Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do when jehovah witnesses call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Had two JW's call to my Cheateau in Balbriggan on Chrimbo Day no less, politely declined copies of The Watchtower and Awake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

I usually take up a few hours of their time, as it's rare I get a chance to debate religion real-time, rather than on the web. Sometimes if they are making moves to leave, I'll throw out a line to real them back in. I don't let them read from a book as they should allready know their stuff, & I don't have a reference book.

One encounter, I told them 'I really respected their dedication to their faith, giving up their free time for their faith, unlike part-time catholics' but the answer I got suprised me, one of them said almost resentfully 'we have to do it'. That pretty much was the end of the religion talk so we chatted about a few other normal things like the weather, growing veg etc.

Best advice is completly change the subject off religion, say ''you've a good day to be out and about'' a rant about something, the new house-tax, neighbours-cat, etc and never take thier pamphlets, tell them you'll feel guilty for the environment by chucking it in the fire/bin.
    I would never be rude to them.

But lately I do kind of feel left out, that the JW's I've met, don't call back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

next time they come to my house im gonna answer the door with a meat cleaver and yell back with a redneck accent "hey Ma we got here some gud eatin' tonight!" then lick my lips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Tomk1 wrote: »
    I usually take up a few hours of their time, as it's rare I get a chance to debate religion real-time, rather than on the web. Sometimes if they are making moves to leave, I'll throw out a line to real them back in. I don't let them read from a book as they should allready know their stuff, & I don't have a reference book.

One encounter, I told them 'I really respected their dedication to their faith, giving up their free time for their faith, unlike part-time catholics' but the answer I got suprised me, one of them said almost resentfully 'we have to do it'. That pretty much was the end of the religion talk so we chatted about a few other normal things like the weather, growing veg etc.

Best advice is completly change the subject off religion, say ''you've a good day to be out and about'' a rant about something, the new house-tax, neighbours-cat, etc and never take thier pamphlets, tell them you'll feel guilty for the environment by chucking it in the fire/bin.
    I would never be rude to them.

But lately I do kind of feel left out, that the JW's I've met, don't call back.

its cos you didnt put out on the first date ya frigid ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

My Grandfather passed away over 10 years ago. He was a bit moody and also had a sharp wit.

One of his sons, my father's brother, is a Born again Christian.

My Grandfather was sitting at home one day minding his own business when there was a knock on the door. They were Born again Christians trying to sell books to him.

He asked them what they were - after getting the reply, his answer was :

"I have a son in the same predicament."

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Pretty Polly

A simple..sorry, not interested does the trick. I don't find that the Jehovah witnesses are pushy at all..unlike some groups i could mention :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

I always tell them I'm a Mormon. (I actually am a Mormon) and I sympathise with them about how hard going door to door is (I was a Mormon missionary in my youth). Then I tell them I won't waste their time but they can come in for a cuppa if they want.
    They never do and they seem to black list our house because no one will call then for a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Oddly enough I know someone who lives across the street from a Kingdom hall and never gets bothered by them. :confused:

Do they have a "dont p*** off the neighbours" policy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Option 1 :
    Masturbate.

Option 2 :
    Ask them why you should join when they believe only 144000 people are going to heaven, and those 144000 have already been chosen?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

A Jehovah seen me coming out my house came over to me and I said I wasn't interested. When I walked away she went to my house and said to my mother that she was one of my teachers! Got some shock when I arrived back to "oh your teacher called to the house" :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I normally chat away to anyone that knocks on the door. Feck it, tis new people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

"If god was all powerful and all mighty he wouldnt be sending youz over to pass on messages"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Old joke alert:

What's the difference between Lada and a Jehovah witness?

You can close the door on a Jehovah witness! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I've never had them call around, it would depend on how busy I am.

Generally, I imagine I would speak with them since I find religious belief interesting.

Just because I don't believe in God myself doesn't mean I'm going to want to deride or mock them for believing, that would be quite a distasteful level of self-congratulations.

The amount of people who seem more interested in mocking and insulting religion (as opposed to rationally engaging the believer) - or even talking about something else - is disappointing.

I knew a Jehova's witness in school; lovely girl, very quiet, very bright, and if she hadn't mentioned her religion I'd never have guessed. We had lots of other things to discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

If you take a copy of the watchtower, they will be back, they take that as a sign you can be saved.

I just tell them I am a blood donor and they feck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

Not ever since I put up my 'No Jehovah Witnesses' sign right beside my 'No Junk Mail' one. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Nodster wrote: »
    Had two JW's call to my Cheateau in Balbriggan on Chrimbo Day no less, politely declined copies of The Watchtower and Awake

JW's don't do Christmas - it's a big no-no to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,707 ✭✭✭flutered

since the day that i told them that i was too near the other side to be making any enemys, they have never returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭dingdong1234567

Point behind them and shout....' there's Jesus, quick look busy!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Never had JW call just Mormons, I like Mormons.

Okay when I was 15 I was cheeky to them Ugh I don't believe in God, prove it blah blah blah.

They called to my flat (which was inside a private property crafty yokes) when I was 18 ish and I had a great chat to them about how I knew a couple of the missionaries from Mullingar and had a grand aul laugh oh what a coincidence then they asked if they could talk about God I said I had to go they thought I was lying but for the first time in history I actually had to go somewhere.

But I would never have that chat I just feel like I would be wasting their time and mine not into organised religion and I've heard all about Jesus thank jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

danniemcq wrote: »
    isn't that your usual reaction? even with the postman or trick or treaters?

Yeah... Especially with the trick or treaters.. Boy do I like to treat them ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

My mam used to listen to them give their spiel and take their leaflets, but eventually got sick of them constantly calling, so after a few years we used to just hide until they went away. One day she paid me to answer the door to them and say we weren't interested. They haven't been back since. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,387 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Owen wrote: »

Option 2 :
    Ask them why you should join when they believe only 144000 people are going to heaven, and those 144000 have already been chosen?

Because the rest of them are going to live forever on a paradise earth.

You don't think they'd be doing what they do if there was nothing in it for them, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Tell 'em your gay. I cut short two that pitched up at my front door with the revelation that they were preaching to the unconvertible. Mind, that didn't stop them from trying to undo 20 odd years spent watching Eurovision and scanning Match of the Day for clips of Freddie Ljunberg with a five minute speed 'talk'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

They are humans before they are jehovah witnesses. I'd have a chat and politely tell them i was not interested in organised religion.

I completely agree with you and that, as people, they deserve respect. However, I find their practice of coming to your front door unsolicited, interrupting whatever you're doing and assuming that you're interested in listening to them quite invasive and disrespectful, actually. I'm all for extending someone common courtesy but when they withhold that from you then it's a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I remember a couple of years ago they called to my home house. My grandmother had just passed away the day before. Anyways, they rang the door bell and my brother went to answer it.
    When he opened the door he had no idea that they were Jehovah's witnesses, he asked them did they want to speak to my mother. They said yes and naturally he just presumed that they were friends of my Mothers and were there to sympathise. Anyways before they could say anything else, he insisted that they come in. He called my mother to come and say hello to her friends. Talk about an awkward situation to put them into. Myself and my Dad were sitting in the living room, he knew what was going on because he had seen them call before, at least it gave us a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

charlemont wrote: »
    I don't buy into what they preach but I do recognise they are good people, Their heart is in the right place.

If you were one of them and you had a child dying for want of a blood transfusion you might not think their hearts were in the right place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Jimmy444 wrote: »
    If you were one of them and you had a child dying for want of a blood transfusion you might not think their hearts were in the right place.

Hmm I see your point, It happened in Clonmel years ago when a women (Also a J.W.) crashed into a wall, Said wall hit a J.W. child and he ended up in Waterford Regional Hospital so the Gardaí took custody of the child and he got his transfusion in the end..

But you could also use the same logic to say how would you think Catholics have their heart in the right place when their priest is abusing their children. Yea Thats a bit far fetched though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

charlemont wrote: »
    Hmm I see your point, It happened in Clonmel years ago when a women (Also a J.W.) crashed into a wall, Said wall hit a J.W. child and he ended up in Waterford Regional Hospital so the Gardaí took custody of the child and he got his transfusion in the end..

But you could also use the same logic to say how would you think Catholics have their heart in the right place when their priest is abusing their children. Yea Thats a bit far fetched though.

I think that would only be a fair comparison if a Catholic knew that a priest was abusing their children. I do think most Witnesses are sincere and have their hearts in the right place, and while I'd disagree with a lot of what they believe I'd defend their right to believe and practise their faith. This would also go for the ridiculous teaching regarding blood transfusions, but I draw the line at accepting they have the right to refuse a transfusion on behalf of their children - thankfully the courts normally step in when that situation arises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,492 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I put my shoes on, escort them back to the porter's lodge and inquire why he allowed them entry. One of the few advantages of living in an enclosed development with blocks of flats is that I don't generally have to deal with door to door salespeople (whether selling religion or anything else). Before I get accused of being elitist, my door is generally open to any neighbour which is why I don't Like randomers having access.

Now if I could only block the people ringing from the Technical Computer Dept, I'd be in clover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,492 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I remember a couple of years ago they called to my home house. My grandmother had just passed away the day before. Anyways, they rang the door bell and my brother went to answer it.
    When he opened the door he had no idea that they were Jehovah's witnesses, he asked them did they want to speak to my mother. They said yes and naturally he just presumed that they were friends of my Mothers and were there to sympathise. Anyways before they could say anything else, he insisted that they come in. He called my mother to come and say hello to her friends. Talk about an awkward situation to put them into. Myself and my Dad were sitting in the living room, he knew what was going on because he had seen them call before, at least it gave us a laugh.

Nearly 30 years ago I was brought to a local house (Connemara at the time) to pay respects to a just deceased friend of my recently deceased grandfather. It was Stephen's Day and the man (formerly a colonel in the Gurkhas) had been laid out by his wife in bed. The doorbell rang and the widow brought in two local children with a dreoilin (wren) in a jar. When they saw the corpse they made their excuses and left.

The widow (an Englishwoman newly arrived to Ireland) was unfamiliar with the history of wren day and just thought the two kids of about 10 had come to pay their respects!