Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Heard a man call after his kids today in Rathfarnham 'Gilbert! Alpha!' and I chuckled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

A kid at my daughter's school and her name is Peace.That is no lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I admit that I did consider Pax (Latin for peace) as a second name for my first born as he was born the day the IRA called their ceasefire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Witchie wrote: »
    I admit that I did consider Pax (Latin for peace) as a second name for my first born as he was born the day the IRA called their ceasefire.

How embarrassing.

I was high on gas and air at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The brother is Quiet.

"Fer fooks sake, will yiz give me some Peace and Quiet!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

If you had a daughter, you could have used the Greek for peace, Irene. Even sounds similar to IRA! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

I was high on gas and air at the time.

And your the dad

What's with everyone assuming I'm a bloke? Jeez!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Carrie6OD

Kid in my son’s swimming class called Lollipop. Lolly for short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

She'll be popular with the lads when she gets a bit older

Scrap the cap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

There was a guy in my class at school First name Billy Second name Birchmans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

How embarrassing.

I knew a dog called Pax. Just saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

She'll be popular with the lads when she gets a bit older

Wtf was that. ? :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Worked in a school in Castleisland and there was a child named Pharrell.

Pharrell from Castleisland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

I don't think any good would come of naming a child Dorcas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Worked in a school in Castleisland and there was a child named Pharrell.

Pharrell from Castleisland.

Was he one of the Farrells from Castleisland by any chance?

To thine own self be true

happyday wrote: »
    I knew a dog called Pax. Just saying...

I knew a dog called Jake but still called my second son Jake. Just sayin'.

Was he one of the Farrells from Castleisland by any chance?

Pharrell Farrell? are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

cjmc wrote: »
    Wtf was that. ? :)

Serge Gainsbourg, renowned French sleazebag, wrote a song about "lollipops" for an 18 year old singer who didn't realise it was really about BJs :cool:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Les_sucettes

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Good lord.

Amber Rose just got her kids' names, Bash and Slash, tattooed across her forehead.

https://www.unilad.co.uk/celebrity/amber-rose-says-kobe-bryants-death-gave-her-the-courage-for-face-tattoo/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

If I have a son I'm calling him lieutenant Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Good lord.

Amber Rose just got her kids' names, Bash and Slash, tattooed across her forehead.

https://www.unilad.co.uk/celebrity/amber-rose-says-kobe-bryants-death-gave-her-the-courage-for-face-tattoo/

And manages to rope Kobe Bryant into it. Jesus wept. The attention seeking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

Brooklyn, Aaliyah and Savannah-Rae.

All from the same family and the whitest children you’ve ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

Suin. Or siun even. Pronounced shoo-in. Vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭maxsmum

Suin. Or siun even. Pronounced shoo-in. Vile

Siun is an OK name. People who pronounce it shoe-in ruin it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

No, whatever way you say it doesn’t take away from the fact that it’s a terrible name.
    My colleague who is barely comprehensible at the best of times keeps mentioning it as it’s his daughter’s name. I thought he kept talking about Tuam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Maybe ye mean Siún. Pronounced Shoon, because of the fada that's supposed to be there. Think it's a lovely name meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The child in the news as of late. Not Jayden, not Kayden, not even Brayden.

Quaden.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

fussyonion wrote: »
    Heard a man call after his kids today in Rathfarnham 'Gilbert! Alpha!' and I chuckled.

I met Paris (girl) and Clarkson (boy) tonight in Aldi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭H.20v3

Kiki

Used to be women called kiki ,now there's lads with the name

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Woman named Keren tried to connect with me on LinkedIn this morning. Eugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I think I speak for most men when I say "was she hot or not?". :pac:

Would you believe I didn't even look at the picture? I just saw the name and declined in disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Young fella in my son's class called "Chase".

I just assumed it was his nickname and asked about his real name. No- it is Chase.

Would you believe I didn't even look at the picture? I just saw the name and declined in disgust.

We can deduce from this your username is real. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

It's a Jewish/Israeli name. Unless it was a local bastardised version of Karen.

seagull wrote: »
    It's a Jewish/Israeli name. Unless it was a local bastardised version of Karen.

I see. I'm a victim of my own ignorance then! (Still don't like the name, but I'm slightly less mad ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I just assumed it was his nickname and asked about his real name. No- it is Chase.

Maybe his parents are big fans of The Chase? :pac:

Awful name.

jiltloop wrote: »
    Maybe his parents are big fans of The Chase? :pac:

Awful name.

Prob. Paw Patrol. One of the pups is called Chase. Chase is on the case.

cac372-1-1.jpg

Have a child and this is what your viewing will become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I worked with a lady in New Zealand whose son was called Chase. It was her maiden name so her son kinda had both parent's names without the whole hyphenation thing. I kinda like it in that case

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Re paw patrol .... kid in my Daughters school called Ryder .....ready for action Ryder sir!

Poor child

Prob. Paw Patrol. One of the pups is called Chase. Chase is on the case.

Have a child and this is what your viewing will become.

It's down the road for me, i'll try to keep my 10 month old away from it for as long as I can! :pac:

jiltloop wrote: »
    It's down the road for me, i'll try to keep my 10 month old away from it for as long as I can! :pac:

You can try all you want but Paw Patrol is coming for you and there's nothing you can do to stop it. It's like a cult for 2 year olds

Thankfully I am passed the Paw Patrol phase. My kids have been deprogrammed!

Also as I mentioned New Zealand above. There's a kid in school with mine called Kai - which is the te reo (Maori) word for food and is commonly used by people in NZ in conversation as in "will be go grab some kai".

Unfortunate name for a child!

Woshy wrote: »
    You can try all you want but Paw Patrol is coming for you and there's nothing you can do to stop it. It's like a cult for 2 year olds

Thankfully I am passed the Paw Patrol phase. My kids have been deprogrammed!

I already went through Dora the Explorer and Bob the Builder phases with my 2 elder kids, I'm mentally preparing myself!

Woshy wrote: »

2 year olds? I spent the whole summer watching it with my niece and nephew and loved it ....... (*penny drops*) , aww no I have the mind of a three year old!

Omackeral wrote: »

Quaden.

That is the closest thing I have seen to Quaaludes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

My daughter was telling me about a new student in her class.I asked what her name was and the reply was Caspress.I thought I misheard but no that is the child's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

H.20v3 wrote: »
    Kiki

Used to be women called kiki ,now there's lads with the name

Kiki, it’s a criminally lazy name to give a child. Not very Irish either, Kiki O’ Leary ? No thanks... I had an ex boss called Caelan which was weird especially considering the uniqueness of his surname too, deserved it though, a total cûnt.