Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Dev environment advice

Options
  • 31-12-2011 5:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

Apologies in advance for the long post.

I am investigating the possibility of setting up a development environment for around 60 students in the college I work at.

The course is going to be teaching IT students PHP/MySQL and I already have two servers up and running, with Red Hat Linux and a fully working Apache/PHP/MySQL install. I've tested it with a few basic PHP scripts.

Now I am wondering what the norm is (my background is Oracle/Unix and while I have dabbled in PHP, it was about five years ago :o). I am not sure of the development process - this will initially be an introductory course, on HTML, moving swiftly on to JavaScript/PHP.

First question - what development environment would you recommend? I am thinking Eclipse on a Windows client? Students have already used NetBeans, would that be usable?

Second question - the mechanics of getting their PHP scripts to the web server. They can SFTP their files up to the server, but how would you suggest managing them dropping their files into /var/wwwroot/?

Would it be /var/wwwroot/student1/file1.php
    /var/wwwroot/student2/file1.php
    /var/wwwroot/student3/file1.php

Or is there a better way?

Any other suggestions very welcome.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭duffman85

If they're already used to netbeans already I would stick with it.
    I have used it a small bit with php for a college project and found it worked quite well.
    It integrates well with Xdebug for debugging which I found useful.