Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Just Can't Get Enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

cringe at it being called the "ponznan" itc called a Grecque big in europe and ruined by man city

http://z6.invisionfree.com/UltrasTifosi/index.php?showtopic=3163

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

That's because the YBIG are the most unimaginative goons around, they just rob songs Celtic sing, "We Love You" and now this!

Thankfully I've never heard it, who sings it?

I recall Dundalk singing it but not anyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Ireland fans are renowned the world over for their undying commitment. Their willingless to pack out a stadium from god awful campaigns to the good times. Travelling abroad in unrivalled numbers.

Shels fans arent renowned beyond Tolka. Get over it.

Ireland fans are renowned the world over for their undying love for any excuse for a piss up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

RoryMac wrote: »
    Not that it matters much but Celtic fans were singing YNWA long before 89 and were doing the"poznan" before Man City played poznan

Didn't realise Celtic were singing YNWA before 89, yea I realise Celtic were doing it before the City Poznan game, but I always assumed it was copied off Poznan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Most cringeworthy statement regarding football songs has to be the Liverpool fans on a certain forum (not the Boards one) complaining that Irish fans were stealing 'their' song- The Fields Of Anfield Road.:rolleyes:

zerks wrote: »
    Most cringeworthy statement regarding football songs has to be the Liverpool fans on a certain forum (not the Boards one) complaining that Irish fans were stealing 'their' song- The Fields Of Anfield Road.:rolleyes:

I don't believe anyone could be that stupid

They were probably only 12.

I wouldn't get too upset about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

The GB lads at Celtic have been singing JCGE for a good while now, it seems to have caught on alright :)

Regarding 'the poznan' AFAIK first it was seen in England was here on 21st October 2010

Man City fans singing 'what the fkn hell is that', just as well they never decided to do it themselves eh.

Haha the City fans singing "what the fkn hell is that" is gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Pretty sure that's not true

Though to be fair, if I was a fan of the club responsible for that United Road, take me home.. abomination, I'd be claiming ownership of literally any other song:pac:

I imagine he is referring to this story which did the rounds in 2004 and has since appeared on United message boards every so often. TBH she sounds like a looper and her story is very suspect. It could be true, but if it was I'm sure others would support her or have brought it up beforehand. Such a thing happening after Munich would probably have been reported as well.
    ONE of the most bitter rivalries in football has taken a new twist with the claim that Liverpool fans stole their famous You'll Never Walk Alone anthem from Manchester United supporters.

Grandmother Jane Hardwick says she was left seeing red after reading a letter in a newspaper which said the song, made famous by Gerry and the Pacemakers, was first belted out on the terraces of Anfield.

Jane, a lifelong Reds' supporter from this end of the East Lancs Road, claims it was originally sung by her and thousands of fans at Old Trafford long before it became associated with Liverpool.

Jane, 61, was a teenage opera singer when many of her footballing heroes were killed in the tragic Munich air crash in 1958.

And as her own special tribute to the Busby Babes, heartbroken Jane convinced her friends from New Mills Operatic Society in Derbyshire to join her in a rousing rendition of the song at one of the games following the tragedy.

The tune was written for the 1945 musical Carousel, which Jane and her friends were rehearsing at the time. The pals started the singing but soon You'll Never Walk Alone was being belted out by thousands of fans at Old Trafford.

However, during the 1960s the song was adopted by Liverpool fans.

Jane, who now runs a bed and breakfast in Leek, was first taken to Old Trafford at six weeks old by her father and grandfather.

She said: "It has annoyed me so much that people think the song was first sung by the Liverpool fans.

"The Munich crash was so horrible and everyone was feeling down and despondent and it just seemed an appropriate song to sing.

"It was an emotional time and I managed to persuade my friends to join in with me. Soon the whole ground was singing it and many people, including me, were in tears.

"I never dreamed it would become the anthem of our old rivals but I wanted to put the record straight about where the song originated from on the terraces."

A spokeswoman for Liverpool FC said: "As far as we are aware, it was first sung at Anfield in 1963 and not before Gerry Mardsen's recording of the song."

Manchester or Liverpool - who sang it first?
    http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/news/s/130093_youll_never_walk_alone_is_our_song

The Guardian's "The Knowledge" answered a question on the Liverpool/Celtic You'll Never Walk Alone issue too.
    Living in an area with a large contingent of Liverpool fans, writes Damian, who lives in Chester should you be wondering, I'm constantly being drawn into debates about who sang You'll Never Walk Alone first. I've failed to come up with evidence to support my belief that it was the Celtic faithful. I'd appreciate any information which serves to conclude this dispute once and for all.

While many Celtic fan-based websites provide the words to You'll Never Walk Alone, and it features on the CD Green & White Anthems, there is no historical evidence that Celtic fans sang it on their terraces first. Instead, a cursory glance back in time shows that Liverpool have the much stronger claims.

After all, the song, originally written by Rodgers and Hammerstein in 1945 for the Broadway musical Carousel, only became a terrace favourite after it was covered by Gerry and the Pacemakers in November 1963. Almost immediately - as footage from Panorama in 1964 shows - Liverpool supporters adopted it.

As Paul Fields points out: "Before the early 60s football fans made noise and occasionally chanted something brief (like Play Up Pompey!) but it was the Kop that started singing popular songs of the day (mainly Merseybeat songs such as Gerry and the Pacemakers' You'll Never Walk Alone) and later started to adapt the lyrics of songs to celebrate the team and its players.

"If any Celtic fans still claim that they sang it first, it would have to predate Gerry's version. Now can you really see thousands of working class Glaswegians in the 50s/early 60s spontaneously joining in a sing-along from a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical?" No, us neither.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2003/mar/12/theknowledge.sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The Irish lads stole their team, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

stovelid wrote: »
    The Irish lads stole their team, in fairness.

They should give it back:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

cournioni wrote: »
    Are you joking me?! Have you heard the United Calypso? It is sang at every game and played on the PA before matches at OT.

love it! A common misconception among certain people is the belief that Manchester United is a plastic soulless club with very little history, backbone and substance. It's the exact opposite. Its creeping in now with Manchester City which is also bollox as that club is deep in history too. Nothing fake about either imo.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

These guys are the real singers of (I just cant get enough) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljBbMJhEyPc

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

Regarding supporters Jumping. It's Lech Poznan all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Trilla wrote: »
    love it! A common misconception among certain people is the belief that Manchester United is a plastic soulless club with very little history, backbone and substance. It's the exact opposite. Its creeping in now with Manchester City which is also bollox as that club is deep in history too. Nothing fake about either imo.

The "no history" thing tends to come from blinkered idiots or kids. I'd try to ignore them as anybody with any sort of grasp of football history will know both Manchester clubs have a deep, storied history.

Whether they have a main song or not makes little difference to that anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Average_attendances_of_European_football_clubs

Almost all the teams you mentioned average attendance is less that their current capacity. I would imagine Celtic would sell out against Rangers and in Champions league if they played there again in a bigger stadium also so I don't understand your point

The point is that average attendance is linked to capacity.
    If Celtic Park was reduced to a capacity of 48968 tomorrow do you think the average attendance would remain at its current figure of 48968?

No, because the games which sell-out would still do so, and the less attractive games which sell just 35,000 would still do so, but the overall average would fall to say 42,000.

But this wouldn't be an implication that Celtic was suddenly any less well supported. By the same logic being ahead of Frankfurt or Valencia on average attendance shouldn't be taken as implying that Celtic are a better supported team. Which is what some Celtic fans imply when they use this 'average attendance' figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

The point is that average attendance is linked to capacity.
    If Celtic Park was reduced to a capacity of 48968 tomorrow do you think the average attendance would remain at its current figure of 48968?

No, because the games which sell-out would still do so, and the less attractive games which sell just 35,000 would still do so, but the overall average would fall to say 42,000.

But this wouldn't be an implication that Celtic was suddenly any less well supported. By the same logic being ahead of Frankfurt or Valencia on average attendance shouldn't be taken as implying that Celtic are a better supported team. Which is what some Celtic fans imply when they use this 'average attendance' figure.

Ya but there's a reason why the capacity is so big - to reflect the size of the club and its support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    I recall Dundalk singing it but not anyone else

The fans of the Derry and Cork franchises were singing that "We love you" crap (nicked from the mongs at St Pauli?) in 2010 as were the Oireland fans.
    Trilla wrote: »

Totally agree with you. Both clubs having an amazing history. :)

Sadly, it's just an element of their support that are clueless glory hunting plastic frauds.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The fans of the Derry and Cork franchises were singing that "We love you" crap (nicked from the mongs at St Pauli?) in 2010 as were the Oireland fans.

Doesn't have the same continental ring to it in the Shed, even with the drum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    Must be great craic at a Celtic game, sure all the United boys were giving it loads on twitter last night about it.

Fair play, piss poor league and they are in the top 10 highest average attendance in Europe. Avg of 48k per week

You make your own entertainment at a Celtic game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

SantryRed wrote: »
    Having read this again I have to say that is the biggest load of bollocks I've ever read.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euro_2012_qualifying#Attendances

In terms of our population our attendance is pretty outstanding. Cant believe a grand total of 76,000 Spanish turned out to see their team in the whole campaign! I remember working with a few Italian lads and tbh they only get hyped up either when they qualify or for the "big" match of the qualifier e.g. Italy vs the second seed.

Surprisingly some of the most consistent failures of European football have a quite loyal big attendance- Austria, Belgium and Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

In terms of our population our attendance is pretty outstanding. Cant believe a grand total of 76,000 Spanish turned out to see their team in the whole campaign

Ironically this was very close to full capacity as they played their 4 home qualifiers in 17K to 29K capacity stadia in their smaller cities like Logorno and Salamanca to give all of Spain a chance to see their multiple trophy winning team. The concept was one stadium in the North, West, East and South.
    In previous campaigns they used grounds on the various islands to keep everyone feeling that the team represents them.

Now I wouldn't know if they'd sell out their various 90,000K mega stadium (they rarely play home games in them anyway for political reasons), but they generally get close to full houses when they play home games in the 50,000 stadia like the Mestella or the Ramon Sanchez.

But the cumulative 76,000 figure is another interesting example of there being more to the attendance figure than meets the eye.

Edit : Just checked back and they used the Bernabeau for a qualifier v Turkey in 2009 and had an attendance of 74,000. So it seems as if they are voluntarily limiting the attendance by moving games around to smaller venues. Guess they don't need the ticket money the way the FAI does.

Didnt know that AJ! I suppose now that I think about it Spain or Italy dont have an iconic home ground on the level of Landsdowne, Wembley, Stad De France, Hampden etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euro_2012_qualifying#Attendances

In terms of our population our attendance is pretty outstanding. Cant believe a grand total of 76,000 Spanish turned out to see their team in the whole campaign! I remember working with a few Italian lads and tbh they only get hyped up either when they qualify or for the "big" match of the qualifier e.g. Italy vs the second seed.

Surprisingly some of the most consistent failures of European football have a quite loyal big attendance- Austria, Belgium and Wales.

So what was your rubbish about packing out stadiums? I seem to have missed soothing???

That the usual suspects were having their usual moan about Oireland fans and the scandalous way they attempt to enjoy themselves at a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭batistuta9

But the cumulative 76,000 figure is another interesting example of there being more to the attendance figure than meets the eye.

yeah your right aggregated attendances are nonsense, that's how they were claiming the championship was the fourth most watched league in europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

That the usual suspects were having their usual moan about Oireland fans and the scandalous way they attempt to enjoy themselves at a match.

This is what you said earlier.....and it's just totally incorrect
    Their willingless to pack out a stadium from god awful campaigns to the good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Always reminds me of the 2010 cup semi final against Bohs :)