Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would make a good gift for a girl whos a friend but nothing more?

• 02-01-2012 2:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭

I have a female friends birthday coming up (I'm a guy) whos the same age as me and both being single. I don't want any awkwardness between us and don't want any sort of gift that suggests feelings or anything, nor do I want something very feminine that makes her think I'm gay just something nice from a friend.

Ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

A voucher.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭Downlinz

chin_grin wrote: »
    A voucher.

Thats really impersonal. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

How much you spending? what are her interests?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Downlinz wrote: »
    Thats really impersonal. :(

Personalise the card. You're the one who doesn't want any "awkwardness".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

I have a female friends birthday coming up (I'm a guy) whos the same age as me and both being single. I don't want any awkwardness between us and don't want any sort of gift that suggests feelings or anything, nor do I want something very feminine that makes her think I'm gay just something nice from a friend.

Ideas?

Birthday cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Get her some sexy panties.

Platonic bitches love sexy panties.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭Jsmurff

by yourself a gift and then give it to her. when she opens it she'l have a nice snigger to herself and say "Oh yeah! Thats why I put you in the freind zone :D"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Why does it matter if she thinks you're gay?
    Do you loves her?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

If it's a normal birthday (not a milestone occasion) then just stick a few Lotto scratchcards in with the birthday card.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

A card and a voucher from her favourite clothes shop - little bit of thought in there but not overdoing it!

• Registered Users Posts: 19 paul the great

slimjimmc wrote: »
    If it's a normal birthday (not a milestone occasion) then just stick a few Lotto scratchcards in with the birthday card.

And if it is a milestone put €(age of girl) in the card.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

A voucher.

A voucher for one hour of Downlinz luvin'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Perfume.
    Tickets to a something you have no interest in, so she can bring someone else.
    100 pack of condoms.

Ideally around the 50 euro mark, I don't mind spending up to 100.

She's into a few specialist things that I don't think are a great territory for getting gifts. She does a lot of costume design for replicating outfits and works with stage productions, that kind of thing. Her movie tastes are pretty particular, I know she likes Nightmare before Christmas a lot but generally isn't into movies as a whole, just obsesses over a few retro ones. She doesn't play a lot of games but plays Maplestory a lot too.

It's a difficult one to pick something suited to her hobbies when shes more the kind of person to obsessively follow old things than get into new. She's really easy going though so I was thinking a light fun natured gift like a game or a gadget or something she'd get a laugh from. Something thats childish but aimed at adults and thats not too guyish and useful to her instead of a novelty.

I'm not making much sense with this am I. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A voucher.

For a strap on, you know 'tis what ya want.

ardinn wrote: »
    A card and a voucher from her favourite clothes shop - little bit of thought in there but not overdoing it!

That could be a nice idea!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I am getting my best friend (a female) a charm for her charm bracelet (she said she needed more). It's personal cause I've to pick one that matches her personality but it's not really romantic or anything and it's shaped like beer so it's not very feminine but she'll appreciate it (I hope). Course, you need to make sure your friend has a charm bracelet before taking this advice...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I also got one of my female friends a scarf for christmas as she is scarf mad - A woman came into the place I work selling ones she had knitted! Dont over think it and just go get something - If ye get laid out of it all the better!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭Jsmurff

obsesses over nightmare before christmas??? Sounds emo ge something black and white and you'l be grand ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭girlonfire

Don't you just hate unrequited love? It's a real bummer:rolleyes:
    A scarf sounds like a nice idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Chocolate body paint and a voucher for 1 night with your tongue!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Please note that the thread has been moved from After Hours to Gift & Festivities. Have a read of the charter thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Ideally around the 50 euro mark, I don't mind spending up to 100.

She's into a few specialist things that I don't think are a great territory for getting gifts. She does a lot of costume design for replicating outfits and works with stage productions, that kind of thing. Her movie tastes are pretty particular, I know she likes Nightmare before Christmas a lot but generally isn't into movies as a whole, just obsesses over a few retro ones. She doesn't play a lot of games but plays Maplestory a lot too.

It's a difficult one to pick something suited to her hobbies when shes more the kind of person to obsessively follow old things than get into new. She's really easy going though so I was thinking a light fun natured gift like a game or a gadget or something she'd get a laugh from. Something thats childish but aimed at adults and thats not too guyish and useful to her instead of a novelty.

I'm not making much sense with this am I. :pac:

Few ideas: