Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Newborn & Toddlers Off-Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

loubian wrote: »
    If you asked a friend to babysit, would you expect them to babysit in your house or would it matter to you?

its soo much easier to have them babysit in your place. otherwise you have to bring all the stuff to theirs and it can be quite a bit for a baby.

but it depends where you are going (if its nearer them or you), time of day, if they have kids etc.

I hate filling up the car and bringing all the baby stuff to the mil but shes right beside the cinema so it makes sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Emmadilema123

loubian wrote: »
    If you asked a friend to babysit, would you expect them to babysit in your house or would it matter to you?

I expect nothing when someone offers to mind mine. I'm just glad they are doing it so whatever suits them suits me ha ha although I've only ever had my mam minding them and because she was minding them when I was working I don't ask for any minding outside of that. Needless to say I don't get many nights out with my husband lol last time was January for our anniversary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

L is back to the creche today after the summer break, I'm more stressed today than I was when he started! I think it's cos I'm worried about how toilet training is going to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭elly123

Anyone any dealings with Dr. Greally Pediatrician either public or private? We're seeing him tomorrow with my little man. I don't know what to expect, i'm not generally a worrier but for some reason, my gut is telling me there is something not right.

Little man is 17mths has never been a good eater from the time we started weaning. He has had 4 infections in the last 7mths 3 ear and one throat. He is literally skin and bone and has lost weight in the last week that he cant afford to lose. Vomiting all day Wednesday, back to doc Fri 2nd ear infection in 3 weeks, not eating, drinking very little and tiny bit he is eating is running straight through him.

I opened the letter to the Ped and it says presents with Pallor, off food, not a great eater and suffers constipation. I think seeing Pallor scared me a bit. I know it could be nothing. But he hasn't been himself for nearly 4 weeks now, has no energy, very clingy and very lethargic. I'm at my wits end especially because i cant be with him everyday as i work full time. I'm full of guilt leaving him every morning.
    Please god we get some advice tomorrow, i just want him back to his energetic self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

elly123 wrote: »
    Anyone any dealings with Dr. Greally Pediatrician either public or private? We're seeing him tomorrow with my little man. I don't know what to expect, i'm not generally a worrier but for some reason, my gut is telling me there is something not right.

Little man is 17mths has never been a good eater from the time we started weaning. He has had 4 infections in the last 7mths 3 ear and one throat. He is literally skin and bone and has lost weight in the last week that he cant afford to lose. Vomiting all day Wednesday, back to doc Fri 2nd ear infection in 3 weeks, not eating, drinking very little and tiny bit he is eating is running straight through him.

I opened the letter to the Ped and it says presents with Pallor, off food, not a great eater and suffers constipation. I think seeing Pallor scared me a bit. I know it could be nothing. But he hasn't been himself for nearly 4 weeks now, has no energy, very clingy and very lethargic. I'm at my wits end especially because i cant be with him everyday as i work full time. I'm full of guilt leaving him every morning.
    Please god we get some advice tomorrow, i just want him back to his energetic self.

Pallor just means that the child is pale. Its nothing more or less than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭elly123

Pallor just means that the child is pale. Its nothing more or less than that.

Ah i know, just as a parent you worry about it especially because he has sallow skin and every one always comments on how dark his skin is, so for him to be so pale is unusual. I know its probably nothing and i'm sure he will be fine, but its upsetting to see him the way he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

Ah i know, just as a parent you worry about it especially because he has sallow skin and every one always comments on how dark his skin is, so for him to be so pale is unusual. I know its probably nothing and i'm sure he will be fine, but its upsetting to see him the way he is.

Of course it is:) If the little one isn't well though, not sleeping properly or eating well then its only natural that he will be paler than normal.

Hopefully once he gets seen by the doctor and a plan of action is put in place he'll be back to himself in no time.
    Babies and children deteriorate more quickly when they're unwell than adults but on a good note they also improve much more quickly too when they're on the road to recovery. Fingers crossed you'll have a little live wire on your hands again before you know it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭yellow hen

Just sent you a PM elly.

My little one was so dark born and started getting very pale and was also very gangly. Was just reflux. Her appetite is very good but some days she will hardly eat with teething etc. I would be concerned but she actually eats more than her brother did as a baby despite her off days. He was impossible to feed but for some reason was an absolute tank of a child yet she still a bag of bones. It's just her build and somedays I think jeez she hasn't eaten much but then I realise she has more than me somedays and I'm still walking about! It could just be a bug this week but when they are amall anyway the bugs do really show in their weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Big day for the Merkins today. Off to meet the cleft team and set a date for bubba's first surgery. Am pragmatic enough about it and glad we're starting the process but hard not to be a little apprehensive too.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Xdancer

Merkin wrote: »
    Big day for the Merkins today. Off to meet the cleft team and set a date for bubba's first surgery. Am pragmatic enough about it and glad we're starting the process but hard not to be a little apprehensive too.

Good luck. Perfectly normal to be apprehensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭bean14

Hope it goes well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

Best of luck merkin. Hope it all goes well x

Best of luck, Merkin.

Ivy, how did you little guy get in with the potty training and first day back at crèche?

Xdancer wrote: »
    Ivy, how did you little guy get in with the potty training and first day back at crèche?
    Great!
    I was amazed when i got there yesterday evening and he was wearing the same underpants and trousers as the morning! :)
    The ladies just said they had to remind him to go, but otherwise it was grand! :D

Great!
    I was amazed when i got there yesterday evening and he was wearing the same underpants and trousers as the morning! :)
    The ladies just said they had to remind him to go, but otherwise it was grand! :D

Excellent! Well done to him! :)

Xdancer wrote: »
    Excellent! Well done to him! :)
    And the same today too! :)
    We're on our way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Suucee

A has been dry every morning for the past 2 weeks except 1 night when she stayed in her nannies and slept longer so tonight were going to try no nappy. We normally put her in pants after het bath then she has a cartoon and then story then teeth and does a wee then bed. We then lift hee between 10/11 to go and shes still dry next morning so fingers crossed for tonight. Have a mat under the sheet anyway.

We went for a swim today and she went just before we went in. Then when we got out we went straight in to shower and she said "oh no oh no" as she wee'd in the shower. I suppose after a swim and then tge noise of the shower. She seemed to get a lil upset but i kept telling het it was fine. It was in the shower no big deal.

Thanks so much for good wishes, today went really well. Met with the lovely consultant paediatrician and neonatal specialist who examined baby Merkin, commented on what a delightful little boy he is and then conducted an echocardiogram and all is great thankfully. Then we met with the psychologist to have a chat about everything (she also wanted a cuddle) re surgery etc and dealing with perceptions etc, she said she was confident that because we're so chilled then bubba will be as well. Then met with our amazing maxillofacial surgeon (again, more cuddles) and anaesthetist who examined him, happy with everything and first surgery scheduled for early November. Everyone is delighted with his progress putting on over an ounce a day at moment and in 97th per centile for height!) and he was just his usual charming and chilled little self. So proud of him for being such a great little boy and am so happy with the team we have looking after us! Thanks for the support girls xx

Fantastic news Merkin. So happy things went well for ye today x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Betsie_xr3i

Merkin glad everything went well yesterday xx

Oh glad it went so well merkin.

So lil wee in the bed last night. So back to nappies for the time being anyway. Waant much but i dont like the idea of her lying in wet pjs So back to nappy from 11.

Thanks so much for good wishes, today went really well. Met with the lovely consultant paediatrician and neonatal specialist who examined baby Merkin, commented on what a delightful little boy he is and then conducted an echocardiogram and all is great thankfully. Then we met with the psychologist to have a chat about everything (she also wanted a cuddle) re surgery etc and dealing with perceptions etc, she said she was confident that because we're so chilled then bubba will be as well. Then met with our amazing maxillofacial surgeon (again, more cuddles) and anaesthetist who examined him, happy with everything and first surgery scheduled for early November. Everyone is delighted with his progress putting on over an ounce a day at moment and in 97th per centile for height!) and he was just his usual charming and chilled little self. So proud of him for being such a great little boy and am so happy with the team we have looking after us! Thanks for the support girls xx

That's amazing! So glad everything is looking good for you guys *thumbs up emoji*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

Suucee wrote: »
    Oh glad it went so well merkin.

So lil wee in the bed last night. So back to nappies for the time being anyway. Waant much but i dont like the idea of her lying in wet pjs So back to nappy from 11.

That's exactly where we are - no day accidents for days - can't rely on nights - dry pull ups half the nights - gonna just leave it a At pull ups just now!

Can anyone recommend a baby monitor they find good? Not looking for one with video or anything, just one that will let us listen out for bubba when we put him to bed for the night. Up until now we've kept him downstairs until it's bedtime for us but now want something where we can keep a close ear out in evening time! Cheers.

I have a brilliant Motorola one. Now it is video and i hadn't actually set out to get a video one but it was cheaper than the angel care without video so I went for it. Only 99 euro and it's perfect. Beeps when it goes out of range which to be fair it rarely does anyway and you can put a number of cameras on the unit. The camera can be mounted to the wall and the swivel is really decent so can turn it pretty much anyway you want. Sound is perfect and the night vision is very good for price.

We used the Motorola MBP16 and found it brilliant. We didn't want anything fancy and this one did the job. No complaints about it whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

We have a BT one which cost around €90 and I'm very happy with it. It gives a temperature reading for the room which I find very handy, the unit in the kids room can also be a night light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

We use the Angelcare sound monitor with motion detector pad. The sound monitor is great, you can adjust the sensitivity and volume and it only goes off when it detects a sound so there's no constant static buzzing. The motion detector pad gives great reassurance, it detects tiny movements (ie, the movement baby makes when breathing) and if it doesn't feel a movement for 15 seconds, an alarm goes off to let you know. We put our little fella into his own room at 12 weeks and tbh, we wouldn't have been comfortable doing it if it hadn't been for the motion pad :)

Edit: It also has a temperature reading on the receiver

Thanks so much. Did a bit of looking around and the Angelcare one looks very good. It's also 30% off on Amazon today too which is great. Do you use the halo light function Mrspostman? It sounds great. If I've understood it correctly it allows you to turn on a small light when peeping in on baby without waking them up? Is that correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Thanks so much. Did a bit of looking around and the Angelcare one looks very good. It's also 30% off on Amazon today too which is great. Do you use the halo light function Mrspostman? It sounds great. If I've understood it correctly it allows you to turn on a small light when peeping in on baby without waking them up? Is that correct?

Ya it has a halo light that glows a low turquoisey colour. We leave it on all night, using it as a night light and it doesn't keep the little man awake at all :) The only thing is that the movement pad is made to go on a flat solid surface so if you have a cot that has wooden lats, you'll need to put something solid between the lats and movement sensor. You can buy specifically made mats online to do this but my OH improvised with a thin piece of plywood cut to size and it works fine :)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'd second the AngelCare. I love ours. The halo light is used in our house as a nightlight, and the temperature gauge is great.

We have a wiggler, so there were nights where he shoehorned himself into the very corner of the cot and the pad went off. Now he is bigger thats not an issue.

For us, it was reassuring having the sensor mat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

Love my Angel Care mat but never use the night light, just don't bother!

Appreciate the feedback, always good to hear other peoples experiences. Ordered it for next day delivery and it will be here tomorrow, yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 chatterkiller

Rang Cineworld yesterday to cancel my membership.

Sad.

Our second date ever was in Cineworld (some Liam Neeson movie, involving snow and dogs, I think.) We held hands. I knew he was my "one". :o

Since then, and all through my pregnancy, it was a regular thing for us. We'd often see two movies at a time (Well, he did, I had lots of puke and pee breaks.)

But with baby, and without family to babysit, it's a waste of money. Gone now. Done.

Even though I wasn't using it, I'm still sad that I don't have the option of it anymore. :o I hate that I've reconciled myself to the fact that I have no life.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭lolademmers

Chatterkiller how about using the money for a xtra vision membership or Netflix or something. You can still have movie nights at home and you can have a glass of wine or a beer too and nibbles without paying extortionate cinema prices!!
    Your social life is just on hold for a while. How old is baby?

Rang Cineworld yesterday to cancel my membership.

Sad.

Our second date ever was in Cineworld (some Liam Neeson movie, involving snow and dogs, I think.) We held hands. I knew he was my "one". :o

Since then, and all through my pregnancy, it was a regular thing for us. We'd often see two movies at a time (Well, he did, I had lots of puke and pee breaks.)

But with baby, and without family to babysit, it's a waste of money. Gone now. Done.

Even though I wasn't using it, I'm still sad that I don't have the option of it anymore. :o I hate that I've reconciled myself to the fact that I have no life.

You won't feel it till your back in the cinema. I think I got my social life back when my son was about 20 months old and didn't even lose it when I had my daughter lol realised I could still go out and just be sensible about it although going out as a couple doesn't happen as often as I would like. A girly night at the cinema is still great fun though :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

I'm in the very early stages of pregnancy with my second child (my baby is eight months old.) I know it's very soon, but I'm thinking about buggies already. We have an Uppababy Vista.

Anyone have any idea of the cost of converting it to a double? Or maybe should I sell it altogether and buy a cheap double? From what I hear, resale value is good, so maybe that's the better option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,729 ✭✭✭Millem

I'm in the very early stages of pregnancy with my second child (my baby is eight months old.) I know it's very soon, but I'm thinking about buggies already. We have an Uppababy Vista.

Anyone have any idea of the cost of converting it to a double? Or maybe should I sell it altogether and buy a cheap double? From what I hear, resale value is good, so maybe that's the better option?

Indigo twist congrats! Our babies are similar ages! I personally would buy a side by side buggy as I don't like the ones where one child can't look out! I see so many baby jogger city mini doubles and out n about 360. I recently saw one called a mountain buggy and it is apparently the narrowest double on the market.

The uppababy has a "rumble seat" which is not great IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

Millem wrote: »
    Indigo twist congrats! Our babies are similar ages! I personally would buy a side by side buggy as I don't like the ones where one child can't look out! I see so many baby jogger city mini doubles and out n about 360. I recently saw one called a mountain buggy and it is apparently the narrowest double on the market.

The uppababy has a "rumble seat" which is not great IMHO.

Would you not have a lot of trouble getting around and in and out of shops with a side-by-side double, though? I found even with the Uppababy I sometimes had problems with that.

The buggy will mainly be used when I'm on maternity leave (assuming of course all goes well, as I mentioned, it's still early days.) I think a side-by-side would be perfect for country walks, but I'm in an urban environment, and realistically, if I'm going to be going for walks, it'll be around the local shopping centre and in and out of lots of shops! So I'm not sure a side-by-side will work too well.

Do you know, does the big baby or the small one go in the "rumble seat"?

I think a sling would be the ideal option, however this just didn't work out with my baby, so I wouldn't want to count on it for the next one either.

Would you not have a lot of trouble getting around and in and out of shops with a side-by-side double, though? I found even with the Uppababy I sometimes had problems with that.

The buggy will mainly be used when I'm on maternity leave (assuming of course all goes well, as I mentioned, it's still early days.) I think a side-by-side would be perfect for country walks, but I'm in an urban environment, and realistically, if I'm going to be going for walks, it'll be around the local shopping centre and in and out of lots of shops! So I'm not sure a side-by-side will work too well.

Do you know, does the big baby or the small one go in the "rumble seat"?

I think a sling would be the ideal option, however this just didn't work out with my baby, so I wouldn't want to count on it for the next one either.

Indigo twist aparently the mountain buggy is something like 63cm in width so will fit through EVERY door! It is the same width as a single buggy. I See the baby jogger city mini double and the 360 nipper double in Dundrum shopping centre and they fit every where!! The big child goes in the rumble seat. I think though you can't use a carrycot with the rumble seat though. I felt that the rumble seat wasn't really a proper seat tbh
    Your babies won't have a big gap so if I was you I Defo Defo would get a side by side. I am in dublin so not in the country and everyone I see has side by side doubles. The bugaboo donkey is also popular but IMHO too expensive and the other ones I mentioned you fold down without taking off seats etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Marz66

If you already gave an Uppababy, would it be cheaper to convert that than buy a new one. Maybe have a look in the shop at the 2 seats together and see if there is enough room for both.

If you click on Rumbleseat configurations, it shows the different combinations you can have between Rumbleseat and car seat/toddler seat
    http://uppababy.com/accessories/vista/rumbleseat/

I had a bugaboo chameleon which I sold for €700 and bought a city mini double for €450. My fella was 6mths old when I got pregnant so we would prob have around te same age gap. All I can say is the double saved my life! Was very worried about how id get out and about with 2 babies, but the city mini is so so so easy to use and light weight! It's the lightest double on sale. It's side by side which I like as with a lot of the tandems I couldn't see the child at the front. On other tandems I didn't want one to b so close to the ground. The quick fold is so easy to use aswell and I just pull the lever and throw it into the car. I'm bit sure where ur based but I'm in Dublin and go to a lot of shopping centres and have never had a problem with the side by side. If anything shopping centres are prob easier to get around in with a side by side as opposed to streets with lots of people and you get caught behind them and can't get in front... Lol (I walk like 90 mile an hour to get things done before they start screaming! Lol).

The mountain buggy I heard is great but it is heavier than the baby jogger city mini double. I also thought it was slightly wider when I tried it?? Maybe they have a new mountain buggy out as my double is now 5 months old.

Sligo1 wrote: »
    I had a bugaboo chameleon which I sold for €700 and bought a city mini double for €450. My fella was 6mths old when I got pregnant so we would prob have around te same age gap. All I can say is the double saved my life! Was very worried about how id get out and about with 2 babies, but the city mini is so so so easy to use and light weight! It's the lightest double on sale. It's side by side which I like as with a lot of the tandems I couldn't see the child at the front. On other tandems I didn't want one to b so close to the ground. The quick fold is so easy to use aswell and I just pull the lever and throw it into the car. I'm bit sure where ur based but I'm in Dublin and go to a lot of shopping centres and have never had a problem with the side by side. If anything shopping centres are prob easier to get around in with a side by side as opposed to streets with lots of people and you get caught behind them and can't get in front... Lol (I walk like 90 mile an hour to get things done before they start screaming! Lol).

The mountain buggy I heard is great but it is heavier than the baby jogger city mini double. I also thought it was slightly wider when I tried it?? Maybe they have a new mountain buggy out as my double is now 5 months old.

You are dead right sligo1. I always thought if I had to get a double I would get the same one as you until I heard of this mountain buggy. It was actually a collegue who told me about it, she has it and also a single baby jogger city mini. However if it is heavy I wouldn't even consider it!

The mountain buggy is great. And it's prob a lot lighter than a lot of doubles. But when I tried it, it was heavier than the city mini. I think the mountain buggy is a lot sturdier tho which is good for walking country roads etc... I think it will take a carseat aswell which the city mini double doesn't.

I have a bigger age gap (23 months) . I actually recently sold my double because i just yse sling all the time.
    If your buggy can be converted to a double that might be an option or using a sling.
    If it doesnt work out you could always sell it and get a different one then.
    At least with your current buggy if you were going out with just 1 child you could easily use it as a single.
    You say a sling didnt suit first time around. I was the same. Used it very rarely as it just wasnt that comfortable but since i had no 2 i discovered there are so many different types your bound to find something that suits you both.

Sligo1 wrote: »
    The mountain buggy is great. And it's prob a lot lighter than a lot of doubles. But when I tried it, it was heavier than the city mini. I think the mountain buggy is a lot sturdier tho which is good for walking country roads etc... I think it will take a carseat aswell which the city mini double doesn't.

Sligo1 I would say you are right so, I never tried to push it! You defo need light especially when 2 little people need to be pushed around. I would say the one you have the baby jogger is lighter to push than the vista even with just one seat.i found that vista soooo heavy. I would want to be able to use a carrycot which you can't use with a vista and rumble seat. You need something that can go up and down super quick and easy as you could have 2 screaming children, I think a side by side double would defo be easier than vista with rumble.

From what I remember the mountain buggy is still lightish... But not as light as the city mini. The good thing about te mountain buggy tho is that it will take the car seat (I think), which wouldnve been very handy. I heard the vistas are quite heavy.

My fella is 21 months old and is still taking a bottle (150ml) in the morning and a bottle (150ml) before bed. Was wondering what age ye stopped giving milk either in the mornings or evenings? He's gone off his meals a good bit the past couple weeks and I'm wondering if I cut the milk he might take his meals.... Really dreading cuttin the bottles tho....