Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Social Welfare reporting figues are 16,000 this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

gerryo777 wrote: »
    We had a choice ok but we chose and indeed still choose to roll over and be good little germans.
    Somebody needs to stand up for this country soon and dobbing in your neighour
    because you think they're getting a few more quid a week than their entitled to is not going to get this country back on its feet.
    If people here feel that they know someone's else's buisness why don't they say it to their faces and not send anonymous emails to the social.
    BTW I'm not a sinn fein supporter and I'm self-employed.

So you don't seem to have a problem with welfare fraud. But you attack legitimate pay of working public servants at every turn. Interesting.

Its great when some of the anti PS people expose themselves like that on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What punishment can be inflicted on a SW fraudster apart from making them pay back the money.
    We had politicians claiming travelling expenses etc for living down the country when they were living round the corner from the Dail. What happened to them?
    Nothing much, I think they might? have paid back the money obtained by their fraud but nothing else.
    We can't make fish of one and flesh of another. Like with like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

What punishment can be inflicted on a SW fraudster apart from making them pay back the money.
    We had politicians claiming travelling expenses etc for living down the country when they were living round the corner from the Dail. What happened to them?
    Nothing much, I think they might? have paid back the money obtained by their fraud but nothing else.

I don't agree, yes politicians should be made pay back fraudulent as everyone else. But compared, politicians fraudulent is a pittance in the scheme of things, but you could make potential saving of billions catching fraudulent welfare claims, so go for them. Also it will act as a deterrent for any who would make a fraudulent claim in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

44leto wrote: »
    I don't agree, yes politicians should be made pay back fraudulent as everyone else. But compared, politicians fraudulent is a pittance in the scheme of things, but you could make potential saving of billions catching fraudulent welfare claims, so go for them. Also it will act as a deterrent for any who would make a fraudulent claim in the future.

Don't get me wrong as I am against any kind of fraud. BUT why treat fraudsters differently. A fraudulent politician and a fraudulent citizen should be treated the same. In fact I would expect more of the politician so would make an example of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Domo230 wrote: »
    Thanks, I sent off CV's to them but never heard back.

I have a job currently but it's good to hear cause you never know when you will have to go back searching.

Plenty of jobs in Supermacs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Meh, I know of a few local women who mind kids to top up their dole.
    I'd never dob them in.
    It means that they can meet their mortgage payment & the other family can avail of affordable childcare.
    Win/win I say, pedants need not reply, thanks.

It is also quite possible that as a result of their cheaper childcare that the parents involved are able to go out to work and earn their honest living without having to pay their salary to some over regulated politically correct greedy "official" creche who is only paying its childminders minimum wage anyway.

As a result of one persons dole several mothers might be in employment where they otherwise would be on the dole themselves, mortgages are getting paid and people are doing the right thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

it wouldn't be necessary if the SW system was efficient and thorough in how it functions.
    Efficient and thorough? They haven't bothered answering the phone to the public in several years, last I heard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

So what are they to do to reduce the deficit, are those people you posted about in 2011 who can't afford their lifestyle in this economy to pay even higher taxes to support the current levels of welfare fraud.

I say get the cheating bastards and I said that when the economy was good.

I agree and I disagree, yes we should get the cheaters but why cut off the hand of a man who steals a loaf of bread while giving the likes of Bertie Ahern, Sean Fitzpatrick, Sean Gallagher, Fingers and every member of Fianna Fail a good old pat on the back and a wage increase while we are at it. It is these people that are the cheats of society and not the misfortunes who have to depend on the government and draw dole to feed their families.

The amount of welfare fraud is a tiny in comparison to what is done to this country by the above traitors, clamping down welfare fraud is akin to trying to stop the Titanic sinking by bailing out the water with a teaspoon.

We need to stop paying ridiculous money to banks, seize billions from the super wealthy who have stolen from the nation, tell the EU/IMF to get stuffed or we default and collapse their pyramid scheme, cut the civil sector wages and numbers, there is no need for anyone in any job to earn more than €30-€50k a year, slash and burn the high earners and the civil service should be about delivering value for money and also have a social aspect where people can have a good ok paying job and if they mind it they will be ok, crush the unions and their constant demands which have turned the public and civil sector into a massive leech on government.

A job for life in the public sector is worth at least 30% of salary for security. Slash and burn them whilst giving them to choice to put up or shut up, faced with a 25% paycut or involuntary redundancy the majority of high paid public sector workers would agree to it. If you want to earn lots of money then working for the state should not be for you, however if you want job security and average wages then by all means work away.

We have this situation where the wealthiest workers in Ireland come from the overbloated public sector, and the private drones on very low wages are totally crippled to pay the public sector bill and then you have half a million on the bread line living in practical poverty with no stepping stone up.

I am not a socialist or a neo-conservative but I know right from wrong and to create more equitable society there is many things that need to change. It sickens me that people on €50K+ plus would rather crucify the poor fecker on €100/week dole to preserve his own bacon rather than drop a few grand a year and create more work positive opportunities for the economy.

Second only to the mass theft of public monies by Fianna Fail was the Croke Park agreement which was a huge disgrace and attempt by FF to buy out the public workers incase they'd rebel, a pension levy or two later and they roasted FF anyway in the election. I hope this government takes the unpopular choices, burn those that should be burnt and think about the future and not the next election date which has seen nobody think beyond the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I reckon that the figures released are bull ****. It's an effective way of making people thinking they're about to be caught and that's fine with me. Don't believe them for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Agricola wrote: »
    Exactly. No one really gave a shít about welfare fraud back in the good old days of 5 years ago. We were all too busy building houses, booking our third foreign holiday of the year and ordering our SUV.
    "Sure there loadsa a money around anyway isnt there? What difference if a few people cheat the system, the main thing is Im doing ok and I don't really care"

Skip forward to 2011 and suddenly all these people who can't afford their mortgage repayments, their holidays and their new SUV have become good upstanding citizens and want to root out welfare fraud!
    Begrudgery is alive and well. It never went away.

When Unemployment has nearly quadrupled, reports will go up.

Doing a little welfare fraud in 2005 was fine, sure we could afford it, we're rich. What harm is it doing?

Now when Tax Revenue doesn't even cover 50% of the Welfare bill, people are a tad concerned.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The problem is that politicians make the rules to suit themselves.

I would guess that the rule book for social welfare doesn't include the farcical "interpret-able" Callely "principal place of residence" when determining whether a "single parent" is living with their partner.

But both are fraud. And both should not only be fined and jailed, but both should be made pay back every cent fraudulently claimed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

And now how about bringing those fraudulent Bankers to justice? After all, these are the scum whose behaviour lengthened our dole queues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

I originally was happy to read the report and see that alot more fraud is being caught. However, the further posts in this thread do highlight that its more than likely a form of begrudgery.

One post asked when is it begrudgery ending and doing the right thing starting?

Well i think the answer to that is when doing the right thing was the thing done when your own circumstances dont affect that.
    If people werent reporting the same fraud in 2006, then doing it now when they're own finances are strapped is just begrudging.

I hope fraud does end, even if it comes from begrudging reporting, but I dont believe for a minute that 15,500 more reporters have now developed a better conscience. Irish people tend to act more in a selfish blaming way. The last few years have given us great practice at this, from corrupt expenses, Public sector works, berties 5,000 package, we're just fantastic at missing the big picture and directing our anger towards some unlucky victim of the goverments agenda. Its a great tactic, use the populaces anger to target changes the goverment or media wants. We are blind fools, but we're good at it.

We'll ignore the massive lies and mismanagment we deal with everyday, just give us someone to point the finger at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

They should offer an anonymous reward of say 500 to those that report someone who was later proven to be a fraudster.

You could do it for a living then ..! And probably still get the dole, someone would probably report you though... The circle of life ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

theTinker wrote: »
    I originally was happy to read the report and see that alot more fraud is being caught. However, the further posts in this thread do highlight that its more than likely a form of begrudgery.

One post asked when is it begrudgery ending and doing the right thing starting?

Well i think the answer to that is when doing the right thing was the thing done when your own circumstances dont affect that.
    If people werent reporting the same fraud in 2006, then doing it now when they're own finances are strapped is just begrudging.

I hope fraud does end, even if it comes from begrudging reporting, but I dont believe for a minute that 15,500 more reporters have now developed a better conscience. Irish people tend to act more in a selfish blaming way. The last few years have given us great practice at this, from corrupt expenses, Public sector works, berties 5,000 package, we're just fantastic at missing the big picture and directing our anger towards some unlucky victim of the goverments agenda. Its a great tactic, use the populaces anger to target changes the goverment or media wants. We are blind fools, but we're good at it.

We'll ignore the massive lies and mismanagment we deal with everyday, just give us someone to point the finger at.
    Thats not begrudgery. In 2006 nobody cared enough to report because this country was loaded. It was doing no harm. It is now doing serious harm as we are over spending by billions every year (NOT including anything to do with the banks). People tend to be more annoyed with fraud when it is having an affect. Thats not begrudgery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Plenty of jobs in Mcdonalds.

Not sure there are. When Burger King opened up in Galway, they had open interviews in the Radisson Hotel and 1500 people queued up outside to get a job. The HR person said that most of them had degrees or some other sort of qualification.

So I doubt there are many jobs in McDonalds today.

Even if there are, the gap between what one could earn there and what one can get on the dole is too narrow. The dole is too high while people on low incomes should pay lower PRSI, lower tax etc to make working an attractive proposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

kraggy wrote: »
    Not sure there are. When Burger King opened up in Galway, they had open interviews in the Radisson Hotel and 1500 people queued up outside to get a job. The HR person said that most of them had degrees or some other sort of qualification.

Even if there are, the gap between what one could earn there and what one can get on the dole is too narrow. The dole is too high while people on low incomes should pay lower PRSI, lower tax etc to make working an attractive proposition.

Heard recently a McDonalds outlet was looking for staff. But I wouldnt be suprised to hear if they were met with sheer volume of appilicants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Fair play, about time . Hopefully that figure keeps rising till all the scumbags have been delt with

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Heard recently a McDonalds outlet was looking for staff. But I wouldnt be suprised to hear if they were met with sheer volume of appilicants.
    Fair play, about time . Hopefully that figure keeps rising till all the scumbags have been delt with

really, thats a scary though that people with degrees are desperate for jobs in Mcdonalds, I didn't know it was that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

There is another thread here in AH i was just reading where some goon has stated that he would not work in a hotel and would rather the €188 pw dole..HE/SHE is what is wrong with this country. Lots of people out there applying for jobs but then you have losers like this person that would turn their ignorant Irish nose up a at min wage job. Thankfully im working at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Domo230 wrote: »
    My CV got turned down by every McDonald's in Dublin.

Did any of them say why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

woodoo wrote: »
    So you don't seem to have a problem with welfare fraud. But you attack legitimate pay of working public servants at every turn. Interesting.

Its great when some of the anti PS people expose themselves like that on here.

And I make no bones about it. Most of the people I know employed by the PS wouldn't last a week in the private sector.
    Over double the average days off 'sick' per year, paid on average 30% more than the same position in the private sector, pretty much unsackable and unaccountable to anyone. Super pensions at the end of their career directly linked to their last P60.
    For the amount of work done they may as well be welfare cheats!!

Stinicker wrote: »
    I agree and I disagree, yes we should get the cheaters but why cut off the hand of a man who steals a loaf of bread while giving the likes of Bertie Ahern, Sean Fitzpatrick, Sean Gallagher, Fingers and every member of Fianna Fail a good old pat on the back and a wage increase while we are at it. It is these people that are the cheats of society and not the misfortunes who have to depend on the government and draw dole to feed their families.

The amount of welfare fraud is a tiny in comparison to what is done to this country by the above traitors, clamping down welfare fraud is akin to trying to stop the Titanic sinking by bailing out the water with a teaspoon.

We need to stop paying ridiculous money to banks, seize billions from the super wealthy who have stolen from the nation, tell the EU/IMF to get stuffed or we default and collapse their pyramid scheme, cut the civil sector wages and numbers, there is no need for anyone in any job to earn more than €30-€50k a year, slash and burn the high earners and the civil service should be about delivering value for money and also have a social aspect where people can have a good ok paying job and if they mind it they will be ok, crush the unions and their constant demands which have turned the public and civil sector into a massive leech on government.

A job for life in the public sector is worth at least 30% of salary for security. Slash and burn them whilst giving them to choice to put up or shut up, faced with a 25% paycut or involuntary redundancy the majority of high paid public sector workers would agree to it. If you want to earn lots of money then working for the state should not be for you, however if you want job security and average wages then by all means work away.

We have this situation where the wealthiest workers in Ireland come from the overbloated public sector, and the private drones on very low wages are totally crippled to pay the public sector bill and then you have half a million on the bread line living in practical poverty with no stepping stone up.

I am not a socialist or a neo-conservative but I know right from wrong and to create more equitable society there is many things that need to change. It sickens me that people on €50K+ plus would rather crucify the poor fecker on €100/week dole to preserve his own bacon rather than drop a few grand a year and create more work positive opportunities for the economy.

Second only to the mass theft of public monies by Fianna Fail was the Croke Park agreement which was a huge disgrace and attempt by FF to buy out the public workers incase they'd rebel, a pension levy or two later and they roasted FF anyway in the election. I hope this government takes the unpopular choices, burn those that should be burnt and think about the future and not the next election date which has seen nobody think beyond the next election.
    Well said that man, nail on the head comes to mind. Great post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

gerryo777 wrote: »
    Well said that man, nail on the head comes to mind. Great post!
    But isnt clamping down on welfare fraud necessary, if for no other reason than to let the average tax contributer to see that they arent being taken advantage of by these people, isnt that a little moral boost to these people .

Dont get me wrong theres plently of people at the top who need to be dealt with but it would hit home much quicker if the fraud squad was checking people in their own locality more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Broads.ie

Why has it taken this long for the government to get tough on fraud? They are literally admitting that they couldn't be arsed in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Shane L

Went for part time work in McDonald's a couple of months back.I was the last of person to be interviewed after several weeks of interviewing and the interviewer told me before he left "10s and 10s and tens of people" so I'd guess he had gotten through around a 100 or more people.Ridiculous when you start thinking about it its only general maintenance and cleaning.Unfortunately I didn't make the cut:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

And now how about bringing those fraudulent Bankers to justice? After all, these are the scum whose behaviour lengthened our dole queues.

Of course. But we can't use the "Seanie and Co. committed fraud and they haven't being jailed yet" as an excuse to let everyone else commit fraud.

We need to send a clear message that fraud is not OK.

But isnt clamping down on welfare fraud necessary, if for no other reason than to let the average tax contributer to see that they arent being taken advantage of by these people, isnt that a little moral boost to these people .

Dont get me wrong theres plently of people at the top who need to be dealt with but it would hit home much quicker if the fraud squad was checking people in their own locality more often.
    Of course doing away with fraud is necessary but there's a lot more fraud going on here than welfare fraud.
    The way this country is run needs a complete rebuild from the very top to the very bottom.
    If we don't do it then the IMF/EU will do it for us.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Of course. But we can't use the "Seanie and Co. committed fraud and they haven't being jailed yet" as an excuse to let everyone else commit fraud.

We need to send a clear message that fraud is not OK.
    By hanging seanie fitz and his mates in anglo and ahern/cowan and company from the spire in O'Connell street.
    Hey, we could make it a ticket only event. I'd gladly pay a couple of hundred to see that and all proceeds go to the poor.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I bet half of these claims were just done out of spite , "Oh look at me I paid hundreds of grand for a house that's not worth **** and Mary down the road is getting it all for free".

There's a few people taking the piss too and they deserve what they get.

There's plenty of people out there who are legally both working and claiming the dole. They may not declare the amount of work they are doing though !!

charlemont wrote: »
    I bet half of these claims were just done out of spite , "Oh look at me I paid hundreds of grand for a house that's not worth **** and Mary down the road is getting it all for free".

There's a few people taking the piss too and they deserve what they get.

There's plenty of people out there who are legally both working and claiming the dole. They may not declare the amount of work they are doing though !!

Thank you!
    My exact thoughts. But since creating the thread I got blasted for saying 'begrudgery"

up your boards people :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

On the other 3,838 tip-offs, no report was issued due to a "lack of information, no claim being in payment or the information reported would not impact on entitlement," the department said.
    But even then, over 3,000 reports were made falsely.
    How were the reports false?
    There isn't any suggestion that these were accusations; just reports of information of possible wrongdoing. It's up to the Department to investigate and determine if there is any wrongdoing, not the person who makes the report.

Geez, Irish people are a bunch of begruders. Such reports just confirm this for me.
    I don't get it. Why is it begrudery to report suspected fraud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

dvpower wrote: »
    I don't get it. Why is it begrudery to report suspected fraud?

It has very little to do with that and more the ingrained fear of touting in the Irish psyche.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

How were the reports false?
    There isn't any suggestion that these were accusations; just reports of information of possible wrongdoing. It's up to the Department to investigate and determine if there is any wrongdoing, not the person who makes the report.

Did you even read the RTE news report I quoted? :confused:
    On the other 3,838 tip-offs, no report was issued due to a "lack of information, no claim being in payment or the information reported would not impact on entitlement," the department said.

I don't mean to be rude, I geuinely mean that, but do you know what the words 'false report' means? :confused:

Did you even read the RTE news report I quoted? :confused:
    Yes. I did. At no point did it say there were false reports.
    I don't mean to be rude, I geuinely mean that, but do you know what the words 'false report' means? :confused:
    I would have thought that a false report was one where the person made it knew that it was without substance.
    Thankfully, it is not up to any person who reports information to determine if there is a fraud or not. That if the department's job. So the reports weren't false at all. I presmue they were, in the main, bona fide reports of suspicion (probably with a few vexatious reports thrown in).

I would have though that a false report was one where the person made it knew that it was without substance.
    Thankfully, it is not up to any person who reports information to determine if there is a fraud or not. That if the department's job. So the reports weren't false at all. I presmue they were, in the main, bona fide reports of suspicion (probably with a few vexatious reports thrown in).

Well,
    if i told your girlfriend that you were cheating. Then she checks up on you and it turns out you are not ... thats a false report. Would you not agree?

A false report can be defined as someone reporting with nothing more than an assumption, half the facts or out of just not liking someone (etc) It doesnt matter in either case. False report is false report.

Well,
    if i told your girlfriend that you were cheating. Then she checks up on you and it turns out you are not ... thats a false report. Would you not agree?

A false report can be defined as someone reporting with nothing more than an assumption, half the facts or out of just not liking someone (etc) It doesnt matter in either case. False report is false report.

Why do we need an analogy for something that is easily understood without one?

But, if you wish.
    If you tell my girlfriend that I'm cheating, that would be a false report.
    If you see me chatting to some girl and you tell her that, then the report is completely accurate. (You might say that it's none of your business if I am cheating on my girlfriend, which is where the analogy breaks down, because it is my business if someone is defauding our money from the state; it is especially the business of people who are in receipt of benefits, because the social welfare budget is under pressure and it is exactly the people who are recipents of it that will suffer cuts if we can't curb the fraud).

Why do we need an analogy for something that is easily understood without one?

But, if you wish.
    If you tell my girlfriend that I'm cheating, that would be a false report.
    If you see me chatting to some girl and you tell her that, then the report is completely accurate. (You might say that it's none of your business if I am cheating on my girlfriend, which is where the analogy breaks down, because it is my business if someone is defauding our money from the state; it is especially the business of people who are in receipt of benefits, because the social welfare budget is under pressure and it is exactly the people who are recipents of it that will suffer cuts if we can't curb the fraud).

... couldnt read your entire post. As much as this smiley sucks it suits your post and thats ' :rolleyes: '

Honestly, I'm at a loss to understand why you think my a RollEyes suits my post. What bits do you take issue with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1228/welfare.html

16,000 reports in 2011. Just over 579 reports in 2006. Obviously more people of the social now than 2006 - so more people frauding etc. But even then, over 3,000 reports were made falsely.

Geez, Irish people are a bunch of begruders. Such reports just confirm this for me.

No. They're just getting sense. I wouldn't have even considered it in the past. But I wouldn't think twice now. It's only scratching the surface though. They need to target the "invalidity":rolleyes: scammers now. That's an even bigger gravy train.

People who are allegedly unable to work because they are "invalided" are allowed work 20 hours a week without it impacting any of their allowances.:eek: Only in Ireland..........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Thats quiet the stretch. How much money do you think is being lost to fraud exactly[/B]??? Silly Irish, a magicians wet dream, we are easily misdirected

how does close to a billion last year grab ya , its stealing from the needy
    so they should be strung up plain and simple

so tell me where do you get you mystical facts from ,
    you know exactly how many people are stealing and by how much

just because the political class are robbing us blind DOES NOT mean we cant also catch fraud on other levels

cop on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Thanks for the link.
    Also quoted again so others will click on it and read a bit.

gambiaman wrote: »
    Thanks for the link.
    Also quoted again so others will click on it and read a bit.

that is the best bit of fiction i have read in ages , truly fanciful tripe

so your telling me EVERY other juro not just in Ireland but the UK and Europe has missed this
    that not only the troika and the auditors from the EU have missed this or ALL or in a massive cover up

so possibly the biggest story in Ireland , one that would blow open the government and one that FF would wet themselves if was true

if FF thought this was even 1 percent correct they would be assembling on the plinth outside leinster house quicker that a alcoholic at a free bar

do they keep this info in the same safe as the moon landing camera crew wage slips and the pictures of JFK slipping the finger to the alien that landed in area 51

i ALWAYS take everything i read in ALL media with a massive pinch of salt but that link is just rubbish , seriously lads really

i would imagine the figures the government are revealing are best case but that link should be in with the twilight book , the fantasy section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

dj jarvis wrote: »
    so your telling me

No, I'm not telling you anything.
    I'm requoting a link which gives another side to the headline grabbing figure.
    You can accept it fully or take it alongside other sources you may have and come to a reasonable conclusion.
    That's all.

gambiaman wrote: »
    No, I'm not telling you anything.
    I'm requoting a link which gives another side to the headline grabbing figure.
    You can accept it fully or take it alongside other sources you may have and come to a reasonable conclusion.
    That's all.

its a turn of phrase , not a direct quote at you

it does give another side granted but thereis no link with what Everyone else is reporting - this one blogger could be right , or he is not
    i suppose its up to each individual to make an assessment based on the info presented

and my opinion the info in the link is far from reality
    some people believe in ghosts and goblins but that does not make them real
    i was not directing that post at you just the link you posted

have a happy new year sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I spent the first six months of this unemployed and unable to get the dole due to the means test on my parents as I still live at home.

It sickens me to think that at 24 the Social Welfare office expected me to depend on them while at the same time allowing thousands of greedy spongers claim when they are perfectly well able to work and are to lazy to do so, or are claiming while working here or abroad.

Thankfully I have a job now and I would no hesitation in reporting some-one I suspected was claiming under false pretenses.

It's not begrudery in any way, shape or form. Welfare fraud is no more than robbery and the perpatraitors should be weeded out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

skelliser wrote: »
    i call bull**** on this report.

Either the powers that be are ramping up the propaganda on people on the dole like they've been doing the last 2 years.
    Or the PS workers in the dole office are adding extra zeros to their figures to justify their insane pay scales.
    Crooked politicians, overpaid ps workers and dole cheats all In one thread, the unholy trinity is gathered my lord

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

They should offer an anonymous reward of say 500 to those that report someone who was later proven to be a fraudster.

1) make fraudulent claim
    2) report self
    3) PROFIT!!!