Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overrated rappers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Oh I am not saying it always has to be "X" or "Y", of course the lyrics vary from B&H to Poverty to Club songs etc.

Content when talking about a rappers song would be the lyrics, as that is the main thing of that song. Yes the beat might be nice, or it might even have a great producer behind it but in the end it is a rap song and rap alone is about the lyrics - I am talking about rappers who are solo and have no Premo or JMJ or whoever who they work closely with.

I do not always analyse it, as you said if I am nodding my head like crazy I obviously find it good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

This is a forum, of course people will pick apart a song or artist. It would be like going to the soccer forum and just not discussing the game and just be like "ye they played grand, they won and thats pretty much all"

this is very true, and i cant disagree with it but its not me, and most of the time its not a valid point and used out of context.

now enough with the edits.:D

Oh I am not saying it always has to be "X" or "Y", of course the lyrics vary from B&H to Poverty to Club songs etc.

Content when talking about a rappers song would be the lyrics, as that is the main thing of that song. Yes the beat might be nice, or it might even have a great producer behind it but in the end it is a rap song and rap alone is about the lyrics - I am talking about rappers who are solo and have no Premo or JMJ or whoever who they work closely with.

I do not always analyse it, as you said if I am nodding my head like crazy I obviously find it good.
    you see its not, rap as its originally known is every bit about the dj, which in reality is the producer now.

listen i could be wrong but thats my opinion and im sticking to it.:D

Hip-hop music is as much about the dj as the rapper, I agree.

That is why I mentioned a group, like having JMJ or even working closely with Dre or Premo makes it different for the most part.

But now and for a long time there are just people who release rap songs and most of whats released now would be like that where they work with many or no producers and just get beats and rap over them and in those situations the lyrics are key imo.

This is all very general, obviously. Personally I always like songs that have good lyrics even if it over an amazing beat.

ye i can agree with that, when you put it like that.

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    ye i can agree with that, when you put it like that.

On the internet, I can never word things until the 11th or 12th try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

every single one of them , yep even will smith gets more credit than he deserves

On the internet, I can never word things until the 11th or 12th try.
    lol im the same, i know poeple read my posts thinking wtf is he trying to say.:D

cloptrop wrote: »
    every single one of them , yep even will smith gets more credit than he deserves
    the emo forum is that way >>>>>>>>>>>

it is just ryming though really , hikery dickery dock the mouse ran up the clock , i listened to nwa when i was 12 myself thinking how awesome they are , they are in gangs and they smoke weed how cool they are , when you grow up you realise even the cast of eastenders do drugs or pretty much anyone in entertainment , why not give your money to proper talent rather than some fella who says rymes over a bass line from someone elses song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

it is just ryming though really , hikery dickery dock the mouse ran up the clock , i listened to nwa when i was 12 myself thinking how awesome they are , they are in gangs and they smoke weed how cool they are , when you grow up you realise even the cast of eastenders do drugs or pretty much anyone in entertainment , why not give your money to proper talent rather than some fella who says rymes over a bass line from someone elses song

You don't know what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Do you know what forum you're really in?

I do not like NWA because they talk about drugs, and if thats why you liked them even if you were 12 then rap is not your biggest problem.

No mention of people like Tonedeff or Dj Premier who actually compose new music or Andre 3000 who plays the instruments or Sage Francis who has toured with a live band or the roots who are a band who play all their instruments or people like Shadow who crate digg for lost amazing music and bring it back into the mainstream.

You don't know what you're talking about.
    all my friends were drinking together over christmas , some of them home from australia and england and stuff , we all couldnt believe how we used to listen to the likes of the chronic album and think it was the most awesome piece of music ever written , how e thought tupac was a genious , we smoked alot of hash back then and thought we were hard ,
    i kinda cringe when i think back to it

all my friends were drinking together over christmas , some of them home from australia and england and stuff , we all couldnt believe how we used to listen to the likes of the chronic album and think it was the most awesome piece of music ever written , how e thought tupac was a genious , we smoked alot of hash back then and thought we were hard ,

Then why are you here if you don't like rap? I believe they have a forum for death metal and screamo.

Also the English forum for some punctuation, grammar and some writing skills so you can make a half decent argument and stuff you know like em just to you like what lul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

One post here says that Jadakiss is better than 2Pac. I find that utterly ridiculous.

Also, other posts mention albums like Loyal to the Game and Pac's Life as reasons to lower his level. They were just scraps, they cannot be used to argue against the man. In fact, the strength of some songs which were never released during his lifetime like "Only Fear of Death", "Staring Through My Rearview", "Never Had A Friend Like Me", "Mama's Just A Little Girl (Original)", "U Can Be Touched (Part 1)", "Unconditional Love", "Words 2 My First Born" adds to the overall legacy of the man.

For me, Me Against The World is a nearly flawless album. People complain about his "Thug" side? Where is it there? Well it's there but not in overpowering amounts. "So Many Tears" is the ultimate chill out rap song for me. Love it. Then you have All Eyez On Me.

I just feel people are blinded by what Afeni has done since 1996.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Then why are you here if you don't like rap? I believe they have a forum for death metal and screamo.
    the topic is overrated rappers
    i seen it in the latest posts section and i said hey i knoow who is overrated ,,,, all of them ,
    i do still apreciate some of eminems songs but more for them being funny ,like the kim song ,, <whyd you always make me shout at you>
    a young me would have said ill always listen to rap music but honestly you grow out of it , teenage boys listen to rap just like teenage girls listen to justin bieber, one day you realise how cheesy it is ,
    like think of it rap has been around in ireland since the late 80s early 90s that i know of , how many people do you know that still listen to it now from then , is there many 45 year olds that stick on brendas got a baby when their daughter tells them theyre pregnant

maybe tim westwood but thats about it
    he got shot before hes mad

im cringing at the thought of your "friends" paying you a visit over the christmas, from as far a field as Australia, and you boring them to death with chat about how the chronic wasnt as good as you thought it was.

the discussion is overrated rappers , the cloptrop bores his friends thread is that way>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

link?

link?
    no thats the zelda thread

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

back on topic please

<scarcasm>No no one over 25 raps or listens to rap. Ignore Krs-One, Dr Dre, Chuck D, Premo, Kurtis Blow etc </scarcasm>

these are people thst make money from rap,
    people over 30 that dont make money from rap that still listen to it 90 per cent of the time have problems with social skills or live with their mama

What a stupid comment, and no I am probably younger than you based on your writing skills.

honestly , will you listen to rap into your 30s and 40s?

I do not know what I will listen to if anything in 10-20 years, but yes I can pretty much guarantee I will listen to the same blend of music I listen to know as new stuff comes out all the time.

They said the same thing about Jazz and Rock when it was starting, and after.

you wont dude , you will realise thats rap is all about being a man that has a load of money or drugs or bitches, when you are a man you realise its the cheesiest weed music there is , put some bob on or ub40 or some steel pulse, if you wanna pan out and get ****ed up , one day you will say oops im white im not in the bloods and this isnt LA
    and feel a bit silly
    if not see post above ^^^^^^^^^^^

I do not know what I will listen to if anything in 10-20 years, but yes I can pretty much guarantee I will listen to the same blend of music I listen to know as new stuff comes out all the time.

They said the same thing about Jazz and Rock when it was starting, and after.
    ah but heres the rub,,,,,people that listened to jazz and rock then still listen to it,,,,,,people that listened to rap in the early 90s are a bit embarrassed about it

I do listen to Bob and UB40 and lots of other music, a small portion of hip-hop is about "weed".

You make a well put, well researched argument forward I must say. A+, stay in school.

If anything I know more people that grew into hip-hop as they got older when they copped on there was more than dre, snoop and eminem.

I do listen to Bob and UB40 and lots of other music, a small portion of hip-hop is about "weed".

You make a well put, well researched argument forward I must say. A+, stay in school.

If anything I know more people that grew into hip-hop as they got older when they copped on there was more than dre, snoop and eminem.
    try that there dude
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z3YWiuzcSE
    good stoner music ,,, as you get older you will appreciate bob dylan and all sorts of stuff , great lyrics when you understand them , thats steel pulse , the black ub40 kinda, their greatest hits is one of the best albums i ever had , very little rapping though

Completely +1 on this. I know way more people who have gotten more into hip hop the older they've gotten than people who have drifted away from it. The people I'm friends with who don't listen to hip hop are people who have just never listened to it and are people who are just on a different wave-length music wise, and that's fine - they don't like hip hop, I'm not going to force them, they don't complain about it, etc. Other than that, I know loads of people who have come to appreciate hip hop the more they've gotten into music and learned more about the different genres. When people explore music they actually realise that they were wrong to pre-judge a genre before getting into it.

All this 'when you get older you'll understand Dylan' sh*t is such bolloix. I was raised on Bob Dylan, my dad is practically a Bob Dylan aficionado, but the man is not God. He's a great songwriter and had a huge impact on music, but he's not gospel. People tend to be up their own *sses about Dylan. People who are into "indie" (most of it isn't even indie since most of them are signed to major records labels, including Dylan) don't even know anything about the "real" music they proclaim to be in to. I've huge appreciation for Dylan, but he's not in my top five artists.

I'm not embarrassed at all about loving hip hop, and I don't think I ever will. To be honest, I think all this backlash against hip hop comes from the fact that it's a new genre and it's still evolving. It's not like rock which has had it's fair share of legends and had time to evolve. Everyone sees rock with rose-tinted glasses, as if it's the greatest genre ever - there are plenty of sh*t bands and artists in rock.

And anyone who thinks hip hop is all about b*tches and money is full of sh*t and doesn't know what they're talking about. For that reason, I think cloptrop is full of sh*t and is simply trolling.

try that there dude
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z3YWiuzcSE
    good stoner music ,,, as you get older you will appreciate bob dylan and all sorts of stuff , great lyrics when you understand them , thats steel pulse , the black ub40 kinda, their greatest hits is one of the best albums i ever had , very little rapping though

I also listen to Dylan, I hope my grammar and writing skills do not get as bad as yours with age.

woould you believe at one stage in my life i was in college
    but weed doesnt have any affects on the brain its all bull**** lol
    the post above you says rap and rock n roll ,,having a row ,,thats not the case ,,,,, im 30 i dont have a pont tail , my spelling and grammer could be better but why bother this isnt my junior cert
    the reason i brought up bob dyaln was not because i think hes god , but because he tells a story, a story is a good thing when you smoke a bit of wavin, but lets not go into that now,,,,,, i recommended steel pulse ..... great reggae band ,,,,,,,, second only to bob ,,,,,, check them out ,,,, young lads listening to rap just kinda makes me think they are missing out on so much other music and calling everything else emo ,,,,,,, get echoes ..pink floyd greatest hits and see what is weed smokin music ,,,,,,,,
    things that dont make you hard
    1 having a big dog
    2 listening to rap music
    3 attacking strangers because they looked at you

woould you believe at one stage in my life i was in college
    but weed doesnt have any affects on the brain its all bull**** lol
    the post above you says rap and rock n roll ,,having a row ,,thats not the case ,,,,, im 30 i dont have a pont tail , my spelling and grammer could be better but why bother this isnt my junior cert
    the reason i brought up bob dyaln was not because i think hes god , but because he tells a story, a story is a good thing when you smoke a bit of wavin, but lets not go into that now,,,,,, i recommended steel pulse ..... great reggae band ,,,,,,,, second only to bob ,,,,,, check them out ,,,, young lads listening to rap just kinda makes me think they are missing out on so much other music and calling everything else emo ,,,,,,, get echoes ..pink floyd greatest hits and see what is weed smokin music ,,,,,,,,
    things that dont make you hard
    1 having a big dog
    2 listening to rap music
    3 attacking strangers because they looked at you

Troll.

Troll.
    ouch , that was mean, can we not stay on topic and stop name calling
    oh oh ,,,,i know lets have a battle,,,,,,,,,,,,,just like in 8 mile

my palms arte sweaty , knee deep in alphabet spaghetti , wet dream pants liiiike shins kelly ,,,,dream of ugly betty ,,,
    hes nervous but on the surface he just keeps on forgetting where the keys to his micra is , it makes him sweaty , he opens his pockets but they wont come out ,,,,,, what he wrote down the whole of galway grows so loud he opens his punto but the battery gave out ,
    i got giddy and couldnt help myself

im not down with the kids these days shins ,,,,,,,,,,,,, you have had about ten minutes ,,,do they still say ,,,,you got served pmsl
    im just joking i wish we could be friends

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Looks like my warning earlier has been ignored.

Next off topic post is getting an infraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 SaucyJim

50 cent, eminem, drake, lil wayne all overrated

SaucyJim wrote: »
    yeah 50 cent has to be one of the most successfull chancers that has ever lived

Sorry about this Boom Bap, but i just wanna tell clop trop a few things, I myself am a teenager and i listen to rap, I don't listen to it because I smoke weed, I don't like rap that is about smokin weed and weed does effect the brain over time so you're lying to yourself if you think otherwise, I know a man who's been smokin weed for years now and he is one of the most paranoid people I have ever met and I know it's from the hash and weed because it's only gotten worse over the years, you also said teenagers think anything that isn't rap is emo,
    I have never heard such bullshít in my life, I listen to Bob, the police, floyd, UB40 , aslan, oasis, kasabian, and a shítload more artists and I can guarantee you I won't grow out of rap as I get older because like others I have grown more fond of rap as i get older.
    My aunty who is nearly 30 now and has a child and another one on the way listened to rap throughout the 90s and still listens to Dmx all the time, every point you have tried to make has been proven wrong.

Again sorry for that Boom Bap I'll understand if you infract me but I couldn't stand by and watch that lad talk pure shít about a genre he doesn't even understand.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Sorry about this Boom Bap, but i just wanna tell clop trop a few things, I myself am a teenager and i listen to rap, I don't listen to it because I smoke weed, I don't like rap that is about smokin weed and weed does effect the brain over time so you're lying to yourself if you think otherwise, I know a man who's been smokin weed for years now and he is one of the most paranoid people I have ever met and I know it's from the hash and weed because it's only gotten worse over the years, you also said teenagers think anything that isn't rap is emo,
    I have never heard such bullshít in my life, I listen to Bob, the police, floyd, UB40 , aslan, oasis, kasabian, and a shítload more artists and I can guarantee you I won't grow out of rap as I get older because like others I have grown more fond of rap as i get older.
    My aunty who is nearly 30 now and has a child and another one on the way listened to rap throughout the 90s and still listens to Dmx all the time, every point you have tried to make has been proven wrong.

Again sorry for that Boom Bap I'll understand if you infract me but I couldn't stand by and watch that lad talk pure shít about a genre he doesn't even understand.
    pure **** bout a genre he doesnt understand ,,,,, ive been there had your old people dont understand rap attitude
    aunty who is nearly 30 ,,,,,, read through my posts
    its just something you grow out of , its nothing personal

overrated rapper,,,,,, puff daddy

why are you giving this guy the time of day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

SaucyJim wrote: »

Definitely agree with this. I really don't understand the appeal of Drake. In terms of crossover recognition, he's gotten some serious acclaim across the board in the last few years and I can't fathom why, whatsoever.

Drake is not a rapper (despite what he or anyone else says) so therefore he is not overrated as a rapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Drake is not a rapper (despite what he or anyone else says) so therefore he is not overrated as a rapper.

Well he does rap (Underground Kings, Lord Knows, Aston Martin Music, etc)..his verses in these songs and plenty of others could only be considered rap, nothing else.

Yes, he sings too, some of his music could be described as R&B and the rest of it can be described as rap. Drake is a rapper, no point in denying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Sl!mCharles

Drake is a rapper. He raps.