Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places to walk the dogs off lead that aren't too far out.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Ahoy Ahoy

I can read and understand English thank you. It is my first language. Does that mean I can't walk my dog on the streets either? Because that's where children can come up to a dog too... Gimme a break!!

If I want to be preached to, I can get another Mass. I walk my dog on COMMON LAND. It is not owned by you or me. I consider myself and my husband responsible dog owners and have consideration for others.

I see you didn't answer the last point I raised regarding education of the children...

Thank you for informing me that you understand English and it's your first language. That's made my day. Didn't say you can't walk your dog on the street-there's your right,just as long as your dog on a lead AT ALL TIMES!!!! Not just when you think children aren't about. I mean children playing in the street....who would off thought.

If you didn't want to be preached too don't come on a public forum. Also don't state that you break the law....you will then be preached too. You are clearly not a responsible dog owner owner because you break the law by letting your dog of its lease. You clearly stated that in an above post so please don't preach that you are a responsible dog owner because you are not. As I said simple law simple to obey....you refuse to do that. That means you aren't responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Go away and bore someone who cares...

Intelligent, mature reply.

You don't want to talk about it anymore so we will go our separate ways. Please remember the law and keep your dog on a lease at all times. Very simple law for everyone's safely. As you stated you can't trust dogs 100% so they should always be on a lease,not just when you think there are no children around. Children tend to be adventurous-especially when they are outside playing. Dogs also tend to be adventurous. That's why dogs should always be kept on a lease. No excuses really. I hope you take these points on board and read the law about dogs.....it's stated a few posts up. This might help you become a more responsible dog owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Ahoy Ahoy wrote: »
    Intelligent, mature reply.

You don't want to talk about it anymore so we will go our separate ways. Please remember the law and keep your dog on a lease at all times. Very simple law for everyone's safely. As you stated you can't trust dogs 100% so they should always be on a lease,not just when you think there are no children around. Children tend to be adventurous-especially when they are outside playing. Dogs also tend to be adventurous. That's why dogs should always be kept on a lease. No excuses really. I hope you take these points on board and read the law about dogs.....it's stated a few posts up. This might help you become a more responsible dog owner.

Gosh.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Gosh.

Lean,
    For your own protection the law states (Some of the replies posted below are actually incitement to break the law and could land you in trouble) :

Cork City Council, Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries Bye-Laws 2011 require that a dog broughtinto a park, cemetery or open space in Cork City borough, and while on anyproperty owned by Cork City Council, whether in the City or County, must

· Be held on a leash at all times

· Not cause any annoyance to any other user of that space

· Not chase, injure or disturb any animal, bird or other creature, and

· The dog owner must remove all dog faeces from that space and deposit itin a bin (an ordinary litter bin if there is not a specially designated bin)."

Just in case you didn't read it. Point 1 applies to you becoming a more responsible dog owner. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Ahoy Ahoy wrote: »
    Lean,
    For your own protection the law states (Some of the replies posted below are actually incitement to break the law and could land you in trouble) :

Cork City Council, Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries Bye-Laws 2011 require that a dog broughtinto a park, cemetery or open space in Cork City borough, and while on anyproperty owned by Cork City Council, whether in the City or County, must

· Be held on a leash at all times

· Not cause any annoyance to any other user of that space

· Not chase, injure or disturb any animal, bird or other creature, and

· The dog owner must remove all dog faeces from that space and deposit itin a bin (an ordinary litter bin if there is not a specially designated bin)."

Just in case you didn't read it. Point 1 applies to you becoming a more responsible dog owner. Thanks

And thank you for popping into a thread specifically discussing places where dogs can be walked off leash to lecture us on the finer points of the law.

I hope that high horse you are riding is micro-chipped.

And thank you for popping into a thread specifically discussing places where dogs can be walked off leash to lecture us on the finer points of the law.

I hope that high horse you are riding is micro-chipped.

Neighhhhhhhhhh bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

wow, I feel for you Ahoy Ahoy, getting quite a blasting here. Fear not, fair play to you for quoting the law, you're not alone.

This 'common land' nonsense from ABajaninCork is laughable, unless you are an animal hypnotist (:D) you cannot possibly say you are in control of you dog 100% of the time when the animal is not on a leash, hence the laws for your fellow common man.

And ABajaninCork, telling people to go away on a public forum sounds real mature, if you can't accept that other people may have different views from you, especially when those views are backed up by the law then perhaps you should take a break from public forums, how about a walk with the dog..in your back garden...no leash required, no pooper scooper required either ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

wow, I feel for you Ahoy Ahoy, getting quite a blasting here. Fear not, fair play to you for quoting the law, you're not alone.

This 'common land' nonsense from ABajaninCork is laughable, unless you are an animal hypnotist (:D) you cannot possibly say you are in control of you dog 100% of the time when the animal is not on a leash, hence the laws for your fellow common man.

And ABajaninCork, telling people to go away on a public forum sounds real mature, if you can't accept that other people may have different views from you, especially when those views are backed up by the law then perhaps you should take a break from public forums, how about a walk with the dog..in your back garden...no leash required, no pooper scooper required either ;)

Oh dear. Don't like what I write? Don't read it. Go and bore someone else, somewhere else...

Forrest

Judging by the reply to your post I don't think maturity is high on the agenda. I didn't even want to touch the common land comment.

I backed up my point with fact so I think they may be a bit annoyed. Ah well....what can you do. You get them everywhere in life. Just hope they listen but I'm not holding my breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I think a beach is the best place to let a dog run around, garryvoe is a bit of a drive but it is huge when the tide is out,
    my parents in Dublin have a Labrador who is out 2-3 times a day off his lead running around and swimming, big dogs need the exercise,
    I'm pretty sure beaches are only "owned" up to the high tide mark so dogs can run around like lunatics off their lead without their owner being arrested :)

• Registered Users Posts: 43 BigDinny

To the dog owners who allow their dogs to run loose, I am sure that your dog is a lovable and trustworthy beast, but I don't want to get to know your dog better. I don't want to be run at by your dog. I don't want to feel as if *I* am the one who has the problem if I tell you that your dog is disturbing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

You don't say? I always put the lead on my dog if there's kids about.

How about educating ignorant parents to tell their little darlings NOT to approach strange dogs?? I've had to tell the kids not to touch my dog, even though he's very placid and great with kids, whilst the parents look fondly on. Unfortunately, the kids sometimes are a bit rough with dogs. And you can never trust a dog 100%.

Ah come on now... My toddler has been chased and knocked over up in the park by beaumont. she didn't approach the dog, it was racing around off lead. She is now terrified of dogs, which is right pain, because obviously we see a lot of them. The spot by beaumont school is a distaster. Loads of people let the dogs off lead there, and there are two primary schools in the park ffs. Most of the dogs are fine I'm sure, but it only takes a second for one to chase a child. As you said, no dog can be trusted 100%.

Not everyone is a responsible dog owner. Evidence: Piles of dog **** everywhere you look.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

We wouldn't need all these (completely unenforced) dog control laws if it wasn't for the irresponsible dog owners out there. Again, the evidence is the amount of dog shyte in public places and the dogs running amuck where they really shouldn't.

but its a bit much to be lecturing the responsible dog owners who are actually looking for the best place to bring their dog so it can have a run without bothering anyone else. Which is the entire purpose of this thread.

Following the letter of the law is a bit much; I'm assuming anyone in this discussion who owns a car has never driven above the speed limit or performed an illegal uturn if they personally felt it was appropriate?

i don't think I've ever seen a discussion on boards about where to walk dogs that hasn't eventually collapsed into these kinds of arguments. Jesus Christ people just want to know where to let the dog have a run.

but its a bit much to be lecturing the responsible dog owners who are actually looking for the best place to bring their dog so it can have a run without bothering anyone else. Which is the entire purpose of this thread.

Beaumont school was mentioned at the start of this thread as a good place for a dog to go off lead... Just wanted to say that primary school children and dogs off-lead don't mix in my opinion.

Ps, I think if there was a thread on best places to go speeding, and someone suggested in front of a primary school, you'd get a similar reaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

pwurple wrote: »
    Beaumont school was mentioned at the start of this thread as a good place for a dog to go off lead... Just wanted to say that primary school children and dogs off-lead don't mix in my opinion.

you're right, there was a mention of ballincollig national park here as well and i wouldn't recommend it unless you're in a deserted part of the park. The main entrance to the park has the playing fields and there should never be a dog off the lead anywhere that ball games take place, whether there's kids there or not at the time. You might not spot your dog leaving a present in the middle of the pitch for the next group out playing.

a little bit of enforcement by the guards or whoever when some eejit lets a dog off for a run in the middle of a busy beach or on a playing field might send a message.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,286 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Ok can we stop with the bickering and personal attacks please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

I avoid the Glen now as I can't deal with the amount of rubbish. Last time I had to tug-of-war a very dirty nappy off a jrt who thought it was the best game ever. :mad:

Have not been to the Glen river park in ages

Its a beautiful little natural gem hidden away in the city

last time I was there I was struck by the amount of rubbish
    place is filthy, mattress floating in the river etc
    It crying out for a tidy up

Why does the local community not look after it.??!? :mad: :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

This thread is breaking my heart :(.

Thinking about coming back to Cork for 3 - 4 months next year and would be living near UCC if that happens. Our pup is around 5 now and has spent most of her life here in Dutch suburbia, lots of other dogs, responsible and irresponsible dog owners, friendly and not so friendly dogs, best of all a huge park with a loslopen (enclosed area to allow dogs run off lead). We might have to rethink it if there is nowhere to take her for a decent run, I don't think the shock to her system would do her any good in the long term.

I take her to the park twice a day, takes about 40 mins of 4/5 kmph walking to get around and I allow her 10 minutes of completely free running as long as there is no one around to disturb. We then come back to the enclosed space which must be around 15 x 40 metres, where she can either have another run and a sniff around or play and socialise with other mutts that might be there. It sometimes results in a bit of barking, growling, scrapping but ffs that's what dogs do and it never results in anything serious- it's just communication.

This is a small city with limited space for parks and the like but this is not the only one of it's kind here, and all have facilities for dogs. We pay extra taxes every year for the privilege of having her, as do other owners, so it is up to our local council to cater for us. Whenever a problem is encountered here regarding public spaces a quick email to the council clarifies things. I'll be sending them one about the possibility of having stationary exercise equipment available in the park soon, saw it in the US and thought it was a great idea. Playgrounds for grown ups :D

How much are the licences for dogs in Cork these days? Where is the money going according to Cork City and County Councils? Just bins? So why doesn't everyone who uses the bin have to pay for it? How much would a bit of fencing cost? No point in coming on here and sniping at eachother. It is against Irish law to have a dog off the lead in an open space, and this is in the best interest of safety for everyone. So there needs to be a movement towards making a space available for dogs and their owners to use. Canvas your representatives folks, change doesn't happen unless there's a will for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

There are plenty areas, do not rethink anything.

The Lee Fields I always leave my fella off his lead. He bothers no-one. Same as pretty much every other dog I have seen down there. They run around and have an absolute ball.

Dog license is €20 per year or €140 for a lifetime license. Not sure where the money goes.

gimmick wrote: »

The Lee Fields I always leave my fella off his lead. He bothers no-one. Same as pretty much every other dog I have seen down there. They run around and have an absolute ball.

Dog license is €20 per year or €140 for a lifetime license. Not sure where the money goes.

We were thinking of coming from December to March though... I heard the Lee Fields has hardly existed at that time of year for a while now :p

Only €20? We're paying around €180 per year!! €20 would barely cover a few plastic bags for picking up after them, never mind the bins. I just wouldn't want to be doing anything that's not allowed for fear of repercussions. Little furballs have minds of their own, not to mention children- I still think having enclosed areas solely for the purpose of dog socialisation and exercise is the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 BigDinny

Well, this *EXACTLY* why I have to avoid the Lee Fields - thank you for your consideration!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Have not been to the Glen river park in ages

Its a beautiful little natural gem hidden away in the city

last time I was there I was struck by the amount of rubbish
    place is filthy, mattress floating in the river etc
    It crying out for a tidy up

Why does the local community not look after it.??!? :mad: :confused:

Probably they don't have any sort of a local group formed to keep it tidy when the City Council is clearly not doing its job, dumped rubbish tends to attract more rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

BigDinny wrote: »
    Well, this *EXACTLY* why I have to avoid the Lee Fields - thank you for your consideration!

Your welcome.

No need to be smart.
    I do not mean to be sniping etc but I think you need to be informed that you are breaking the law if you have your dog off the leash at the Lee Fields, please see this link from Cork City Council for details.

To quote:

Cork City Council, Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries Bye-Laws 2011 require that a dog brought into a park, cemetery or open space in Cork City borough, and while on any property owned by Cork City Council, whether in the City or County, must

- Be held on a leash at all times
    - Not cause any annoyance to any other user of that space
    - Not chase, injure or disturb any animal, bird or other creature, and
    - The dog owner must remove all dog faeces from that space and deposit it in a bin (an ordinary litter bin if there is not a specially designated bin).

You're welcome.

- Not cause any annoyance to any other user of that space
    - Not chase or disturb any animal, bird or other creature

And these are the bits that no dog owner can guarantee. Some people dislike dogs, and it is completely their right to do so. I am completely respectful of other people's space and their feelings on dogs, and do not want for a second to force my doggy on them, however much I love her. TBH, I would be exactly the same if I had children. No point in flouting the law just because it's slightly unfair, when it's there to protect against people who are, quite frankly, menacing as dog owners.

What would be the procedure for suggesting a dog park? Maybe first the council, possibly some fundraising, volunteers to keep it clean etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The reason why public ordinances are so dog unfriendly is the amount of owners who can't be trusted with the care of a cream bun, let alone a dog. This is why we can't have nice things. Is there any other European country has so much dog sh!t on pavements and walkways, straying/abandoned dogs and dogs chasing cars?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Its been a few years since we left Cork ,but i used to always take my mutt down to the park in Ballincollig
    There is many trails that are not really used by walkers that it is safe to let the dog of the leash.
    There was a quite marshy bit that looks like that part of Star Wars where Luke gets trained by Yoda
    Me and the missus used to call it Dogaba and my mutt loved it, would get himself nice and mucky too so exit near the Lee and a dip to wash him off each night was always the order of the day.

Been back in Dublin a few years now but have not found a park as much fun to walk the dog yet.

And these are the bits that no dog owner can guarantee. Some people dislike dogs, and it is completely their right to do so. I am completely respectful of other people's space and their feelings on dogs, and do not want for a second to force my doggy on them, however much I love her. TBH, I would be exactly the same if I had children. No point in flouting the law just because it's slightly unfair, when it's there to protect against people who are, quite frankly, menacing as dog owners.

What would be the procedure for suggesting a dog park? Maybe first the council, possibly some fundraising, volunteers to keep it clean etc?

ah yes I understand your point in relation to the two points you quoted from my post, but I just included them as they were part of the overall points, the two important ones being the leash and the dog fouling.

Dogs are dogs, curious and inquisitive and generally playful, it's why they are so loved and popular with people, I get that and have no problem with that.
    The issues that always seem to crop up are when action from their owners are needed...and often neglected...not the dogs fault, but the owners.