Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mooonpie

CiaranMT wrote: »
    The pitches are in terrible condition

That'd be the C&S issue I was referring to :) (smile for us agreeing, not the state of the pitches)

Any gig/concert on that surface will turn it to bog/marshland more than 'pitch' I imagine :( (sad for state of pitches)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

lisa hannigan would be a great act to get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Skyrim wrote: »
    Will someone put up a list of activities and events for rag week when it becomes public? Just for those of us on co-op etc.

I'm sure a list will be posted at some point. :)
    Firstly, 'Undercover Creeps' last year were amazing. Poor crowd, but a great set and everyone there (planned or not) seemed to enjoy the gig

+1. Was there by pure accident when we were waiting for some of the lads to head over to Elm Park for a house party and they were amazing! As you say, a very poor crowd, but I reckon if the place was packed it would have been one of the highlights.
    I heard from a mate a couple of years ago (open to correction, sans Oxegen) that Christy Moore's gigs are now "alcohol free" <- a direct quote from my mate at the time ... not entirely sure how true it is or not though.

Well I know Christy himself is off the beer.... and I've heard rumours about this as well, but if he agreed to play then there's really no way to make it alcohol free unless you were to close Stables.
    f0ggy92 wrote: »

+1. She's pretty awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

No point really in even discussing Christy Moore playing, there's no way he's going to play for a drunken raucous crowd of 18-25 year olds when he doesn't even like people clapping when he's playing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 376 ✭✭cambridge

i'm a big fan of lisa hannigan but i don't think her show would suit this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

cambridge wrote: »
    i'm a big fan of lisa hannigan but i don't think her show would suit this.

D'ya reckon? Not even if we got her to play the Music Soc Open Mic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 376 ✭✭cambridge

lisa hannigan is designed that everyone comes in and is quiet and she sings and everyone listens. she's not drunken festival student people not listening only want to listen to galway girl etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

listen to galway girl etc.

Ugggghhhhh.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

put lisa in scholars with a mellow crowd and leave the screaming drunk for the sake of drunk students drink their 6 packs of bav in the courtyard

galway girl etc.

That f*cking song! :(:(

put lisa in scholars with a mellow crowd and leave the screaming drunk for the sake of drunk students drink their 6 packs of bav in the courtyard

That's what I was thinking as well. She'd suit Java's, I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Axe Rake

Is this confirmed for Week 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Axe Rake wrote: »
    Is this confirmed for Week 6?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

OhMSGlive wrote: »
    That's what I was thinking as well. She'd suit Java's, I'd say.

Unfortunately Javas Scholars during rag charity week isn't the same as the rest of the year

bazkennedy wrote: »
    Unfortunately Javas Scholars during rag charity week isn't the same as the rest of the year

Full of drunks as well, yeah? Pity.

If last year was anything to go by.... then yeah. And I was only there in the middle of the day.... so I shudder to think how bad it got at night :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

now don't get me wrong, its still my favourite venue during charity week but its not as suited to a lisa hannigan style gig

bazkennedy wrote: »
    now don't get me wrong, its still my favourite venue during charity week but its not as suited to a lisa hannigan style gig

Ah, I see. Such a pity, would've loved to see her there.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭LimerickLad92

I just hope it goes mad and theres great weather!

Last year was epic. Sunny every day, mad craic round the student centre most of the time.... let's hope the Leaving Certs are doing their mocks again around this week. :P

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Last year was epic. Sunny every day, mad craic round the student centre most of the time.... let's hope the Leaving Certs are doing their mocks again around this week. :P

Mid-term's the week before, so hardly any chance of that!

We did our mocks the week after midterm....... still hopeful! :)

Charity Week Lineup Announcement Tomorrow at 1pm over at ULSU Ents.

HUP! :D

HUP! :D

Shall be interesting, I'm looking forward to this! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Still waiting...

Aragneer wrote: »
    Still waiting...

/rockshowboardsversion

Line-up is now on anfocal.ie for anyone who's interested.

Personally, I'm impressed by the lineup. Definitely a step-up on Fresherfest.

Joking aside, the Saw Doctors'd nearly do it for the laugh I'd say....

Some bands to consider:

Storyfold - I swear, I'll love the SU forever if ye get these guys, they're bloody brilliant. The singer is Paddy McKenna from 2FM, just released their first album last year, bloody brilliant, a definitely possible to get.

Jus' saying!! :D:D:D

Legends!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Jus' saying!! :D:D:D

Legends!!!

Must say I quite like the sound of Storyfold, definitely will fork out a bit of money to go see them :)