned with one of the gym people.

CLEAN+JERK
    havent jerked in a while, i just wanted to see how my shoulder was.
    40x3
    50x3
    55x3
    60x3
    60x3
    65x3 - bit of an owy so stopped jerking here.

CLEANS
    60x3
    65x3
    70x3
    75x3
    80x2
    80x1

FRONT SQUATS
    60x5
    70x5
    80x5
    90x5
    80x3
    80x3
    85x3
    85x3
    85x3
    85x3
    100x3
    105x3
    110x3
    115x3
    120x3
    125x2
    130x1

lots of squats, head now feels cleared and the bit of demotivation from mon + tue is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

How is the Keto goin?

its going ok, i was down 2kg i the first 7/8 days, im on day 12 now. food wise its grand too. iv been a bit sluggish this week which im putting down to it, intermittent headaches and all that craic. the big thing that iv noticed though is i usaully feel recoveredish in about 24hrs from a hard session but not now, thats annoying.
    iv done not much conditioning work, but that was to make sure my main workouts didnt suffer.
    i havent reached the point of wanting to give up just yet so il keep on it, i hope untill this day next week.
    its all in the head really.

OH PRESS 45KG 10X10 S/S INV. ROW 10X10
    press 100/100
    row 100/100
    about time i managed to finish these, i can move to 50kg.

PURPLEPULLUPS 5X5 S/S CLOSE GRIP PRESS UP 5X10 on the knuckles cos im haaard.

BW DIPS

that was a good session and done in about an hour. called to work walking out the door too, i beat the system for once.

i think there's a difference between being tired and being tired + not wanting to train. im finding it tough going this week recovery wise but today i just wanted to do a bit so i tailored the session to suit.

BENCH 10X10
    i didnt feel able for a full 10x10 or even a moderatly heavy 5x5 so i decided to try building up the weight as i went along. likeadis ...
    60kg
    65kg
    70kg
    75kg

SNATCHES
    40 x 3
    40 x 3
    45 x 3
    45 x 3
    POWERSNATCHES
    50 x 3
    55 x 3
    60 x 3
    65 x 3
    ^this all took about 45min, itensity loss.

FRONT SQUATS
    80 x 5
    100 x 5
    110 x 5
    120 x 3
    120 x 3
    120 x 3
    130 x 2
    130 x 2
    130 x 2
    was meant to go on to 140kg for 3 singles, but missed the rack reloading the last 130 and made a kaboomocrashabanga. so i put everything away and pretened like nothing happened.

and just to clarify, i am not in my mid thirties. you know who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

*40s

bitch please, i aint no cougar

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Paudee wrote: »
    *40s

Major LOL

Slow 5km this morning.

Bw is now 103kg

POWER CLEANS
    x5's - 40,45,50,55,60
    x3's - 70,70,75
    x2's - 80,80

DIPS 5x10

PURPLEPULLUPS 5x5

went for a surf lesson today for the fist time, phuckin great craic.

www.brittasbaysurfschool.com

i wanted to test max on the bench to see what my strenght levels were like after the gvt and from the effects of the keto, i wasnt happy with the results.

bar x 20
    40 x 10
    60 x 10
    80 x 10
    90 x 5
    100 x 3
    105 x 2
    110 x f
    80 x 5
    60 x 10
    60 x 10

my b.p is weakish in general but i thought i was going to finish today around 115. disapoint.

PURPLEPULLUPS 5x5

DIPS 5x10

in truth i didnt really have a plan going into the gym today and had a **** + messy session.

decided to do something a bit different, max rep back squats. i wasnt sure what weight to go at, was thinking bodyweight but decided to to stick with what i finished the v.t on and see how id fare out.
    barx20
    60x10
    80x8
    100x8
    120x22 rep pb i suppose.
    120x20 - i wanted to beat 22 bad but just wasnt happening.
    100x10
    80x10
    60x10

OH PRESS
    barx10
    30x8
    40x5
    45x5
    50x5
    55x3
    60x3
    65x2
    70x1 struggle
    60x5
    50x10

life is good, was meant to start a new pure w.l programme last week but got sick the week before so iv been told by the programme man there's no programme for a few weeks until my flesh eating virus has ****ed off.
    in the mean time it will be all fitness + conditioningish + makeitupasyougoalong type stuff.

sat 4 aug
    am - jog, sloooow 30min

pm - s/s x 5 sets

5 x chins
    10 x dips
    10 x inv. rows
    10 x close press ups

5km bike for time x 2
    11:36 lol
    10:11

today 4 aug
    am - jog, not fast 40min