Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Met a small child today called Lennix. Not Lennox. Lennix. Was hard to bite my tongue and not say to the mother, "You're spelling it wrong."

That poor child. He will either turn into a bollox or a bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

There's a lawyer called McCracken Poston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,849 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There's a lawyer called McCracken Poston.

There's a barrister called Garnet Orange

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There's a barrister called Garnet Orange

I found out the other day that the general Douglas McArthur is the son of Arthur McArthur Jr who was the son of Arthur McArthur Sr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Suckler

Wrio.

The child never had a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Suckler wrote: »
    Wrio.

The child never had a chance.
    That's not how the song goes!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Not a child but a man called Kerry Ireland. He was featured on the documentary 'Murder Mountain' on Netflix.

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I don't mind some Irish names, but like some other posters here I'd have to say I dislike the majority of them. Also don't like Shakira, Kayden, Nikita, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

I don't mind some Irish names, but like some other posters here I'd have to say I dislike the majority of them. Also don't like Shakira, Kayden, Nikita, etc.

Oh Nikita you will never know anything about my home, I'll never know how good it feels to hold you, Nikita I need you so ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Marengo wrote: »
    Oh Nikita you will never know anything about my home, I'll never know how good it feels to hold you, Nikita I need you so ;)

It's one of those annoying names; especially as the majority of children with that name are girls; when it's a boys' name. Same as Sasha/Sacha and Aubrey. :D

Elton must have confused people with that music video!

Nah. He wasn't fooling anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Finty.....just saw it on a cake.

Not sure if its short for Fintan but not a fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭sitkaspruce

I thoguht it couldnt get any worse than meaningless names like Dean / Keith / Gavin / Kyle for lads but these are normal compared to likes of Hunter / Hugo / Noah that you hear nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I thoguht it couldnt get any worse than meaningless names like Dean / Keith / Gavin / Kyle for lads but these are normal compared to likes of Hunter / Hugo / Noah that you hear nowadays.

Not a fan of it but “Noah” is hardly a name you only hear nowadays. It’s a biblical name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,363 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Not a fan of it but “Noah” is hardly a name you only hear nowadays. It’s a biblical name

But it's only had a recent revival.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

There are a few Irish people with the name Aeneas out there! It's a male name. Anyone know it's pronunciation? !

Ahneeas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

There are a few Irish people with the name Aeneas out there! It's a male name. Anyone know it's pronunciation? !

https://www.pronouncenames.com/pronounce/aeneas

I'd pronounce it the same as Sardonict myself, the 2 decisions on that site one is Greek the other American. Virgil's Aeneid tells the story of Aeneas after the Trojan Wars.
    There do seem to be a few Aeneas' around Ireland alright, seen to be of an older generation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Speedsie wrote: »

I'd pronounce it the same as Sardonict myself, the 2 decisions on that site one is Greek the other American. Virgil's Aeneid tells the story of Aeneas after the Trojan Wars.
    There do seem to be a few Aeneas' around Ireland alright, seen to be of an older generation though

I think their was an Irish poet that used that as a pseudonym.

It's actually a nice name, just dangerously erring on a certain mispronunciation...........

"Hey lads, where is Dick"

"Last time I seen him he was looking for Aeneas"..............

It's actually a nice name, just dangerously erring on a certain mispronunciation...........

"Hey lads, where is Dick"

"Last time I seen him he was looking for Aeneas"..............

Aye, and the Purcell opera 'Dido and Aeneas' has an oft mispronounced alternative...

I think their was an Irish poet that used that as a pseudonym.

Probably, there was an Irish poet who used Æ as a pseudonym. Sometimes Aeneas is spelt Æneas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Probably, there was an Irish poet who used Æ as a pseudonym. Sometimes Aeneas is spelt Æneas.

Ah I'm wrong You're spot on. George William Russell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The delightfully named Tripp Hurt has just won a bronze medal in the US indoor Athletics championships at 2 miles. :D

I guess he didn't, and he wasn't. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

In work the other day i was speaking to a woman with a son called 'art'

Wow

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Boola.

Unisex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Really? I thought that name went out with the ark.

Ba dooom ching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Just heard a woman calling out her son's name. She called the poor lad India. She's from Monaghan for **** sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Wow

Not at all unusual in Ireland - used for decades as a shortened form of "Arthur".

EchoIndia wrote: »
    Not at all unusual in Ireland - used for decades as a shortened form of "Arthur".

Yes indeed, look up Art O Neill and his escape from Dublin Castle!

https://www.historyireland.com/volume-23/the-art-oneill-challenge/

Like the Big Man himself. Praise be.
    #blessed
    Boola.

Unisex.

Surname Bus?

Wow

His name is no doubt Arthur and maybe that's an abbreviated name his family and friends refer to him by. (like the singer Art Garfunkel)

I know it's an opinion thread but I am sorry but that is in no way a "worst name" , I envisage most would agree (as per the title). I. personally, would go as saying it is very charming without being some of these classic pretentious names that have taken off again

His name is no doubt Arthur and maybe that's an abbreviated name his family and friends refer to him by. (like the singer Art Garfunkel)

I know it's an opinion thread but I am sorry but that is in no way a "worst name" , I envisage most would agree (as per the title). I. personally, would go as saying it is very charming without being some of these classic pretentious names that have taken off again

Art is an Irish name, and as far as I know has no connection to Arthur. A few of our High Kings were called Art, I quite like the name; especially so for its double meaning.

Eh, almost all Art's are abbreviated versions or diminutive forms of Arthur

https://www.ranker.com/list/famous-people-named-art/reference

Art / Arthur is most definitely an Anglican name also

EDIT: Just read a piece, and yeah, the name does seem to have, a separate Celtic origin version and both that and the anglican Arthur/Art are not, seemingly, related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

D'Kodagh.

I'm assuming it's a unique take on Dakota?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

D'Kodagh.

I'm assuming it's a unique take on Dakota?

I've seen it. In fact I think I've posted it here before.

Yep, here it is
    Omackeral wrote: »
    Just happened upon a mutual friend's FB profile and she has two kids who are named Brody and

D'Kodagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Aubrantice is a WEIRD name.

Was a girl in my school called India (which I think is actually a nice name...). But on her first day:

Classmate: "India, wow, that's such a cool name!"

India: "Thanks! My parents got it from a book."

Other Classmate: "What book!? A f*cking atlas!?"

OneArt wrote: »

Was a girl in my school called India (which I think is actually a nice name...). But on her first day:

Classmate: "India, wow, that's such a cool name!"

India: "Thanks! My parents got it from a book."

Other Classmate: "What book!? A f*cking atlas!?
    "

Now, now, that didn't happen! Unless you mean secondary school!

It is a funny joke I have heard many times before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

OneArt wrote: »

It’s possibly the weirdest name I’ve ever heard :eek::eek::eek:

Strumms wrote: »
    It’s possibly the weirdest name I’ve ever heard :eek::eek::eek:

I have just googled it and no results came up! Literally none! I was expecting it to result in some sort of connection with Aubrey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yeah same for me, thank ****, Aubrantice O’Reilly has a bit of a ring to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

The rule of kid s name is it should be easy to say, easy to spell ,
    and not unique .
    I saw an interview with a game developer , he named his son cool .
    He saw it in a sci fi film.
    Naming your son cool is gauranteed to get him bullied or slaged off in school .
    it,s like calling a daughter cute as a first name ,its asking for trouble.
    The point of cool is its a quality ,not a name ,
    you are either cool or not ,its not something you study for like a A plus in
    physics .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,849 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The first rule of cool is anyone claiming to be cool is not cool

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

He had a name for his compulsive borrowing, and he left numerous written promises to repay that were never honoured.

In due course it became known that the AEIOU was worthless...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Giving your child a nickname that's cute when they're small but doesn't translate to a grown woman. Katie Price named her daughter's Princess and Bunny. Imagine being a grown woman and putting on your cv or introducing yourself in real life as Princess or Bunny!

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Giving your child a nickname that's cute when they're small but doesn't translate to a grown woman. Katie Price named her daughter's Princess and Bunny. Imagine being a grown woman and putting on your cv or introducing yourself in real life as Princess or Bunny!

Same with Cheryl Cole and Liam Payne naming their son Bear!

Ok so we have a Princess Price, which is a great name for a Euro shop and Bear Payne, which sounds like someone from Slipknot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Ok so we have a Princess Price, which is a great name for a Euro shop and Bear Payne, which sounds like someone from Slipknot.

Bear Payne sounds like a distant memory of childbirth

Poor Bear's middle name is Grey. Bear Grey Payne.